Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Copper Bonded 5-ply Base
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:May 2, 2009

I'm trading up to these!

Pros: brushed surface seems to hold oil well, pan shapes make stirring and pouring easy
Cons: heavy but worth it, not described as 18/8 stainless, included tools are inappropriate for surface
"I have mirror-surface name-brand stainless pans at home. I'm visiting my brother and just bought this set for his kitchen. Heavens, what a difference! Better feel, better cooking, better cleanup. He turned out a lovely non-stuck omelet on his first try.
Of course, stainless pans require oil for frying/sauteeing. Like many people I've recently abandoned nonstick coatings and returned to carefully chosen oil. (Try coconut oil - medium-chain fatty acids, wonderful flavor, and great heat response.) Everything I've made in these frying pans has been easy to keep "floating" on a thin layer of oil. Cleanup in the sauce pans has been smooth. (Hint: Put water and a few drops of dish soap in the pan and return to the burner - bring to a boil and let soak. Anything but a brutal scorch will wipe off.)
Unexpectedly, the brushed surface of these pans sticks less and cleans better than the mirror finish on my home set. The very thick bottoms and thick sides heat evenly and keep a stable heat once up to temp. I'm buying myself a set of these pans as soon as I return home.
My only caveat: Use the stainless spoons and spatula on some other project. They have inexplicably sharp edges and, unless they are handled very carefully, I think they may gouge even this durable surface."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:October 27, 2008

Excellent Quality

"I remodeled my kitchen recently, buying an induction range top in the process.
I needed new pots and pans because the ones I had for years (also of good quality) did not work on the new range top. I priced All Clad and similar induction-suitable cookware and was appalled at the prices. For the price I paid for this entire set of cookware, I could have purchased one large frying pan at the department store. This set is sturdy, beautiful, and works on all types of cooking surfaces. They clean up very easily and maintain their good looks though all the cooking that I do. An excellent value!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009

Excellent value!

Pros: heavy construction, a lot of pans for the money, nice organic profile of the pans and lids
Cons: the smaller pans are too small for stove element
"As others have noted, this set provides a lot of value for the money. They are heavy and that seems to translate into even heating and cooking.
Had this set for about six months. The finish shows spots and if food is overcooked there's a good chance you'll be able to see evidence of it even after thorough cleaning. Also, the copper clad line along the bottom will change color over time. None of this is a problem for us. We didn't buy the pots for their everlasting beauty. They are workhorses. They look like they've been used.
Only real disappointment is that because of the curved profile, the smaller plans are too small for the electric range top, so the outside ring of the element just heats the air. To overcome this, I'd suggest that the set ought to include a triangular profile metal disk that can be placed on the element so that all of the heat could be transferred to the bottom of the pot. It's a waste of energy as it stands!
Also, the lids are pretty thin. Even though we haven't had problems, I worry that because they are so thin that they'll be dinged or bent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008

Top-notch quality. No joke!

Pros: low cost for top quality
"This is one of the best pots and pans sets I have ever purchased. So good, in fact, that I bought two sets. I bought one several years ago for my home in the US, and I bought another set recently for my other home in Europe. The build quality is top notch. It cleans easily both by hand and in the dish washer, and cooks my food evenly. It works well with induction cooktops (which was a "must" for my place in Europe) but just as well with a gas range.
Due to its construction, the pieces are quite heavy. Some of the pieces will definitely require two hands to maneuver, especially if you have food in it!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Omaha, Nebrakska (via Phx, AZ)
Date:March 17, 2009

AAAAAA++++++++

Pros: great quality construction and cleanup is a breez-, flat bottoms are perfect for ceramic cook top--, heat distribution is even no hot spots--, handles stay cool on pans and lids--, ok-ok-i'll stop!!!
Cons: can't think of a negative featue at all!!!!
Model Number: Itm./Art.208782
"As I have discovered over the years, the Kirkland brand exceeds the quality of most "name" brand products. This set of cookware is no exception. "How can this be a quality product at THIS price?" That's the question I kept asking myself--so after much research I took the plunge. WOW!! A lot of thought went into the design of these pans and unlike my previous set I find I am utilizing every piece. Just remember--like all copper clad cookware, don't submerge hot pans in cold water."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 13, 2008

A BEST Buy

Pros: well made, cooks great!
Cons: typical ss maintenance. but no teflon safety issue
"As one of the other reviewers mentioned, we also priced similar sets in other stores. There was no comparison in price, value and completeness of set. It is truly an excellent product and we are buying our daughter & son-in-law a set for the holidays.
We have become very confident that anything we buy with the Kirkland name will be of better quality and lower cost than others available.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, MN
Date:December 2, 2008

Excellent for the money

Pros: heat distribution/retention, stainless look/durability, value, variety and extras--a good mix for a set
Cons: smallish bottoms, made in thailand but you get 7 pans vs 1 all clad
"Great feel, good handles/lids, good heat retention and it's even, and have handled dishwasher and hand washing equally. Easily go from stove to oven for meats, deglaze with ease for sauces although I haven't tried onions yet so delicate stuff is untried but with my style I never shy away from enough of the proper oil for the job...with moderation oils are good for us. Bottoms are a bit small for some of my burners but the insides are contoured in a way that food is easy to move/flip/stir, even the fun stir fry toss that my daughter likes to watch."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:April 1, 2009

Awesome Set

Pros: well made, stacks/nest well, finally a set with enough lids to go around!
Cons: very heavy for those with limited arm strength
"We've been using this set for the last 2 1/2 years and would stand by the quality and brand. My husband has been in the restaurant industry for 20 years and loves too pretend he's cooking in a restaurant kitchen while he's at home. This set can definitely take that kind of workout. It has held up to our gas stove at a full flame of 22,000 btu without a scorch. Cooking on stainless steel is not for everyone as it does require some technique. If your food is sticking to these pans and you think it's the pans fault... it's not the pan."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise ID
Date:October 21, 2008

Love these pans

"My mom has this set and i loved them. I received my set as a gift and now can't see living with out them. These will last a lifetime!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chicago, il
Date:February 3, 2009
Cons: heavy
"I love it! I cook a lot, using those for 5 years.
Only one thing, I use dawn dish soap, because others make it stains.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Dakota
Date:August 16, 2009

Superb Purchase

"I wanted stainless steel pots & pans for years. This is a fabulous buy & the quality is excellent. The pans keep food warm for a long time after the stove is turned off. It cooks food evenly, & they clean up beautifully when you follow the instructions given on how to care for stainless steel products. I love my set & am thankful that we're not eating flakes of teflon anymore from the non-stick pots & pans we used to use. This is a must purchase for people who are health conscious & want to purchase high quality stainless steel cookware. I can't say enough about this cookware! It is beautiful, awesome to cook with & a must in any kitchen!! I am buying a set for my son & daughter-in-law for Christmas."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 13, 2009

Great quality for the price

Pros: great quality, great price
Cons: hard to clean up
"We purchased this set about a month ago (03/2009), and it's a beautiful and well made set for the price.
It is a bit tough on clean-up and I did not find that they wash up well at all in the dishwasher. The first day I had it, the smallest pan was seared and I scrubbed it very hard for a couple of days to no avail. I finally got some stainless steel cleaner and that helped.
Overall though, they're great and they cook very evenly with minimal heat. I'm trying to get used to them after years of teflon."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2008

Not good enough

Pros: good sizes and comes with a steamer and utensils
"I don't know how this cookware cooks. We only tried it once. The first problem I saw was that upon washing and drying initially, the tops scratched using only a moist, cotton kitchen towel. Not good. That made me question the quality of the set. Then I remembered that the normal 18-10 rating that you see on good SS was not there. That was all it took. I also noticed that the interior was brushed; good looking but left grooves in which food would stick. I quickly decided to return the cookware and I then purchased something else whose quality I could trust. I had to pay an arm and a leg this time. This costco set was probably an excellent buy for the money, but I was willing to pay more."
10 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:August 23, 2009

Takes forever to boil water!!

Pros: cooks well
Cons: too tall, small heating surface
"I can't believe that these pans have received so many 5 stars. They do cook well, but there are 3 main flaws that I have a hard time overlooking. The pans are tall, have a small heating surface on the bottom, and the bell shape lip along the top edge sprays water everywhere when you clean the pans. Because the pans are so tall, it takes FOREVER to boil water. My husband has resorted to microwaving the water first, then adding it to a warm pot! I was very excited to get these pots because I have 2 sisters that have the previous model and they love them. But since they changed the profile of the pans, I am very disappointed. I can't wait to get new pans!"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:September 14, 2009

I love these!

Pros: very sturdy, riveted handles which are comfortable to hold, nice lids (no cheap glass lids), clean easily, price, helper handles on the larger pans, can go from stove top to oven
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 208782
"I bought a new induction cook top and needed new pots. I had looked at All Clad and Demeyere previously. I got these at my local Costco on sale and got the whole set for less than the price of one All Clad frying pan. The quality is fantastic and I think every bit as good as the All Clad. They work great with my new induction cook top. They clean up easily and are very sturdy. I will fill out the set with a couple extra pots like a 12" saute pan and a 7" nonstick, but I have all the basics at a GREAT price! (Also, with induction I can boil 6 quarts of water in 3 minutes flat.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2009

Extremely happy with this set

Pros: everything
Cons: none
"I was looking to get rid of my teflon pans for the health reason, but was very skeptical of some of the reviews I have read about stainless steel causing the food to stick. Well, I just cooked my first eggs with this set and nothing stuck that could not be wiped off with the 'soft side' of a normal sponge. I heated the pan on medium low heat, then sprayed Pam and put the eggs in immediately after. No issues at all with sticking. I am very happy with this set, looks great, feels high quality, etc. For the money, there is nothing that even comes close."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2009

I love it!

"We love to cook at home and this set is a great addition to our kitchen. Elegant, solid shape and pretty competitive price. The good thing about stainless steel that it doesn't have time-related wear and tear... Just clean it, wash and it looks brand new again. One more thing about stainless steel is that we don't know yet how exactly Teflon or other chemicals used in kitchenware would affect our health."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boston
Date:November 20, 2008

very nice

"my mother got those for me, getting married next summer and she wanted me to have this set. She have the same ones and its great it clean up very well after cooking. Cooks great, the food dont stick. i cant wait until i start to use this set because i use my mom's and i just love cooking with it."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:October 23, 2009

Good for more than 1.5 years

"Purchased this in July 2008. Set has performed beyond expectations, almost as good as new despite constant use. You can make just about anything with this. Utensils are useful and durable."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 16-pc Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:August 9, 2009

Great cookware...Great purchase price

Pros: really great cookware
Cons: none
"This cookware is absolutely great. It is easy to cook with and cleans up great. To keep it shiny and looking brand new use Bartenders Keeper to clean with. This cookware is as nice as any you pay $500 or more for. I have had very expensive sets and this cookware is the same calibre as any of them. If you want a great cookware set I highly recommend this set."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>