Customer Reviews for Sunray Premium Playground

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sunray Premium Playground

100% Natural Redwood Cedar & Cunninghamia Lumber
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunray Premium Playground
Review 1 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2009

Fantastic quality, excellent price

"Ordered this on Friday, was delivered the following Wednesday! Ships from Rainbow, so the previous comment about being rebranded is evidently true. Fantastic quality materials, no missing parts, instructions were extremely easy to follow. Took two handymen 8 hrs one day to get the framework up, 4 hrs second day to finish most of the work (we got rained out), then another 2 hrs to put on the swing beam and finish up. The swing beam was the main part that was truly a 2-man job. There was some additional time prepping the site - it appeared level, but one area had to be dug out and another built up, so allow for that as well."
Review 2 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Florida
Date:September 13, 2009

Great set in every way

Pros: quality parts, good instructions, good value
Model Number: the one in the picture
"This set blows away our old one. I found the quality of the parts to be very good. Instructions say you need two people to assemble, but I did it myself. But you need to be handy and resourceful to do this. Since the instructions are biased towards a team build, I had to deviate from them at times. But it all went together surprisingly well over 3 days. Not sure how many hours it was, maybe 16-20. Now that it's up, it's solid and the kids love it, especially visiting kids. And it looks great; it's the centerpiece of the backyard."
Review 3 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland,OH
Date:June 22, 2009

Best Buy

Pros: great looking set
Cons: long time to assemble
Model Number: 5-70-0124
"My wife and I looked at many different packages and this one met our expectations for both price and activity selections. I assembled the package myself in 18 hrs. The dvd,manual, and laminated parts list was the best I have ever seen. If you are a novice, give yourself more time to assemble. There are a lot of pieces. I have assembled other packages that would not compare to this one. It is worth the time to assemble. My boys love it."
Review 4 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 17, 2009

Great Purchase

Pros: best quality for the price, kids love it
Cons: about 300-400 wood pieces and lots of other parts
"Bought this at the local store and it took me two days to put together with no help from anyone else. It is very sturdy and well designed. From my research, this made by Rainbow and is branded sunray for Costco. The instructions are very clear and the dvd makes everything very simple. The only draw back is that it comes with nothing pre-built so I wouldn't recommend for anyone that is not handy. As the instructions states, I would also recommend an impact wrench to make it faster and easier to build. You can also use a second drill with a wrench attachment also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:May 26, 2009

Very Impressive

Pros: well written instructions, high quality materials
"This playset has rugged hardware and high quality cedar materials. It will take a full 18+ working hours to assemble, but the directions were VERY well written (by someone fluent in the English language). Also, it comes with a "cheat sheet" that has full-size drawings of every piece of hardware so you can quickly identify what you need for each step - VERY useful.
My only recommendations are that you lay out all the parts in order before starting. That will speed up the assembly time. Also, it is definitely a 2 person project, even if the 2nd person is just in charge of gathering the necessary hardware & materials for each step.
Lastly, the 18 hours of assembly time assumes you will have no distractions. If you anticipate interruptions from kids or if you are a complete beginner at doing small handyman projects, then I'd set aside even more time for assembly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edgewood, Wa
Date:May 18, 2009

A great set!

"We bought this for our 6 year old last summer. I'm just going to repeat what most of the other reviewers have said-it is a great buy in terms of quality, price and fun. Some friends of ours bought one of the Rainbow sets and this set is as good as and much cheaper than theirs was."
Review 7 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:May 14, 2009

What a great deal!

Pros: sturdy, all parts/hardware included, dvd instruction
Model Number: Sunray 2008
"We shopped around for a playset and you cannot beat this one! 10' slide, rockwall, tic-tac-toe, 5' deck, 4x4 construction, rope ladder...we couldn't find another set that had all of these for under $2000! I put this together 80% by myself, only having a friend help me when it was time for the roof. I would estimate my time at 16 hours total, but I got the majority of it done within 8 hours. I just chipped away at the rest of it each night after work. The kit came with absolutely all pieces and hardware, NOTHING was missing! All parts fit 100%, I didn't need to modify 1 piece! The DVD was certainly helpful; I would watch it before I worked and then I would watch it again after, making sure I didn't miss anything."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterbury, VT
Date:May 11, 2009

Best Purchast Ever

"My husband and I bought the 2007 version of this playset. It was the best purchase we have ever made! I was 7 months pregnant with our sixth daughter when we bought it at our local Costco after doing a lot of research on line. My husband wanted to hire a contractor to build it but we just didn't have the extra money. I told him I had faith in his abilities as long as he promised to actually read the instructions! It took my husband and I about 2 full days to put it together - obviously I wasn't of much help but it wasn't very hard to put together - much to our surprise! We put the playset on the most level place in our yard which still wasn't completely level but my husband improvised and it worked out just fine. Our daughters range in ages from 22 months to 11 years old now. Each and every one of them enjoys this playset. The bigger girls hide up in the tower to get away from the little girls when they've had enough. The middle girls enjoy the swings, the slide, the swinging bar and the monkey bars, while the little two love the climbing wall, slide, picnic table and especially the swings! We live in Vermont so the playset has definitely been weathered but has withstood the elements without a problem! The kids have used it in every season - even with two feet of snow on the ground! The only thing I wish was done differently was that the "toddler swing" was a full seat all the way around and not just a belt in the front. My littlest one does better on the big kid swings than in the swing that was made for her size. Overall, this is a great playset that our whole family has been very happy with for the last two years!"
Review 9 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 10, 2009

Great Swing Set!

Model Number: Sunray
"I called Little Helpers from Chicago to assemble this swing set for my kids. They did a great job too. They had it done in 2 days."
Review 10 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:April 27, 2009

Perfect!

"We looked high and low when it came time to buy one of these play sets for our twin 2 year olds. We visited Rainbow's showroom, looked at discount stores and anywhere else we could find. I swear this is a generic product from Rainbow because the quality is almost the exact same as the Rainbow set being sold in the locations this summer. We love it and our kids love it. My Dad and I assembled it ourselves with no prior experience and it took us two 6 hour days to do it. Yes it is 1,000 pieces, but we found it pretty easy to get done and it is very cool to know that we did it ourselves. The kids love it and now, almost a year later, they are using all of it's features! Our friends bought another version online from Costco and it was cheaper looking and no where near as easy to put together.... as I helped him do it.
We recommend it!"
Review 11 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:April 26, 2009

Great Purchase

Model Number: 2008
"I did a lot of research and selected this model because of its durability, safety (non-treated wood, so no chemicals), and fun. We knew we could never build it ourselves, so we planned all along to have a carpenter build it for us -- yes this costs more money, but save yourself the hassle, you really need some expertise and special tools to do a good job. And several men to hold up pieces, etc. We'll probably seal it every year or two, but in NC, you have to seal all wood it's so hot. The bigger clubhouse is fantastic, our 4 year old boy collects bugs, sticks, rocks etc. and hides them up there!"
Review 12 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 20, 2009

Great Purchase

"This is quite a project to take on, but once it is done the children will love it. It helps to lay out all the pieces prior to beginning. Another thing that helped me out was to create a spreadsheet of where each part was located with relation to the bag/box. Currently the parts come in 5 boxes plus the slide, in two of the boxes where most of the wood planks reside all of the pieces are stamped with the corresponding numbers in the owner's manual. It took me 16 hours to erect the playset with the help of 2 other friends working about a total of 10 hours combined. If I had to build it again it would probably take about half the time. I'm not a construction specialist and small mistakes were made on my part which were easily rectified with a little ingenuity, but for the most part the instructions were easy to follow and very accurate."
Review 13 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tx
Date:April 12, 2009

Hard to assemble

Pros: kids enjoyed it
Cons: too expensive for such a hassle
"hard to assemble. Some holes are not pre-drilled and the pieces of wood are not labeled. Some pieces are one of a kind and will take you 30 minutes just to find the needed piece. I had 3 people help and all agreed that this was too complicated to assemble."
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sugar Land, TX
Date:February 28, 2009

Not Costco Quality

Pros: decent price for the set
Cons: quality not as good as i would have liked for cost, huge product so just cannot pick up & take it
"I always trust Costco and think if they are selling it MUST be a good quality. But wrong on this one. Within a few months of putting up the set the wood cracked in several places. The stain almost washed away in a lot of places.
I bought it because the price was good and was sure the quality was a good quality.
Some parts were missing and Sunray immediately shipped us the parts so that was great.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson Arizona
Date:February 28, 2009

Research is everything

Pros: safety rails everywhere, attractive design, encourages imaginative play, delivered to the house, thorough instructions
Cons: toddler swing safety belt should be 3 point, swings are close together
Model Number: 5-70-0124
"We bought this for our grandkids. After spending several months researching for safety, strength, durability, weathering and of course fun we believe this to be a great purchase. Our 2 1/2 year old grandgirl was the first to explore. We live in Arizona and were concerned about the high temperatures. We placed it at an angle where the sun will not shine directly into the kids eyes, the fort has screening and overall great breezeways."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunray Premium Playground
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009

awesome product

"We bought this set for our toddler on summer 2008, since then we have use it a lot, very solid, good quality, we all fit in the table and had several pic-nics there.
Totally worth the money.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.