Customer Reviews for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy

500 Denier Polyester Top
Average Customer Rating:
4.04 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
19 of 25(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Review 1 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, Ca.
Date:June 29, 2012

great purchase

Pros: good and sturdy
Model Number: promo 10x10 canopy
"After having read other reviews for this product we paid extra and purchased this brand. We had always gotten the cheaper brand and they just don't last long enough.This went up very easy with mostly just my husband doing it and turned out very well. Am so glad that we read other reviews first. Nice product."
Review 2 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:virginia
Date:March 30, 2012

Product OK. Caravan not so much...

Pros: good quality, heavy duty
Cons: poor customer service
"Bought this in December to use at farmer's markets and was pleased with the product. A truss broke, no big deal, it happens. I called Caravan and they said it was probably my fault and it would not be covered under warranty, but they offered me a reduced price for a replacement part...plus shipping, but I had to send them a photo of the broken piece. (What?) Nothing changed when I kindly reminded them that I purchased the item from Costco and that I could easily return it there with no questions asked (Costco is awesome). So, I returned it to the store and bought the Undercover.
I can't do business with a manufacturer that provides this kind of cusotmer service."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:October 23, 2011

Bag ripped after 2nd use

Pros: nice pop up. goes up easily
Cons: bag rips after 2nd use.
"Do NOT buy this if you want to use the bag. I read the reviews here and took a chance on this popup. The popup itself is great. The bag is junk. After 2nd use I noticed it ripped under it's own weight. Just tore apart near the wheels. Total useless if you want to pull this popup on location. Again, if you are looking for a popup where you want to transport the popup on site, like a swim meet or soccer game, DO NOT BUY THIS TENT."
Review 4 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Rafael, CA
Date:September 7, 2011

Great value and worth the extra $$'s

Pros: good long lasting construction, great comparable value, great shade coverage
Cons: a tad bit on the heavy side, not very portable, realistically this is a two person job to set-up
"After owning several cheaper versions of these canopies (EZ-ups, etc. purchased from various sporting good stores), with lack luster results, I decided to step up, spend a few extra bucks and go with the Costco model. I'm glad I did. The product is as advertised - good construction, great shade coverage and good value. Avoid the cheapy models - save your money in the long run and buy this quality product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:August 10, 2011

Wow! Love this one

"I am quite pleased with this canopy. I have purchased a few over the years using to sell at growers' markets multiple times a week. This is easy up and down for one person, even easier with two. Beautiful, nice bag, good rollers. Have not used side shades yet but am sure they will work, too.
I needed a high quality product to last a few seasons and many days up and down and this is it. I am very happy!
"
Review 6 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Pleasant, SC
Date:August 1, 2011
Pros: easy to set up and take down
Cons: weight of entire rig might be too much for some.
Model Number: Item 264965 Model 61009C
"Well worth the price. Came with all the accessories that other brands come as an add-on."
Review 7 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2011
"Waited for the steel model for a few months now. It was on here Fall 2010 but was unavailable then it just appeared this July. Not sure if they changed the bags but the bag I received was heavy-duty and appears very durable. Very happy I didn't go with a different model."
Review 8 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:May 3, 2011

This is a semi-pro piece of equipment (big/heavy).

Pros: well made, very steady
Cons: big & heavy, have to remove top for break-down
Model Number: 264965
"I bought this looking for a shade canopy I could carry with me for ball games and picnics.
But it is big (over 5 1/2' packed) and heavy (lugging it if feels a lot more that 70lbs). You definitely need at least two people to set it up and you have to remove the top during break-down to store it properly.
I gave it 4 stars because it looks well made and would be good if I was setting up a booth at a flea market or festival, but for recreational use it is over kill (in my opinion).
I did a lot of research, but I didn't see a review that would have helped me, so I created this one...
I am going to return it and look for a smaller model so I believe I just bought the wrong item.
hth - Thanks - Mark :-)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2011
"I was disappointed in the workmanship of the side walls. The first time I put it together the zippers were coming away from the material. The stitching was very bad, where the person putting it together had made a mistake and pulled out the thread it left little holes. Some places were dirty and there was a small burn hole. Not only this but the walls smelled of smoke. The outer bag was also torn.
The canopy itself looked to be sturdy but the top had a lot of slack and should it rain would probably fill up with water.
I will be returning this canopy and look for one that is finished better. I need one to be able to last a long time going to Dog Shows and stand up to many weekends of Showing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:April 16, 2011

Heavy Duty Performer

Pros: heavy duty, sturdy, good roller bag, easy set-up, easy break down, costco guarantee
Cons: zippers should be metal, weight, no detachable shade
"I have two of these and they perform. I work at large outdoor art shows and need a reliable canopy. This one has a steel frame (not aluminum) and it stays put when other canopies collapse and blow away. I'm able to set-up and take down this canopy by myself and I'm a girl.
I don't know why people complain about the roller bag, either. Mine still works perfectly despite some wear. It's easy enough to repair with tent patches from a camping store. You can't just fling it about; you have to take care of it like everything else in life. At 68lbs, I'm glad to have the heavy duty roller bag. I leave the canopy attached and everything fits in the roller bag like it should. All in all, easy peasy.
I only wish that this brand offered a front awning like E-Z Up. The detachable flap awning provides great shade at the entrance of my booth. However with Costco's lifetime guarantee for the Caravan canopy, I'll live without the detachable shade."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:February 26, 2011

Fastest Easiest set up still after 6 years

Model Number: Item # 264965
"I bought one of these Caravan canopies from Costco 6 years ago and it has lasted all this time. I set up in flea markets 4 times per month in all kinds of weather and this canopy can handle it all.
The best part is the easy set up. I can set it up in just a few minutes all by myself! (definitely the fastest and easiest of any canopy maker -- and at the flea market I get to see how all brands stand up!) With the center-pole-off-the-ground canopy construction I can move it as the sun moves without anyone's help. The sides for shade or inclement weather protection go off & on with ease.
The only drawback was that after 6 years of beating sun & rain, I finally had to order a new top...which still fit after all that time!
All around great product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sunny cali
Date:November 29, 2010

great canopy

"I don't understand why most of these reviews are about the BAG and not the awning itself. I have been selling at farmers markets for 25 years and i have never used the bag. I throw it away. its easier just to wheel it on a simple dolly. the bag is too hard to get on the thing anyways. caravans are very good awnings and if you live in southern california, you can go to their facility and they will help you with replacement parts and/or repairs. forget the bag people."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 15, 2009

Good canopy

"I used this canopy several times a week at my farmers market booths. Easy single person setup (Once you get to know it) and takedown. I did not have the problem with the case that others have complained about. One of the spring clips did stop funtioning, but it in no way hampered the use of the canopy. I expect this to happen with the HEAVY use I put to canopies. I would gladly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:HB, California
Date:September 7, 2009

Nice Shade, Ripping Bag is Useless

Pros: nice shade, easy setup, sturdy
Cons: crapola bag, heavy for some, not for long-term use
Model Number: 61009C
"This is my second canopy. I returned the first (more on that later). Like the others that have posted here, not only did the first bag fall apart, but my second turned useless after two uses. The wheel support cracked, and cheap vinyl tore under the weight of the canopy. I think the only type of bag that could handle this type of weight is one made of canvas. I haven't yet contacted the manufacturer to find out what to do, but they should do something!
That aside, my first canopy was left outside for nearly an entire summer. This may have been a mistake. While I can accept the fact that it got dirty, all but one of the nylon tie-downs slowly dissolved into powder. The maufacturer blamed UV light and wanted me to ship it back to them for repair. I drove it back to Costco instead, and ordered a new one.
While I'm completely satisfied with the canopy's function, I do not recommend leaving it out for weeks at a time. Nor do I recommend trying to wheel it anywhere unless you understand that the bag will break.
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, Arizona
Date:August 11, 2009

Excellent Purchase

"We bought the canopy for use at craft shows. The quality is very good and it is fairly easy to put up. A little difficult for one but it can be done. Some comments suggest the bag/case rips, but if you are careful how you pack and unpack there isn't any problem. We found if you stand the folded canopy up on it's legs and slide the carry case over rather than try to fit the canopy in the case it is extremely easy and no worries about ripping the case. We are very glad we made this purchase."
Review 16 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mineola, NY
Date:July 4, 2009

So far, so good.

Pros: goes up easy - one person could handle it
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Aluma Shade Big Foot Made in China, Costco# 333521
"I bought this item in the store three months ago. I've wanted onefor years for a party I usually have in August but by the time I went to buy one they were always out of stock. I used it for the first time today, without the sides. Glad I read the review about putting them up before it is completely extended.
The bag seems very sturdy. I borrowed a brand new one from a friend two years ago and ripped the bag immediately. This one SEEMS stronger. It is heavy nylon - backpack/luggage quality with zippers up both sides. It is easier to take out and return to the bag than earlier bags.
The frame seems to be powder coated aluminum - Perhaps when it is a few years old the slides may begin to bind, but then I will carry a can of WD-40.
My canopy came with complete instructions in English and Spanish and a sheet for customizing with printed sides etc.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:June 27, 2009

Its good......But

Pros: easy to put up
Cons: sides need to be larger, zippers need to be sturdier
Model Number: 10x10
"Carefully read the other review about setting these up. If you don't put on the sides BEFORE you fully set it up it will take three men and a boy to do so. The sides are a little too short at the attachment of the zippers and impossible to attach after the fact or in the wind. Don't leave the canopy attached when putting in the bag (many do) or the bag will rip."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:minnesota
Date:June 8, 2009

Bag broke during first use

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: bag is absolute garbage
"This is my second caravan 10x10. The first was purchased in the store and lasted 3 years - nice canvas bag, but the zipper broke quickly. This model purchased online is a heavier steel model (what I wanted), but comes with a cheaper plastic bag - ripped at both handles first time using. Zipper also broke on first day as well. The material reminds me of a halloween costume I had as a kid. The canopy seems good, though. Too bad it can't be moved around with this included bag!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009

Love it

Pros: great for craft shows
"I took a chance on this tent knowing Costco would refund my money if I had any problems. It is great. No problems with the bag as reported by others.
It did not come with directions, but since I had used similar tents, I knew what to do: Put the top on first, when it is still short and not opened up too much.
Put the sides on next BEFORE YOU OPEN MAKE THE TENT AS BIG AS IT CAN BE. I am not talking about the height. I mean make the tent about 8x8 wide, then add the sides. Zipper the sides at least part way, then pull on the legs at each corner to make the tent as large as possible. The sides do fit, you just have to do it this way.
Next, make sure all the velcro is stuck. There are four elastic cords to hold down the top of the tent.
If you are going to attach weights, there are eight black hooks to do so at the corners of the top and it is easier while the tent is still short.
The last step is to raise the tent to the proper height.
I just used my tent next to the one I used to borrow. I noticed my friend's tent had puddles on the top after a rain. Mine did not! Perhaps that will change when mine is as old as my friends."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caravan 10' x 10' Canopy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:seattle
Date:February 12, 2009

canopy

"We bought one for the cub scouts. The bag ripped the first time used and we returned to Costco - will try another one but if that fails we will find another brand."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>