Customer Reviews for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock

Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock

A Proven Solution Tailored to Small Business Needs SB-100 PRO 2.5™ Employee Time Clock from Icon Time Systems is an industry first web enabled time clock that eliminates the complexities of a conventional automated time clock in the market today! With software built right into the time clock, set up is a breeze as there’s no software to install. Simply connect the time clock either to your office network or to your computer using one of the multiple connectivity options included. This user-friendly automated time clock solution doesn’t stop with employee time collection and calculation of employee timecards. The SB-100 PRO 2.5™ streamlines your payroll process and includes payroll exports to send hours’ information directly to QuickBooks, Paychex Online Payroll or ADP. Start saving time and money right away!  No Monthly Fees and Internet Connection is Not Required. QuickBooks Time Clock Integration Included Directly import your employee hours from your time clock to QuickBooks quicker than ever, with the Time Clock QuickBooks Plug-in. This one-of-a-kind application allows you to manage your employee time clock directly from QuickBooks, import regular and overtime hours and synchronize employees between both programs. Multiple Employee Entry Options The SB-100 PRO 2.0™ allows employees to easily clock IN and OUT using 3 digit pre-assigned ID number or through optional proximity badges (sold separately) or through their web browser (upgrade required). Access Remotely Over the Internet In addition to connecting directly to your PC or office network, the SB-100 PRO 2.0™ also allows for connecting remotely over the Internet, at no additional charge. Connecting to the office time clock over the Internet is perfect for checking on employee attendance while away from the office or for processing payroll from home. Network Connection and Configuration Required. Easily Expandable For those looking for additional functionality, optional software upgrade packs are available at an inexpensive one-time fee. Track and accrue benefit time, categorize employees’ time in department, add managers to the clock, etc. Features and Benefits:   Automatically calculates employee timecards. Manage timecards using USB, Network or Web option for remote access. Never a monthly fee. Proactive homepage alerts notify manager of overtime, punches and more   Mac compatible time clock   Includes 25 employee capacity, easily expandable to 250   Employees view time worked directly at the clock   Multiple employee entry options: keypad( PIN), proximity badge or web browser employee entry (employee badge and browser entry sold separately)   Calculates 2 levels of standard, overtime, and consecutive day (California) overtime hours   Access from multiple PC’s, no additional licensing required   Includes  QuickBooks® Payroll, Paychex Online, Payroll, .csv and ADP exports   Supports weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, and monthly pay periods   Keeps data and time if power is lost   Optional automatic lunch deduction   Tracks time spent during paid breaks   Real-time reporting   Provides Time Worked, Attendance Sheets, Exception Reports and more    Free 30-day set up support   Dimensions: 7.25" x 8" x 2"; Weight: 1.2 lbs. Included in the Box:   SB-100 PRO 2.0 ™ Employee Time Clock   25 Pre-assigned ID Numbers   15 ft. Ethernet Cable   15 ft. USB Cable   Quick Start Guide and User Manual   One year parts and labor warranty   30 days free Technical Setup Support and Assistance   Power Supply   Locking Mounting Plate with 2 Keys Systems Requirements:   Compatible with Windows PC, Mac, Linux, iPad, and Smartphone   Non-windows Based PC Require Network Time Clock to be Connected to the Network   Payroll Exports: QuickBooks, Paychex Online Payroll and ADP require Windows Based PC   Internet Connection and Network Configuration   Required for Remote Access over Internet.   For more detailed product information, please call 1-800-847-2232 Model: SB-100 Pro
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
14 of 19(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Review 1 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Keizer, OR
Date:July 19, 2012

Great for our office

Model Number: SB-100 Pro 2.0 universal
"We are very happy with our SB 100 pro, We checked out many time clocks for our small business prior and this particular model fits our needs. Reports are easy to get to and also for a manager to edit if an employee forgets to clock in/out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:May 23, 2012

Great Dependable Employee Time Clock

Pros: dependable great features and easy to use, excellent support
Model Number: SB-100 Pro Employee Time Clco
"We purchased the ICON SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock in 2007 and are extremely happy with the features, dependability, ease of use, options and access to TECH Support. Upgrades and Updates keep the clock up to state of the art current technology. The clock is accessible remotely from a PC which is very useful. The folks at ICON have always been available and very eager to assist us with any concerns. We have purchased an additional clock this year because we have so much confidence in the product. Highly Recommend this Employee Time Clock"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:November 11, 2011

SB100 PRO...don't buy!

Model Number: SB100 PRO
"We used the SB100 PRO for about 1-1/2 years. It was a pain in that we had to run 'cabling' from the time clock in the back room to a computer in the front office every pay period. BUT then it simply stopped working...mid week. Lost ALL of the entered time. When we call tech support, they told us to buy a new one! NICE!"
Review 4 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:May 17, 2011

Offsite review

Pros: multiple locations
Cons: limit # of employees
Model Number: SB-100 Pro
"Our needs were simple for a clock other than to be able to log in from offsite to review the punch information. We don't need to download the information so I can't comment on that part. It was easy to set up and I love being able to log in from the internet at any time and see who is punched in and their hours worked for prior week(s) and day(s) for multiple locations.
I was disappointed that the pre-assinged employee #s is the same for both clocks so we were limited by our # of employees for both locations combined and not for each location.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, cA
Date:May 16, 2011

Easy System to configure

Pros: easy to install
Cons: no static ip option
"I recommended this System to a Customer and installed it in less than 30 minutes.
It connects anywhere on your Network, the Install is straight-forward.
No complains, Win-7 and 64Bit compatible.
"
Review 6 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:August 11, 2010

Best Time Clock for your money!

Pros: quickbooks plugin, easy to use, network ready, updates are free online
Model Number: SB-100PRO
"I have owned this clock for about a year and a half now at my rooter service, and after a while it started to get REALLY slow. I had to wait quite a while for reports to come up. I got frustrated, so I called the Tech Support at Icon and asked them how to speed it up. They recommended that I do the update that's available for free on their website.
WOW!!! After the update, my clock is faster than it has ever been! I don't know what they did to fix it, but it really worked. It really does save me a ton of time and money processing payroll, especially with the Quickbooks Plugin. Just a couple clicks and I'm done!
I just bought another one for another location and it came with the update loaded already. I'm SO HAPPY that this clock is so affordable. This clock is worth every penny, in my opinion."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kentucky
Date:August 8, 2010

DO NOT BUY THIS TIMECLOCK

Cons: slow, cumbersome
"While the functionality of this timeclock is OK (the software is cumbersome, but it does function), the server they put on this thing is beyond SLOW. It takes me HOURS to adjust times for people that forget to clock in or out. This is an absolute WASTE OF TIME BECAUSE OF A POORLY BUILT MACHINE. Whatever you do, DO NOT buy this time clock. You may think it saves you time and money, but, in the end, you will spend hours doing payroll because of it. Spend your money of something better."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:December 3, 2009

Worth it for the price, a few minor issues...

Model Number: SB-100PRO 2.0
"The biggest plus to this clock is the fact that it is network based - this eliminates the need for proprietary software and means any computer with a web browser can access it (regardless of operating system). We had a Lathem time clock previously and any time we had to reinstall or move it to another computer it meant a 1/2 to 1 hour phone call to them to re-activate the software. This clock is WAY easier to deal with and eliminates that problem.
There are only a couple of minor drawbacks I have run into. 1) You can only choose ONE type of pay period (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, etc) that applies to all of the employees on the clock. 2) I had trouble saving the backup file over the network connection - Firefox would not show the save pop-up dialog and Internet Explorer had to have some security settings adjusted before the save dialog would show. A note in the box explaining what settings to edit for this would have been helpful. The backup feature was the only part that gave me this trouble, all the other features worked fine in both browsers. The backup feature has an easy work-around though - you can plug a USB flash drive directly into the clock and backup to it directly from the keypad without even using a PC (very nice feature).
Seems like most of the negative reviews on here relate to network / remote access issues. There is no way a time-clock can know your network and router configuration, that part requires a bit of technical knowledge so it's not fair to blame Icon, or the clock, for these issues. The one person who had problems with punches working either had a bad unit, or an IP address conflict on their network.
My only final complaint is about all time-clocks in general - why do these companies have to put limits on the # of employees? I understand memory constraints, but putting an extremely low employee limit (25) and then charging a bunch more money to remove this limit is highly annoying! The hardware already supports more and the database doesn't care one way or the other, it's purely for price gouging purposes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:October 28, 2009

Great Product!

Model Number: SB-100 Pro
"Had read the other reviews posted. This product was easy to set up, easy to customize, easy to use. The installation guide was well written and support documentation available. Installed product on LAN and was able access remotely through internet after configuring router. Would recommend."
Review 10 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:August 12, 2009

Stop using paper! Perfect for small business.

Pros: easy-to-use right away, great customer service
Cons: upgrade process can be confusing
Model Number: SB-100
"This clock is perfect out-of-the-box and a great value for a small business (5-15 employees) operating out of a single location. Ethernet and html interface are so easy-to-use I never even tried the usb cable (though the length of the included usb cable is long enough to make it a "free" gift for getting this clock!)
Icon is a good company, and responsive. If you have more employees or departments or locations, (we have 3 clocks, each in its own location connected via our VPN, and 60 people using the clock daily.) I recommend doing a bit of research on their site and building a clock with their upgrades- you can still buy this clock from Costco to get you started, but plan on spending extra money on the upgrades to get full functionality."
Review 11 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009

disappointment

"We have had nothing but trouble using this system. Our empolyees are frequently unable to clock in and clock out and the report functions are also inaccessible at times. The biggest surprise was $150/yr technical support fee this company charges to troubleshoot the product. We purchased the system in order to save time, we are actually spending more time than before!"
Review 12 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

easy to use - fits our needs

Pros: came with proximity badge option, ore than one person can go on the software at once, usb and ethernet
Cons: manual could be better
Model Number: SB-100 PRO
"Clock is very easy to use.
We had it set up and using it the day we received it.We use it to send our hours to QuickBooks, made payroll go much faster.
I tried other time clocks including a finger reader. They were not nearly as good quality as this and too complicated
Highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2009

uncomplicated and reliable

Model Number: SB-100 PRO
"I've used this product for over a year with nothing but good results. the negative reviews must be from the competition because they make no sense to me.
The support has been prompt and efficient. my only complaint had been that it was somewhat slow in uploading data from time clock to computer but that was taken care of in the most recent and free update. I feel that this is an excellent value
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:May 1, 2009

SB-100 IconTime

Model Number: sb-100
"Great product. Nothing in life is perfect. Although, in one year, the clocks have already paid for themselves. No longer trying to calculate punches manually or desifering hours. Minor bugs, but when your CSR is willing to listen and do all that she can to help remedy the problem, you look forward to the next update. Latest updates have certainly made the link a whole lot faster. I do recommend if you are still writing in hours. Payroll processing efficiency has increased by at lease 50%. You cant go wrong."
Review 15 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Selena, CA
Date:February 17, 2009

Love this clock

Pros: simple setup, inexpensive
Cons: ethernet cable was not long enough had to buy one
Model Number: SB-100 PRO
"I was hesitant to buy this clock after reading previous reviews. But I am glad I took the chance, this clock is great.
We have a small business with 58 employees doesn't seem so small on payroll day but with this machine it is much easier. We used to use a date/time stamp clock and I had to calculate everything by hand. When I come in to do payroll I run the timecard reports and print them out and am ready to go.
I started small at first with just my office staff but have now added all the drivers and warehouse help as well.
Even the employees love the clock because they can see their time calculated at the clock."
Review 16 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:January 28, 2009

Great Product! Makes Tracking Hours Effortless.

Pros: no computer hookup needed., plug into your lan via ethernet., stand-alone operation -- has its own memory.
Cons: none
Model Number: SB-100 PRO
"I have had the Icon Time SB-100 PRO for our business for over a year. I was going to recommend this to a friend and wanted to check if Costco still sells it, but I was very surprised to see the lukewarm reviews here.
By all measures, I think the SB-100 PRO is great!
We have about 10 employees, and the SB-100 has made tracking employee hours very very effortless. Unlike most other electronic time clock at this price range, this unit does NOT require a hard-wired persistent connection to a PC. You just plugged it in and connect it to your local-area-network using an ethernet cable.
Despite what the manual says, the SB-100 PRO does NOT require a compute to run. Most other time clocks plug into a USB or a RS-232 port on your PC (if you can still find one of those on your computer!), which means you need to have a computer running the software all the time. But the SB-100 has its own memory, and it runs in stand-alone mode without requiring a computer at its side. Very versatile. Even when power goes down, the data is save. I don't understand why one review says you need a computer nearby. The greatest thing about the SB-100 is that it doesn't and I am pretty sure I'm right, because I've used it for over a year that way.
Also, the employee numbers are not controlled by ICON. There are 25 pre-assigned employee codes randomly selected between 001 and 999 (because they are nonconsecutive, it cuts down on the chance your employees will key in the wrong code). These numbers never change and the list is saved in the machine. You can assign an employee to any number out of these 25. You can buy the magnetic badges from ICON, but having your employees key in their codes works just fine for us. None of my employees has any problem with it ever. Really simply to use.
With this machine, you define your pay period, whether it is biweekly, monthly or anything else. You can assign different hourly wage to each employee. The timesheet report tracks regular hours, lunch and overtime, and it adds up everything through the pay period for you. How simple can it get?
This is a great unit. It never failed. Very reliable. Stands up to pretty heavy usage in my place. Accessible over your LAN. It could be a little confusing to set up if you are not familiar with networking. But ask a techie to help set it up for you, and you will be very glad you bought this machine!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:January 26, 2009

Confusing product

Model Number: sb100pro
"I purchased this product thinking i can access over the internet, very difficult and the tech support department, no help and not reachable. Not good if you don't have a pc to use near permanently. I had an older model that was simple and basic but inconvenient since i had to tote the printer to and fro to work. Good thing i purchased from costco i can return it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:January 6, 2009

Don't buy this product

Cons: poor over-all quality, very poor mfg customer service, misleading mfg claims, cheap plastic looks like a toy
Model Number: SB-100
"I researched this timeclock on the Icon website as well as Costco. Because I believed the manufacturer claimed on their website I purchased the timeclock. Forget about job costing, there is no real difference between this and a manual punch except the export feature - which is worthless since you are forced to either use employee numbers that only Icon controls, which are neither sequential nor employee specific or purchase expensive badges (at $5 each) which have now cost me $36 to return un-opened. Icon tech support is only open M-F from 9-5, no evening or weekend support. Icon customer service was very poor, not up to Costco standards."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Icon Time Systems SB-100 PRO Employee Time Clock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2008

Great Value - Saves Us Lots of Time

Pros: really easy to set up, small learning curve, employees like it - so does the accountant
Cons: only came with 25 employees had to upgrade to more, only 30 days of product support included
Model Number: SB-100 PRO
"This clock was a great purchase. High quality and very easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.