Customer Reviews for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center

LED Display, Auto On/Off, Seven Languages and Illuminated Control Dial
Average Customer Rating:
3.98 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
(out of 51 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
37 of 51(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Review 1 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, WA
Date:September 28, 2009

Fairly expensive, but easy to use

Pros: less grounds on counter & less work per cup
Cons: machine fairly deep so you lose counter space
Model Number: F7
"It's kind of expensive, so you'll need to decide if saving several minutes of work per cup of espresso is worth the extra cost. After using this machine for 40-50 espressos, I think the extra few hundred dollars are worth it for the automation. I also like having less coffee ground mess all over my counter compared to my burr grinder. However, since the hopper only holds one kind of beans, I do still need to grind decaf. Convenient bypass allows you to switch between the main hopper and ground coffee with almost no hassle. Much cleaner operation overall than manual.
I did have an issue a few times with my preferred dark, espresso, and French roast coffees. At the finest grind settings, the coffee tended to dribble rather than flow quickly thru the spout. I found I needed to follow the manufacturer's recommendation and adjust to a slightly coarser grind which solved the problem. The espresso still seemed strong enough for me. I find for oily beans or French roast the 3rd setting from the finest position works better for nice flow of espresso from the spout. When using oily/dark beans, the two finest grind settings seemed to slow down the flow into the cup.
You control the amount of coffee used by selecting mild/normal/strong, an "aroma" of normal or robust and 1 or 2 cups. You also control how many ounces per cup. There is a limit to how much grounds can be used at a time. This means if you go more than 2 ounces for one cup you will get weak espresso. The two cup feature is a little misleading as it adds some additional grounds, but doesn’t seem to add enough grounds to make a 2 oz double-shot. Doubling the water thru the machine (2 cup setting) tends to make the coffee/espresso weaker than with the single cup setting. I find for espresso that is strong enough for my liking I can go up to 2 oz in the single cup setting or 1.5 oz (each) in the two cup setting. More water than this makes espresso that is too weak for me.
My preferred espresso settings are "strong", "robust", grinder at 3rd setting from the finest position for dark/oily roast and 2 oz for single shot, 1.5 oz for two cup (double-shot).
This machine is very easy to clean and allows you to make a lot of coffee or espresso without a lot of work. Approx every 10th to 16th cup you need to add beans, water, or dump the grounds, but much better than doing it every cup.
This froths milk a little better than other machines I've had primarily as it holds more steam so it doesn't cool down as quickly, however I rarely froth my milk.
Instructions are clear and the "how to" DVD is helpful. Customer support responded promptly to an e-mail question and have a toll free support number available.
Only thing that makes me nervous is the automated features mean more things could go wrong. After 40-50 espressos the machine seems solid, so hopefully reliability won't be an issue. Since this machine saves me several minutes’ effort for every espresso compared to my old manual machine, I think the repair risk from increased automation is worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Date:November 29, 2008

Excellent Value

Pros: fast heating, control for water hardness, easy to use controls, self cleaning, versatile - make espresso drinks and "brewed coffe, excellent "live person" support
Cons: the unit is a little tall.
"I've had this machine for 5 months now, and make about 5 to 7 espressos each morning. I drink 4 or 5 espressos and I make my wife a 2-shot decaf latte. So, I keep regular beans in the hopper for the self-contained grinder, and I pre-grind decaf for my wife, putting that in the pre-ground entrance to the machine.
This machine is rock-solid. I had a problem with my first cup (after running a cleaning cycle to clean the internal pipes etc). For some reason, coffee only came out of one of the two coffee spigots... I called the toll-free Jura support number, and it was answered on the 3rd ring by a real human being! He quickly diagnosed the issue: I had used beans from the freezer... and he told me to use a toothpick to insert into the espresso spigot, and told me to use room temperature beans. Since that day, it has been perfect.
It heats quickly - it is ready in about 30 seconds or so to make a shot of espresso.
It takes another 30 seconds or so for the 2nd boiler to heat if you want to steam & froth milk. The steamer is excellent; it will also emit hot water without waiting for the 2nd boiler, and I use that to pre-heat espresso cups.
It comes with a DVD that walks you through how to use it.
I even use it to make "regular coffee" -- 6 or 8 ounces of "brewed" coffee (it does not use a paper filter like Melita drip, so you get more flavor and "crema".
If there are any "cons" at all, it is that you'll drink more coffee than you ever have before, because it tastes so much better than every other machine that now sits in my garage appliance cemetery.
The unit is a bit tall. Make sure you have adequate space if you are placing it on a counter top with cabinets above."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Linden, VA
Date:April 19, 2009

Don't even hesitate

Pros: quality of coffees produced easy "training"
Cons: has increased my coffee consumption
Model Number: J7
"I hesitated to spend so much to make good coffee since the only espresso makers I have ever owned were on the low-end for quality and price and I do not make it a habit to pay coffee bar prices despite a love of lattes. But I could not be happier with my purchase and will never go back!
The J7 is sooo easy to use and allows custom cups for everyone in the household in less time than it used to take to brew a pot in my Krups machine. The rebound time for steaming is miniscule and the quality of the product, whether choosing a mild 8oz. cup or a double shot of espresso is as good as any I've had at Starbucks. The only time I've ever had any better coffee was in Italy and France from very high-end machines (and different coffee.)
My husband thought he was going to be challenged to learn the variety of options available; but after just 4 days, he's mastered it.
I took others' advice to pay attention to the programmability from the beginning to avoid disappointment. I have NOT been disappointed in a single cup so far, whether an Americano or cappucino or latte or espresso."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 20, 2009

Two Strikes and You're Out...

Pros: easy to use and snap to clean. minimal., brews intense cup of espresso, impressive appearance., easy to feed coffee beans
Cons: faulty internal steamer., neither espresso nor milk are heated adequately., leaks excess water internally.
Model Number: Jura Impressa F7
"Fabulously looking machine. Big, shiny. Actually brews an intense espresso - easily. But this is my second machine. Bought first in Dec, '08. Lasted over 400 brews until internal steamer blew casket in April, '09. Instead of sending steam through nozzle, internally pumps but only hisses and releases internally in machine. No release through nozzle. Okay, fluke occurence, right? Wrong! Returned first machine to local Costco store for full refund, no questions or hassle. True benefit of Costco! But second machine, after less than 200 brews, again blew same internal steamer gasket. It also dripped water internally (into catch pan) far more than first. Also as with first machine, additional "heating" of latte is required in microwave after brewing. While the relative simplicity to creating and clean-up for lattes is enjoyed, pretty much done with this machine. If you really want to take a whirl with this espresso maker (Jura F7), be absolutely sure you purchase it here through Costco for return "insurance" purposes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:July 18, 2009

Great coffee & convenience

Pros: very easy to use and maintain, always produces excellent crema
Cons: takes a while to figure out the right settings, cleaning tablets and cartridges are expensive
Model Number: F7
"After owning the unit for a few weeks, I wasn't sure I was going to keep it. The coffee was coming out bitter, and the quality was inconsistent. After experimenting with different settings and coffees (and perhaps after a break in period), I am extremely happy with the quality and consistency. Here are a few tips I have discovered:
-- Remember that even though you can adjust the volume of your serving (1 to 16 ounces), this doesn't change the amount of coffee that the machine grinds. So a large serving is likely to be weak, even if you set it on "strong." I have found that for coffee (as opposed to espresso), 3.5-4.0 ounces on the "strong" setting seems to result in the best quality.
-- Before you brew a new cup, keep running the rinse cycle until the water comes through clear. This guarantees that you won't get off flavors from dregs from the previous cup.
-- Use the best coffee possible (per your own taste). The Jura-Capresso is good, but it won't make mediocre coffee taste like a high-end blend.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:November 11, 2008

Love this machine!

Pros: saves $ over time, no standing in line, wonderful aroma in the morning, great for entertaining
"I've had an excellent experience with my Jura-Capresso. This machine is a great value at this price. I'm a huge espresso drinker. Every morning I used to be standing in line at one of those coffee shops you can find on most corners buying my triple espresso..sometimes even twice or three times a day. Then a few months ago I read a newspaper article about a couple who bought one of the Jura-Capresso automatic espresso and coffee centers for their home. They added up how much they spent each day buying $ 4 specialty coffee drinks at a store and realized they could easily justify the initial expense of the in-home machine. They ended up saving money in the long run. It made perfect sense! So I followed their lead...Awesome espressos, wife loves the frothy cappucinos...great when we have dinner parties, too."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 19, 2009

Great machine; poor reliability

Pros: great end product when it works
Cons: reliability issues
"I am about to take a second machine back to costco. Given the quality of the coffee it made, we reordered when the first one went bad in about 3 1/2 months. We figured we had just gotten a lemon. But, about 4 months into the second one, which was working great, it just stopped pumping water through the coffee. There is no question that when it works this is a great machine, but for two machines to go in such a short time it makes me believe there is a construction quality/engineering issue.
We'll just have to look for a more reliable machine which is disappointing. As I said the coffee quality is terrific when it works. The design is attractive and went extremely well in our kitchen. However, a product needs to be reliable and this one is definitlely not."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:December 19, 2008

by far the best of the 8 automatics I've owned

Pros: rock solid construction and ability to clean well.
Cons: none
Model Number: F60, I believe the same as the F7
"I have owned 5 Saeco automatics before purchasing this one. All bought from Costco, would never buy a machine from anyone else. Each of the Saeco machines had a problem at about a year, and Costco took them back. I finally switched to the Jura this last time, about 2 yrs. ago and there is no comparison. This machine is superior in every way. One of the most important differences is the Jura uses a tablet to clean out the oils built up over time. Doing this on a regular basis seems to be a major factor in the machine working so well, and delivering a great shot or coffee every time. I'm now a Jura fan, and will not consider any others in the future. Love buying and shopping at Costco, they are the best in the business."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009

As Good as Starbucks!

Pros: as good (or better) lattes than starbucks!
Cons: coffee addiction may ensue
"I absolutely love my Jura Capressa. I make the same sugar free caramel latte everyday, and everyday I say "mmm" after that first drink. Okay, I know that sounds corny, but its true! This machine is so easy to use, clean up couldn't be easier, and since I am a Starbucks girl (well, used to be!), it has already paid for itself. (200 lattes at $4 each is $800). I would definitely recommend this coffee center to any amateur barista! You can buy your favorite flavored syrup from Starbucks and ask them for a pump to go with it. Their syrup is very reasonably priced. My recipe is 1 cup steamed milk, 4 pumps of sugar free caramel syrup, and 4 ounces of mild espresso. Delicious!"
Review 10 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hershey PA
Date:January 29, 2009

Terrific unit

Pros: great coffee, easy to use, fast, prompts you to refill water or beans or empty grnd
Cons: steamer does not foam milk as much as i would like
Model Number: Impressa f7 (not sure of exact model)
"I read all of the reviews before buying this six weeks ago, and I am glad I was not discouraged by the negatives. I went through the video tutorial so that I knew what the controls did. Once you do this, it is a piece of (coffee) cake to operate. Most importantly, it makes a great cup of coffee. One review noticed "dirty water" -- my ghosh, that's the rinse that is always used between a power down and a power up. The machine says "rinse" so it is pretty hard not to know that you should discard this, even if you don;t do the tutorial. My only worry is that it will eventually break and I'll go mad waiting for it to be fixed or a new one to arrive."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2009

recurring problems /hign repair price

Model Number: S7
"I have had a Jura for a few years. Had several recurring problems and after warranty ran out I sent in for $150 to fix. It worked for about 8 months then the same problems. Fixed again and it lasted 5 months. Now they want $275 for service! I have no confidence in this company and am looking to buy a new machine and checked costco to hoping that perhaps Jura had improved and I might give them one more chance- shame because I liked the coffee and convenience when it actually worked.
Expect better product for price, I had an S7 that cost over 2 grand but find similar complaints on internet from many customers like me about all models."
Review 12 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:December 26, 2008

Excellent Coffee

Pros: quality coffee easy setup and intuitive use
Cons: none
Model Number: F7
"This is a great machine that produces fantastic coffee cup after cup. The FrothXpress attachment sold separately is very useful and highly recommended. Delivered well packaged from CostCo "box-within-a-box", and worked great after following the "first time use" instructions. I found out that they really mean not to change the coarseness of the grinder if the grinder is not running. I changed it as it was idle, and that caused only one of the spigots to dispense coffee. I brewed another cup, and as the grinder was running, I turned the "coarseness" knob for the grinder, and it started to dispense coffee out of both spigots."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:January 30, 2009

Greatly Disappointed

Pros: well constructed, straight forward directions, ease of use
Cons: weak/bland coffee, must enter coffee strength for every cup you brew, cannot change strength for 2 cups or ground coffee, does not produce much foam
Model Number: Impressa F7
"I bought this machine to replace a Saeco Vspresso, which was falling apart after 2 years of use (wand flew off, bottom pealed off). When the Impressa F7 arrived, we were impressed that it appeared ro be better constructed than our prior Saecos. However, the coffee that came out of it was another matter--instead of espresso, we ended up with coffee drinks that tasted as though they had been made with regular coffee. Even after making every adjustment possible and using different types of Espresso and Italian roast, the coffee is still weak. Consequently, I am planning to return the machine to Costco."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:January 27, 2009

Somewhat disappointed…

Pros: help reduce your caffeine consumption.
Cons: bad design, bad tasting coffee
Model Number: Jura Capressa F9
"First: Controls are annoyingly non-intuitive. Unless you adjust it every time you use the machine, you don’t know what portion size it is going to dispense until it actually spills coffee all over the counter. I still cant figure out how can I make two cups of strong coffee. Or maybe it’s broken.
Second: For whatever reason is always spills couple drops of nasty dirty cold water in my cup before it brews coffee.
And the last, but not least: it makes substandard coffee. Colder and watery then made in De’Longhi and Bosch. I am thinking of returning this machine.
"
Review 15 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 9, 2009

Very nice

Pros: heats up fast, makes great coffee real strong if your preference, easy to learn to use
Cons: loud!
Model Number: F7
"We are very pleased with our Jura F7. After having viewed the DVD, it was very simple to follow the instructions and make a perfect cup of coffee. Some of the reviews are unfairly critical of the machine - so long as the instructions are followed, it does what it is supposed to do. I also disagree that the operating is counter-intuitive - we found it very easy and self explanatory... The only caveat - it is loud! The grinding of the beans, disposal of used grinds, all of these actions are not quiet- you can even hear them from another floor in the house..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:August 16, 2009

Best for the Money

Model Number: Imkpressa F7/F8
"We loved our Saeco for 6 years until it died. We find the Imprerssa a much better machine, easier to operate, thicker foam, more choices, quieter, no descale duties when using the filter, and most of all the light, normal and strong settings when making a single cup. I lived in Italy for four years and find the Impressa espresso quite up to Italian standards, contrary to one review on this site. Also, I disagree with the review which criticized the foam: to make proper foam, you must simply extend the rod."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2008

So long Starbucks!

"This machine is absolutely incredible & completely worth the price. My mom has owned one for a few years now & I have often enjoyed making my mochas & lattes when visiting there. It is extremely quick & simple to operate & does not require much cleanup on a daily basis other than to clean off the steaming wand. It takes me no more time to make my coffee & get out the door than it does to wait in line & pay for one. Now that I have my own I will be saving a fortune as I am a habitual latte drinker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:September 26, 2009

Not bad, but not worth the effort

Pros: good espresso, high precision machine
Cons: high maintanence machine, weak frothing ability
Model Number: F7
"Bought this machine here @ Costco.com. Delivered safely and quickly. Have had it for roughly 6 months now. Have never been impressed by the frothing capabilities, but it sufficed. Pulls good to great shot if everything else is in place (fresh beans, yadda yadda). About a week ago it stopped working entirely. Grinder just doesn't grind. The lack of ability to open the machine at all means you can't pull out the brew group to take a look. Going back today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 2, 2009

Disappointed with the frothing system.

Pros: great coffe taste
Cons: bad frothing system
Model Number: Impressa F7
"I bought this Jura-Capresso machine based on the reviews. The coffee is very good if you like to drink latte. But if you like to drink cappucino like me, you will be very very disappointed because the machine can not make thick foams, I've tried all different kind of milks and the result was the same, just steam milk with flat bubbles. I called customer service and they are very nice and sent me a replacement Steam Nozzle right away but it did not help."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jura-Capresso Impressa Automatic Espresso and Coffee Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 5, 2009

Very Reliable Machine

Pros: fresh coffee in seconds, fun toy at dinner parties
Cons: you do a shot when you wouldn't otherwise
Model Number: F7
"To get a better Auto than this you have to spend over 2K.
Several reviewers claim that this is junk because the one they received had a problem. One data point does not a statistical model make. The F7 has been in the market for several years, for good reason. Even the new models use the same basic brew head mechanism as this one. Mine has put out over 2400 shots without a hitch. Tip: Every time you dump the grounds, wipe the brewhead with a damp cloth.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>