Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand

Kill Germs the Safe, Natural Way™
Average Customer Rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
4 of 10(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Review 1 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southport, NC
Date:July 3, 2009

Hard to use

Pros: kills germs
Cons: takes too long., arm will get tired holding it.
Model Number: item #278002
"This item probably kills germs but you have to hold it over a very small area for 15 to 20 seconds. It would take you over 5 minutes to sanitize a pillow case! I brought ours back."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:October 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, quickly sterilizes things
"Folks, this is a very easy item to use! It's a set that comes with a rechargeable wand as big as a child's cricket bat, plus a travel wand no bigger than a hair straightening wand. The reason why the UV bulb turns OFF if the wand is tilted is a safety feature so you don't fry your eyeballs! It ONLY works in the bulb-side-down position. It takes mere seconds - maybe up to a minute - to do most surface areas. Yes, a bed takes 6 min, but you only have to do it once a month or so!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:September 24, 2009

Takes too long to be effective

"I think this item works, at least to some degree, but after purchasing it I read the instructions. One must hold the bulbs over one spot for 15-20 seconds before that spot is sanitized. Tilting the light just a little forces it to turn off, so my arm was too tired to do much, plus the boredom alone from the amount of time required to clean even a small item was too much. It just isn't realistically practical so returned it."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009

didn't work = took it back

"I did every thing I was supposed to do to charge it but the large wand never held a charge so I was unable to even try it out. Very disappointed in an item I was looking forward to using."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tualatin, OR
Date:September 22, 2009

Germ buster extraordinaire

Model Number: LW18
"This item uses the same technique as hospitals to kill germs, UVC light. I think this is a great invention for the home consumer and looking at all the other brands out there it takes less time to do the job than others because of the length of the light/wand. And it has two options to power up, the power cord or the batteries so you can use this just about anywhere in the house!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 21, 2010

Very good product-works!

"This is a great way to sanitize your bedding, etc. It does take some time, but how much is it worth to you to get rid of those pesky dust mites? I have asthma, so it is important to me. I used this wand and noticed a big difference in my pillows and bedding after the first use. If your not too lazy, or in too big of a hurry, this wand will do the job it is meant to do. As they say, "try it-you'll like it", I am glad I bought it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CoSprings, CO
Date:November 10, 2009

Great for chem-free zaping germies

Pros: portable, chemical free germ killing
Cons: had to charge battery
Model Number: CleanWave Combo
"Sick of breathing clorox and iodine, to desinfect, I purchased the wand.
I don't have a microscope to witness micro germies deaths, but documentational evidence supports the technology of the UV-C - with NO CHEMICAL OVERSPRAY into my family's lungs!
Plus one gets to exercise abit using the wand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

waste of bux

"you would almost have to hire someone to sanitize your house full time as slow as this thing is.. waste of bux took it back"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:HB, California
Date:March 8, 2010

Don't Forget Your Sunglasses!

Pros: works as a bright blue flashlight
Cons: extremely bright blue led, terrible (non-existent) packaging from distributor
Model Number: Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
"And the sunglasses are not for the UV rays this thing is supposed to put out, but the intensely bright blue LED light that indicates that the wand is on! You can't look at it without being temporally blinded! The wand had me seeing purple polka-dots just like my daddy's flash-bulbs did from his Instamatic Camera. My son suggested that I put a piece of tape over the light. I can understand his logic, but that light is still way too bright. Only a piece of black electricians tape would blank it out. I put my thumb over the LED and it turned a pretty blue color. That's as far as I got-I didn't give the wand a chance to do its job because I couldn't look at it! I also want to mention the terrible packaging the folks at the Costco.com distributor did. The wand was put into a long box with no packing at all! I'm surprised the UV bulb didn't break! As a result of the lack of enforcement, the wand appeared used and scuffed up from all the shaking around in the box. NOTE: other reviews here say this is can be charged (or couldn't). That is not true. Read the specs on this site. You need to put in four AA batteries! To sum up, this has been my worst purchase ever from Costco.com, and it's heading to back to customer service to be returned."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Sanitizing Light Wand
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:February 20, 2010

how do you know it works?

"How to approve it works?
You have to know the surface condition (with germ) Before and after Germ Guardian is used... then you can get the conclusion, right?"
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.