Customer Reviews for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor

with Omron® Health Management Software
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 of 20(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Review 1 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State, Florida State
Date:November 9, 2010

Great Multifeatured Home Blood Pressure Monitor

Pros: works on batteries or included ac adapter, comes with a usb cable
Cons: wasn't available at costco stores
Model Number: HEM-790IT
"I have had to monitor my blood pressure at home for over 10 years. My original OMRON was very accurate until I checked its calibration two weeks ago. I began to research what was available and found this product. First, it is accurate within 3 mm. I had bought a cheaper brand which only guaranteed 10 mm. The other product gave even worse results than my broken OMRON. I took it back and bought this model online from costco.com. My favorite feature is that it connects to my home computer and lets me prepare reports for my MD. I can easily document variations. It lets two different people keep seperate values in memory (plus a guest if you are the kind of person who asks dinner guests if they would like their blood pressure taken). It comes with an AC adapter and a 5 year warranty. The software can export data into a common format for spreadsheets.
Other health boosts
* checks for morning indications of irregularities.
* will give summary statistics
* will give a warning if there are morning BP or pulse irregularities.
* if you wish, will take 3 consecutive readings and report the average.
I will be taking the unit to my doctors office to check the calibration, but based upon my earlier work, it appears very accurate.
In short, I love it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ATL, GA
Date:October 6, 2010

Not bad, but software could be updated

Pros: fast, quiet, accurate
Cons: uncomfortable cuff, limited software
Model Number: 790-IT
"The unit itself is nce and seems to be very accurate. The enclosed Comfit-cuff is anything but. It is stiff and hard to use on thin arms. The software is a little dated not all that flexible. It woudl be nice to see a more robust piece of software. The software seems to have trouble transferring data every so often."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2010

Omron® Blood Pressure Kit - Item # 279571

Model Number: 279571
"I have enjoyed the ease of use with this blood pressure cuff. I like the fact that it can store information on two people - me and my husband and it can be uploaded to my computer and printed for our physician. I have had no problems with it at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 26, 2010

Omron much better than Microlife

Model Number: BP755
"Don't skimp, spend a few extra dollars and get a device that works. I orginally bought a Microlife monitor and I was very disappointed. I am a woman who has skinny arms, so the cuff never fit properly therefore my reading were all over the map..... I should have been declared dead with most of the readings.
So far Omron has provided accurate readings, it has a much better fitting cuff, the case is actually big enough to easily fit the device and pack it away.
My husband also uses it and he likes it too. He is of average build and is very fit.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, CA
Date:September 5, 2010

Transferable data

Pros: works well
Model Number: Omron® Ultra with software
"I purchased mine two years ago from Costco.com and have been very satisfied with it. Works great, never had any problem and only once when I needed help, their 800 number was very helpful. Two years ago there were not many options out there for transferring the data to your computer but now there are for less money but not for two individuals with separate data. I can always go back and see what affects my particular workout has had on me by just visiting my computer for the time period that I have been using it. Easy to work with and easy to transfer the data with different options from monthly to daily report. highly recommend it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010

Inconsistent

Model Number: Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor - Costco Item# 279571
"I really wish this unit worked because it has some great features. Unfortunately, my wife and I have given up trying to get consistent results. Typically, the readings are 10-20 points lower than they should be. About 10% of the time they look right. We have read and reread the instructions. If this is a cuff placement issue, they need a new cuff design. This unit is going back."
Review 7 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2010

Easy to Use

Model Number: Omron Ultra Premium BP Monitor
"Very good product. Easy to use, just READ the instructions first. I agree with another user, it's "idiot proof" as long as you read the instructions."
Review 8 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:August 2, 2010

Works well

Pros: s/w to download data, accurate enuf
Cons: none that i can think of
Model Number: 790
"I have had this unit for a few weeks & has worked very well so far. I have been running it on batteries, but I have also tried the ac adapter. I used the included S/W & downloaded my readings to my computer. I then took the print out of this data & faxed it to my Doc. Quick & easy.
I also took it to my Doc's & compared it to their results. It was was pretty close. of course, there is some natural variability by any machine or nurse."
Review 9 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2010

Unreliable. Finally quit.

Pros: easy to use and read, 5 yr warranty if you can put up with the delays.
Cons: unreliable.
"I bought this because my other Omron quit, and this was the only one I could buy that day.
Big Mistake. The first one was erratic, with lots of errors. The replacement was a little better, but finally went dead.
I can't imagine such poor quality control in a medical device."
Review 10 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 11, 2010

Works okay

"The machine seems to give a lot of error readings. I have it set to give three readings a minute apart. It has yet to get all three done without at least one error reading. Other than that, the machine does what I need it to do...measures my blood pressure and gives me a printout to take to the doctor. Costco's shipping was inadequate. I paid for express shipping. They shipped UPS who don't deliver on weekends or holidays. USPS Express Mail would have had the item to me on Saturday instead of the following Tuesday."
Review 11 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Falls NJ
Date:June 9, 2010

Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor

"Very easy to use,just follow the instructions and it's idiot proof."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:TriCities WA
Date:May 3, 2010

mediocre

Pros: easy to read display
Cons: cuff, see comments
Model Number: HEM7901T
"cuff too stiff; small sweet spot; errors out too often; data review not intuitive enough; average of 3 is ok but complicates averaging over longer periods (standard deviation gets messier); software limited to Windows - should be universal for Mac and PC and Linux (maybe web app?)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Culver City, CA
Date:April 20, 2010

Happy with it

Pros: easy to use, accurate
"This BP instrument does all I need to do. I am espacially happy with the 3-measure method: the average of 3 is much better than one measurement."
Review 14 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010

Stay Away

Pros: none
Cons: waste of my time
Model Number: HEM 790-IT
"I purchased this blood pressure monitor, as I had read that it was the best of its type. Within minutes of its initial use, the unit stopped functioning. A call to Omron confirmed that the cuff was defective.
This is the second Omron product that I've purchased, having purchased another blood pressure monitor from Costco a number of years ago. That unit was also defective.
My advice is simple.... if you need a blood pressure monitor, look into products by another manufacturer."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bountiful, Utah
Date:October 2, 2009

A good unit with some limitations

Pros: will tell you if it detects fibrilation
Cons: disappointing life span for the cuff
"I've used a earlier version of this product for 20 months. I bought it because it detects fibrilation, which became a problem a couple of months after bypass surgery.
I have a big arm, so the inflexible cuff isn't a problem- but I've found it a challenge to find the sweet spot where the reading is consistently correct. If the cuff is too close to my elbow or a little off to the side (either way) the reading is high.
I had to replace the cuff two weeks ago - it would no longer hold sufficient pressure for a measurement. (The cuff is waranted for one year, the box for five).
Like most automated blood pressure monitors, this one consistently reads about five above what a nurse with good ears and a stethocope and a cuff with a dial on it will read."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009

Irratic readings/cuff problems

Model Number: HEM-79IT
"My arm is 9 1/2 inches and I had trouble with the ComFit Cuff. It would not stay in place when I tried to tighten it --as the other review said, it probably works better for fatter arms. Also, the readings were irratic- sometimes a 15+ difference in readings taken within 5 minutes of each other. When I took it to check against the doctor's machine, the readings were more than 10 points apart. I returned the machine and now am not sure what to get. Maybe it was just a lemon. I really like the software feature-easy to just email the readings to my doctor."
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsborough, NJ
Date:February 14, 2009

Excellent Product

Model Number: 790IT
"This is an excellent product. I own an older model and was told by my Cardiologist to get a newer Omron model. I like the ease of use, the cuff design, the dual memory function, as well as the software. I am able to keep track of my blood pressure over time and the printouts are great when I visit my Cardiologist."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:February 6, 2009

Wonderful Value & Accuracy

Model Number: HEM-790IT
"I have had this unit for about a month now and have been using it everyday. The ease of use, portability of data and intelligence built into it is unbelievable for the price.
I did a lot of research and read many reviews on many websites and almost every user of this unit agreed this is the best value for money. Highly recommended!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel
Date:January 18, 2009

Good Machine but.......

Model Number: Hem 790 it
"Omron is a good BP monitor but this one has a hard cuff and if you don''t have it on just right, or lean on the table and it pushes up you can get a sky high reading. I called the company to get a soft cuff like their other monitors but they do not make one for the 790. So I will return it. It probably is great for someone who has a large arm. They said the purpose of it's design was to fit many size arms. (I think they had an extra large arm in mind)"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Omron® Ultra Premium Blood Pressure Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:October 28, 2008

Easy to Use

"Works as advertised...It is easy and uncomplicated to use. Seems to be very accurate as I have compared its readings to two older machines that we had been using. Bought this unit primarily because of the software to enable accurate tracking for the Doctor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.