Customer Reviews for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module

45 High Efficiency LEDs
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
18 of 26(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Review 1 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 30, 2009

Best security light in the market!

"After reading some of the reviews I decided to wait a little longer before posting mine! I had this great product for a little over a year now, so far, I haven't had any problems with it. Style, brightness and easy installation are some of the advantages I value the most. Also called up the manufacturer for some tips, they were very friendly and helpful. It works like the first day! By far, better than similar products I've used in the past."
Review 2 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:July 3, 2009

So far so good

"I purchased this maybe a year ago. The light works best during summer month, but in winter month it still works if you set it to stay lit for just short period of time. It survived the rain season here in california without any problem that I'm aware of."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Discovery Bay, CA
Date:July 3, 2009

A great security light

Pros: very bright led lights, good value
Cons: sensitivity adjustment
Model Number: Xepa solar led security light
"I purchased this led solar light in March '09 and installed it soon after. The installation was fairly easy, (2-hrs.) The rainy spring weather in No. California didn't seem to affect the performance. The amount of light it emits is great for a solar unit. The only negative is the sensitivity which is difficult to adjust so it stays on almost all night. No problem, since it's a great security light."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:June 29, 2009

No Problem during raining days

"One common rule for all household outdoor lights: To avoid DIRECT water falls! These lights are not water-proof as I knew, but instead all outdoor lights are weather-proof. I live in northern California, and all 3 of these lights are working perfect during this past winter raining season."
Review 5 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009

No problems after 1 yr.

"Control knobs hard to read and had to lube plug to push it all the way in . Since setting it up have not had to touch it . Using it for rear entrance and 30' walkway . It is protected from rain by overhang . Does a good job of lighting the area ."
Review 6 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland USA
Date:June 2, 2009

Good light but bad lifespan

Pros: good lighting
Cons: poor life span not fully weather sealed
"Seemed good and the LED array works well but did not last a year. At least on one light, the solar panel was not fully water tight and I think water got in and fried it.
Also, a very small screw secures the main unit to the part that attaches it to a wall or post. Try screwing it in from a ladder 3 stories up or while hanging from the edge of a second story porch.
A good product with a number of fatal small engineering flaws.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 29, 2009

This light is Junk!

Cons: junk junk junk
"I thought I'd go green and buy a solar light. For the first few weeks it was great and lit the area I wanted very well. Then it started to light erratic when there was no movement. It finally became totally useless when I found out the unit filled with water from rain storms. So here I am with a $60 piece of junk poorly made that filled with rainwater and no longer works. Shame on Costo for selling such GARBAGE!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:May 8, 2009

Very Satisfied with performance

"This light fits my expectation in every possible way. I like its stylish design, super brightness and Li-Poly battery performance which are way better than any solar light I used before. It works great since my initial setup few months ago and the illumination is still as bright as brand new. Have to follow the instructions to set it up."
Review 9 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2009

Pass on these.

Pros: great light when working.
Cons: poor lifespan.
"My second unit just died. It appears that the batteries are go bad from what I can tell. Lithium batteries can be damaged from being run too low and I'm guessing that's what happnened. They need a low voltage cutoff to prevent this.
Too bad. When they work these are really useful but if the"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 22, 2009

Works Well but Short Lifespan

Pros: bright lights solar charged no assembly
Cons: short lifespan
"I purchased two of these about 3 months ago. One of them has given out and would not light up at all. I am not sure if it's out of battery, the solar panel not charging the unit, or the lights are just bad. Either way, I'm taking it back to Costco for a replacement/refund. I just ordered another one, well see how that goes.
Overall, I am satisfied with the product when it was working."
Review 11 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, CA
Date:April 21, 2009

Great product, bright light

Pros: easy installation bright light
Cons: motion sensor appears too sensitive
"Great security light, however, the motion sensor appears a bit too sensitive even at the least sensitive setting. The light comes on whenever there is a small movement even farther away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parkfield, Ca
Date:April 18, 2009

Great light that saves energy

Pros: bright and always dependable.
Cons: no issues
Model Number: Xepa Solar LED
"This is a great light. We do not have power to our barn so we bought 2. the lights are bright and serve the purpose. We will be buying 3 more for around the house. They are adjustable for time on. I have had them for 6 months and they keep on going."
Review 13 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2009

Bad Quality

Pros: bright light, solar power works well
Cons: quality is low, sensitivity is not adjustable
"The first one I purchased had something wrong with the connection from the solar panel to the light.
The replacement one - half the lights no longer work after 6 months.
Overall the quality seems to be very low. The sensor is very sensitive and detects movement from nearly 40 feet away. This causes the light to go on and off everytime a car drives by. There is no way to adjust the sensitivity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:March 21, 2009

Very bright for solar light

Pros: great illumination for a solar light., easy to install
Cons: no sensitivity adjustment on motion detector, battery charge won't last all night
"I mounted the light on the corner of my house to light the driveway. The unit is about 10 off the ground. It does a really nice job of lighting the driveway and front walk. I'm quite pleased with the amount of light it produces. As others have mentioned in their reviews, the motion detector is very sensitive. In my opinion it's too sensitive. I wish the unit had a sensitivity adjustment. I live on a corner lot and the side street is rather busy. I think the unit is constantly being triggered by the headlights and/or movement of approaching cars on the street, so it stays on all the time once darkness falls. As a result the battery seems to fully discharge every night, so it stops working after 3 to 5 hours. There are two adjustments on the unit -- delay time and ambient light. The delay time varies the time the light stays on when it senses motion. The time range is from 5 to 60 seconds. The ambient light setting is used to set how dark it must be outside for the unit to come on. Others have stated their units failed at 6 months and that they failed in cold temperatures. I've had my unit about three months and it has continued to work even when nighttime temperatures dipped into the low teens this past February. I'll continue to watch it and hope it makes it past 6 months."
Review 15 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 18, 2009

My experience after 6 Mons.

"I had issue at beginning, it worked only one week. The light won’t go on anymore. First I think it is the dead battery, after I called customer service to reset the “Ambient level” all the way to the right at “ – ” which means it only illuminate at dark and make sure solar board placed at a good location facing south. Plus, double checked the wire is completed plug into the unit. Then, it works again! Be very care with the settings since it’s a little confusing at the beginning."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 8, 2009

Did Not Last a Week

Pros: lots of light
Cons: stopped working after a week, 2nd one i had that failed
"This is the second one of these I have purchased. The first worked great for six months then just stopped working. This one only lasted a week. It is a shame because these are a great design and put out a lot of light for a solar. I don't know what the problem is with them, but I would not recommend taking a risk on this product. Unless you don't mind returning it after a very short period of time."
Review 17 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:February 3, 2009

A Best Buy

Model Number: XP645
"Purchased one light last summer for sideway of my house. It has been recommended by one of my coworker so I decided to give it a try. Nicely designed for easy installation and very bright illumination. So impressed, I bought another one as Christmas gift for brother-in-law at Chicago. He loves it.
One tip for snowing area users: Remember to Clean up the Snow on Solar Board right after snow storm! Otherwise, it won’t charge well!
"
Review 18 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Deerfield, IL
Date:January 26, 2009

Questionable Reliability

"This product appears to be well designed and very functional. The light is surprisingly bright for a solar-powered unit, and the motion sensor similarly is surprisingly sensitive. However, it worked less than one week before temperatures plunged into the teens and below -- and then it stopped. Had I read some of the other reviews on this site, I probably would not have purchased it. I expect to let it be until temperatures warm up to see if the low temps may have disabled the battery or the like. Bottom line: The unit may be of questionable reliability."
Review 19 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 16, 2009

Works Well

Pros: effective motion sensor, resonably bright light
Cons: bought two one was defective
"This light works as promised. I set it up onto of a fence and it is able to effectively light up my small backyard. It's motion sensor works well and has a wide coverage area, it even senses my pug as she runs out her dog-door at night.
An ideal solution if you want to light up an isolated area."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xepa Solar LED Security Light With Detached Solar Panel Module
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 12, 2009

Failed after Few Months

Pros: nice bright light
Cons: didn't last 6 months
"Installed last summer. Failed yesterday. Liked it great while it was working, but should last longer than six months. Will be returning."
1 2 next>>