Customer Reviews for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit

By EpoxyGuard®
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Review 1 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:October 22, 2008

"Must Have" for garage overhaul

Pros: performs exactly as advertised, very happy guy in his new "shop"
Cons: strong smell during application and drying times
"After 30 years in the same place, we decided to completely overhaul our untidy garage. My husband hates disorder and the garage had gotten packed with a lot of miscellany and dust over the years. While everything was out of the garage so it could be rewired and the walls finished, we also decided to epoxy the floor. After researching the various manufacturers' specs, we decided on EpoxyGuard. We bought two kits because our garage is larger than the kit's recommended floor space and used the excess to seal the concrete that supports the walls.
The kit has everything you need to properly finish the floor -- except patching compound, which we needed because of the cracks and pits in our badly cured concrete. The instructions are easy to follow and the steps are logical. We especially like the silica sand (anti-slip) and the multi-colored flecks (hide dirt and shop dust between sweepings). We park two vehicles in the garage when it isn't being used as a "shop" and the epoxy is holding up very well. The garage floor looks fantastic and is the envy of every guy who sees it..
This was a great purchase!"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:January 24, 2009

Worst garage floor coating

Cons: slippery, water pools, dirty looking
Model Number: 283347
"I am a longtime Costco customer who has purchase may items online. Few have ever needed to be return. I tried to return this item but was refused by very rude and condescending EpoxyGuard representatives.
The product will make your floor very slippery EVEN with the non-slip granules. While the product literature does not make it clear - this will seal your cement floor so that water will pool - EVEN if your garage is graded properly. This means if it rains or snows and you park in your garage - there will be NO evaporation and the water will remain for DAYS. You must squeegee it out - which is near impossible with cars inside and dripping. If you are going for a clean look - FORGET it. Unless you rinse and blow dry (with a leaf blower) - it will never look clean. And you cannot mop or use a towel as the non-slip (ha ha) granules will impede a quick clean up.
Buyer BEWARE!"
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

Like the finished product

"I liked everything about this product: instructions, finish, and low odor. The only one problem I had is that I got air bubbles through out my garage. I followed the instruction to the T. I actually waited two days after I preped before I applied the epoxy, because the weather was around 65 in the day but around 40 at night. I am not sure If I didn't let the cement dry completely or what, but even with the air bubbles the product finish looked great. One word of advice squeeze down with the squeegee. It allows for a more uniform coverage, and be liberal with the flec."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2009

Did not meet expectations

"Looks great shortly after completion. During the winter months, however, it can be very slippery. Most disappointing is that following the winter months chipping has started at the threshold of the garage door."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:February 6, 2009

Outstanding Product! A Must Have.

Pros: great product. looks fantastic., cleans very easily., no odor., easy to use.
Model Number: 283347
"My husband and I have been trying to find a way to make our dreary basement and garage look better. After reading the reviews and speaking with the very helpful representatives that did not mind answering all of our questions, we decided to order 3 kits for our basement and garage. We were very impressed with the quality of this product. It gave us everything we needed to do a proper application. The included instructions and DVD were very easy to follow and extremely helpful. The coverage of the material was exactly as promised and we had no trouble applying it during the application process. We were very surprised that there was no odor in our basement or garage after applying it. Since our basement is now so much brighter and cleaner, our children are spending more time there than upstairs. The floors now clean very easily with just mild soap and water. I can't stress enough how AWESOME our home looks now. We are the envy of the neighborhood. After seeing our garage floor, two of our neighbors ordered EpoxyGuard for their homes. I highly recommend this product. A big thank you to EpoxyGuard and also to Costco for offering this product."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:October 28, 2008

Great product but optimistic coverage estimates

Pros: great finished product, perfect way to transform a concrete floor
Cons: coverage estimates are optimistic, strong smell lasts for weeks
"This product made my garage look great. Application was pretty straightforward and the included DVD and instructions are very helpful in guiding you though the process including the all important surface prep. The product I received looked much thicker than what was shown in the DVD, which might have made it a little harder to spread thinly to cover the square footage I needed. Unless you have a small garage, I think it would be difficult to install this product by yourself since it sets up quickly. Best to have two long handles, one for spreading and one for rolling."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Quinta, CA
Date:May 11, 2009

EpoxyGuard - Good Stuff

"Purchased 2 kits as I have two 2 car garages and wanted to do the floors at the same time. Very pleased with the results!
Spent two days preping the floors which I believe helped with the positive end result. Used a drum sander to remove paint which was on one of the garage floors to insure proper bonding to the concrete.
Make sure everything is ready as when the hardner is mixed with the resin the clock begins with no turning back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Crystal River, Fl
Date:February 6, 2009

not the best purchase

Cons: unsatisfactory, starting to peel
Model Number: 347673
"Looked great after the application. Seems to have lost the shine and now seeing signs of epoxy coming loose under the tire marks, Not very pleased with this product."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Do-It-Yourself Epoxy Floor Coating Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:May 27, 2009

Very disappointed

"I followed the directions exactly, even called the company and asked lots of questions. I don't have a glossy finish, I have a flat finish. Gets very dirty and very hard to clean. Installed 2 kits in large garage, tried to do too much and product started to dry. DID NOT turn out good at all. Didn't try to return it because what are they going to do now that my floor looks bad?"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.