Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor

Touchpad Controls, 48 Ounce Glass Jar and Dishwasher Safe Parts
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
6 of 13(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Review 1 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waddell, AZ
Date:January 11, 2009

Great Blender/Processor

"Got this for Christmas and it's great. Took a little while to figure out the settings. I tried blending a smoothie with whole frozen strawberries and they were still chunky after the first 3 tries. But then I looked in the manual and it said that when you use the blender on the food processor setting, it is the same as liquify. Had to leave it on for a while (longer than my previous blender), maybe a minute or less, but it didn't leave any chunks. Also tried using the food processor to chop onion and shred cheese. Worked great to shred cheese on the food processor setting. Using the food processor setting for chopping onion though, turned it into onion mush. So I tried it again a second time on the chop setting and it chopped it into small chunks. I think it all depends on the setting you use, stir is low, chop is medium, and food processor is high. So if you want even bigger chunks of onion, then stir would probably work, that is the slowest speed. Overall it's great and it saves space having 2 in 1, you just have to figure out how to use it and on which setting."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 31, 2008

Great multi-use product

Pros: multiple uses
Cons: none
"I have had this product about 3 months now. It is great. I use the blender all the time for frozen drinks. It really crushes and mixes the ice smoothly. I have used the food processor part a few times, mainly the slicer attachment to slice onions for salads. It really slices thin and uniform. The blades are very sharp and made from high quality steel. I've been crushing ice for three months, and the blade is still as sharp as the day it was new. The blades seem like they will hold the sharpness for a long time. The motor also is high quality. The blender is a very heavy gauge glass, that is great for frozen drinks. Because it keeps the drinks much colder than plastic models."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:flemington, NJ
Date:November 15, 2008

disappointed

Pros: price appearance, the jar is good
Cons: function bulky for 3cups only.
"ofcourse the price is great since it is from costco, we also trust costco products so much, this item looks great, the jar looks strong, I am disappointed in the motor unit and the food processor, too bulky for 3cups only,I mean if you want to use it frequently like for onions. too many buttons for the same function, the motor smells after just second use, still smell if I will chop shortly 3 times in a raw. the major thing is the chopping is so bad, like for fresh herbs, it squeeze them instead of chopping, I want to return this item, it is just I'm not sure if I will find something better for small chopper, I had krups before and hand held braun , both worked great for years, unfortunately it is difficult to find some parts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland, CA
Date:November 19, 2008

Space Plus All the Trimmings

Pros: space saver
Cons: none
"I am using this little wonder to replace a Cuisinart Pro custom 11 (plus extra work bowl and 9+ blades), a Cuisinart Mini-Prep (which couldn't shred or slice), and a conventional blender! Need I say more? Need more than a 3-cup capacity bowl -- make a few more batches. Add to these Cuisinart quality and Costco price, it is more than just win-win."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 18, 2008

We are on a 3rd mixer now

"It is not well made. We are on a 3rd one. Plastic parts break off easy: both locks at the base and at the top broke off after 1 month of use. thanks to costco we can just bring one back BUT, I wish costco had more choices for products as this one is a bad one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2009

weak motor

"Don't buy this with the purpose in mind of blending smoothie type breakfast drinks using frozen fruit. Mine burned out in about 3 weeks. And the feeder tube for the food processor is small."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 23, 2008

disappointing

Pros: strong
Cons: doesn't blend well
"I was very excited to get this blender - I wanted something heavy duty to blend up a fruit and vegetable breakfast drink. While it is heavy duty, my main complaint is that it does not blend solid ingredients with liquid. Chunks of solid material get stuck under the blades, and the rest float to the top, not ever getting sucked down to the blades to get chopped. I'm constantly having to stick a spoon in there while it's blending to push the solid ingredients down, then I have to stop it to unclog the blades. I'm not mixing anything too ridiculous here - just some peeled and sliced apples, some spinach, some celery stocks, and some juice. I would definitely NOT buy this again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coeur d' Alene, ID
Date:November 16, 2008

Wonderful and multi-functional

"My father got this for me a few years ago and I love it! It is so nice to have the 2 in 1! It is a little small but it is so much nicer than having a bulky blender and a processor. I love this product and I am getting my brother one for christmas!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sheridan, OR
Date:January 21, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: FPB-5CHB
"The food processer is just OK. Thecutting edges are quite dull resulting in the motor running hot so that the insulation smells. The safety clutch ultimately strips out and Cuisinart want me to send the defective part back at my exspense and they will send the repaired or replaced one back at my exspense. The blender is quite good though."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 29, 2009

Nice blender and chopper, broke too easily

"I bought this with the high hopes of saving space and not having to buy two separate appliances, but unfortunately within 24 hours the poorly made plastic bowl broke when securing it to the base. Also, while it was a good food processor and a great blender for all of the day I owned it, it was really loud.
Costco was amazing and took it back with no issue, but I wouldn't recommend the item again."
Review 11 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2009

terrific

"I bought this small processor/blender initially because of its ice crushing capability and it therefore makes great summer drinks, etc. It is not a substitute for the larger capacity cuisinart processor and remember, it's a blender, too. I love it and use both parts of it frequently."
Review 12 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 13, 2009

Space Saver

"I got this because it's a dual blender/food processor. Haven't tried the processor yet.
The blender is a good size for us and works fairly well, though it does strain making the Yaplait smoothies sold at Costco."
Review 13 for Cuisinart® SmartPower Duet® Blender/ Food Processor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 8, 2009

Poor Motor

"Worked great for 4 months then the motor just gave out. Not the best choice for daily smoothies."