Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cool off with a rich ice cream sundae or a fruity homemade sorbet - ready in 25 minutes or less. The Cuisinart Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Ice Cream-Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker delivers 2 quarts of fast, fabulous, frozen deserts, perfect for a family dinner or a friendly party - each one guarantees a sweet ending! Includes:   Instruction Book   Recipe Book   Features:   Fully automatic: Put ingredients in the bowl and let the machine do the rest   Large 2-Quart Capacity: Makes up to 2 quarts of your favorite frozen treat. Enough for the whole family!   Brushed Metal Finish: Brushed metal makes an elegant statement in any kitchen   Fast and Efficient: This Heavy-duty motor makes frozen yogurt, ice cream, sorbet or frozen drinks in only 25 minutes or less   Easy and Mess-Free: Large spout means no spills when adding ingredients   Easy Cleanup: Removable freezer bowl and mixing paddle make cleanup a breeze   Perfect Consistency: Double-insulated bowl freezes ingredients evenly for consistently smooth and creamy results   UL Listed   Dimensions: 11"W x 10.3"L x 16"H   Weight: 14 lbs   3-year limited warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
(out of 59 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
51 of 59(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:coronado, CA
Date:April 29, 2014

Easy and Delicious

Pros: ease of use and clean, low price
Cons: keep bowl in freezer or plan ahead to freeze bowl
"This is my first experience with an ice cream maker and I love it. Easy to use and clean. I keep the bowl in my extra freezer so it's ready anytime. I've made so many ice cream and gelato. Still trying to master the different recipes. Excellent way to indulge in ice cream in a more healthy and natural way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, ut
Date:April 10, 2014

Great product!

Pros: works fast unattended.
Cons: the container has to be in the freezer takes up r
"I have only used it once since it arrived, but it works as promised, soft ice cream in 25 minutes."
Review 3 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

LOVE IT!

"We've had it for about 2 years and it's the best purchase. Extremely easy to use and clean up. Comes with simple, yet delicious recipes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:miami, FL
Date:November 29, 2013

delicious ice cream

Pros: fast
Cons: a little noisy but nothing unbearable
"Super easy to use and clean. Delicious and creamy ice cream in less than 35 minutes. My husband and I have used it at least 10 times since buying it a few months ago and it works perfectly every time. The ice cream comes out smooth and creamy. My daughter loves it and so does the rest of the family. The whole process of ice cream making it's easy but takes a little more than a couple of hours, since you must first mix the ingredients to make the ice cream base and then refrigerate it for at least 2 hours before putting it in the ice cream maker. Great purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:September 15, 2013

THE CLEANER APPROACH ICE CREAM MACHINE

Pros: easy to use
Cons: could stay frozen a little longer
Model Number: CIM60PC
"GREAT LITTLE EASY ICE CREAM MACHINE. NO ICE OR SALT NEEDED. IT IS A CLEANER APPROACH. THE PRICE WAS GREAT. THE 2 I JUST PURCHASED ARE FOR CHRISTMAS GIFTS FOR MY CHILDREN. PLUS I WILL GIVE THEM THE SPECIAL RECIPES I HAVE CREATED THIS SUMMER TO GO WITH THIS."
Review 6 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, Pa
Date:August 29, 2013

Does what it says it will!

Pros: quick way to make quality ice cream.
Cons: you will gain weight ;-)
Model Number: 902116
"First, this is the first time I ever ordered online from Costco and I have to say it was a great experience. (though I wish they had it in stock at my club!) I did a fair amount of research on ice cream machines and settled on this. Nobody came close to the Costco price even with shipping (online or brick and moarter stores.) Shipping was fast and I was kept well informed of its processing. As to the machine, it works well. Have made three different recipes in the last 2 weeks since I got it. The noise that some have complained about was about what I expected and it was not really objectionable. Cuisinart included some great recipies. I only wish they included more! (of coure there are hundreds on the net) Works as advertised and is certianly eaiser than rock salt and ice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 19, 2013

1/2 price soy/coconut "ice cream"

Pros: making organic "icecream" at a fraction of the $
Cons: need freezer very cold for canister to work right
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"Works wonderful for making own soy and/or coconut milk "icecream". Due to dairy allergies we only buy soy/coconut/almond icecream and it is very expensive. Bought this to try to make it cheaper than buying it. Save about 1/2 the money and love all the flavors we can do! At first only got "milk"shakes, but then after some research discovered my freezer was not cold enough and things are wonderful now!"
Review 8 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Il
Date:August 12, 2013

Great!

Pros: simple, cost efficient, yummy recipes, shipped quickly
Cons: none
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"We love this, we have used it frequently and the kids like trying out new recipes. Easy, quick and yummy ice cream/frozen yogurt. Can't beat making it fresh with simple ingredients."
Review 9 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thornton, PA
Date:July 10, 2013

Excellent Product

Pros: works as advertised, fast
Cons: a bit noisy
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"This thing works exactly as advertised. We've made plain vanilla, strawberry and a wonderful Nutella recipe. All were perfect. Takes 25-30 minutes and produces soft-serve consistency ice cream. Place in another container overnight, end up with good, solid, perfect ice cream. Rinse and refreeze the bowl right away, you can be ready for another batch very quickly. This is everything we hoped for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx
Date:June 16, 2013

Not a Good Buy

Pros: makes good ice cream (when it works), quick, ease of use, portable
Cons: buy the more expensive model for better quality
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"VERY disappointed with this purchase. I already had a Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker (ICE-30BC) that was purchased online which looks identical, except for the color. Operation of both machines is identical as well but the cost was half as much at Costco. Well, you get what you pay for! We loved our first machine so well we wanted a second so we thought the Costco version would be a good buy. Even bought another to put away as a Christmas gift. Used it the first time and the motor almost immediately started to bog down. Tried it again another day and the same thing. Returned it to Costco and decided to try the one we bought as a Christmas gift. The motor didn't sound as "strong" but worked ok. Upon the third use the motor quit altogether 10 minutes into the freezing. The motor in the 'discounted' Costco version just isn't the same quality despite the fact they look exactly the same.
We've decided to just keep the bowl from the Costco machine as a backup and throw out the useless motor unit. A second bowl purchased directly from Cuisinart costs the same as the whole unit from Costco. I'm hoping the bowl itself isn't substandard as well.
If we get another machine we will get the more expensive version and not cut corners on the cost. In this case, you're paying for a better quality and more durable appliance. I will not try the Costco version again after twice having problems."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 1, 2013

Dietary Armageddon is here!

Pros: looks good on the counter, makes a great product, easy to use, fun for one or the whole family (and friends)
Cons: noisy as every one seems to agree, freezer bowl must be really frozen longer, flimsy beater/mixer gizmo, too easy/tempting to fall off your diet, store bought won't ever taste as good again!, should have come with a second freezer bowl, a different model number no difference in machine, lost a star to the noise
Model Number: ICE-30BC/CIM-60PC
"The machine is noisy, no doubt, but the fun of making different, fresh and pure food frozen desserts at home can't be beat. The kids love it even if they do get impatient with that "long" wait. The recipes available on the web seem to be unlimited. If Costco was going to change the model number there should have been some difference between this and the ICE-30BC, a suggestion would have been a second freezer bowl included..
The machine works very well if you follow the instructions but freeze the bowl a bit longer (24hrs) and you won't go wrong. Enjoy!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 14, 2013

Healthier Ice Cream

Pros: easy to use/clean-works great=healthier ice cream
Cons: a little noisy
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"Our family loves to eat ice cream but, i'm alway's concerned about the things we put in our bodies. I bought this machine to make healthier ice cream without a bunch of "stuff" and preservatives. This machine works if you follow the directions. I have made 5 batches of ice cream and it works great every time. It's a little noisy so I put it in a different room and set a timer. Everyone agreed, we love our ice cream maker. It's so easy to use and clean up is easy. I leave the bowl in the freezer so it's alway's ready to make a fresh batch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Champlain, NY
Date:November 1, 2012

Easy to use, fun, and not a counter space hog!

Pros: simple to use, easy to clean, not a space hog, only 3 pieces/parts (base; lid; and mixing hand), sleek looking stainless steel finish, clear easy to follow recipe directions in booklet
Model Number: 2 Quart Pure Indulgence
"I was hesitant whether this was worth getting and whether I'd really use it, but after two other friends personally recommended it I got it from Costco because they have the best price of anywhere I could find. I have now had it for almost a month and have made at least two batches of ice cream or gelato every week (even though it's fall!). My husband LOVES every flavor I've made thus far (and he's picky). My two suggestions are 1) Be sure to COMPLETELY freeze the bowl before using. I made my first batch after freezing it for about 8 hours, and the second after freezing it about 12 hours, and neither was long enough (which made the end result too liquid-y, but was still fine to eat after I put it in a container to freeze afterward). I thought maybe that's how it would always turn out, but by the third time, the bowl had been in the freezer for about 2 or 3 days and then the ice cream came out ready to eat right away. And 2) Start with an easy ice cream recipe first (there are lots of ice cream recipes in the accompanying booklet and it truly is really easy to make). I made the raspberry gelato as my first venture, and while it turned out delicious, I must say I don't think it was worth all the extra work to prepare the mixture (which included pureeing the fruit first in a food processor then through a sieve and then cooking a confectionary mixture to a certain temperature using a candy thermometer... I mean, c'mon!), and it kind of got me off to a bad start, thinking this was hardly "easy." But once I got going with the ice cream variations (and learned to freeze the bowl much longer than anticipated), I was pleased to find it really IS simple. And, while it makes a half gallon in every batch, the appliance is not really big or very tall; I found a corner on my counter, under the cupboards where it fits unobtrusively, and I always keep the bowl in the freezer so that I'm ready to make ice cream anytime!"
Review 14 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:May 23, 2012

Great ice cream!

Pros: 25 minutes and a yummy spoonful of ice cream!
Cons: no auto timer!
"This makes great homemade ice cream-the texture is that of home made, not store bought. I can see why people want it to be like store bought but when you make it at home, the soft texture is what you get.
I noticed that I needed to thoroughly chill the bowl for three days (wimpy freezer) to fully chill. It was completely frozen after one day but through experimentation this was not long enough. We made wonderful vanilla, and coffee ice cream. Followed the vanilla recipe exactly, and the coffee we winged it with a shot of espresso! Yum. WE LOVE this unit, and are so happy that we beat the sold out blitz of 2012.
Word of caution: go easy on the half and half called for in recipes as these can get way too creamy. Over the top creamy.
Buy this wherever you can, it's great.
It is noisy (like a mini-vacuum or dryer, not bad). Leave it in the kitchen and go to another room. Easy fix for 30 minutes.
"
Review 15 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:May 16, 2012

Good brand, bad product

Cons: doesn't work
"Dont bother with this one. I have other cuisinart products which are great but they missed the mark on this one. Looks great and great accessories but doesn't work worth a darn. It'll make great slushies or milk shakes, but not ice cream!"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Staunton,VA
Date:May 10, 2012

real noise maker

"If you don't care and just want something quick to eat, this machine should be fine. It is loud, for sure, but that is to be expected. It is a motor after"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Bay, CA
Date:November 23, 2011

so far so good

Pros: looks nice, pretty quiet, good recipe book, easy to use, easy to clean
"So far I've used it twice. Vanilla and Chocolate.
Vanilla: I used the low heat coconut milk and egg in a pan custard recipe. I let the custard and the cylinder chill over night. Next evening was go time; I turned the machine on and poured in the custard. In 20 mins it was still very soft so I let the machine run until it looked firm. About 40 mins total and we were happy with the texture. Could have been put in the freezer but it was gobbled up
Chocolate: I completely cheated and probably screwed things up here. FIRST off I didn’t have the machine running when I poured in the chocolate mixture. The sides of the cylinder got WAY TO COATED! The machine labored but still continued turning. HOWEVER the “cheat” was I didn’t use an actual recipe. I just tossed a chocolate coconut milk drink box in. Probably to much water in this to turn into ice cream so at end MY FAULT.
The only reason I took a star off is for texture. The ice cream never really gets very stiff. You’ll have to put it in a separate container and put it in your freezer. I’m not that picky especially when coconut ice cream is $7 for a tiny pint. It’s a great little machine. We are pleased!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2011

Cuisnart 2 Quart

"The only one I've ever owned but I still know it's a good one and would recommend getting one because: you'll have ability to customize your ice cream selection and home made is way better than bought. we will probably never make it in volume so we may have been just as well off with 1 1/2 qt to save storage space."
Review 19 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:September 10, 2011

Great gift idea!

"This is a high quality product. Simple recipes come with it and more are available on-line. Easy to clean and use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everson, WA
Date:September 8, 2011

Yummy!

"Have been using this almost everyday. So far my favorite flavor to make is banana. I was so happy to find that I can use silk milk, and even silk milk light, with some half and half, fresh bananas, vanilla, and splenda, to make a delicious and refreshing treat."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>