Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cool off with a rich ice cream sundae or a fruity homemade sorbet - ready in 25 minutes or less. The Cuisinart Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Ice Cream-Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker delivers 2 quarts of fast, fabulous, frozen deserts, perfect for a family dinner or a friendly party - each one guarantees a sweet ending! Includes:   Instruction Book   Recipe Book   Features:   Fully automatic: Put ingredients in the bowl and let the machine do the rest   Large 2-Quart Capacity: Makes up to 2 quarts of your favorite frozen treat. Enough for the whole family!   Brushed Metal Finish: Brushed metal makes an elegant statement in any kitchen   Fast and Efficient: This Heavy-duty motor makes frozen yogurt, ice cream, sorbet or frozen drinks in only 25 minutes or less   Easy and Mess-Free: Large spout means no spills when adding ingredients   Easy Cleanup: Removable freezer bowl and mixing paddle make cleanup a breeze   Perfect Consistency: Double-insulated bowl freezes ingredients evenly for consistently smooth and creamy results   UL Listed   Dimensions: 11"W x 10.3"L x 16"H   Weight: 14 lbs   3-year limited warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
(out of 59 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
51 of 59(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Review 21 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:September 2, 2011

Not sure

"The machine is good - works well and easy to use. It is loud but we just plug it into another room so it doesn't bother us. I have made several receipes from the book and they don't taste very good. The Gelato didn't turn out and the yogurt didn't taste good. Not the machine's fault. It's hard for me to recommend buying the machine when I prefer store bought ice cream at this point because I can't make anything that tastes good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2011

Great Ice Cream Maker

"Easy to use and makes great ice cream in 20 minutes... Just make sure the bowl is really frozen before using. We leave ours in the freezer overnight before making ice cream."
Review 23 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, California
Date:July 16, 2011

NOT automatic

Model Number: CIM-22 SERIES
"I must disagree with practically all of your other reviews of this product. It definitely requires a lot of prep work and dirty dishes prior to even beginning the machine process. When one says automatic, I think of a bread making machine: put the ingredients in and away it goes. This machine requires that ingredients are mixed separately, outside the machine, and you even have to make room in your freezer for the mixing bowl. Beware, NOT AUTOMATIC."
7 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2011

Wonderful ice cream maker

"Easy to use, nice looking and makes a delicious ice cream!"
Review 25 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:June 20, 2011

Just what I wanted!

Model Number: Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
"Works as advertised and will make 1/2 gal of ice cream at a time. Just used their recipe for fresh strawberry ice cream--delicious!"
Review 26 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vallejo,CA
Date:June 11, 2011

Worrth every penny

Pros: easy clean up
Cons: none
"My family enjoys ice-cream as a dessert so I purchased the Cuisinart. My first ice-cream recipe was a coffee flavored ice-cream and every one in my family tells me its the best coffee ice-cream they have ever had. I like the idea that I know what's in the food that I prepare for my family. Will truly enjoy making good ice-cream with this machine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Great product

"I really like this. My favorite basic recipe is 1 cup cream, 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2, 1 cup milk, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 vanilla bean. I add 1 cup add in and in 20 minutes it's done and WONDERFUL! My wife likes sweet cream ice cream, no vanilla or add ins. I like macadamia nut as an add in."
Review 28 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SC Midlands
Date:May 31, 2011

A hit!

Pros: quick and easy
"This machine makes homemade ice cream dangerously easy! We have a traditional ice and salt machine for times when we need a big batch, but for 1 - 1 1/2 qt. batches, this baby is great. I agree with other reviewers that it certainly isn't quiet, but the noise is really no louder than a hand mixer. If it starts to get to me, I can find something else to do for the short 25 -30 minutes it takes to process. The recipes I've used so far have turned out just fine. Perhaps one trick for getting a good result is making sure the ingredients going into the freezer are well chilled.
We just let the canister "live" in the chest freezer, so we're ready to roll when the urge strikes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:May 30, 2011

Makes Great Ice Cream

Pros: works great
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"I'm glad I purchased this Ice Cream maker. I was doubtful after reading some of the negative reviews. But I must say the Ice Cream maker works just as advertised. The first batch was a little too soft because of my mistake. I didn't freeze the can long enough. The second and third batch were perfect. Better than Dairy Queen's soft service ice cream."
Review 30 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sevierville, TN
Date:May 26, 2011

Love it!

Pros: performs well, easy to use
"I've used the machine only once and I loved the result. I used the vanilla ice cream recipe in the instruction/recipe booklet included with the machine. In 25 minutes I had delicious soft-serve ice cream. Overnight in the refrigerator freezer resulted in hard ice cream. Even better. The volume produced is perfect for six people. If you want to serve more than that after making only one batch, you'll need a bigger machine. The noise is tolerable. Well worth the Costco price."
Review 31 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:hereford, az
Date:May 26, 2011

poor performance

"the paddle leaves a thick layer of ice cream on the cylinder..impossible to scrape it off..have to wait till it un thaws. too much trouble.very, noisy!!"
Review 32 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whippany, NJ
Date:May 26, 2011

Ice Cream maker satisfaction

"I was dismayed that the product description did not contain the details of heat removal from the mix poured into the bowl.
I was pleasantly surprised that the source was the capacity of the bowl itself to store "freezing capacity". (I had envisioned mixing salt and ice). How can you get refrigeration from a reasonably priced machine?
I am satisfied with the product and look forward to using it more often.
I used to be the manager of an Ice Cream plant in Northern NJ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011

Great product!

"I have had a hand crank ice cream maker and an electric one that both used ice and rock salt. Such a mess! This is sooo much better!! I made sure I tried both sorbet (thanks for the pineapple recipe) and several ice creams before I passed judgement. Last night I made the simple vanilla ice cream and added crushed oreos...delicious! Every one has come out perfectly....soft, creamy, and wonderful. Can't imagine why it didn't work for those who didn't rate it well unless they got a defective unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Berkeley CA
Date:May 21, 2011

Good slush maker, not for ice cream

Pros: not very expensive
Cons: not very good
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"This just makes slush. After freezing the bowl for 20 hours in a -2 degree freezer and pouring in chilled-overnight ingredients for lemon sorbet, and running the machine for more than half an hour, we end up with runny slush. All the recipes say that the end product will be "soft" or "creamy" and that you have to put the end product in the freezer for two hours or more to get a "firmer consistency." So what's the point of this machine? I could just mix the ingredients with a hand beater and put them in the freezer. This is going back to the store immediately, to be replaced by a real ice cream maker."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:May 12, 2011

Great Value for the $$

Pros: easy to clean, light weight machine, internal cord storage
Model Number: ICE-B60E
"I wasn't bothered by the noise. But the bowl turning instead of the paddle reduces the torque on the engine. Made fairly firm vanilla ice cream in 1/2 hour. Super easy to clean. (Although the instructions say don't put in dishwasher, the top and paddle are fine in the dishwasher, Cuisinart plastic is tough).
Love Cuisinart, and Costco's super price. Great hint about freezing the bowl right side up, thanks!
Highly recommend"
Review 36 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:April 13, 2011

The CREAM of the crop!

"Initially, I was looking at the other Cuisinart ice cream machines, but then saw this model for only $10 more. I'm glad I did. I've made a few batches in this baby, and the advantages I suspected are true.
First, is the more powerful motor to support the larger capacity (2 qts. vs. 1-1/2 qts). Because the capacity is larger, you also get a slightly larger freezing bowl. Both batches I made were between 1 and 1-1/2 quarts, but only took 20 minutes.
Very few recipes are for 2 quarts or more, but it still makes a lot of sense to opt for this larger capacity model."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 28, 2011

Yum!!

Pros: makes delicious ice cream
Cons: just a tad noisy
"I recently purchased this ice cream maker and have made a couple of batches of ice cream with it. There is just no comparing home-made ice cream with store-bought. The flavor took me back to my childhood! Just make sure you freeze the bowl completely before making your ice cream. Adding to my enjoyment, there is no need to buy ice or rock salt or make a huge mess. I'm looking forward to trying some of the other recipes for gellato and sorbet that come with the ice cream maker."
Review 38 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastern Montana
Date:November 27, 2010

Great Birthday GIft!!

"I purchased this for a birthday present for my nephew. It was shipped with gift card to his address, arrived right on time for his birthday!! He LOVES IT!!!! Says it is totally awesome and has made a variety of treats including frozen yoghurt!!! The price on this was well below anyplace else so feel like this was a great product for a great price."
Review 39 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:October 30, 2010

Great product

"Made my first batch ice cream using Ben and Jerry recipe. So easy, took 25 mins to make ice-cream, great texture and great flavor. I think that the key is to
have a good refrigerator to freeze the bowl well. The only thing I wish to improve is to add a timer. But for the price, I am very happy about this product, and I will never buy any ice-cream from store.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 20, 2010

too noisy and takes too much time

"it took almost an hour to make icecream and not 30 minutes as it claimed.
also it is too noisy
and even after keeping in freezer for over 24 hours still it didn't make icecream well enough , you have to keep the bowl for about 2 days to make ice cream
"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>