Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cool off with a rich ice cream sundae or a fruity homemade sorbet - ready in 25 minutes or less. The Cuisinart Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Ice Cream-Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker delivers 2 quarts of fast, fabulous, frozen deserts, perfect for a family dinner or a friendly party - each one guarantees a sweet ending! Includes:   Instruction Book   Recipe Book   Features:   Fully automatic: Put ingredients in the bowl and let the machine do the rest   Large 2-Quart Capacity: Makes up to 2 quarts of your favorite frozen treat. Enough for the whole family!   Brushed Metal Finish: Brushed metal makes an elegant statement in any kitchen   Fast and Efficient: This Heavy-duty motor makes frozen yogurt, ice cream, sorbet or frozen drinks in only 25 minutes or less   Easy and Mess-Free: Large spout means no spills when adding ingredients   Easy Cleanup: Removable freezer bowl and mixing paddle make cleanup a breeze   Perfect Consistency: Double-insulated bowl freezes ingredients evenly for consistently smooth and creamy results   UL Listed   Dimensions: 11"W x 10.3"L x 16"H   Weight: 14 lbs   3-year limited warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190 Model: CIM-60PC
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
50 of 58(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gresham, OR; Bozeman, MT
Date:April 9, 2009

Great ice cream maker

"I've owned this machine for almost three months and have loved it so much I'v made ice cream/frozen yogurt 2-3 times per week for the last 12 weeks! I originally bought it because I was on a diet and wanted low calorie frozen yogurt!! (Needless to say I now use it for motivation and am still keeping my weight down--ha ha!) We also try to give away a batch or two a week to friends or neighbors. One thing I love it that the 5 of us can eat what we want and still have about as much leftover as what we ate.
Our family of 5 (ice cream eaters) has had a blast inventing new flavors. Berries work really well. So do chunks of oreo, cut into 3rds or 4ths and added at the last minute. So does symphony bars, pineapple and coconut, macadamia nuts, small colored marshmallows--we haven't had any flavor we felt obligated to eat.
I have several cream 'bases' I've tried. The favorite is 2 cups of whipping cream, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 c sugar. Mix together, then pour into frozen ice cream bowl and start it. Use milk to fill the bowl until it reaches the horizontal line on the paddle. Then add flavors. Anything going in as 'chunks' go last, right before the ice cream is thick.
A favorite 'new' cream base is 1 c of instant pudding powder, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 cups whipping cream. This thickens it quickly and looks and tastes like store-bought ice cream.
I also learned the hard way that the bowl scratches if metal is used on it. For that reason, I only use a wooden spoon now to check consistency or 'sample'. Also, we keep the bowl in the freezer so it is always ready to go. Just don't freeze it upside down or it may not have enough cold near the bottom to do a fast job.
Overall, this product is GREAT! My wife is excited because she finally has permission to throw away the old, messy ice+salt style ice cream maker!"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gresham OR
Date:October 25, 2008

My newest Favorite Toy!

Pros: easy
Cons: noisy
"If you follow the instruction exactly, it makes wonderful ice cream! A bit noisy but worth it! Couldn't be easier. Clean up is a breeze"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2009

Great, but small amount

Pros: cheap, works as advertised
Cons: need to freeze bowl at least 24hrs, small amount of ice cream
"Works if you follow the directions. Will have to freeze mixture for a couple of hours after using machine(unless you want REALLY soft ice cream).
If you have the moola(around $300) get the more expensive machine with a compressor. You can make ice cream anytime, without having to freeze the bowl; the one negative with this item."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:April 13, 2011

The CREAM of the crop!

"Initially, I was looking at the other Cuisinart ice cream machines, but then saw this model for only $10 more. I'm glad I did. I've made a few batches in this baby, and the advantages I suspected are true.
First, is the more powerful motor to support the larger capacity (2 qts. vs. 1-1/2 qts). Because the capacity is larger, you also get a slightly larger freezing bowl. Both batches I made were between 1 and 1-1/2 quarts, but only took 20 minutes.
Very few recipes are for 2 quarts or more, but it still makes a lot of sense to opt for this larger capacity model."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:December 2, 2008

Great

"I have had this ice cream maker for 6 months and have made literally dozens of batches of ice cream. The maker is very easy to use and clean. I only wish I could buy another freezer/liner so I could make two batches in a row!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alfalfa Oregon
Date:September 6, 2009

awesome

Model Number: CIM-6o series
"This is a great product. I use it at least once a week. I am so impressed I am buying one for a birthday gift and another as a wedding gift. Easy to use and clean. Rave reviews of ice cream and sorbets from guests."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Wa
Date:January 31, 2010

yummy but noisy

Model Number: unknown, this one.
"Love everything but the noise. You can do so much with it. Frozen Margaritas! yummo! We just made pineapple sorbet and it was awesome. basic recipe is 4 cups fruit puree to 1 cup sugar. puree fruit in blender, heat 1 cup puree & sugar till crystals disolve, combine, chill, pour in machine and wait for the magic in 30 mins. It does come out very soft so plan for freezer time at the end.
only downside is that it's noisy.
warning - costco ships it in it's original box so if it's left on your stoop all can see what it is.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vallejo,CA
Date:June 11, 2011

Worrth every penny

Pros: easy clean up
Cons: none
"My family enjoys ice-cream as a dessert so I purchased the Cuisinart. My first ice-cream recipe was a coffee flavored ice-cream and every one in my family tells me its the best coffee ice-cream they have ever had. I like the idea that I know what's in the food that I prepare for my family. Will truly enjoy making good ice-cream with this machine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 4, 2008

Makes the Kids Happy

Pros: no salt, great taste, no additives except yours
Cons: a bit noisy, limits on volume 2 qt to maybe 4qt, need to keep container in freezer
"The unit makes great ice cream although I have never ventured to the recipes that require eggs. I just go with the basic vanilla recipe on page 1 and add different things like mint extract and chopped chocolate chips or strawberries or frozen mixed berries and nuts. Most are great. My few slight disappointments happened when I did not let machine run long enough to get mixture very thick, then the taste of the cream is overwhelming. Just don’t make the batch size too large and I think you will be very happy with this unit, certainly easy. I have been very happy and recommend it to my friends."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Al
Date:June 13, 2009

Excellent

Pros: no ice to fool with, quick and easy
"This is a great product. Used it for the first time just a day ago and it worked as advertised. OH yeah, the Costco in store price is $30 less than the manufacture's online price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everson, WA
Date:September 8, 2011

Yummy!

"Have been using this almost everyday. So far my favorite flavor to make is banana. I was so happy to find that I can use silk milk, and even silk milk light, with some half and half, fresh bananas, vanilla, and splenda, to make a delicious and refreshing treat."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:May 19, 2009

Love it

"I just got this as a gift and made my first batch. Tried the peanut butter cup recipe and it is wonderful! VERY easy to use. I did see an extra freezer bowl online if looking to make more than one batch in a day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:September 10, 2011

Great gift idea!

"This is a high quality product. Simple recipes come with it and more are available on-line. Easy to clean and use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, Pa
Date:August 29, 2013

Does what it says it will!

Pros: quick way to make quality ice cream.
Cons: you will gain weight ;-)
Model Number: 902116
"First, this is the first time I ever ordered online from Costco and I have to say it was a great experience. (though I wish they had it in stock at my club!) I did a fair amount of research on ice cream machines and settled on this. Nobody came close to the Costco price even with shipping (online or brick and moarter stores.) Shipping was fast and I was kept well informed of its processing. As to the machine, it works well. Have made three different recipes in the last 2 weeks since I got it. The noise that some have complained about was about what I expected and it was not really objectionable. Cuisinart included some great recipies. I only wish they included more! (of coure there are hundreds on the net) Works as advertised and is certianly eaiser than rock salt and ice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Berkeley CA
Date:May 21, 2011

Good slush maker, not for ice cream

Pros: not very expensive
Cons: not very good
Model Number: CIM-60PC
"This just makes slush. After freezing the bowl for 20 hours in a -2 degree freezer and pouring in chilled-overnight ingredients for lemon sorbet, and running the machine for more than half an hour, we end up with runny slush. All the recipes say that the end product will be "soft" or "creamy" and that you have to put the end product in the freezer for two hours or more to get a "firmer consistency." So what's the point of this machine? I could just mix the ingredients with a hand beater and put them in the freezer. This is going back to the store immediately, to be replaced by a real ice cream maker."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:September 2, 2011

Not sure

"The machine is good - works well and easy to use. It is loud but we just plug it into another room so it doesn't bother us. I have made several receipes from the book and they don't taste very good. The Gelato didn't turn out and the yogurt didn't taste good. Not the machine's fault. It's hard for me to recommend buying the machine when I prefer store bought ice cream at this point because I can't make anything that tastes good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 18, 2010

Great product

"This machine is super easy to use and clean up and makes awesome ice cream. We love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 4, 2010

Fun and fabulous

"Very easy to use and tremendously satisfying results. Revelation: homemade ice cream is MUCH better than store-bought."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:July 27, 2010

Fantastic Gift

Model Number: CIM-60PC
"Thought it would be a good gift for an Ice Cream Lover! This exceeds our expectations. It seems the unit is being used a minimum of once a week. It far exceeds our expectations and brings great delight to my inlaws."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011

Great product!

"I have had a hand crank ice cream maker and an electric one that both used ice and rock salt. Such a mess! This is sooo much better!! I made sure I tried both sorbet (thanks for the pineapple recipe) and several ice creams before I passed judgement. Last night I made the simple vanilla ice cream and added crushed oreos...delicious! Every one has come out perfectly....soft, creamy, and wonderful. Can't imagine why it didn't work for those who didn't rate it well unless they got a defective unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>