Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker

Cool off with a rich ice cream sundae or a fruity homemade sorbet - ready in 25 minutes or less. The Cuisinart Pure Indulgence 2-Quart Ice Cream-Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker delivers 2 quarts of fast, fabulous, frozen deserts, perfect for a family dinner or a friendly party - each one guarantees a sweet ending! Includes:   Instruction Book   Recipe Book   Features:   Fully automatic: Put ingredients in the bowl and let the machine do the rest   Large 2-Quart Capacity: Makes up to 2 quarts of your favorite frozen treat. Enough for the whole family!   Brushed Metal Finish: Brushed metal makes an elegant statement in any kitchen   Fast and Efficient: This Heavy-duty motor makes frozen yogurt, ice cream, sorbet or frozen drinks in only 25 minutes or less   Easy and Mess-Free: Large spout means no spills when adding ingredients   Easy Cleanup: Removable freezer bowl and mixing paddle make cleanup a breeze   Perfect Consistency: Double-insulated bowl freezes ingredients evenly for consistently smooth and creamy results   UL Listed   Dimensions: 11"W x 10.3"L x 16"H   Weight: 14 lbs   3-year limited warranty   Made in China   For product related questions, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
50 of 58(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gresham OR
Date:October 25, 2008

My newest Favorite Toy!

Pros: easy
Cons: noisy
"If you follow the instruction exactly, it makes wonderful ice cream! A bit noisy but worth it! Couldn't be easier. Clean up is a breeze"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:December 2, 2008

Great

"I have had this ice cream maker for 6 months and have made literally dozens of batches of ice cream. The maker is very easy to use and clean. I only wish I could buy another freezer/liner so I could make two batches in a row!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 4, 2008

Makes the Kids Happy

Pros: no salt, great taste, no additives except yours
Cons: a bit noisy, limits on volume 2 qt to maybe 4qt, need to keep container in freezer
"The unit makes great ice cream although I have never ventured to the recipes that require eggs. I just go with the basic vanilla recipe on page 1 and add different things like mint extract and chopped chocolate chips or strawberries or frozen mixed berries and nuts. Most are great. My few slight disappointments happened when I did not let machine run long enough to get mixture very thick, then the taste of the cream is overwhelming. Just don’t make the batch size too large and I think you will be very happy with this unit, certainly easy. I have been very happy and recommend it to my friends."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gresham, OR; Bozeman, MT
Date:April 9, 2009

Great ice cream maker

"I've owned this machine for almost three months and have loved it so much I'v made ice cream/frozen yogurt 2-3 times per week for the last 12 weeks! I originally bought it because I was on a diet and wanted low calorie frozen yogurt!! (Needless to say I now use it for motivation and am still keeping my weight down--ha ha!) We also try to give away a batch or two a week to friends or neighbors. One thing I love it that the 5 of us can eat what we want and still have about as much leftover as what we ate.
Our family of 5 (ice cream eaters) has had a blast inventing new flavors. Berries work really well. So do chunks of oreo, cut into 3rds or 4ths and added at the last minute. So does symphony bars, pineapple and coconut, macadamia nuts, small colored marshmallows--we haven't had any flavor we felt obligated to eat.
I have several cream 'bases' I've tried. The favorite is 2 cups of whipping cream, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 c sugar. Mix together, then pour into frozen ice cream bowl and start it. Use milk to fill the bowl until it reaches the horizontal line on the paddle. Then add flavors. Anything going in as 'chunks' go last, right before the ice cream is thick.
A favorite 'new' cream base is 1 c of instant pudding powder, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 cups whipping cream. This thickens it quickly and looks and tastes like store-bought ice cream.
I also learned the hard way that the bowl scratches if metal is used on it. For that reason, I only use a wooden spoon now to check consistency or 'sample'. Also, we keep the bowl in the freezer so it is always ready to go. Just don't freeze it upside down or it may not have enough cold near the bottom to do a fast job.
Overall, this product is GREAT! My wife is excited because she finally has permission to throw away the old, messy ice+salt style ice cream maker!"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:May 19, 2009

Love it

"I just got this as a gift and made my first batch. Tried the peanut butter cup recipe and it is wonderful! VERY easy to use. I did see an extra freezer bowl online if looking to make more than one batch in a day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Al
Date:June 13, 2009

Excellent

Pros: no ice to fool with, quick and easy
"This is a great product. Used it for the first time just a day ago and it worked as advertised. OH yeah, the Costco in store price is $30 less than the manufacture's online price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:June 17, 2009

Good Ice Cream but LOUD

Pros: fast, easy, good ice cream and sorbet
Cons: it is loud!, louder than metallica playing live at your house.
"I read the reviews here about this being loud, and of course I thought people were exaggerting. This maker is so loud that I cannot tolerate being in the same room when it is on. Good thing it only takes 25 to 30 minutes to make ice cream.
Nosie aside it is easy to use and produces a nice sorbet or ice cream."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2009

Great, but small amount

Pros: cheap, works as advertised
Cons: need to freeze bowl at least 24hrs, small amount of ice cream
"Works if you follow the directions. Will have to freeze mixture for a couple of hours after using machine(unless you want REALLY soft ice cream).
If you have the moola(around $300) get the more expensive machine with a compressor. You can make ice cream anytime, without having to freeze the bowl; the one negative with this item."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Washington
Date:August 6, 2009

Better than expected!

"I just love this machine! I've had it for about 6 weeks and have made several kinds of ice cream, plus countless batches of frozen yogurt pops in different flavors. Everyone who has tasted the final product has been thrilled. I have always wanted an ice cream maker, but hesitated until I saw this one. The reviews, the product features and the price sold me and I'm so glad."
Review 10 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alfalfa Oregon
Date:September 6, 2009

awesome

Model Number: CIM-6o series
"This is a great product. I use it at least once a week. I am so impressed I am buying one for a birthday gift and another as a wedding gift. Easy to use and clean. Rave reviews of ice cream and sorbets from guests."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:September 11, 2009

Why wouldn't you buy this?

"It works. You can make yummy things & impress your friends --high fat, low fat, whatever. If you're going to eat or drink something bad for you -- it might as well be good. And, you may as well make it in this quantity and have it to share or store. Best thing I've done for myself in years ..."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ (yes I always used it indoors)
Date:October 26, 2009

Not great

Pros: open top, powerful motor
Cons: doesn't stay frozen long enough, doesn't get cold enough, mixing is not thorough, mixing spatula scratches the bowl
"I loved the idea of being able to make ice cream in whatever flavor combinations I wanted. I followed instructions and recipes to the letter, I never put anything hot or warm into the bowl, but I couldn't seem to make anything resembling ice cream, at least not until I had put whatever I made into the freezer for a few hours to a few days.
I found that the mixing spatula tends to push the contents up out of the bowl when it starts to thicken. Plus, there are pockets of unmixed ingredients at the bottom, which is difficult to explain since the mixing spatula fits so tightly that it scratches the inside of the bowl.
Overall, it's just taking space (too much space--that's another con) on my countertop. I'm taking it back and going with an old-fashioned ice-and-rock-salt version."
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Wa
Date:January 31, 2010

yummy but noisy

Model Number: unknown, this one.
"Love everything but the noise. You can do so much with it. Frozen Margaritas! yummo! We just made pineapple sorbet and it was awesome. basic recipe is 4 cups fruit puree to 1 cup sugar. puree fruit in blender, heat 1 cup puree & sugar till crystals disolve, combine, chill, pour in machine and wait for the magic in 30 mins. It does come out very soft so plan for freezer time at the end.
only downside is that it's noisy.
warning - costco ships it in it's original box so if it's left on your stoop all can see what it is.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2010

Great Ice Cream Maker

Pros: quick & easy
Model Number: CIM60
"Quick, easy and delicious ice cream in 25 minutes. I would suggest mixing all the ingredients in a separate mixing bowl first and then pour into the machine's ice cream bowl. I do not find the machine overly loud as some have suggested - it is much quieter than the old machines that used ice and salt. The ice cream does tend to rise out of the top of the machine, but never spills over and it is a soft serve type ice cream. We love it and make ice cream every weekend. I have given several as gifts and everyone loves them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 18, 2010

Great product

"This machine is super easy to use and clean up and makes awesome ice cream. We love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 4, 2010

Fun and fabulous

"Very easy to use and tremendously satisfying results. Revelation: homemade ice cream is MUCH better than store-bought."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:del mar, ca
Date:June 17, 2010

best gift i;ve ever gave my husand!

Pros: no salt or ice to buy!
Cons: no last minute ice cream making
"i purchased this ice cream maker as an early fathers day gift...our neighbors have an ice cream maker...but they are moving away, which has forced us to get our own.
this ice cream maker rocks! no ice, no salt, no nonsense! you just need to remember to freeze the bowl the day before...
so far my husband has used it once, and the ice cream was the best homemade ice cream ever!
this was a gift that is benefiting our whole family
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:July 4, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

Model Number: CIM-60PC
"We've had this machine for several years, use it often, and it has never once failed to make the best ice cream. Perfect everytime! It's so great, that I'm purchasing another one so that I won't need to wait for the bowl to freeze to make another batch of a different flavor, and I can make everyone happy at once! Overall, it's cheaper to purchase a new machine, than to purchase just the Freezer Bowl..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:July 27, 2010

Fantastic Gift

Model Number: CIM-60PC
"Thought it would be a good gift for an Ice Cream Lover! This exceeds our expectations. It seems the unit is being used a minimum of once a week. It far exceeds our expectations and brings great delight to my inlaws."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® 2-quart Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbet Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 20, 2010

too noisy and takes too much time

"it took almost an hour to make icecream and not 30 minutes as it claimed.
also it is too noisy
and even after keeping in freezer for over 24 hours still it didn't make icecream well enough , you have to keep the bowl for about 2 days to make ice cream
"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>