Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum

Added Value: Mini Turbine Head, Carpet Care Kit and Low Reach Floor Tool
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
29 of 34(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2009

Not for Area Rugs

Pros: suction power
Cons: alarm noise, heavy
"We have purchased one and because it was making such a loud noise, so I've I called Dyson to get help. The customer service told me to do some quick repair routine, but it did not fix. So, he told me to just get it returned and get a replacement by explaining me that it has a belt misalignment problem. So, I returned and got a new one. SAME LOUD NOISE. We called Dyson again, and this time they told us that we CANNOT use it on the AREA RUGs because of its self clog up detection system or some sort. The vacuum cleaner would suck up the area rug itself and slightly moves the rug and that can cause the brush to stop and makes the horrible loud noise. Well, we came up with one solution to this that if we use it at the "floor setting" instead of carpet, then it does not seem to make the noise. But, of course it would loose the suction.
Our 2-year old son is completely traumatized by the noise, and he would start crying by simply having it in his sight.
It's so ironic that it has a design issue."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:December 18, 2008

A Skeptical Convert

Pros: really cleans well
Cons: a little pricey but worth it.
Model Number: Dyson DC 14 Animal
"I had always thought the Dyson was too expensive, and I like bagless, so I bought another brand. I ended up spending so much time cleaning the filter on the other "bagless" that it wasn't worth the lower price. After the cheaper "bagless" finally broke, I tried the Dyson and my wife and I were really impressed. We have kids and a dog and we saw things coming out of the carpet that we didn't even know were there. The Dyson IS plastic, which put me off at first, but it is so well made that I now don't mind that at all. It is so cleverly designed that you really have to read the instructions at least once to figure out how best to use it. After that, it really cleans, it is versatile, and there are no bags OR filters to constantly hassle with. I was skeptical, but now I love it!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island Canada
Date:November 6, 2008

best vacuum cleaner on the market

"I bought my dyson last year. I moved into a house with older carpets, and other kinds of flooring. I also have a dog that sheds. This vacuum cleaner absolutely amazes me daily. Everytime I vacuum I pick up so much hair and dirt. It leaves the carpets looking new, and my vehicle is cleaner than when I bought it brand new. I love bagless, and would never own anything but a Dyson again. As a matter of fact I am buying one for my son, and recommended it to my ex husband."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 27, 2008

Great on dog hair

Pros: great pet hair pickup very long electric cord
Cons: heavy
"I have had many vacuums over the years and have never really been happy with any of them. I have 2 golden retrievers, 2 cats, and a family, and my 3500 square foot house is half carpet/ half tile. No vacuum cleaner could keep up! After talking with friends that had a Dyson Animal and reading all the reviews I finally decided to spend the money and buy one. It was $150 less at Costco than anywhere else. I love this vacuum! It picks up way more pet hair and dirt than any other and is super easy to use. I love the ease of emptying the dirt canister and the long reach hose is very handy- I can get in corners without bending over. It does a great job on both carpet and ceramic tile. It is well-worth the money for the way it makes my life easier, and has cut my time vacuuming in half. I threw my other two vacuums in the trash the first time I used this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008

Best Vacuum Ever!

Pros: great suction, easy cleanup
Cons: the hose was a little short for our stairs
"Purchased this vacuum from a Costco store a few days ago and my husband used it as soon as I got home. We could not believe how much dirt and dust and pet hair it pulled out of our carpet!! Clean up is a breeze! Even used it the next day and it still got more stuff out of our carpet!! We have a long haired cat that sheds an ungodly amount of hair even though I brush and comb him just about every single day. I've been wanting a Dyson forever, and when I saw how cheap Costco was selling it, I HAD to buy it!! It's still quite an investment but definitely worth it! And you can't beat the 5 year warranty."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FENWICK, MI
Date:December 21, 2008

MY NEW BEST FRIEND!!

Pros: easy to push, great suction, easy to empty bin
Model Number: DYSON DC14 ANIMAL
"I absolutely love this new vacuum! I have been wanting one for quite a while but just couldn't spend the money for it. I wanted to borrow my sister's to try it out first & she wouldn't even part with it for a day because she loves hers so much!! I finally made the move because I have allergies/asthma and a cat so I figured it would be beneficial - hopefully it will last a long time! I also have a newer house and a hard time keeping the carpet fluffed...my carpet has never looked so new and fluffy as it did when I first moved in, until NOW! Great job Dyson...I love it and think the money is well worth it!!!!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NorCal
Date:January 4, 2009

All Hype

Pros: attachments galore
Cons: still expensive even at costco
"We purchased this six weeks ago at our local costco. We were excited to try it, especially since our dog seems to be shedding more than ever. The vacuum looks cool and comes with a bunch of attachments. That's about where Pros end. We have berber carpet throughout our house. In the living room and dining room, we have large area rugs as well. The dyson has some sort of lockout system that is designed to stop the motor from burning up if the brush were to jam and stop. When it kicks in, it makes this god-awful loud noise. It is a good design in theory. Ours falsely locks itself out about every 10 seconds or so. On the area rugs, the dyson is unusable because it locks itself out after about 2 seconds of being on. The manual tells you to turn it off and clear the obstruction. The problem is there is no obstruction; we're vacuuming dog hair off of carpet. So, we're unable to vacuum two of our rugs, which means we would need to keep our old vacuum to clean the rugs. Today the dyson started locking itself out on the berber carpet as well. We have to turn it off, then turn in back on to keep going. Our 7 year old $100 dirt devil is more reliable since you can at least vacuum without stopping and starting. I imagine that ours may be malfunctioning or it may be a bad apple. Even though we saved $150 buying it at Costco, it is still more expensive than almost any vacuum out there. For what we spent, we shouldn't have these issues. We also have doubts as to how long this will last since ours is no good after six weeks. We'd rather spend half on a different brand and replace it every couple years than commit $350 to a vacuum and hope it lasts. We are returning it to Costco this week."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakton, VA
Date:November 11, 2008

Best Vacuum Ever!

"We have a long hair dog who sheds constantly and a toddler! We were skeptical of the dyson but after a few years and many vacuums we decided to try it! We are amazed! Our previous vacuum was the Top rated vacuum on consumer reports. My husband cleaned the carpet in our room (where the dog sleeps) with the old vacuum and then used the dyson. It was unbelievable how much dog hair the dyson picked up!"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:December 1, 2008

I'm a believer!

Pros: amazing amount of suction, nice stiff beater brushes
Cons: a bit clumsy, heavy
"Well, I don't normally write reviews and I don't usually get too excited about vacuums. I brought home this vacuum without doing any real research, other than it was on sale at Costco. I was simply astounded at the amount of dirt it pulled out of my already "clean" carpets. I don't know how long it will hold-up or if it will work as well after being used a few times, but for right now I'm very happy with it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:bakersfield
Date:November 11, 2008

dyson vacuum

Pros: very good pick up from all kinds of floors. v
Cons: a little heavy to push.
"this vacuum is excellent in cleaning carpeted, tiled and wood floors. i have 2 long haired dogs and it picked up their hair and carpet looked just wished it was motor driven or lighter. it is a little heavy and could not vacuum my 3200 square feet house in one session,"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:November 28, 2008

Amazing

Pros: all pros. amazing vacuum.
Cons: none
"After reading the reviews on this product, I decided to try it myself. I vacuumed with my old vacuum and then ran the Dyson. I wasn't surprised my old vacuum left pet hair and dirt in the carpet. (This is why I was in the market for a new vacuum.) But I was astounded how much dirt the Dyson removed from my carpet. It is amazing. Well worth the cash.
The cord length and hose length are fantastic. Love that you can turn off the brush to go seamlessly from rugs to wood to tile.
Some reviews state the weight is a problem. I didn't think 18 lbs was heavy when I bought it and I didn't think twice about weight when I was using it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingman, AZ
Date:December 14, 2008

Best vacuum ever

Model Number: Dyson 14 pet
"Wow, it is amazing how much pet hair this got out of my living room carpet. Have a raddoll cat with long white hair and this pulled the hair right off of the rug and the chair where she sleeps. I am totally impressed with being able to dust the tops of pictures, etc. Easy to empty and clean. This is the best price you will find."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:December 13, 2008

great suction

Pros: light weight, long cord
"Received as housewarming gift and my housekeeper told me that her job is so much easier. It comes with a lot of attachments and really has good suction and picks up all the dust and the hepa filters clean the air"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Watertown, MA
Date:January 31, 2009

Best Vacuum Ever!!!!

"I read a lot of the reviews on here before I bought the vacuum. I myself also have berber carpets and have not had a problem with the vacuum on them. It is truly amazing just how much this vacuum picks up, and since I have a cat the design definitely is needed here. I love the accessories!! The price can't be beat! Compared to the other vacuum we had the noise is very quiet, it gets around corners, and is quite light! I would highly recommend this vacuum, and for this price I would definitely grab it! You can't get this vacuum with all these accessories for anywhere near this price. The vacuum is so well designed! I can't say enough great things about this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:January 9, 2009

My carpet is clean.

Model Number: DC14
"We are tired of fighting with the cheap carpet in our new home, also
three girls with long hair.. it some times sticks on the carpet, not to
mention our cat's hair. Our old vacuum didn't seem to do much it doesn't
matter how many times we tried. The last new vacuum we bought lasted for
20 mins and it stopped working (hairs stuck under). We thought that
changing to hardwood floor wass the last solution until I asked my
husband to please read the reviews for this vacuum, and he was
convinced. It was quite a work out for me, however, the house is clean
now after two days work. The only problem I had was going to the edge of
the floor (toe kick) it makes a really loud sound and you need to be
careful when vacuuming small area rugs. It will do that as well. It's
loud and it scares me. We now enjoy a very clean house... until it's
time to vacuum again.
"
Review 16 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 1, 2008

Don't buy into the hype...

Pros: beautiful to look at, bagless and you can see all the dirt sucked up
Cons: loses it's suction, flimsy construction, expensive!
"Sure this is a great machine and you can see the immediate results of your work in the collection tube. Nice not to have to run out to buy a bag when yours fills which happens pretty quickly when you have a dog as I do. But what they don't tell you in the ads is that the machine is built of pretty flimsy construction and breaks pretty easily. Mine broke at the handle for the collection tube, the flap for the collection tube, and around the bumpers at the base of the unit. It has also lost much of it's suction even though I have replaced all the filters and kept the unit clean. I recently bought a Bissell bagless for a third of the price and am enjoying watching the dirt fly into the collection chamber as I did the Dyson but without the guilt of paying a fortune for a piece of art. Not worth the money."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:January 6, 2009

NOTHING BETTER OUT THERE!

Pros: awesome suction- outstanding cleaning
"I have been using the same Dyson for over 4 yrs now, and absolutely LOVE it! I have bought many vacuums over the past 25 and none were better. I have 2 dogs, an indoor cat AND I live in the country. This thing always seems to find the dirt no matter how often I vacuum. I notice many people say that it is heavy and I must disagree. It really is no heavier, if not lighter than others. I believe its the extreme suction that makes it seem hard to push, a problem I can easily live with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Covington, Wa
Date:January 17, 2009

Once you go Dyson you will never go back!

Model Number: DC14
"I just bought this vacuum today! So worth it! I vacuumed with my old vacuum first so that I could test the Dyson. My old vacuum mind was over 3K 6 years ago. The Dyson so put it to shame! I can not believe the amount of dust, animal hair and so much other yucky stuff it picked up. I love my Dyson and would highly recomend it to everyone! I was also suprised to see all the great stuff it came with. I am excited to see how the carpet cleaner stuff works!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 28, 2009

Great Item!

Pros: great suction
Cons: bulky
"Nothing better...yet! We had been saving up to purchase this Animal vac. It was a bit pricey, but very worth it. We also tried our 3yr old Eureka before the Dyson Animal. Just within our small living room, we had seen how much dog hair and dirt our 3yr old vacuum was not picking up. I hope it doesnt begin to give that dog smell after vacuuming with it later on. I recomend it to every person who owns a pet and carpet!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for $349.99 after $50 OFF Dyson DC14 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 20, 2008

Great Deal

Pros: picks up things you don't even know are there!
Cons: a little heavy, a little cumbersome
"This is the best deal you'll find anywhere on this vacuum. Dyson's are definitely worth every dollar. This vacuum picks up everything. I was skeptical about my dog's hair that seems to weave into the fabric of my couch....this vacuum picks up every single piece of hair! My only complaint (and maybe I haven't figured it out yet) is that I wish the vacuum would stay stationary when I use the scope."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>