Customer Reviews for Westmount Workstation with Hutch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Westmount Workstation with Hutch

Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 43(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Review 21 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nine Mile Falls WA
Date:December 4, 2009

LOVE MY DESK

"I purchased this desk in the store for my office at work. My husband put it together for me with a little help from me. Took about 4 hours. Parts were numbered well and good instructions. Only thing was the one divider panel that goes upright in the hutch--wasn't stained on any of the edges so I had to buy some stain to match it. ODD! One thing I would prefer -- I wish it had 3 drawers instead of 2 drawers and a cubboard. I would be able to get better use out of it. But all in all, I just love the desk, and I get lots of compliments on it. What a great deal it was too."
Review 22 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morgan Hill, CA
Date:November 17, 2009

Well worth it

Pros: looks great with nice appointments
Cons: drawers of lower quality
"I bought the desk at a local costco. The wood parts were well labeled and perfectly packed - no scratches or damaged pieces; all the hardware pieces were there. It did take me a good 7 hours to put together, but the instructions were good and the finished desk looks great! There are times when you need two people to help in the construction. While the desk tops are of high quality I am a little disappointed with the pedestal drawers; the facings have a thin "cheap" laminate and the bottoms of the draws are not much more than a heavy cardboard material. The middle door of the pedestal did not fit so I had to remove the top draw runners and replace them a 1/4 inch higher."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, California
Date:October 3, 2009

Still holding strong

Pros: great furniture
Cons: i wish costco sold the cordinating pieces
"My husband and I purchased this desk from our local Costco in December 2008. Yes, the boxes are very heavy. (I consider this to be a good thing, makes for durable furniture). Yes, it did take a really long time to put together. (I didn't time it because it took a couple of days for us, we have two toddlers...) I am mainly writing this review because after having the desk for 10 months, it is still holding strong! Sometimes, furniture that you have to put together starts to fall apart or becomes loose. This desk needs nothing. And I have to say that it stays clean! No scratches! I am very immpressed by the look of the desk top. I am still very happy with my purchase. The only thing that I wish were different is that the edges on the drawers and doors seem to be really sharp. But I have young children so I have to be aware of thinks like that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009

Very Impressed

"Very happy w/this purchase. Took some time putting together but much worth it! The details were well thought and add to the quality of the desk."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:September 21, 2009

Great buy for the money!

Pros: great instructions, sturdy
Cons: heavy
"Please believe the previous reviews- this desk is HEAVY! Without a doubt, make sure you have 2 strong people on hand for the unloading.
The instructions are clear, the parts are well labeled, and the pieces fit together well. That said, this took my very handy husband every bit of 6 hours to construct. He finally gave up on the instruction recommended hand tightening of all the screws and used his power tools gently. No problems.
It is indeed priced at $399 at our local Costco, which is where we got it. At a $250 savings, it was worth the trip.
I definitely believe this is the best desk you can get for the money, but keep in mind that it is a pressboard desk with laminate top and great edging. It's not going to be an heirloom, but it will be a sturdy, functional desk for many years.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:September 17, 2009

Nice workmanship and quality

"Got it 2 days ago - arrived in two large but flat boxes ( I am glad I didn't go to the local warehouse to buy it there - no way it would fit our SUV plus boxes are really heavy). Unpacked piece by piece and assembled in the room. Everything fits perfectly. Very nice furniture but assembly requires follow instructions carefully and paying attention to details because pieces are designed to be placed either left or right way ( depends on your office layout) and that may confuse at some point. Otherwise, highly recommend."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:August 30, 2009

Solid, but with a few defects

Pros: sturdy nice color
Cons: fit and finish lacking on a few pieces
"It's possible I may have picked up a dud, based on the other reviews here. I found the materials very sturdy, although a lot of little things made this less of a good buy. Some of the doors do not fit with the unit well without a lot of adjustment. The corner desk pieces are warped or just off, leaving a quarter inch gap in the back. The edges of the doors and some of the main pieces showed wear just taking them out of the box. The drawers did not slide as easily as expected, or did not go in all the way without a hard push for the last half an inch. I'd take it back to the store if it didn't weigh so much."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:July 31, 2009

Very high quality, low price

Pros: quality, professional appearance
Cons: very heavy, assembly time
Model Number: 83411-2163-2263
"Bought this desk at our local Costco location for $250 less than the online price. At least 2 people are required for lifting and transport as it is very heavy. We got it home in our SUV with the seats down, but had to tie down the back hatch. Would be ideal to have a pickup.
Assembly instructions were easy to follow, but some steps require more than one person. It took me about 5-7 hours total as I did it during my spare time in the evenings.
I decided on this desk after researching other warehouse stores and the office supply stores. I was given a lump sum from my employer to work from home and finding this quality of a desk for this low price allowed me to get the lateral file, bookcase, and a chair without spending any of my own money."
Review 29 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:July 16, 2009

High Quality, Low Price

Pros: great value, high quality
Cons: heavy for transporting
Model Number: 83411-2163-2263
"Purchased this desk directly at our local Costco for about $250 less than the price online. It was a challenge getting it home but it can be done with the right vehicle and assistance to help carry two heavy boxes .
The workmanship on this desk is outstanding and of the highest quality. Very sturdy and a great size for my home office. The color is darker than shown in the online photo and brochure but it works for my room. There is an abundance of storage space. I was able to get rid of two additional filing cabinets since everything fits in this workstation.
The other reviewers were spot on about the assembly time. It took 2 of us about 7 hours. Instructions are easy to follow. Put on a pot of coffee and turn up the tunes for a day of fun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:July 8, 2009

Quality Product and a Great Value

"The price tag for this desk left us thinking that we would be sorely disappointed with our choice. We were certain that it was too good to be true. We have been so pleasantly surprised with the outcome. We feel we have a quality piece of furniture and we couldn't be happier with our purchase. We put it together in one evening. One caution is that you must choose to follow either the LEFT or RIGHT assembly instructions. You can't interchange without dissasembling and starting over. Make sure you decide which book to follow before starting the assembly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:July 1, 2009

Great Desk !

"we had been looking for a desk for last 10 months and our budget was around $700. After going to numerous furniture stores, finally we came across this desk - which did it all. We are very pleased with this product. The best part is the flexibility it has to mix and match the design/shape according to your room. The embedded electric and phone outlet is great. Due to limited space in our office, we made two desks and using it separate in different rooms - both look complete and fancy. It took us roughly 6 hrs to fully install it with two of us."
Review 32 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, DE
Date:May 9, 2009

More for your money

Pros: price
Model Number: 224310
"This desk is of excellent quality and durability. I searched for desks for a month before finding this desk in the store. You get so much more for you money than what you can get at local office supply stores."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2009

Fabulous!

Pros: quality at a great price
"My husband and I bought the workstation and hutch and were so pleased with the quality that we have since gone on to purchase the lateral file, two end book units and the storage cabinet. We were initially a bit overwhelmed with putting the units together but quickly found the instructions to be easy to follow. The furniture is heavy and well made. I would recommend the furniture -- especially for the price -- very highly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:March 16, 2009

Excellent Value

"I was so impressed with this desk set that I felt compelled to write this review (which is my first) You get so much for the money, and the fit and finish are great. I replaced the knobs it came with with satin nickel knobs for a little more contemporary look. The desk looks fantastic and is very well built."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009

Love My Desk!

"My husband bought this for me for Christmas. It fits wonderfully in my 11'x11' office along with my sofa. It took us most of the day to put it together, but the directions were fairly easy to follow and we managed to have all of the pieces. It looks beautiful and is very sturdy. I use it not only for my computer actiivities, but also my scrapbooking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2009

Great office set

Pros: the price and appearance
Cons: delivery from ups resulted in many damaged pieces
Model Number: 83411-2163-2263
"I saw this in the warehouse for a great price. There was only a miniature display but knowing Costco's quality, I took a chance.
This is the most useful, affordable desk set that I have ever used. While it takes a bit longer to put together than some of the furniture from the office supply stores, the solidness, durability and appearance are well-worth the effort.
I ordered two bookcases and the utility cart to round out the office.
This set is better than many desks that I have purchased in furniture stores and it is more durable.
The units that I ordered on-line came with many damaged pieces. UPS didn't handle them well at all.
However, the manufacturer replaced every piece with no questions. This delayed assembly by 5 to 9 days.
Try to buy the pieces in the warehouse. They had no damage at all.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:February 17, 2009

Very glad I did it...

Pros: easy to assemble; picture instructions, just what you expect in good nock-down-furniture
Model Number: 224310
"Have had the catalog picture at my office for 6 months, price went up $50 so I bought it before it could go up again. I needed to replace a small desk at home, but didn't need a large $2,000 unit. This fits into a home room nicely. The instructions for assembly are all pictures and in that you can build it left or right be sure to lay the pieces on the floor just the way they are pictured so that you get the pegs in the correct holes. The quality and look is tops. Be sure you build it in the room you want it in, it will have to be disassembled to move it. Shipping was "FAST"."
Review 38 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 27, 2009

Nice Desk

Pros: you can build it to face the left or the right.
Cons: the time it takes to put it together!
Model Number: 224310
"Desk is a nice size, it fits in the small space we have. Took 7 long hours to put it together. Screws to attach the fronts of the drawers are missing, so I need to call the manufacturer to get some. Having difficulty adjusting one of the doors, it hangs a little crooked. Would like to have more drawers to hide all of our junk :). Overall, we are happy with the item."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 22, 2009

Solid desk, easy assembly

Pros: durable finish, easy to assemble
Cons: could use more shelves
"We bought this desk at our Costco store, it comes in two very heavy boxes. At home we unloaded it into the garage and brought it to our office piece by piece.
The assembly instructions are pretty good, the hardware used is of good quality. We had no problems putting it together in about 8 hours or so. We ran into only two issues. For the lock they forgot to drill a pilot hole, they drilled one, but not the other, this was easily fixed. In a other location we damaged the finish when inserting the hardware. I think they had drilled the hole too deep and we hit the laminate inserting the hardware. Luckily this was a piece facing the wall.
The end results is a very nice looking desk, it seems durability, since the edges of the desk have a nice durable finish (thick PVC "bumper", not just the laminate).
More shelves would have been nice, it also could have used recess lights.
In general this is a very nice desk, build well and fairly easy to assemble."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Westmount Workstation with Hutch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:December 23, 2008

Good - well worth the assembly time

Pros: lovely finish, sturdy material
Cons: longer than expected assembly time
"Although it takes quite some to assemble (took me about 6 hours) and the number of pieces are overwhelming given the 2 boxes they came in, this is one sturdy table with a smooth finish. I love the tuscany brown color - perfect for my interior. Overall - very happy with my purchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>