Customer Reviews for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System

Designed for People with Mild Hearing Loss Bonus Ear Tips Included $20 Value
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
(out of 119 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
16
94 of 119(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Review 1 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, CO
Date:December 7, 2009

Amazing Sound

Pros: small and light weight, excellent sound quality, excellent range
"I purchased TV Ears so that I could listen to the TV and not bother other people in the house. I have only the mildest hearing loss that does not require the use of hearing aids, but I find it hard to hear everything being said on TV when there is a lot of background noise in the room. I was absolutely blown away by the quality of the sound that came through the TV Ears headset. I could hear every component of the sound, including background music and sound effects. I would use these even with 100% hearing - the sound is so much better than what comes out of the TV speakers. I have no complaints about the quality of the product. The headset is much more comfortable and much less obtrusive than wireless headphones. As for the infrared range, I can walk up to 15 feet away from the unit and turn almost completely away from it before I lose sound. The range is amazing!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:August 13, 2009

TV Ears WORK!

Pros: they simply work!
"I own two headsets so that one is always charged up when the other runs down. I have had to return a set to Costco because it would not seat properly on the charging station to connect with the contact points. I use My TV Ears after my wife falls asleep (she gets up earlier in the morning than I do, and I stay up later.) I can set the TV volume low enough that it provides "background noise" for her to sleep and use my TV Ears so that I can clearly hear all the dialog. The sound quality in stereo, while not theater quality, is very good and quite clear. There is no background hiss or static. You can walk around or face any direction in the room and these work perfectly. It is true that if you leave the room you lose the signal, but then you cannot SEE the TV either, so it is not an unreasonable limitation.
The earplugs are padded with foam and come with several sets of replacements. I find them quite comfortable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:October 16, 2009

Sound is OK, but not the cheap foam ear tips

Model Number: TV Ears 2.3 MHz
"I bought my TV Ears 2.3 MHz at Costco in May 2009. The system works well...except for the cheap foam rings used as ear tips.
A set of replacement foam rings came with my purchase, but they are not satisfactory for the following reasons:
1) the new foam tips are hard to attach (I follow "firm flat surface" directions) as the layers of foam separate, which requires repeated attempts to attach the whole tip.
2) the tiny white plastic ring which is supposed to hold the foam tip on, is too small and the outer foam layer comes off - sometimes in my ear, sometimes falling on the floor.
The headset should have permament ear buds like those commonly used on headsets.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Felony Flats, CA
Date:August 20, 2009

Absolute garbage

Pros: none whatsoever.
Cons: the "features" list reads more like a "wish" list.
"Very cheaply made of hard, brittle plastic.
Total lack of comfort.
Rotten sound quality due to infrared transmission of the signal to the earphones.
Line of sight isn't enough. The transmitter has to be pointed at the listener.
There is much better to be had for less money. Don't waste yours."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bonney Lake, WA
Date:December 12, 2009

Wonderful product

Pros: very good price, no static at all.
Model Number: 2.3 MHz
"This was a replacement for the original 900KHz headset and I just can't get over the improvement in sound quality, length of operation after charge, and the tips. I had to read the instructions on how to attach a replacement tip, big duh! Too easy, snaps right on. I have used this one for about 2 years now without a single issue. Am buying a second one for my grandson."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:N.VA
Date:August 21, 2009

Do Not Move-- signal will fade

Cons: way too sensitive to movement
"This is a bad headphone system. The range of the infared signal is way too sensitive to movement in that the narrow signal band can not tolerate any body movement. Move and static replace sound. BAD!I have tried several infared system , but none have been this poor. The company's speaker system, that I really like, does not have this weakness"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:March 24, 2011

Good with some reservations

Pros: good sound quality
Cons: replacement battery cost outrageous
"Perfectly happy with sound quality etc. Too bad the brand new battery did not hold a charge. Most listening I got was 1 hr, then it dropped down to 5 to 10 mins after charging for 20 hrs.
A new replacement battery cost a total of $33.04 ($19.95 plus tax and $11.34 shipping) from the company, which is pretty ourtrageous shipping from within the same state! These are rechargeable button batteries that would cost a couple of dollars, except the company solders them together and sends them pre-installed in the front of the battery pack so you MUST buy from them. The company says the batteries last 1 to 2 yrs., but only gives 30 day guarantee. So what to do if batteries only last 6 months??
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities of Minnesota
Date:November 30, 2010

Wish I had it YEARS ago.

Pros: great invention!
Cons: wish they were made of stonger materials
Model Number: 2.3 MHZ
"I have bought TWO seperate sets of TV EARS this fall. One set was for my sister who is almost deaf in both ears. She doesn't wear her hearing aid at home so she would watch TV with the volume on 70/80. Now, she can keep the TV volume at 0 but set her TV EARS high WITHOUT DISTURBING her neigbors. Also if she has visitors over to watch a program, she uses her TV EARS while the visitor can listen to the TV volume at a normal range. My sister has told me many, many times how much she LOVES using her TV ears. The other TV EARS set was for my husband. He LOVES to watch his sports programs and I can't stand all the crowd noise. Well now I DON'T HAVE TO LISTEN TO THEM! I can have quiet or listen to a radio while My husband enjoys his sports. Also, when my husband works from home, I use the TV EARS to watch TV so I don't disturb him. It has been a win/win/win for all of us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jemez Mountains
Date:October 3, 2009

NOT Stereo

Pros: price has dropped
Cons: monaural
Model Number: 195970
"Mine are still in the box. The last line on the back of the package warns they are monaural - NOT stereo. Why would such a product still be on the market?"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011

consumer money pit

Cons: manufacturer money tree
Model Number: 2.3MHz
"Consider: TV Ears uses two small rechargeable button batteries of limited capacity, necessitating frequent battery replacement. Replacement battery, BY DESIGN, MUST be purchased from mfg. at exorbitant cost. If buying 2 button batteries for $20 + shipping 2 or 3 (or more) times a year is a good deal in your view, go for it. I think the product is designed to be a consumer money pit and a manufacturer money tree. Research their web site to confirm."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:March 16, 2011

Product not described correctly

Cons: not f.m.
Model Number: T.V. Ears
"Purchased this unit for my 96 year old mother who likes to listen to NPR, T.V. and books on tape in various rooms. The unit was described as broadcasting on 2.3 mghz.
with no mention of it being infra-red transmission (line of sight).
Once you leave the room the reception cuts out. If it were F.M. one could wander from room to room just like you can with a portable phone. If it mentioned that it was infra-red I wouldn't have purchased it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newville, PA
Date:October 29, 2008

Fantastic Product

"Product is excellent and suitable for everyone. TV can be placed on mute and you can still hear it clearly through the tv ears. It is especially good for someone with hearing problems as it allows the tv to be set at a normal volume for all other viewers - our entire family wishes we discovered these years ago - never want to be without them."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Product no good

Model Number: TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
"The battries only last about an hour on a charge, so what good is it? The product is geared to be a money pit by having to replace foam ear buds and battries every year that you have to purchase from the manufactuer only. Costo should pull this product from their shelves."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lakeside, AZ
Date:May 26, 2010

Still needs improvement

Pros: sound stays clear within the recommended range
Cons: no contact between headset and base in, front receptacle
Model Number: TV Ears 2.3MHz
"The sound quality of TV Ears 2.3MHz is far better than that of the original.
The new ears also seem to be a little sturdier. (I had to replace the "original" ears after the bottom section cracked following a fall on carpet.)
BUT when I placed the ears into the front receptacle of the charger the green charging light failed to come on. The ears rock back and forth, the green light flickers but no firm contact.
I phoned the TV Ears company. The rep was unable to offer assistance beyond what is in their brochure.
Fortunately contact is satisfactory via the rear charging connection (red light charging indicator remains lit).
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carnation, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

A God Send!

"My husband's hearing is not what it used to be and as a result he was turning the volume on the tv higher and higher. Of course he loves cowboy movies and thrillers full of gun fights, screaming women and screeching tires. I regularly asked him to turn the volume down because there was no where in the house to escape it. He begrudgingly did but then he couldn't hear the dialogue.
For Father's Day I bought him TV ears. Ahhh, the peace and quiet! He loves them and of course I do to. We've had no problem with them at all, except he insists they were a gift for me not him. He may be right. Highly recommend!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:October 27, 2008

Tv Ears Bad

"After many calls to this company, TV ears just sits on our TV, working only 75% of the time... it is not well made..
so charging is the culprit.. It is great when it works...
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Elm, TX
Date:December 8, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!

"We have had our TV Ears for over a year now. The sound is excellent and is, in spite of what one review stated, in stereo. Another review stated the foam ear pieces were difficult to attach. I have not found that to be the case as we have put one new set on with no problems at all. These can last probably 10 listening hours without a charge. I use them while my wife is sleeping every night and have never had the first problem! Buying a set for mother-in-law for Christmas!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:September 7, 2010

TV Ears help you hear

Model Number: RV Ears
"More than their volume, they help you hear the words you often have difficulty hearing. You have to remember to turn them off when you set them on the charger, or they will not charge. Also make sure the little light turns on when you set them in the cardle to make sure they charge. Do those two things, and I believe you will love them. I can hear things far better, and I can watch TV in bed while my wife sleeps. Great!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix Phrend
Date:November 5, 2008

TV ears Brochure is misleading

"Any audiophile knows that 2.3 mhz implies that the signal will travel through walls--this is NOT the case! The actual transmission is by infrared, and as such, is limited by line of sight, so you get static when you leave the room. The headset is much lighter than my old Chase wireless "ear muffs" but the sound quality is not any better. They will be selling these for $30, closer to their actual value, I predict."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dyer, IN
Date:February 26, 2011

Needs some improvements

"The biggest problem I have with these, are the foam tips. They don't last very long. They fall off unexpectedly. They are hard to replace.
They give you extra foam tips. They don't last long. I don't know how much they would cost to replace once you run out of them? I didn't keep them long enough to find out. I ended up returning them to Costco.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>