Customer Reviews for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System

Designed for People with Mild Hearing Loss Bonus Ear Tips Included $20 Value
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
(out of 119 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
16
94 of 119(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Review 1 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:October 27, 2008

Tv Ears Bad

"After many calls to this company, TV ears just sits on our TV, working only 75% of the time... it is not well made..
so charging is the culprit.. It is great when it works...
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu Hawaii
Date:October 27, 2008

Satisfied Customer

"I have purchased a number of other so-called private TV listening devices , and was never satisfied, but this one is the best. I had to call the manufacturer and because my TV is a Sony, have to use the product a little different than in the instructions, but this has proven to be a minor detail. Now, I can watch/listen to TV whenever I choose without the fear of disturbing my highrise-condo neighbors during normal sleeping hours."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carnation, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

A God Send!

"My husband's hearing is not what it used to be and as a result he was turning the volume on the tv higher and higher. Of course he loves cowboy movies and thrillers full of gun fights, screaming women and screeching tires. I regularly asked him to turn the volume down because there was no where in the house to escape it. He begrudgingly did but then he couldn't hear the dialogue.
For Father's Day I bought him TV ears. Ahhh, the peace and quiet! He loves them and of course I do to. We've had no problem with them at all, except he insists they were a gift for me not him. He may be right. Highly recommend!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newville, PA
Date:October 29, 2008

Fantastic Product

"Product is excellent and suitable for everyone. TV can be placed on mute and you can still hear it clearly through the tv ears. It is especially good for someone with hearing problems as it allows the tv to be set at a normal volume for all other viewers - our entire family wishes we discovered these years ago - never want to be without them."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upland, CA
Date:November 5, 2008

Awesome Product

Pros: light weight - hardly know you have it on
"My wife and I must use these to keep from waking up our infant in the same room - it is perfect - even when using only one ear in and one out listening for the baby!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix Phrend
Date:November 5, 2008

TV ears Brochure is misleading

"Any audiophile knows that 2.3 mhz implies that the signal will travel through walls--this is NOT the case! The actual transmission is by infrared, and as such, is limited by line of sight, so you get static when you leave the room. The headset is much lighter than my old Chase wireless "ear muffs" but the sound quality is not any better. They will be selling these for $30, closer to their actual value, I predict."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:November 6, 2008

cheap

Cons: cheap
"After less than one year the thing literally shattered. Very cheap plastic."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonds, WA
Date:July 9, 2009

Funtional but also fragile.

Pros: comfortable, lightweight
Cons: easily broken, expensive
"I have owned three sets of these headsets over the past ten years, and they work fine until they break. Mine last less than a year and they break when I fall asleep and put pressure on the plastic arms. For the price, they should be more durable."
Review 9 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:July 11, 2009

It works

Pros: it works!
Cons: not the most comfortable
"The system works. Just have to make sure it is returned to cradle and properly seated....that's a little tricky.
The only problem I have is that you can't interrupt line of sight or you'll get static.
After a couple hours, the earpiece is no longer as comfortable as other types of headsets."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:August 13, 2009

TV Ears WORK!

Pros: they simply work!
"I own two headsets so that one is always charged up when the other runs down. I have had to return a set to Costco because it would not seat properly on the charging station to connect with the contact points. I use My TV Ears after my wife falls asleep (she gets up earlier in the morning than I do, and I stay up later.) I can set the TV volume low enough that it provides "background noise" for her to sleep and use my TV Ears so that I can clearly hear all the dialog. The sound quality in stereo, while not theater quality, is very good and quite clear. There is no background hiss or static. You can walk around or face any direction in the room and these work perfectly. It is true that if you leave the room you lose the signal, but then you cannot SEE the TV either, so it is not an unreasonable limitation.
The earplugs are padded with foam and come with several sets of replacements. I find them quite comfortable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:August 18, 2009

Really great

Model Number: 297413
"I've been using TV Ears for a year now and it really helps. I wear in the canal hearing aids, but pull one out so I can still hear my wife. I did have to get a new headset after I sat on mine.
The contacts in the charger don't always work, so I just put a little weighted object in the center of the headsets when charging.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Felony Flats, CA
Date:August 20, 2009

Absolute garbage

Pros: none whatsoever.
Cons: the "features" list reads more like a "wish" list.
"Very cheaply made of hard, brittle plastic.
Total lack of comfort.
Rotten sound quality due to infrared transmission of the signal to the earphones.
Line of sight isn't enough. The transmitter has to be pointed at the listener.
There is much better to be had for less money. Don't waste yours."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:N.VA
Date:August 21, 2009

Do Not Move-- signal will fade

Cons: way too sensitive to movement
"This is a bad headphone system. The range of the infared signal is way too sensitive to movement in that the narrow signal band can not tolerate any body movement. Move and static replace sound. BAD!I have tried several infared system , but none have been this poor. The company's speaker system, that I really like, does not have this weakness"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2009

did not work

""Simply did not work. Called the company tech # to make sure I had it hooked up properly. It delayed the sound from the tv and make it sound worse with the tv volume turned on."
Review 15 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jemez Mountains
Date:October 3, 2009

NOT Stereo

Pros: price has dropped
Cons: monaural
Model Number: 195970
"Mine are still in the box. The last line on the back of the package warns they are monaural - NOT stereo. Why would such a product still be on the market?"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Nyack, NY
Date:October 3, 2009

Excellent Purchase - So far

"I just bought my first TV ears. A miracle. Stuff I've been missing on TV I can clearly hear. I will have to wait to see if the product lasts/ Others say it won't. Maeanwhile a whole new world has opened for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:October 16, 2009

Sound is OK, but not the cheap foam ear tips

Model Number: TV Ears 2.3 MHz
"I bought my TV Ears 2.3 MHz at Costco in May 2009. The system works well...except for the cheap foam rings used as ear tips.
A set of replacement foam rings came with my purchase, but they are not satisfactory for the following reasons:
1) the new foam tips are hard to attach (I follow "firm flat surface" directions) as the layers of foam separate, which requires repeated attempts to attach the whole tip.
2) the tiny white plastic ring which is supposed to hold the foam tip on, is too small and the outer foam layer comes off - sometimes in my ear, sometimes falling on the floor.
The headset should have permament ear buds like those commonly used on headsets.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:October 27, 2009

Such a difference in listening to TV

Pros: excellent for tv
Cons: i can't find replacement ear tips, cell phone calls go thru the ears b4 they get to t
"I was very excited when I first heard of TV Ears. Several years ago I bought a pair and a spare. When charged, they last most all day, but we have people sleeping at all hours and I can just mute the TV and hear perfectly.
I am now ordering a new set since I can't find the replacement tips anywhere and it doesn't hurt to have another set.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, CO
Date:December 7, 2009

Amazing Sound

Pros: small and light weight, excellent sound quality, excellent range
"I purchased TV Ears so that I could listen to the TV and not bother other people in the house. I have only the mildest hearing loss that does not require the use of hearing aids, but I find it hard to hear everything being said on TV when there is a lot of background noise in the room. I was absolutely blown away by the quality of the sound that came through the TV Ears headset. I could hear every component of the sound, including background music and sound effects. I would use these even with 100% hearing - the sound is so much better than what comes out of the TV speakers. I have no complaints about the quality of the product. The headset is much more comfortable and much less obtrusive than wireless headphones. As for the infrared range, I can walk up to 15 feet away from the unit and turn almost completely away from it before I lose sound. The range is amazing!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TV Ears 2.3MHz Wireless Headset System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Elm, TX
Date:December 8, 2009

EXCELLENT!!!

"We have had our TV Ears for over a year now. The sound is excellent and is, in spite of what one review stated, in stereo. Another review stated the foam ear pieces were difficult to attach. I have not found that to be the case as we have put one new set on with no problems at all. These can last probably 10 listening hours without a charge. I use them while my wife is sleeping every night and have never had the first problem! Buying a set for mother-in-law for Christmas!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>