Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Review 1 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 19, 2008

Great Purchase

"My 18-month daughter enjoys this kitchen.
Some pros:
1. It comes with an apron, pot and ladle.
2. It is not hard to put together, although it took me a few hours. (Be careful to use the right screws when attaching the doors. The screws look similar and if you use ones that are a tad too long, they will go through the cabinet doors.)
3. The quality appears good so far.
4. The stove & oven knobs make a clicking noise when you turn them.
5. This is a great price, esp for what you get.
Some cons:
1. The oven door opens to the right instead of pulling down.
2. Two of the shelves are resting on pegs and they can fall if you hit them at the wrong place.
3. The price at Costco store is $10 cheaper. I don't know if the difference is delivery charges. $10 is cheap for delivery because the box is heavy, but if I had known I could have gotten it at the store for cheaper, I would have done it because Costco is 3 minutes from where I live.
4. The kitchen set is not as interactive as I would like (i.e., not much noise or sounds except for the knobs).
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008

Took hours to put together

"I am fairly experienced at DIY furniture, but this was a bit excessive. The quality is good but the paint does chip easily. Standard and mini screwdrivers needed. I also used a tiny drill bit by hand to get the paint out of the tiny holes. This made it easier to put the many, tiny 1/2 inch blunt tip screws in. The instructions were typical, not fabulous but understandable and true. The hardest part was sorting out the minute differences in the screws.The instructions describe them by length but there are differences in the heads too.
Other reviews have commented on the oven door...I assume the oven door opens sideways, instead of down, so the kids won't stand on it or trip over it. I prefer it this way.
No electric sounds, lots of doors, lots of imaginative free play. Yeah! I would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the time consuming assembly!
It is on the small side at about 3 feet tall. We liked that feature for a toddler, but will have to buy a larger one when she is older."
Review 3 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CT
Date:October 19, 2008

What's for dinner?

Pros: great value
Cons: no extra parts (hardware)
"The instructions were the easiest I've ever had to follow and are well detailed for what needs to be done.
I liked that the hardware didn't come combined in one bag - the small parts were separated in a molded tray.
Easy to assemble with one person except for the doors needed another set of hands. Multiple size screwdrivers were needed.
Great Value!
Well accessorized - great vintage look!
Don't tighten "A" screws too much - can separate the wood.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Date:November 1, 2008

KidKraft Vintage Kitchen

"This kitchen does look nice but that's about it. It would fit well in a small, small space as it's very compact. It took over 4 hours to put together and I'm used to putting lots of things together. The oven opens to the side instead of down like a regular oven. Not as interactive as I thought. Only the oven knobs click. I thought that the fridge had some noises as well. Chips easily from the pots that come with it. And it's a little on the short side and I don't think it will last very long if my kids have a little growth spurt. Not too impressed at all with this product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:May 21, 2009

Excellent choice

Pros: looks great, durable
"We just received the kitchen couple days ago and our daughter is already in love with it. The kitchen does look better in real life than in picture. We chose this kitchen over the pastel colored one because it looks prettier and it is smaller.
It took me about an hour and half to put it together, with my son's "help." Couple things I learned that may help future buyers.
1. I used my cordless drill with allen wrench adaptor. This sure beats using the little L shaped allen wrench included in the kit.
2. Lable all of the parts. I used little yellow post-its, it really sped up the operation.
3. Pre-drill the doors. The kitchen was put together -very- quickly, until the last part where you have to hang the doors onto the hinges. There are two hinges with 3 screws each and it was a pain to put them in. The screws have a flat bottom, so they won't stay in place. One thing I learned was to use those screws to drill into the pilot holes a little bit, making the pilot holes bigger. Then it's a little bit easier to drill them later. A clamp is helpful too, if you don't have someone helping to hold the doors.
All in all, I think it was a great purchase. My daughter jumped right in and uses it frequently. The construction is solid. I can't see her breaking the kitchen any time soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 26, 2009

Quality kitchen

Pros: an oven that you can actually put things in, all our kitchen toys fit in the fridge & oven
Cons: a bit short
"We purchased this kitchen set as a replacement for an older plastic kitchen set. It took me & my husband a couple of hours to put it together about a week before Christmas. When we opened the box we noticed that the sink was cracked. I contacted the company via email for a replacement part. Not only did they ship me a new one but they shipped it 2 day express so I would be sure to have it in time for Christmas morning.
One feature that many have listed as a con is that the oven opens on the side. I actually like this feature because then the kids do not step on it or sit on it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 28, 2008

love this product

"I bought this kitchen for my 2-year old son a couple of months ago -- he plays with it quite a bit and seems to really be enjoying it. The construction of this product is very high quality -- no molded plastic and very solid. Yes, it did take me and my husband a couple of hours to assemble, but all the parts were included, the instructions were relatively straight-forward, and the pieces fit together beautifully -- I was really impressed. I will say that one of the stove knobs has already stopped "clicking," but my child doesn't seem to care. And, one of the things I like best about this kitchen is that it has lots of door to open/shut and knobs to turn, but the lack of mechanical sounds encourages great imaginative play. The other thing I really appreciate is the size -- it has everything you'd want a play kitchen to include in a compact (and very cool looking!) retro design. The only negatives I can relate are (1) it would be nice to have the oven open more logically and (2) the paint does chip a little easily. I didn't give my son the metal pot that came with the set -- instead bought a set of plastic pots/pans/dishes (that are the perfect size) by Step2. Overall, I'm very pleased with the KidKraft kichen -- it's the second KidKraft product I've bought and will continue to buy others. I have recommended this play kitchen to other parents -- it's great quality for a terrific price and seems to be a hit at our house!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2008

Take forever to put together

Pros: look nice, our son enjoys it
Cons: not eaxy to put together, so..many pieces
"This kitchen is very nice. My three year olds like it very much. However, it took us 4 hours to put it together (considering that we are quite handy when it comes to putting stuff like this together.) Certain pages of instructions were missing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 26, 2008

Good product, difficult assembly

Pros: great attention to detail
Cons: really hard to assemble
"This kitchen is adorable, the size is great, and the attention to detail is fantastic. They even painted the ends of the screws red to match the surface area of the kitchen itself. The only reason I give this 4 rather than 5 stars is because you need to be and engineer and a contractor to put it together. It took my husband and I nearly 3 hours to put it together..and it was pretty complicated and physical. We did get it together, though, and it looks great. The pieces all fit together perfectly and all the parts were present and intact. My daughter loves it and it was a good purchase overall."
Review 10 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 25, 2008

Took 4 hours to assemble!

Pros: sturdy a lot of doors to open
Cons: unacceptable assembly time
"My 2-1/2 yr old son LOVED this kitchen on display at the store. It blends well with any decor and is a simple design. There are not many bells and whistles, but he liked all the doors that open and close, as well as the sink. The thing that would prevent me recommending this product is the fact it took my husband and I Iiterally 4 hours to assemble on Christmas Eve! No product should take that long to assemble, especially not a basic play kitchen. Normally I am impressed with the products Costco carries, but this was a major disappointment."
Review 11 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 26, 2008

Kitchen rating

Pros: nice design good for play.
Cons: long and difficult to assemble
"This is a good product but the assembly time and sorting the hardware is a real pain. The screws are difficult to sort and can be easily mixed resulting in damage during assembly. Mine came with one door drilled incorrectly so that the handle would have been on the hinge side??. I had to redrill it for Christmas morning as it was too late to return and since the door was the last one to assemble I was not about to do another 3-4 hour assembly. My 3 yr. old grandaughter loves it."
Review 12 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, CA
Date:December 25, 2008

A Winner

"I bought this kitchen for my 3- & 5-year-old nieces, and the kitchen was a hit. According to my sister, the kids spent the whole day playing with it. I was concerned about the assembly after reading previous reviews. It took my brother-in-law 1-1/2 hours to assemble. He was impressed by the design and the sturdy frame as well as the hinges. The instructions were easy to follow according to him. The kids love it, and it made their Christmas."
Review 13 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Somewhere in MT
Date:December 4, 2008

SUPER PRODUCT

"My daughter received this vintage kitchen from her Grandpa for her 2nd bday.
She absolutely loves it. She brings her little apron to me and I know she will be cooking.
It is made of hard wood not particle board which is very impressive. This is a well thought out product and I have to say I enjoy playing with it.
"
Review 14 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Augustine, Florida
Date:December 30, 2008

Love It!

"I bought this kitchen for my 2 year old son for Christmas and he loves it. It really is a great kitchen for a boy or girl. It was relatively easy to put together but took a few hours.
Really a great kitchen for the price and very comparable to the wooden kitchens sold at the pricey speciality kids stores."
Review 15 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Grove, MN
Date:January 26, 2009

AWESOME KITCHEN!!

Pros: lot's to do, sturdy design
"I just bought this kitchen for my 2 year old daughter's birthday and she loves it! It is such a nice design and there is a lot for her to do with it. If you're planning to buy this it's a great one and it's really not that hard to put together. I did it myself and it took about 2.5 hours."
Review 16 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:September 21, 2009

10 months later & still standing

"We got this for my daughter for Xmas of 2008 and its still holding up. She's 4yrs old now (3 at the time) & loves the gift. To this day she still plays with it once an awhile & Its a big hit on play dates."
Review 17 for KidKraft® Vintage Kitchen Play Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2008

Very cool

"It took my husband about 2 hours to put this together the night before Christmas. It was well worth it because my daughter looked very excited to see it on Christmas day. :)"