Customer Reviews for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5

High Quality, Light Weight Alluminum Alloy Frame, EVA Foam Tires Available in Red, Pink or Blue
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Review 1 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010

Can't bet the Glide Bike

Pros: easy to use, easy to out together, great self-esteem builder for little one
Cons: no option to add pedals later =)
"I cannot say enough about this bike. We got the bike in December for our three year old. He rode it a couple of days in California while we were there on vacation. He didn't ride the glide bike again until the weather here in the Midwest was warmer (maybe around March) and he rode a time or two each week since then. He asked two days ago if he could ride "the bike with the pedals." So, we let him, and within two tries he was riding the bike, pedals and all without any issues. He also turns the handle bars while he's riding. The only problem is that the bike we have for him is too tall. So, we hold it while he gets on, he starts all by himself, and when he wants to stop, he stops the bike and falls so that he puts his foot down. The problem we have now it that I can't find a bike short enough for our three year old that does NOT have training wheels! It's amazing. We are so happy, and he is too!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2011

Very impressed!

Model Number: Mini Glider - Red
"Just purchased this for Christmas gift for 4 year old daughter. She has never been on a bicycle or tricycle before. Christmas day she was scooting around the house on it with both feet on the floor. Yesterday, she was putting one foot up on the foot rest. Today, only the third day since receiving it, she is putting both feet up on the foot rests and gliding! Also, since the bike holds up to 100 lbs, my 6 year old who doesn't know how to ride a bike either is gliding too! (the 6 year old is really much too tall for the bike, but she is still able to use it. If you are interested, the company also makes larger glide bikes for older kids and even adults)
The build quality of the bike is very nice. It seems like they thought of everything -- foot rests, easy to change seat height, bumper pads on the handlebar and handlebar stem, kickstand, solid no air tires.
Bike arrived in a nice box able to gift wrap for Christmas. Put together in about 10 minutes.
Would I purchase again? Yes!"
Review 3 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Farmington, CT
Date:November 29, 2009

Amazing Balance Bike for Children

"We purchased this type of bike for our four year old son after some research and learning that the method of balance bike to regular bike is easier for children than training wheels to bike and would take much less time. A balance bike teaches balance first versus the pedaling first aspect of conventional bicycles with training wheels. (That and I am not particularly keen on the idea of running behind a bicycle holding the seat and watching him fall over and hit the concrete moments after I let go). After looking around at a variety of places, we noticed this at Costco.com which is much cheaper than anywhere else we have seen them.
This specific bike is very light weight, has little foot pegs for where the feet would go and is built solidly. Our son was four when he got this, but it could easily sit a 6 year old. He was a bit confused when he first saw it as it has no pedals and I'll admit it got a fair amount of curious glances at the park. The first few days he just kind of straddled it and walked it around. Soon he was running on it and 'gliding' for progressively longer lengths of time. Much like how children learn to ride a scooter, they first can only balance for a few inches but eventually are coasting down the entire road and balancing themselves. As they get this far, they can rest their feet on the foot pegs which is where the real pedals would be on a future bike so they learn the proper posture for riding a bicycle.
He went from walking the bike to 'gliding' within a few weeks without the scuffs and scars I remember from when I grew up.
I would advise this to any parent of a young child who is interested in riding a bike.
The only thing I would want on to this is an add-on kit to add pedals later, because he is ready for a 'real' bicycle now, without training wheels in such a short amount of time."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:January 6, 2012

Best Purchase Ever!!

"We bought this bike for our daughter not long after she turned 3. She only rode it for 5-6 months and when we put her on a 2-wheeler, with NO training wheels, she took off!! We immediatley bought her a 14-inch bike and she was the only kid on the block that knew how to ride a bike at the age of 3. It is truly the smartest 'first' bike that has been made as it has NO PEDALS (just a foot rest) so that kids can learn balance first. The wheels are also made from PVC so no worries of low or exploding tires and no need to ever inflate! Although I have plenty of opinions on my purchases, I rarely take the time to write a review. I can't honestly say it is one of the best purchases I have ever made! I will add that even though the seat leather/pleather became unstapled from the underside of the seat, customer service with the manufacturer said that never should have happened and replaced it quickly, kindly and without charge through the mail."
Review 5 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:port colborne ont
Date:September 16, 2010

good

"i think this will be great, however my son turned two and is nowhere near the pegs or touching the ground, will be good next sping, don't buy for 2 year old unless they are very tall!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:April 1, 2011

Balance Bike

Pros: light weight, foot pegs, fun easy to use
Model Number: Model 11288723
"Both of my Kids learned to Ride bikes using the Glide bikes balance bikes. They are high quality and very well designed. Simple to follow instruction make it Easy to put together and it was ready to ride in less than 5 min, even includes the tool your need. My kids immediately wanted to try it and were excited to just get on and go. It took very little parent involvement before they we riding it around and balancing on their own. We Got both models the Mini Glider balance bike for my 22 month old and the Go Glider for my 5 year old. I was impressed with high quality construction and design, Its the only balance bike with foot pegs for kids to rest their feet, I can't understand how anyone could ride a bike without a place to put their feet, I couldn't . Aluminum alloy frame looks like the same as my hi end Mountain Bike, Brakes and adjustable handlebars and seat with quick release make this in class by itself."
Review 7 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011

One of my proudest moments...

Pros: foam fille tires solid construction, quick release adjustable seat, lightweight for little children, quality longlasting durability
Cons: none
"was purchasing this bike. I bought this bike for my 4 year old son two years ago, after watching his 2 older siblings spend 1 & 2 years riding with training wheels. My 4 year old spent 3 months riding this bike and was ready for pedals and no training wheels. Three weeks after buying this bike and sharing it with his older sister, she was ready to take off the training wheels and ride!. My oldest took this bike around for a spin for about 30 min at a local park and was ready to take off the training wheels when we got home. That was two years ago and we have been training wheel free. Now it is my 3 year old's bike and she takes it for a spin around our driveway and sidewalks. This bike is wonderful and has taught (and is teaching) all my children to balance on their bikes and ride. Everything on this bike includes the best features to be found on any balance bike including foam filled tires, handle bar guard that allows a free range of steering motions but prevents the bars form spinning completely around, rear hand break (just in case feet aren't enough), and solid lightweight construction (my 3 year old can pick it up) One of the best purchases I have ever made and I would recommend a balance bike to anyone who is buying a bike for their children or grandchildren!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:September 12, 2010

Amazing Confidence Builder

Pros: confidence builder
Cons: my kid breaks with her feet which is hard on shoes
Model Number: red one
"We got this glide bike from Costco.com in April for our incredibly uncoordinated 4 year old. When we got it, she could barely pedal a tricycle so we thought the glide bike would last us a while. She loved her glider and rode it as often as she could all summer long. In early September, while playing at a neighbors, she borrowed their "pedal" bike and started riding without training wheels. There was no hesitation and none of the normal scrapes or frustration associated with learning to ride a bike. Best of all, she was so proud of herself!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2011

Best purchase

"We bought this for our son and after riding for one month, he could ride his two wheeler with no training wheels at 3.5 years old."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:February 18, 2011

Who needs training wheels?

Pros: lightweight durable, effective in teaching balance
"We got this bike for my daughter for Christmas in 2009, when she was a few months shy of three years old. She is fairly tall for her age and I felt like the size was right, but she initially had no interest in riding it, probably because she had to propel it along with her feet rather than pedaling (she was really flying on her tricycle and 12" training wheel bike so the Glide bike seemed slow to her).
One day, we finally convinced her to try the Glide bike from the top of our very gently sloping driveway which empties into a cul de sac. She figured out the balance part very quickly because she could put her feet down when she felt unstable. She was soon gliding down the driveway (I have to say, it is not nearly as much fun on a very flat surface because you need a little momentum to learn balance -- a very gentle incline is best.)
In the late summer, when my daughter was not yet 3 1/2, my husband removed the training wheels from her 12" training wheel bike on a whim. I thought he was completely nuts, but after a couple of trials on her two wheeler, she pedaled proudly down the street, turned around and came back -- with no training wheels, no dad chasing behind/holding onto the seat, and best of all no falling down! There was no learning curve at all, she was just off to the races.
I credit the Glide bike with teaching my daughter how to balance so that when she got on the regular bike she already had that part down and could just focus on pedaling and steering.
I love this little Glide bike and would highly recommend it to anyone. I'd suggest using it in lieu of a training wheel bike, so the kids never have a chance to get too dependent on the training wheels. This bike saves a lot of frustration, for both kids and parents! I will say, it was (for us) a fairly short lived product since my daughter lost interest in the Glide bike once she could ride a real bike, but it would be particularly good if you are purchasing it for a child who has younger siblings so it can be passed down."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 10, 2011

Love, love, love this bike!!

Pros: super light-weight
"We bought this bike from Costco.com for my son over a year ago for Christmas. He was a tall 2 1/2 year-old at the time and he LOVED this bike instantly!! He learned to balance within days and still prefers this bike over the taditional pedal bike we bought him this year for Christmas. All the kids in the neighborhood want to ride it but this is his prized possession so he rarely even gets off of it! This bike is pricey but definitely worth every penny!! I love the handbrakes, which is one reason this bike is more expensive than other balance brakes. Within a month, I was able to take my son running with me and he easilly kept up on his bike. Definitely get this bike!!"
Review 12 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:mass
Date:June 15, 2011

great bike

"I bought this for my petite daughter's birthday she just turned 4 and only weighs 28lbs. It's easy to put together; I bought the dark pink and was able to attach streamers and a bell and she was super excited when she seen it. The first two times of her using the bike she was pretty much walking/waddling over the bike and used it about 30 mins before she got bored. By the 3rd time she got the hang of it and was sitting comfortably in the seat scooting like a scooter. After the 4th use she gained the confidence to balance herself and lifted her feet off the ground and has been progressing since. She's on her 6th use now and she still doesnt use the pegs to rest her feet but she does glide comfortable with little fear and she goes down sloped surfaces with speed and is able to manuver the handle bars well. She hasn't used the hand brake yet but in time she will. I will be holding off on getting her a pedal bike for a while due to the difference in weight( I'm afaid a pedal bike would injure her if she fell with one). She has fallen off the glider but I dont worry much because the bike is so light weight. She loves to ride her bike with the neighborhood kids and I think that has also been a factor to her doing so well with it; since she wants to keep up with them. The kids think her bike is so cool as well."
Review 13 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:May 22, 2010

Best money spent on a kid's product

"This was by far the best money we have spent on something for our children. Our 5 year old was struggling with learning to ride without training wheels. We purchased the Glide Bike & in less than a week of practicing on her Glide Bike she was ready for her big bike. No hesitation, no help, just off like she had been riding for years.
It boosted her confidence and allowed her not to get frustrated. Since she was in control of the Glide Bike, it was easy for her to handle. We look forward to our 4 year old learning next.
The Glide Bike has a lifetime guarantee so be prepared to pass it down. It is a great product.
"
Review 14 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bothell, WA
Date:August 11, 2010

Definitely get one!

"These are awesome! I chose this brand after reading a review on a few brands in a NY Times article.
After struggling with a clunky, heavy, tippy training wheel bike that never gets ridden we decided to try this route. We are only on ride #3 and the confidence is unbelievable. My daughter can go most anywhere on this and is now even putting her feet up on the pegs for short distances. She is 4 (almost 5) and hope she will soon be moving on to her big girl bike so little brother can have a shot.
"
Review 15 for Mini Glider Balance Bike For Ages 2 to 5
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, California
Date:January 11, 2011

Good Purchase

Pros: good construction, kickstand, brake, seems like kids can actually learn on these
Cons: kickstand fitting sticks out a little in leg path, a little pricey but i think it'll be worth it
Model Number: Mini Glider
"I'm really happy with getting this balance bike for my 3.5 yr old son. He's used it about 5-6 times over the last 2 weeks and he's already able to glide down shallow slopes on his own. He also has a great time just scooting around. I'm guessing that it'll be a good bike for the next year at least. The bike is good quality and an overall good product. I recommend it."