Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Durable and Long-lasting
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
(out of 135 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
119 of 135(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Review 1 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:January 8, 2011

Sorry I waited so long to get this!!

"For most of my life I loved a really firm mattress but now being a 62 year old with lots of arthritis, have lots of sleepless nights with my body aches and pains. My left leg in particular and lower back give major problems. Just got my topper yesterday and had the best night sleep in years. Even my very sore foot was cradled with support and could be totally comfortable. This is nice and soft but not like laying on a mattress that sags with no support. Basically you get those 3 inches of pure cushy comfort but the support that your mattress provides under that. I woke up not having any pain in my body and wasn't until I stood up with my usual aches that I remembered I am a sore woman with arthritis. You will love this but get someone to help get this out of the box and packaging. You cannot do this alone. It comes like a brick more or less but doesn't take long to start plumping up. Then it is easy to handle getting to the mattress."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McMinnville, OR
Date:July 13, 2010

Early review

Pros: inexpensive trial of comfort foam product
Cons: wife feels like she's going to slide over edge
"We've had this mattress topper for a week, so take it for what it's worth. First, it arrived far more quickly than expected. Costco said 10-15 business days and the topper arrived in 5 ... while we were on a short vacation. Thanks goodness a relative was available to retrieve from our front porch.
The box it came in was pretty beat up, but the contents were in good shape. We opened it and let it sit on our dining room table for 36 hours. Noticed no unusual odors, despite some reviews that mentioned this as a problem.
So far my wife and I both have felt comfortable with the comfort foam topper. No problems with heat buildup. I seem to be sleeping more soundly. I tend to sleep on my side, and the topper seems to have minimized the aches I used to get with two bad shoulders. I have experienced a slight lower back ache, but continuing daily stretching/yoga has alleviated that.
Bottom line: so far, so good. Will need more time to evaluate fully, though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:August 13, 2009

Wife is happy!

Model Number: 552226
"The mattress at our cabin is too firm for my wifes taste, but I sleep just fine on it. For the purpose of matrimonial bliss, we purchased this at our local Costco. We unpacked and installed the mattress, at 7:00 pm, and went to bed around 10:30.
The instructions are for letting it rest for a lot longer but we were impatient.
The bad:
Some odor from the foam, but understandable since it did not get a chance to air out as recommended. Felt a bit warm, but in all fairness, we were at the tail end of a heat wave, plus the bottom sheet was flannel.
The good:
The wife slept well. She also mentioned I did not toss or turn as much. That could be simply because this type of foam does not transfer motion from one side to the other, as shown in ads where someone is jumping on the bed and the wine glass rests safely.
For me, I must have slept well, because a soft bed usually results in an aching back.
If this works well, from now on, I will purchase an inexpensive extra firm mattress, and place the topper on it. That would be whole lot cheaper than buying a 1500 dollar bed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:May 25, 2011

We love the mattress topper!!!

Pros: comfort, comfort!!, comfort!!!!
"We bought this topper to use in our travel trailer, and we were going to trim it to fit the smaller mattress. We wanted to try it out on our bed at home before cutting it...and we decided that we couldn't live without it! We're leaving it on the bed, and buying another one for the trailer!
The pad was easy to unwrap, and took less than 30 minutes to assume it's normal form. There was a chemical smell (as described by others), but it was completely gone after two days. During those two days, I only noticed it when flipping over a pillow, where the pillow seemed to have 'trapped' the odor. Again, I was able to sleep through it, and it was gone after two days. I did NOT air it out, instead putting it on the bed within an hour of opening it.
The topper is thick and very comfortable. Some have said that thinner pads can get uncomfortable over time, and I'm thinking that this size is the sweet-spot.
We love it, and wish we had bought one sooner!!!"
Review 5 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Randallstown, MD
Date:September 21, 2010

If you want to sleep better - GET THIS NOW!!!

Pros: amazing pain free night of sleep!, fast shipping! much faster than what they say!
Cons: initial smell.
Model Number: Queen size
"This thing is sooo absolutely amazing. My sister came over for a visit. I told her to check it out. I almost had to throw her out of my house she loved it so much!
Okay, let me back up. I bought this to go on an air bed I use for guests. (I WILL be getting one for my bed asap!!!) EVERYONE who has slept on it LOVES IT! Point blank. I have a history of cervical and lumbar injuries. I have had operations on 4 discs in my spinal column. I go to a chiropractor on a regular basis for pain management. And this is the first thing I have slept on - apart from a sleep no. bed when I stayed at a Radisson hotel - where I had what for me is a good nights sleep. And woke up with NO PAIN!!! Needless to say, I have used this more on my bed than the guest air bed.
Some have complained about a smell. INITIALLY - there is a smell where, if you are sensitive to those sorts of things, it could give you a slight headache. I let it sit for a few hours, and opened the patio door, and it was fine by that evening. FOR ME - it did not take 24hrs like some have said. But dealing with that smell for a few hours is DEFINITELY WORTH THE PAY OFF of a painless night of sleep!!!
OH - Also forgot to mention... This takes NOWHERE NEAR the 10-15 days they say it will take for shipping! I ordered this in the evening of Aug 30th. The evening of Sept 3rd - I HAD MY FIRST PAIN FREE NIGHT OF SLEEP IN YEARS!!! 3 DAYS FOLKS! I can only assume they put the 10-15 day delivery on there just in case there is some sort of delay with the order. But most of the reviews I read before ordering mine pretty much said the same thing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2010

A bit too soft and too thick.

Pros: good for side-sleeprs
Cons: too soft for back-sleepers
"This is an ok topper, but is too thick at 3" and a bit too soft. Its probably the best to use on top of a very hard AND very flat mattress. If your mattress is worn in the center and is sagging - this topper might make things worse.
In the past we had a 2" and more dense topper and I think it worked a lot better. In this one you sort of sink in and at 3 inches - you will be sinking quite deep. As a result it feels warm if not hot, since most of your body is submerged into the depths of the topper where there is virtually no ventilation or air flow.
If you sleep on your back - I would suggest thinner, more dense topper, perhaps 2" at 4lb per sqft.
On the other hand, if you sleep on your side - this one might be a good choice.
If you ever sleep on your stomach - this topper is definitely not for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound Metro, Washington
Date:September 7, 2010

After 5 years...still best bed purchases so far!

Pros: best topper for inner spring mattresses.
Cons: referring to guest room bed--guest stay too long!, may need deeper fitted sheets.
Model Number: Multiple Models Used
"After our first try, we liked very much. Now we have purchased 6 total through Costco Home. Some are more luxurious models with additional pillow top padding, adding total 4" to bed height. We have queens, standard, and one twin model for Motor Home dinette conversion bed. The best are in the house and three versions like featured in the add are in the Motor Home. The first was purchased over 5 years ago for our bed in the Motor Home. We replaced the MH bedroom mattress with a higher quality foam mattress. It was a bit too firm though gave best support of any mattress I've ever slept on. I saw the topper like in this add at Costco Home and purchased. I installed it on our MH bed...it made all the difference in the world. To this day the latex foam mattress with the memory foam topper is our best sleeping bed! We added the more luxurious toppers to the house inner spring beds. This conversion improved all the inner springs to nearly the comfort of the MH's latex & memory foam bed. (Maybe being in the Motor Home out in the mountains by the sea and away from the city helps?!) However, our next master bedroom bed will be a latex & memory foam bed because of the GREAT experience with this topper and use on the Motor Home bed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 15, 2010

Only 3.24lb/ft^3 density!

Pros: return policy
Cons: not dense enough
"Purchased and fell right thru it! Was also too soft, so I went back and looked at the box: only 27lbs product weight! Over a queen mattress 60x80x3" volume that's only 3.24lb density- far too low versus competitors (4-5lbs/ft^3). That explains why the "memory" imprints went away so fast..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2010

Serious potential for causing back problems

Pros: can make you realize back problems are for real.
Cons: can make you realize back problems are for real.
"Bought one of these and used it for about a month. Initially thought it was great; very comfortable and warming. On the first somewhat warm night (about 68 degrees F) realized topper was way too warm. Its not just something you can casually yank off and put back on at a whim, it takes some work, so I left it on the bed. Several nights later woke up with a serious muscle strain from my shoulder to mid back. Before this I had never, reitterate, never had any problem with my back. Got up and tried to relax the muscle and, when strain subsided somewhat, removed the topper and haven't used it since. The strain came and went for some time after when I'd turn wrong in bed and lost some sleep because of it, but strain eventually went away. At the time did not know of the Costco return policy and have the hulk stored in a closet; maybe they'll still let me return it."
Review 10 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside CA
Date:April 10, 2012

Worth it

Pros: really improves your sleep, great value for the $$$$$
Model Number: Item# 552226
"After sleeping on this NovaForm Pure Comfort for over a week now, I just love it.
I was waking up daily with really bad back pains, from my fibromylagia and I had read about getting a memory foam mattress, well we decided before we spend all that $$$ on the whole mattress lets try just a memory foam mattress topper.
Great decision to try the foam topper, its so easy to unfold and put on the bed, also the cotton cover keeps it in place.
I was worried about the odor due to all the reviews that said it smelled so bad, I only noticed a slight odor on the first night, and now I smell nothing.
It envelopes you is such softness, my sleeping has gotten so much better, I only wake up once a night and then go right back to sleep, my husband likes it also, to me it feels better and better each night.
A great product and I highly recommend it."
Review 11 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Haymarket, VA
Date:January 7, 2010

AMAZING RESULTS

Pros: comes with waterproof cover, comes in a vacuum sealed package/box
Cons: needs 24 hours to decompress
"This memory foam mattress pad is the best thing we have bought in a long time! My husband and I like "firm" mattresses but in our guest rooms we got "extra firm" by mistake. We had company 3-4 times and finally someone was honest with me...It was like sleeping on cement!!! We put this mattress pad/topper on both beds and now everyone says it is the best night's sleep they've ever had. I tried it out and they are right!!! Very comfortable and the slight indentation from the foam helps if you're a restless tosser in the bed! I highly recommend giving this product a try!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:October 6, 2011

Hot Bed!

Pros: feels good, good price
Cons: too hot
Model Number: 552226 3"queen pure memory foam
"I should have purchased a ventilated memory foam bed. I was told that it runs hot & they were right. Had a strong chemical smell at first but the odor stopped after a month or so. Make sure it is on a flat surface or it will sag. We put the foam mattress over our sagging pillow top mattress encasing our waterbed and it was great for a while now it is sagging. I will probably return it to Costco & then try the ventilated foam mattress. Wish me luck. I must admit that after all my reading & research it was all true. BELIEVE WHAT YOU READ ABOUT MEMORY FOAM."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 10, 2012

great relief

Pros: so soothing
Cons: smell
Model Number: 552226
"I have been having terrible back pain at night and bought a new mattress which as it turned out just made it worse. it was too hard and the company was willing to fix it but for more money. Wasn't happy with that customer service. Was told by a few friends about the Costco memory foam top. After reading the reviews I chose this one over the gel foam (not good reviews on that one) I must say I LOVE it. My back does not hurt at night anymore. The only drawback is the smell and I am hoping it will go away soon. Everyone should have one of these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:June 15, 2011

Mixed Review, Mostly Good

Pros: very comfy for back sleepers., really fast delivery.
Cons: minor odors.
"My wife feels that this was the best purchase ever...ever. All of her aches, pains, and stiff necks that she endured for years associated with "the Old Slab", as I call her queen-size bed, disappeared after just a few days. We didn't need to buy the new bed we were thinking about after we put this on and experienced it.
The cushion is like a massive pillowtop bed, so for a back sleeper, this is wonderful. For a side sleeper, however, it can be more than a little difficult to shift from one side to another because you are so sunk in. You literally have to lift yourself up and throw yourself back down. I kind of thought that it was too thick. Also, as you sink in, it can uncomfortably compress on one's lower ribs, so one needs to shift around a bit to accommodate.
Yes, there is a minor odor, but opening it up and airing it out for two or three days, flipping it twice a day, takes care of that. The enclosed cover does have a major odor, so be sure to wash it before putting it on the topper.
It can also make the bed hotter than usual for certain people. And, it does make the bed three inches higher, so be prepared for that getting in and out."
Review 15 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:October 11, 2011

so far so good

"i've been interested in the memory foam topper for a while. we had been using a featherbed but i was ready to make the switch. my husband finally agreed so the search began. i researched and found the pure comfort highly recommended. actually purchased from the local costco thinking they carried the same products. unfortunately, the topper at the store as a combo egg crate/foam topper. bought the online version also and tested them both out. decided on the 3" foam topper sold online. a bit more comfortable and more durable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2011

Memory foam mattress topper

Model Number: Item # 552226
"Although the cost is very attractive and included the freight to deliver, we discovered that my wife liked the product, I did not.
It is wonderfully soft yet firm while lying on your back but when you begin to turn over it felt as though you were trapped in a deep
thick mud hole that restricted movement making it difficult to change sleeping positions or roll over on the tummy.
Result? Being uncomfortable because of the restricted movement; awakening every
3 - 4 hours.........lost sleep. NOT GOOD.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:July 1, 2010

Great Product

"The springs in our 30 year old mattress were starting to become uneven, but the bed was still firm, so we bought the mattress topper. The topper is very comfortable to sleep on. It does have a slight smell, but I am very sensitive to bad smells, and it doesn't bother me at all. I was a little afraid that it would sleep too hot as some reviewers mentioned, however I don't feel hot on the topper, and I tend to get really hot. The mattress cover is very well made of a good quality material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:April 27, 2010

Comfortable? Yes. Durable? Not so much.

Pros: more comfortable than a mattress alone
Cons: not durable *at all* - careful when you move it., not exactly "reasonable", not really "memory foam" - no handprint left...
Model Number: queen
"We have a firm mattress. If you sit on the topper, it compresses right down to the mattress. When you sleep on it, it does not compress as bad, and tends to be fairly comfortable. I would not describe it as "AMAZING" but it is better than the mattress alone. I sleep on my side, and it is more comfortable with the topper on. We got two (one for the guest bedroom) and out of curiosity we tried both toppers on one bed. Funky, but no good for sleeping - you sink in too much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sugar Land Texas
Date:May 17, 2011

Comfortable but hot

Pros: comfortable
Cons: very hot
"this was our first purchase of a foam topper. It was very conforming and comfortable but my wife and I both noticed it was very hot in the contact areas . Perhaps we should have purchased an additional thicker cover. I returned the topper to the local Costco. The service rep said he understood the heat problem due to the dense foam and that Costco had a newer version with a different thicker pad. I did not pursue that option and went back to our old setup"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2012

Very Pleased

"I did a ton of research and finally decided to go with Costco for this purchase. I am 100% satisfied with the product (so comfy) and the ordering/shipping etc. The mattress topper returned to shape within hours of removal from packaging. There was a chemical odor (which is normal for foam), but it dissipated in a few hours as well. I am thrilled with the comfortable, restful sleep i now get thanks to this topper. A winner!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>