Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Durable and Long-lasting
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
(out of 135 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
119 of 135(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Review 1 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:December 27, 2010

Too soft and too much chemical smell

Cons: too soft, chemical smell
Model Number: 552226
"We like a firm bed and wanted a little cushion . We have found with age that if we sleep too long on one side we get sore on that side. At 3 inches this pad made the bed too soft for my liking. IF I could cut it in half it would probably be fine. The other thing is this thing has a strong chemical smell. We aired it out for a week and it was better after that but if you close the door to the room and walk in it smells. I have read that chemical off gassing from mattresses is absorbed by the body and is not good for you. If I could return this thing I would."
Review 2 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2010

Serious potential for causing back problems

Pros: can make you realize back problems are for real.
Cons: can make you realize back problems are for real.
"Bought one of these and used it for about a month. Initially thought it was great; very comfortable and warming. On the first somewhat warm night (about 68 degrees F) realized topper was way too warm. Its not just something you can casually yank off and put back on at a whim, it takes some work, so I left it on the bed. Several nights later woke up with a serious muscle strain from my shoulder to mid back. Before this I had never, reitterate, never had any problem with my back. Got up and tried to relax the muscle and, when strain subsided somewhat, removed the topper and haven't used it since. The strain came and went for some time after when I'd turn wrong in bed and lost some sleep because of it, but strain eventually went away. At the time did not know of the Costco return policy and have the hulk stored in a closet; maybe they'll still let me return it."
Review 3 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:January 31, 2011

JUNK

Model Number: 552225
"I received my topper today. It was defective with a bright yellow stain all over it and it arrived damp and would not open."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:April 25, 2012

Poor purchase

Pros: comfortable
Cons: very strong chemical smell, after 2 days outside the smell was still strong
"We could not overcome the strong 'chemical' smell. Tried putting it outside but could not lessen the strong smell. Both my wife and I had headaches after trying to sleep on this mattress topper. I took it back to COSTCO and when I walked up to the return counter one of the workers said 'what is the terrible smell'? One of the workers wheeled the cart (which held the topper) to the other side of the return area. It was close to the food court and people that were eating asked for it to be moved because of the strong smell. I do hope they can solve this odor problem because I believe that the mattress topper is worth the money."
Review 5 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 4, 2012

chemical smell

"This topper has a horrible chemical smell. The manufacturer says it will go away in a few days. It didn't on mine. I aired it out in another room for 6 days, and the smell lessened but was still there. I put it on my mattress and woke up in the middle of the night with a headache and the bad smell. I took it back to Costco. When I got back I noticed that the smell was imbedded in my mattress, similar to cigarette smoke imbedding itself in clothes,etc.. If you have any sensitivity to chemical smells I would avoid this product."
Review 6 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sugar Land Texas
Date:May 17, 2011

Comfortable but hot

Pros: comfortable
Cons: very hot
"this was our first purchase of a foam topper. It was very conforming and comfortable but my wife and I both noticed it was very hot in the contact areas . Perhaps we should have purchased an additional thicker cover. I returned the topper to the local Costco. The service rep said he understood the heat problem due to the dense foam and that Costco had a newer version with a different thicker pad. I did not pursue that option and went back to our old setup"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 7, 2009

Reeks...

Cons: smell
"I brought it home, released it, and it quickly inflated fully. But it stunk a nasty chemical smell. So I put it outside, standing up for maximum airflow, for 2 weeks. Still it reeked. Maybe I'm being overly sensitive, but I just couldn't imaging having my head snuggled up to these off-gassing chemicals for eight hours every night. It's probably very comfortable, but back to the store it went."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 15, 2010

Only 3.24lb/ft^3 density!

Pros: return policy
Cons: not dense enough
"Purchased and fell right thru it! Was also too soft, so I went back and looked at the box: only 27lbs product weight! Over a queen mattress 60x80x3" volume that's only 3.24lb density- far too low versus competitors (4-5lbs/ft^3). That explains why the "memory" imprints went away so fast..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:April 30, 2012

Not sure about this yet

Pros: stiffles movement
Cons: various joint pains upon awakening
"We've used the mattress topper for about two weeks. My wife finds it retains heat, so she is uncomfortably warm. I am sleeping sounder mainly because I'm not awakened by my wife turning over during the night but I'm waking up with pains in my hip or neck or legs, depending on the night.
I'm not sure if we'll be keeping it.
"
Review 10 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2011

Did Not Work For Me

Cons: too soft
Model Number: 3 " topper
"Sleepless. Although I only weigh 110 lbs, the density of the product is not sufficient. As a result I really sink in. I'm so stuck that if I go to change position while sleeping, I wake up while struggling to move.
Packing this up for the return should be a chore. Any suggestions?"
Review 11 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Lunas, NM
Date:March 27, 2012

It's "okay"

Pros: it's 4"
Cons: too stiff, smells
"I bought this to give a little extra cushioning. It's very stiff and the smell took a few weeks to go away. I have had it for several months and going to try to add another topper on it because my neck has been bothering me. I am not a large person but it definitely feels like it's starting to wear out. Ugh.
Plus! The cover is cheap. It's a thin fabric.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:May 21, 2012

Not so good for us.

Pros: fits our thick mattress
Cons: non-supportive, chemical smell
"We ordered the Novaform Topper to try to improve our sleep on an older mattress that already has a pillowtop. Unfortunately, it didn't work too well for us and we had to return it.
We left it out for almost two weeks to air out the chemical smell, but it was still noticeable when we started sleeping on it. The feel of this 3" topper was very unsupportive and was probably exaggerated by the pillowtop we already had. It might be best for side-sleepers.
We were going to try the topper on a firmer mattress, however, the chemical smell was a deal breaker. The included cover did a great job of covering the entire mattress, but it could not block the smell."
Review 13 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2010

A bit too soft and too thick.

Pros: good for side-sleeprs
Cons: too soft for back-sleepers
"This is an ok topper, but is too thick at 3" and a bit too soft. Its probably the best to use on top of a very hard AND very flat mattress. If your mattress is worn in the center and is sagging - this topper might make things worse.
In the past we had a 2" and more dense topper and I think it worked a lot better. In this one you sort of sink in and at 3 inches - you will be sinking quite deep. As a result it feels warm if not hot, since most of your body is submerged into the depths of the topper where there is virtually no ventilation or air flow.
If you sleep on your back - I would suggest thinner, more dense topper, perhaps 2" at 4lb per sqft.
On the other hand, if you sleep on your side - this one might be a good choice.
If you ever sleep on your stomach - this topper is definitely not for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:April 27, 2010

Comfortable? Yes. Durable? Not so much.

Pros: more comfortable than a mattress alone
Cons: not durable *at all* - careful when you move it., not exactly "reasonable", not really "memory foam" - no handprint left...
Model Number: queen
"We have a firm mattress. If you sit on the topper, it compresses right down to the mattress. When you sleep on it, it does not compress as bad, and tends to be fairly comfortable. I would not describe it as "AMAZING" but it is better than the mattress alone. I sleep on my side, and it is more comfortable with the topper on. We got two (one for the guest bedroom) and out of curiosity we tried both toppers on one bed. Funky, but no good for sleeping - you sink in too much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:April 28, 2010

Drowning in Mud

Cons: too hot, too thick
"I bought this mattress topper as a gift for my husband and the first night he slept on it he said he had dreams he was drowning in mud. Guess it felt a little too soft & thick for him. He said it was hard to even turn over in bed, like turning in mud. He also got way too hot, so he now sleeps on top of all the covers including the bedspread, and likes it better that way. I had previously purchased a mattress topper from Costco.com that was memory foam topped with a layer of down which I think was better than this one. It stayed cooler with the natural down layer on top of the foam. Wish they still sold that type."
Review 16 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2011

Memory foam mattress topper

Model Number: Item # 552226
"Although the cost is very attractive and included the freight to deliver, we discovered that my wife liked the product, I did not.
It is wonderfully soft yet firm while lying on your back but when you begin to turn over it felt as though you were trapped in a deep
thick mud hole that restricted movement making it difficult to change sleeping positions or roll over on the tummy.
Result? Being uncomfortable because of the restricted movement; awakening every
3 - 4 hours.........lost sleep. NOT GOOD.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:October 1, 2009

saved me

Pros: good price and confortable, doesn't seem to make you to hot
Cons: haven't found one yet
"I purchased a sleep number bed and it was killing me. My husband thought it was fine but not good for me and to late to return. So I bought this to see if I could sleep and so far I have been able to sleep with this on top of the mattress inflated to 90 without problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles area
Date:January 22, 2011

My hip is happy!

"I have bursitis in my hip and it is much improved with the topper. However, I find it hard to change position - not simply rolling from side to side - but sliding sideways a foot or two. It is not possible to glide as is possible on a firm mattress. I am trying to adjust to this. Also, the topper tends to hold body heat to a small degree. Aside from these minor factors, it is very comfortable and my hip is much better since I purchased it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McMinnville, OR
Date:July 13, 2010

Early review

Pros: inexpensive trial of comfort foam product
Cons: wife feels like she's going to slide over edge
"We've had this mattress topper for a week, so take it for what it's worth. First, it arrived far more quickly than expected. Costco said 10-15 business days and the topper arrived in 5 ... while we were on a short vacation. Thanks goodness a relative was available to retrieve from our front porch.
The box it came in was pretty beat up, but the contents were in good shape. We opened it and let it sit on our dining room table for 36 hours. Noticed no unusual odors, despite some reviews that mentioned this as a problem.
So far my wife and I both have felt comfortable with the comfort foam topper. No problems with heat buildup. I seem to be sleeping more soundly. I tend to sleep on my side, and the topper seems to have minimized the aches I used to get with two bad shoulders. I have experienced a slight lower back ache, but continuing daily stretching/yoga has alleviated that.
Bottom line: so far, so good. Will need more time to evaluate fully, though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NovaForm® Pure Comfort™ Queen Memory Foam Mattress Topper
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:June 15, 2011

Mixed Review, Mostly Good

Pros: very comfy for back sleepers., really fast delivery.
Cons: minor odors.
"My wife feels that this was the best purchase ever...ever. All of her aches, pains, and stiff necks that she endured for years associated with "the Old Slab", as I call her queen-size bed, disappeared after just a few days. We didn't need to buy the new bed we were thinking about after we put this on and experienced it.
The cushion is like a massive pillowtop bed, so for a back sleeper, this is wonderful. For a side sleeper, however, it can be more than a little difficult to shift from one side to another because you are so sunk in. You literally have to lift yourself up and throw yourself back down. I kind of thought that it was too thick. Also, as you sink in, it can uncomfortably compress on one's lower ribs, so one needs to shift around a bit to accommodate.
Yes, there is a minor odor, but opening it up and airing it out for two or three days, flipping it twice a day, takes care of that. The enclosed cover does have a major odor, so be sure to wash it before putting it on the topper.
It can also make the bed hotter than usual for certain people. And, it does make the bed three inches higher, so be prepared for that getting in and out."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>