Customer Reviews for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin

Glucosamine HCI 1500mg / Chondroitin Sulfate 1200mg 190 Tablets
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 14(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Review 1 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FLA
Date:February 3, 2010

Works great and now it tastes great

Pros: works great, tastes great, and at a much lower cost than the original stuff
Cons: none
Model Number: Kirkland signature extra strength
"I've used the Kirkland brand for over 5 years and it is just as effective as the much more expensive Cosamin DS. I was to the point where I had difficulty walking, hiking and taking stairs, and this stuff allows me to do all three. Amazing! As far as the taste, I didn't realize vanilla was added when I bought it but noticed the pills had a pleasant taste to them. I actually thought I might have bought the wrong stuff, so I checked the bottle and I had the right stuff. This is a great improvement over the old pill taste, which was like cardboard. Yeah, I suppose there will be a few who can't stand vanilla, so maybe a chocolate option could be tried as well, but I suspect 99% of folks are like me and find the taste pleasant compared to what it used to be (which I imagine is why they improved it)!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Jersey
Date:January 14, 2010

Simply Works Very Good - And is easy to take!

"Unlike the other reviewer... I do like the Vanilla added to the pill... Lets be honest if you're like most the pill is in you mouth for a second before swallowing. I take it along with a few other supplements as well. Bottom line, after about a week on this, your joint pain mellows, to the point where you don't think about it anymore. Got these just after Thanksgiving and really enjoyed my Christmas because of it! Great Product Great Price, just don't stop making it Kirkland!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009

WHY flavor these pills?

"I'd give these pills top-rating, except for one unfortunate (and major) flaw -- they are flavored with artificial vanilla (read the ingredients). It is overpowering, and obviously artifical and it makes each pill a serious test in gag-reflex control. The pills work very well and make a significant contribution to joint pain control -- if you can get past the utterly disgusting taste/smell. This is "new" feature, I've been buying these for years and only the last batch had this addition.
Kirkland -- please stop flavoring pills!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2010

800mg Chondroitin Sulfate is the Orthopaedic Recc.

"In Switzerland, where Orthpaedic research excels beyond even the USA's standards, recent (2009) studies recommend 800mg of Chondroitin Sulfate per day.
Good news- breaking one pill in half, and taking 1 and a half pills total each day provides 900mg of Chondroitin Sulfate. Doses above 800mg provide no further advantage, according to the Swiss. So, break the pill, and use 3 pills in 2 days, instead of the 4 pills that the bottle rwould ecommend over 2 days. A 25% additional cost savings.
Though many would disagree with me, there is no conclusive evidence that Glucosamine in any form supports joint health. The effect is purely placebo - which may work for some people.
Unfortunately, I am not a placebo person."
Review 5 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atwater, CA
Date:April 2, 2010

Great supplement

Pros: feel better and can move more easily.
Cons: none.
"My doctor has me on Diclofenic (100mg, once a day) for my knees, and Omeprazole (20 mg, 2 tablets once a day) to counteract the digestive tract side effects of the Diclo. I've been on these for about 15 months.
The Diclo relieved most of the pain, but with most activities still left me feeling sore.
I started taking the Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin two months ago and have noticed that I feel better generally and that activities that would leave me quite sore no longer do so.
I'm thinking of weaning myself off the meds and taking only this supplement, or at least trying a lower dosage of the Diclo."
Review 6 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:July 10, 2009

Improved flavor

Cons: awful taste
"When a vanilla? flavor was introduced to the tablets I found the taste unpleasant to the point that I gave up on this brand. Even to the extent of throwing away about 30 tablets."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Moline, Illinois
Date:March 15, 2010

New Formula

"I have been taking this product for years and have been very satisfied until recently. With my latest order, a couple weeks ago, I noticed the color of the pills has changed from brown to white and they are more hardened, indicating to me that the formula must have changed. Since I started taking the new pills, I have noticed a change in the way my knees feel. I have been experiencing more pain and am less able to walk. I don't think the new product is working as well as it did."
Review 8 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2010

Love these pills

"These pills work great. I need a full knee replacement and these are helping me to postpone the operation. I don't notice the flavor at all since it's so minimal. Since I swallow them so quickly, I don't taste any off flavor. I've been taking these for 3 yrs and have not noticed a change in flavor, so it must be very minor. They are large, but the shape makes them easy to swallow as long as you drink with lots of water."
Review 9 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:October 2, 2009

Works well, used long time, dislike vanilla flavor

"As my title says, I have used this product for a long time. I think it works well. The price is good, especially as a member of Costco. I was really disappointed when the manufacturer added the vanilla flavor, which it didn't used to have. Yuck. I've continued using it because of the price and apparent effectiveness. But please go back to the original formulation and lose the extra flavor!"
Review 10 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:September 18, 2009

Works great for me for many years!

"This is the only brand that really works for me over the years. I have tried the name brands and this formula is the only one that works.
The only downsize is pills are big. I take with lots of water. They are coated which I haven't really noticed. I quickly swallow my pills and don't get any taste."
Review 11 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beacon Falls, CT
Date:December 25, 2009

Have been using for years

"I am very pleased with this product and have no problem with the pill size. I need a total knee replacement and have found that the use of this product has helped to buy some time. And the price is right."
Review 12 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 3, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

"These pills work great and I LOVE the vanilla flavor.
It's better than any nasty tasting pill.
Bedsides, how long do you keep it in your mouth before swallowing?
"
Review 13 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, OR
Date:September 17, 2009

Works for me

Pros: works well
Cons: large size may be difficult for some to swallow
"I've been using this for years, and it definitely helps the osteoarthritis in my knees. I don't notice any offensive taste as others have reported."
Review 14 for $18.49 after $5 OFF Kirkland Signature™ Extra Strength Glucosamine / Chondroitin
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 16, 2009

Great Value

"Highly reviewed by national publication. Have used for years and feel great."