Customer Reviews for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs

Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs

Kasilof Fish Company, a premier smokehouse located in the great Pacific Northwest, is committed to offering you the very finest quality in smoked seafood. Smoked in the traditional manner of the Northwest and Alaskan Indians, this succulent and mouth watering wild sockeye salmon is filleted and slowly smoked to perfection over aromatic hardwood fires. The delicious alder-smoked salmon fillets come fully cooked and ready to serve. They are all natural and need no refrigeration until after opening. A perfect choice for a gift or for entertaining.   Pacific Wild Caught Salmon Two 24 oz. Individual Packs Each Gift Pack has one 24 oz. Smoked Sockeye Fillets   Total two 24 oz. Smoked Sockeye Fillets   All natural, alder-smoked   Total Net Weight: 48 oz. (1361 g)
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
39 of 44(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Review 1 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:March 28, 2012

Love this Salmon!

Pros: nice presentation; excellent quality
"We first bought a three-pack to give at Christmas. Although we would hesitate to purchase grocery or perishable items online, in our experience Costco doesn't sell garbage, and they stand behind what they do sell with the most consumer-friendly return policies and support.
Costco fulfilled our order quickly and the product arrived in excellent condition in a timely manner. The packaging is fine and one box containing 2 individual 8 oz packs would make a fine gift for anyone. Of course, we had to open one to make sure of the quality and it was so good we ended up claiming the entire first order for our own and had to buy another three-pack for gifting. The fish is very flavorful and the juice in the package is equally flavorful should be consumed as well.
The gifts were all well received, even praised by "gourmets".
Since our initial purchases, we keep ordering regularly as it is the finest smoked salmon we have found. The price, of course, is unbeatable.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 4, 2011

Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon 2 Gift Packs

Pros: best smoked salmon, long shelf life, convenient package size
Cons: none
"I lived for over 50 years in the great Pacific Northwest, and had the opportunity to sample many brands of smoked salmon. This is, by far, the best smoked salmon I've ever enjoyed, and I've been eating it for years. We used to buy it at Costco when we lived in Washington State, and I always kept some on hand. The way it is packaged in pouches, the shelf life is over 5 years, not that it ever has a chance to make it anywhere near that long at my place. This "new" division into three 8-oz pouches per box is more flexible than the previous 24-oz pouches. One of my favorite recipes is a smoked salmon dip that I make with it, that always gets rave reviews. But if I used the full 24-oz pack, it made a HUGE batch. This smoked salmon is more dry than most, and flakes easily. It's great in pastas, salads, and just to eat as is! And remember, it is wild, not farmed. Last year the supply we had when we moved to Virginia ran out, and I wasn't able to find it at local warehouses. Fantastic that I can still get it at Costco.com!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014

Great Deal on Great Smoked Salmon

Pros: great smoked salmon at a great price
Cons: none.
"I've lived in Alaska over 20 years. This is a great deal on a great smoked salmon. Normally I don't like salmon (I've eaten too much of it), but this is a really good smoked sockeye salmon. On crackers with onion and cream cheese it's like eating candy. Order a few boxes for home (it keeps well for a long time, but it won't last long -- believe me!) or send it to special friends and family."
Review 4 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 25, 2013

Excellent Choice

Pros: flavorful, moist, perfectly smoked, attractive service & nice size fish
"I've purchased a lot of Alaskan smoked salmon over the years and this was some of the best yet. Moist (be careful when you open the packet - do it over a sink), flavorful and very attractive on a serving plate. Devoured by guests. Not too salty or smoky, just right. Have ordered more already. As sockeye, it is a bit "juicier" than some Alaskan smoked. Just remember, all you lox lovers, this is NOT lox."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010

why are you selling this in a twin pack?

Pros: great product people love getting this as a gift
Cons: 2 pack only
"I agree with the other reviewer- I ordered this for the past few years for all my family that lives on the East Coast ( I am on the West) I wanted to give them a piece of the Northwest at the Holiday time. Now that it comes in 2 pack itt does not work when you have to send to many people. I need only one box per house hold. Please make it available as a one pack again."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sun Valley, ID
Date:January 5, 2014

Delicious!!

Pros: perfect for gifts and keep one at home!
"I bought a couple of these for Christmas Gifts. My brother opened his for all of us when I visited.
The salmon was the perfect size: an entire beautiful fillet, enough for either an appetizer for 8-12 or for a meal for 2-3.
I was so delighted with the high quality that I bought more for home. Love the 2 pack quantity.
I was extremely happy with the flavor, which was not fishy, just delicate smoked salmon in it's own juices. Makes a great salad topping or to make sandwiches as well!
"
Review 7 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plymouth, MN
Date:January 14, 2014

Love this product!

Pros: no complaints.
Cons: none
"The value is great! We got it first in store, then on line on sale. Wonderful flavor and freshness!"
Review 8 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:December 29, 2013

did not care for this at all

"I have been buying smoked salmon from the stores-Honey Smoked Salmon. I find this product to be far better without the canned fishy smell to it. I'll stick to what I've been buying"
Review 9 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2011

SAVE YOUR MONEY!

"Received my salmon But NEVER expected it to be packed in WATER! No where in product description does it say "packed" in water. Of the eight oz you pour 2-3 oz down the drain. I used to live in Alaska for a while and I can tell you never have I bought smoked salmon water packed--tuna--Yes but not salmon."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2008

Best Smoked Salmon "E-V-E-R!

"I have purchased so many different brands of smoked salmon and have yet to find one that is this great; consistantly! Every time I serve it guests start moaning, yum yum yum, where did you find this, etc, etc. You will not be disapointed with Kasilof smoked salmon. To Die for!!!!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crystal Falls, MI
Date:January 16, 2013

Great Smoked Sockeye!

"These are really nice tasty fillets that make an impressive presentation at a holiday feast. Serve it up on a platter of fresh flat leaf parsley or dill. Some herbed cream cheese, chopped tomatoes and shallots, capers, and some slices of toasted french bread. My entire family raves about this salmon!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 30, 2010

Great Buy

"I have purchased this product frequently, both for my own use, and as a gift. It is delicious and always a big hit with friends and family that I send it to. I really like that it is a 3pak in one box, also."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san francisco, ca
Date:November 11, 2008

best since sliced bread

Pros: tasty, convenient
Cons: requires finding the kitchen shears
"First off, taste to die for; moist and flaky--not greasy like cold-cured and doesn't require refrigeration.
Costco often has a two-box pack (keep one give one) of bigger packages but it's hard to plate a 16oz'er and harder still to save half for later.
This 3-pack is ideal because each serving fits nicely on a dinner plate with room for crackers (sliced, toasted sourdough with a little cream cheese or chevre).
Meanwhile the other two packs are waiting in the pantry, for a special occasion or for the guests to leave. ;)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:November 11, 2008

Win-Win!

Pros: high-end gourmet food product
"I have tried most of the smoked salmon products as well as the smoked oysters. I love it all! The smoked salmon is a staple at all our family holiday gatherings ... and doesn't last long. The smoked oysters have been hidden for my personal enjoyment at home - shhh. You can't make a bad choice with the Kasilof products ... unless you run out!"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bend, OR
Date:March 8, 2012

A great Product and a Recipe for you

"RECIPE:
Take a WRAP, heat it, add a small amount of mayo, some salmon and lots of greens. Wrap it up and enjoy it for a great lunch.
I started eating like this while living in Switzerland and am happy for find this product here.
There is no COSTCO near me so I am happy to be able to purchase it online."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2012

Tasty

Pros: great in a salad
Cons: high in salt
"It does have a lot of salt, but I guess that's what you need in order for it to stay fresh and tasty in its little gold pouch, which is very convenient.
I put a pouch in a gift basket (along with other goodies) and sent it to my son at Camp Pendleton and he loved it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Date:January 22, 2012

Good Smoked Salmon, But....

Pros: good price, great flavor
Cons: might be better in oil
"I have to agree with the reviewer who said it should not be packed in water. It has a good flavor, but somehow, smoked salmon in water doesn't go together. I would def buy it again, but it would be a little better if packed in the natural oils of the salmon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:December 4, 2010

Great Salmon, but......

Pros: great product
Cons: can't send just one box per address
"This salmon is great, and my family and friends enjoy receiving it. This year I won't be sending as many, however, because it's now two boxes per order instead of one. I was really disappointed to see this. That's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

kasilof smoked salmon 3 gift pack

Pros: terrific value
"this is a great product, price is lower than if ordering direct from packer. wonderful taste and does not need refrigeration unless packages are opened. thanks costco"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kasilof Smoked Sockeye Salmon, 2 Gift Packs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northern CA
Date:July 30, 2011

great buy

Pros: cost, flavor
Cons: not available in stores during the year
"I have enjoyed this in the past. It has been a past winner for gifts to family members in Europe. This purchase goes to my cupboard for easy entertaining."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>