Customer Reviews for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®

$14.29 Per Day Per Person Average Calories Per Day: 1753
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Review 1 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanwood WA
Date:May 4, 2012

7 day emergency rations

"Well packaged. One 7 day box, 3 meals per day, all single servings. 0f high quality Mountain House foods. Very high quality. Easy to store, easy to use. Highly recommend."
Review 2 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 24, 2012

Great Idea!

Pros: great packaging
Cons: need to have expiration date printed on box
"Great packaging. Within the case, there are four boxes. Each box provides one person with a week's worth of food... breakfast, lunch and dinner. In the event of an emergency, or if you were distributing food for each person to put in a backpack...you would just hand them a box. What would make it even better, if you could purchase just the heaters (not with packs of freeze-dried food) separately so that if you did not have access to hot water, you would have a means to have a hot meal. Maybe 4 heaters per box since each heater will heat 5 meals."
Review 3 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Monterey Bay area, California
Date:February 21, 2012

Mountain House forever!

Pros: quality/tasty, long storage life, uses room temperature water to reconstitute, easy to store
"We purchased the 7 day 4 person box of Mountain House food kit, It came very quickly. When we opened the shipping box, we found four sealed cardboard boxes inside; each one supplying a week of meals for one person. This is perfect, because we gave one to each of our three adult children to keep on their shelves, and kept one for ourselves.
We live in earthquake country in California and know that roads and overpasses can crumble. We keep a supply of water and gasoline in the garage, and now we have what amounts to a 3.5 day supply of food for two persons. What a great relief to have this taken care of.
The food packages for emergency use available from other companies require the use of hot water or cooking to make them edible. If we are without power, we would not be able to eat. The Mountain House packs say that if you don't have hot water, you can reconstitute the food with room temperature water--that I like!
I remember Mountain House freeze dried foods and their great quality from my backpacking days. We have not opened these packages (or even the boxes that they came in). It would be too hard to resist the temptation to eat more than just one!
We are going to get a plastic storage box and put the cardboard box in that so that the little mice in the garage don't get to nibble before we do! At the end of 7 years, if we haven't used the freeze dried food, we will eat it then, and order another Mountain House kit for the next 7 years of peace of mind!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 15, 2011

Great for emergencies or travel

Pros: tastes great, better for you than restaurant food, good nutrition, easy to prepare, easy to pack for trips, great for camping
Cons: can be too high in sodium for some
"I have tried both the Mountain House and AlpineAire brands of freeze-dried food. I never even considered some of the other kits available due to nutritional content (or lack thereof). While the AlpineAire foods are good, I definitely cast my vote for Mountain House. We recently purchased an extra Mountain House kit for my business trips: it's cheaper than eating at restaurants, better for you, faster, and still tastes great. Just heat up the water in the hotel microwave or coffee maker, pour it into the bag, wait about 12-15 minutes, and you have a tasty, satisfying meal. If you get "per diem" allowances like I do, a full kit pays for itself in just a few trips, and then some!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wash St.
Date:December 19, 2010

Gourmet Inside or Outside

Pros: ease of use, great taste
Cons: none
"Made a wonderful selection with this purchase. The choices are varied for all three daily meals. Prepares in a flash and the taste is tops. Just boil water, stir and wait a few minutes for a meal treat. Have used for hiking and general camping. Superb for emergency food storage when and if needed. Thanks Costco for carrying this product."
Review 6 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:July 9, 2010

Food on the fly

"I am an airline flight attendant and these meals have saved me from over priced and generally tasteless airport food and the hassle of preparing meals at home. I use the hot water on the plane and the coffee pot in my room while on layovers to make them. They are tasty and filling. While the customers are eating chips and cookies I am enjoying a hot meal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento. CA
Date:May 26, 2010

Very good product

"Each of the packages contains a good portion of quality food. Super simple directions and ease of use, including the ability to eat directly from the packaging.
Product is very usable for camping and backpacking.
This product along with a long term freeze dried package will provide significantly flexibility."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7-day, 4-person Emergency Food Kit By Mountain House®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SE Wisconsin
Date:April 3, 2010

Expensive, but worth it.

Pros: very good flavor and texture, ease of preparation
Cons: pricey but very high quality., i am cheap so i complain about price
"I tried a sample according to the package instructions. It is surprisingly good. My guess is that most people would find these premium quality goods to be very good as is. I like more seasoning than most, so I found them to be slightly bland. (I always carry small bottles of seasonings-weird, no?)
If you are considering them for emergency or backpacking you will not find anything easier and tastier.
I bought a real year's worth (for two) based on what I tried in the sampler. If you are willing to spend on high end, you should try these.
Recently I ordered more Costco long term storage foods that are far less expensive. That stuff is for my employees that never consider how they will get along if the "Just in time" system has cash flow problems.
I'll be satisfied with the "Mountain House" backups and will not have to listen to food complaints from my wife.
I went ahead and bought stuff without her valued input because it was always postponed for some reason or other.
For those in the same situation, I recommend that you just go ahead and buy some of the deals on Costco. You will have something in case of a currency crisis rather than having nothing.
If everything turns out well you can donate the cheap stuff to food banks. You will just keep and eat he high end food like this
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.