Customer Reviews for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel

Complete Watering System Includes 75-ft. Garden Hose
Average Customer Rating:
1.889 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
2 of 9(22%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Review 1 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay area
Date:January 17, 2009

Not so impressed

Pros: 5/8" hose, automatic retracting
Cons: very cheap hose, hose fittings fail
Model Number: RK7500
"I bought this hose reel to replace a 1/2" hose model from a different manufacture which I loved. This one however is noticeably of lesser quality. First of all the hose is very stiff and smells of petroleum, then after about a month the hose connectors started failing and popping out. One of which I lost about 10k gallons of water before it was noticed. I would shop around for a different brand before buying this one again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Ca
Date:March 19, 2009

read before you buy

Pros: no messy hoseeasy retract
Cons: brass ends are garbage
Model Number: rk-7500
"this model has defective brass ends.they come off with a good tug on the hose..Must unwind 20 feet of hose before rewind mechanism stops..hose did not kink..Buy knowing that the hose ends($5.00) will fail and you'll have to replace them.....
wall mount requires 4 very large screws..
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:May 19, 2009

LOVE IT!!

Pros: sleek easy to use compact
Cons: wish i'd bought it sooner!
Model Number: RK-7500
"Wow, after using the reel king RK-7500 for 3 months now, I read the previous reviews and wondered if I got a different product! Yes, you have to pull out about 15 feet of hose before it catchs, sooo......and no, I did not use the attached hose connects (I think they're big in Australia where the product comes from) and my own screw on attachments fit just fine,.....and the brass ends are still attached, but if they come off it will be well worth the $5 to replace them,.....AND, I have no leaks yet! As for the "4 big screws", it's exactly what you want to secure it through the side of your house to avoid it from falling off. This is absolutely the best compact hose reel that retracts in seconds every time in an attractive housing that I have ever owned! I would not hesitate to buy another one for my vacation home."
Review 4 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, Florida
Date:November 27, 2008

poor quality

Pros: the hose pulls out and retracts with ease.
Cons: poor quality brass connectors.
"The Reel King 7500 was easy to install.I tried it and it was easy to pull out the length of hose I needed. The second time I tried it, the end of the hose brass fitting came apart. It separated from the hose. I believe that the brass fittings are of poor quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cape Coral, FL
Date:May 23, 2009

Surprise!

Pros: attractive
Cons: breaks, poor quality hose, hose fittings fail
Model Number: RK-7500
"The unit mounted well enough on my concrete wall and presents a neat appearance. Trouble began with the non-standard (USA) specs for the hose threads. Then - as another reviewer reported - the "brass" male connection separated from the hose on first use, water everywhere.
There was no telephone number for support (company located in Australia?) so it was off to the hardware store for repair fittings.
The hose is CHEAP vinyl and it is real tricky to set the reel by jerking on the stretchy hose so that the reel locks and does not continue to pull against your deployment."
Review 6 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Date:March 21, 2009

Bevare of cheap product

Pros: good design
Cons: lousy and cheap material
Model Number: Reel King 7500
"The instalation hardware was missing,
used own harware to install, after turning the water tab on, water leakage through the cavity due to bad lead hose connection( in our unit the connector is inside the cavity) then after fixing the connector and less than 5 minutes of watering the the brass coupling detached from the hose renderig it useless. now the trouble of returning it !!
so much for the king of reliability??
"
Review 7 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Guntersville, AL
Date:June 20, 2009

Don't do it

Pros: great concept/marketing
Cons: multiple design flaws
Model Number: RK-7500
"This is by far my worst purchase to date. ALL 3 connectors came off the first day. Purchaced plastic replacement connectors (so far so good). Next... Water leak from inside hose reel, replaced o-rings, still leaks. Next....Hose does not retract without a lot of help, leaving a lot of hose on the ground......
Don't do it!!!!"
Review 8 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mill Valley, CA
Date:May 15, 2009

Disappointed

Model Number: RK-7500
"After getting this monster mounted, I now find out that I cannot find hose attachments that fit the end of the hose. So I have a hose that is useless. I am considering returning it, but what a pain that will be getting it off the house."
Review 9 for Reel King™ RK-7500 Self Retracting Garden Hose Reel
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:May 23, 2009

Cheap hose

Model Number: Reel Kings
"Just like the other reviews, the hose pops off from both ends. I spent the $5 to fix it and then the inside started leaking. Do not waste your time. It is a great concept. Now I have 4 holes in the side of my house from this."