Customer Reviews for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast Ratio: 1000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 55
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
44 of 56(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edison, NJ
Date:February 17, 2009

Great TV

Model Number: VO42LFHDTV10A
"I had purchased a 32 inch for my son to take to college and I was amazed at the quality of the picture. Then I received a $100.00 off coupon from Costco for the 42 inch. I bought it and I have no regrets. It was completely assembled when I took it out of the box. I connected HDMI cable from the cable box to the TV and pushed the HDMI button on the remote. That was all I had to do. The remote is user friendly and menu is easy to use. The price is great, the picture is fantastic and Costco extends the warranty for an additional year. I also read a comment from another review that stated that there was a line that ran across the top of the screen when not in HD. I also encountered the same thing and decided to explore the menu screen. Go into tools, find the V position and move the screen up and it is gone forever. Problem solved."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 25, 2009

Mixed quality, indifferent support

Cons: iffy technical support
Model Number: SV420XVT
"Picture is good; features acceptable. BUT ... it began having problems, including generating a buzz on one channel, which would resolve (for varying periods) by going to another channel and back. The Vizio tech who came to fix it claimed the reason for the buzz might be the antenna set-up, but didn't have a good explanation for why that would affect only one channel or be "cured" by switching channels. He modified the software in some way, which made the buzz occur less frequently but it still happens. However, one side effect was that the on-screen channel guide (which is supposed to tell you what program you are watching) developed 2 new problems: (1) Lost the second level of the guide, which gave a longer description; and (2) Now it only stays on 2-3 seconds, which isn't long enough to speed-read the 2- or 3-line description of the program. Vizio claims #1 is due to a copyright problem, and #2 is just the way it's going to have to be, which is less than satisfying, but apparently we're stuck with it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 26, 2009

Great TV, Louse Remote

Pros: price, picture sound, 1080p
Cons: remote is lacking
Model Number: VO42L
"This is my first LCD and I have had the TV for 3 weeks now. Both picture and sound were very good. However it is lacking when it comes to the remote which I initially thought was awesome as it had few buttons which is good for folks like my parents. For example, you have to navigate 3 steps on the menu to change the sound options from say Rock to Flat. Same for any other modification video... So when you watch a movie and want to see which of the options is better you have to do the menu driven thing which covers the center of your screen then go back and rewind and watch again. Annoying!!! Another thing I noticed is I cant tell what video format is being used (480, 720, 1080...) for dvd, antenna. Lastly no sleep button - I often doze off watching TV. That said the picture is great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Kentucky
Date:October 22, 2008

This TV ROCKS

"I absolutely love this TV. I did a lot of research before I bought it, and it has more than lived up to its high recommendations. The picture is just amazing."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:February 16, 2009

Just Perfect!

Pros: lots of connections, amazing picture, easy to set up, works flauless, price, fast refresh rate, fast to change channels, astc qam and ntsc, pip, 42"
Cons: doest have a picture size mode on remote control.
Model Number: VO42LF
"I'm a professional graphic designer, and image quality really matters to me.
I was looking for a TV that I could hook up to my computer to watch blu ray and online series on Hulu and Ninjavideo.net.
I got this new model Vizio TV a couple weeks ago and I have it connected to my PC, to an Upconverting DVD Player from Philips and to a cheap $12 Digital antenna.
The image is just PERFECT!!!
I've been watching 1080p blu ray and it's unbeleavable. The contrast actually is 5000:1, not 1000:1 like the description states.
The regular 480i and DVD pictures are also very good.
It also changes channels very fast compared to others I tested and the sound quality is very good too.
I highly recomend this TV over any Sony or Panasonic with similar caracteristics (60 Hz).
You can't go wrong with this state-of-the-art TV!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Webster Groves
Date:January 27, 2009

Great Picture - Good Value - Very Impressive

Pros: price, quality, very sleek design, costco 2 year warranty, great picture
Cons: absolutely none
"We bought this TV August 2008. We have not had one problem and the picture quality is great. The TV has a very sleek and impressive design. We would highly reccomend this TV and the Vizio brand. We have two Vizio TV's and both are great products. We have been so impressed with the Vizio brand that we are adding a 50" Vizio TV next week. Just can't beat the price and vaule.
We purchase all of our electronics from Costco in St. Louis, MO, 63123 and have always been impressed with their level of service."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:November 13, 2008

Move Over Big Boys, Vizio Is Coming Up Fast!

Pros: picture quality, price, free extended warranty with costco, screen size
Cons: speakers are not the best. plain remote control.
"You can search and research all the flat panel TVs in the store but it comes down to price vs. quality. Many of the flat panels have great quality but are way over priced. However, I wanted the most bang for my buck and VIZIO had exactly that. The picture quality is great and the price is reasonable. I have had it for almost a year and not one single problem. I watch regular tv, movies and play video games and my VIZIO runs like a champ."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wa
Date:October 27, 2008

Best TV

Pros: great customer service from vizio
Cons: none
"We bought this TV Christmas time 2 years ago. It had a problem but when we called Vizio they had someone out right away to our home, they put a new one in no questions asked. We then had another problem, we called, Vizio sent someone one to our home again right away, the problem was simply an issue with what the prior tech person did the last time they were in our home. Since then we have had no problems. We will buy all our TV's from Costco and Vizio brand has been wonderful. We just got unlikely that the first tv had a glitch but Vizio was VERY PROMPT at exchanging it, again with no questions asked. We would HIGHLY recommend Costco and Vizio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 27, 2008

Nice Picture Lousy Sound

Pros: reliabilty
Cons: cheap "tinny" speakers
"I am very happy with the picture -- reliability and features of my Vizio flat screen. I have enjoyed it over 2 years and haven't had a minute's trouble.
However -- I have tried all of the options in the sound menu and can't get rid of the cheap -- "tinny" sound in the speakers.
I bought a $1000 TV with $10 speakers.
I finally invested in after-market speakers."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 15, 2009

Not for me

Pros: nice color, good high def of still images
Cons: unrealistic looking skin tones and contrast, image blur
"I was was very disappointed with this television since it was my much anticipted first 1080p set. While certain images were admittidly very "high def", the overall appearance of the images was not good, in my opinion. The best way to describe it would be a 2-dimensional quality, something akin to an old movie where you see Bogart at the wheel and california scenery behind him, and you know it is not real. Well almost everything I watched on this set had that quality... Not real. On top of that, there was a lot of image blur. On top of the rest of these issues, the remote control looked like a dime-store trinket with very little functionality, and the TV stand was wobbly. I returned it to costco after a week and brought home a plasma, with which I am very happy."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:October 25, 2008

Great Value,Great TV!!

Pros: great value
Cons: none
"Hello,
Have had the TV for year plus. No problems,easy remote, compatible with cable , or antenna HDMI inputs, and compent video sound options.
My Tv is setup sound wise thru to a simple 5.1 music system via HDMI plugs.Existing built in speakers unplug easily. Sound from built ins was good ,but not home theater, Picture easily adjusts, factory settings were actually very good. I would buy this LCD TV again.
I will make a parting comment and say my friend has the 47 inch Vizo, Its great value as well if you can afford the extra $'s for it and have ther room for it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasco, WA State
Date:February 16, 2009

Great sound Beautiful picture, at first!

"When we first got this tv and set it up just after Christmas, I thought, wow, what were the people who gave bad reviews on picture quality and sound talking about? I thought it to be great!! But then after a few weeks maybe almost a month, the green on the screen came. I relooked at the reviews and sure enough I did see some complaints about the green... guess I ignored them the first time around. But aside from that the sound is great and when the green isn't showing up the picture is beautiful. Thanks to Costcos great policies, we are returning it for another and giving it another try! (yes, another Vizio, because that's how much we like it other than that one problem. And we know other people that have Vizios alot longer than us and no problems)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CA
Date:November 14, 2008

Died in 10 Days - Common Visio Problem

Pros: exellent tv for the price
Cons: if the tv keeps working.
"It ran great for 10 days, then would not come out of standby. Visio Tech Services & web confirmed this is a common issue with the Visio's. When they work, they work. Free On-site repair offerred, but it would be 2+ weeks until they could look at it."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:October 25, 2008

Good value

"We've had our Vizio 42" for 18 months as our main tv - great pic, no problems. It's in a bright kitchen and still views well from all angles. Other Vizio's we've purchased over last 2 years - 32", 26", 22" - have all been good - nothing returned/exchanged & satisfied with all. While normally a "Sony man", rapid technology advancements and dropping prices convinced me to go "cheaper" route on lcd tv; we don't regret our decision."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 24, 2008

I LOVE this TV

"I got this television last year when I wasn't able to go to a VERY special football game due to a recent surgery. My husband brought the TV home and the day after Thanksgiving Direct TV came out and hooked up the High Def about an hour before kick-off. I felt like I was right there. I could even see the individual blades of grass on the field. You need this TV, I would buy it again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:November 29, 2008

Freeze Up is a problem

Pros: overall good picture, value
Cons: intermittently freeze
"Myself and 2 of my friends bought this model. The picture quality is good. Everything works fine except that it may freeze up after a few hours' use. When it does, only unplugging it could recover it. This happened on all 3 TVs we have."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:June 30, 2009

Excellent value for the price (I paid $749 in stor

Pros: no setup. the base is already connected., just open the box and plug it in, picture quality is superb. in a bright room., has some connections in center and some on side., easily connects to surround sound via fiber cable, picture in picture is a nice addition, rga connection is a plus for visitors with laptop, can adjust width/height for each source separately, windows media center works great with this tv
Cons: can't do picture in picture with two hdmi sources, remote for cable box didn't have a code for tv, changing between sources is slooooow.
"This is a very good value for the price.
I picked this up for my bonus room to replace an old 27" CRT TV. My connections are an HDMI cable box, an HDMI home theater WIndows 7 PC and a component connected Wii."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

Performing Well

Pros: great picture, easy to use remote
"I knew this TV was probably going to be a good one when a Costco customer stopped his car in the parking lot to tell me how great is was as I was wheeling it out to my vehicle. The picture looks great with cable, our upscaling Sony DVD player and Apple TV. The only downside is that it has frozen up on me--where the remote and the buttons on the TV won't work--about 3 times and I have to unplug the power to basically reboot it. All works fine after that. If it does that again, I will probably take it back as a defective set, but I will get another one! Overall a very good set for the price; I'm glad I didn't spend more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:December 6, 2008

a great entry-level hd tv

Pros: picture quality, value
Cons: speaker quality is below average
Model Number: 42LCDFHDTV
"This is our first high-definition television. We were contemplating an HDTV acquisition over the past two years but couldn't bring ourselves to paying 1.5 to 2x as much for the name brand counterpart.
This replaced our 27" picture tube and the difference is incredible. The picture is clear and looks equally impressive during day & night viewing. One slight draw-back, as another reviewer mentioned, the set's speakers sound small and 'tin-ey' - I recommend some external speakers.
I have a few friends who do not approve of an 'off-brand' (vizio) but what can I say, I'm not an HD-snob (yet)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills, CA
Date:June 7, 2009

Not Recommended

Pros: price
Cons: overall quality, reliability
Model Number: VO42L
"I bought this model for Christmas 2008 and have had nothing but problems. Initial problems were with the picture that simply turned bright red in all of the dark or black areas, contacted Vizio who approved an on-site service, circuit board was replaced, fix lasted only 3 weeks, problem re-occurred but this time screen turned green, Vizio scheduled a refurbished replacement, that lasted 2 days before it completely lost its picture, now has sound only. This time Vizio wants to delivery a “new” television, but I’m done. Hoping to get a refund and look for something else. Good luck.........."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>