Customer Reviews for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Contrast Ratio: 1000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 55
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
44 of 56(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:July 27, 2009

not so good

Model Number: vo42lfhdtv10a
"I bought 15 for my new sports bar; 5 have gone down so far with the same back light issue. They replace them but being a business it is very bad to be without it even for a day. The delivery guys also told me that it happens all the time. I want to know what is going to happen when the warranty is done. aback light is as much as the TV itself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:July 12, 2009

Great TV

Pros: picture is sharp, quick start up, great sound
Cons: none!!
"Purchased this at the warehouse. Easy set-up, great picture and great sound. This is my second Vizio (we have a smaller one in the bedroom) and we have been very happy with the quality and performance of their sets. Match this with the two year extended warranty from Costco, and you can't go wrong."
Review 3 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nuevo, CA
Date:July 11, 2009

Short Life Span????

"Purchased A 42" LCD May 7 2006, and have had no problems with it until tonight 3 years later, while watching heard a VERY LOUD POP and NO MORE PICTIRE......Very disapointed that its life is so short...... Not sure if I will purchase another one....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:June 30, 2009

Excellent value for the price (I paid $749 in stor

Pros: no setup. the base is already connected., just open the box and plug it in, picture quality is superb. in a bright room., has some connections in center and some on side., easily connects to surround sound via fiber cable, picture in picture is a nice addition, rga connection is a plus for visitors with laptop, can adjust width/height for each source separately, windows media center works great with this tv
Cons: can't do picture in picture with two hdmi sources, remote for cable box didn't have a code for tv, changing between sources is slooooow.
"This is a very good value for the price.
I picked this up for my bonus room to replace an old 27" CRT TV. My connections are an HDMI cable box, an HDMI home theater WIndows 7 PC and a component connected Wii."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:June 29, 2009

Overall a Nice TV...

Pros: picture quality, good price, meets my needs
Cons: remote is very basic
Model Number: VO42LHDTV10A
"Nice picture quality and good sound. Gives all the features needed for tv viewing at home.
Vizio could have done better on the remote (its too basic). Giving 5 stars for quality and price and so far no issues (purchased back in Feb, 09).
"
Review 6 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 25, 2009

Mixed quality, indifferent support

Cons: iffy technical support
Model Number: SV420XVT
"Picture is good; features acceptable. BUT ... it began having problems, including generating a buzz on one channel, which would resolve (for varying periods) by going to another channel and back. The Vizio tech who came to fix it claimed the reason for the buzz might be the antenna set-up, but didn't have a good explanation for why that would affect only one channel or be "cured" by switching channels. He modified the software in some way, which made the buzz occur less frequently but it still happens. However, one side effect was that the on-screen channel guide (which is supposed to tell you what program you are watching) developed 2 new problems: (1) Lost the second level of the guide, which gave a longer description; and (2) Now it only stays on 2-3 seconds, which isn't long enough to speed-read the 2- or 3-line description of the program. Vizio claims #1 is due to a copyright problem, and #2 is just the way it's going to have to be, which is less than satisfying, but apparently we're stuck with it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC Utah
Date:June 25, 2009

Vizio 42 "

Pros: great tv not one issue
"Love this TV, I guess there are lemons out there everywhere, but I have not had any issues. I did buy the more expensive cables from Costco, and I think that is where people have issues. I did not let my cable company--Comcast set this up. I did this all by myself, and no issues. I did change the batteries in the remots first thing as I always do with new stuff. Like tires on a car you don't always get the best battery"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 15, 2009

Not for me

Pros: nice color, good high def of still images
Cons: unrealistic looking skin tones and contrast, image blur
"I was was very disappointed with this television since it was my much anticipted first 1080p set. While certain images were admittidly very "high def", the overall appearance of the images was not good, in my opinion. The best way to describe it would be a 2-dimensional quality, something akin to an old movie where you see Bogart at the wheel and california scenery behind him, and you know it is not real. Well almost everything I watched on this set had that quality... Not real. On top of that, there was a lot of image blur. On top of the rest of these issues, the remote control looked like a dime-store trinket with very little functionality, and the TV stand was wobbly. I returned it to costco after a week and brought home a plasma, with which I am very happy."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills, CA
Date:June 7, 2009

Not Recommended

Pros: price
Cons: overall quality, reliability
Model Number: VO42L
"I bought this model for Christmas 2008 and have had nothing but problems. Initial problems were with the picture that simply turned bright red in all of the dark or black areas, contacted Vizio who approved an on-site service, circuit board was replaced, fix lasted only 3 weeks, problem re-occurred but this time screen turned green, Vizio scheduled a refurbished replacement, that lasted 2 days before it completely lost its picture, now has sound only. This time Vizio wants to delivery a “new” television, but I’m done. Hoping to get a refund and look for something else. Good luck.........."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
Date:March 21, 2009

BEWARE

"I BOUGHT THIS TV 6 MONTHS AGO. ITS BEEN REPLACED TWICE. COSTCO WAS VERY HELPFULL GETTING REPLACEMENTS FROM VIZIO. HOWEVER THE FIRST REPLACEMENT THEY GAVE ME WAS A REFURBISHED ONE. I ASKED THE DELIVERY PERSON IF THEY HAD A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH FLAT SCREEN TV'S. HE SAID "ONLY THE VIZIO'S"."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atoka, TN
Date:March 16, 2009

A Great Buy!!

Pros: came with an hdmi cable., has four (4) hdmi ports., easy to set up and use right out fo the box.
Cons: can't think of a single one!
"I purchased this television for two reasons. One, a co-worker of mine has a Vizio and had nothing but good things to say about it. Two, the product reviews on this web-site were almost all positive.
We were not disappointed in this purchase. This TV was awesome right out of the box We subscribed to HD service with DirecTV and could not be happier. The picture quality is unbelievable. We enjoy watching the commercials as much as the shows."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:February 27, 2009

Intermittenly Freeze

Pros: good picture
Cons: freeze up
Model Number: Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
"Like some other reviewers, after just a few days purchasing this TV, the screen was freezed and did not respond to any button on the controller. The only way out was to unplug the power cord. But it will happen again after a couple of hours in use. This problem is similar to your PC's windows when it is hung and the only way to solve it is to recyle the power.
It has pretty good picture but I am not sure how reliable this TV is given so many people having the same issue. So, be careful if you decide to get this TV.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 22, 2009

Vizio 42" - very pleased

Pros: great value for price, great picture, many inputs for video camera stereo games etc
Cons: remote-no buttons for quick access to pip etc.
Model Number: VO42L FHD1080A
"Have had the tv about three months now.
Did the DirecTV deal. DirecTV remote does work with VIZIO tv. However, VIZIO tv doesn't recognize the OFF command from DirecTV remote. I bypass that by hitting ON button again to turn off tv, and then the OFF button to turn off DirecTV receiver. No biggie.
The white lines people mention disappear when you adjust the Vertical and/or Horizontal alignments on the VIZIO. Again, no biggie.
It would be nice if the VIZIO controller had one-button access to some of the more commonly used menu items (PIP: picture-in-picture for instance)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Date:February 19, 2009

LOVE THIS TV

Pros: for the price you cannot beat it
Cons: none
Model Number: 42 In Vizio model number1080P
"My children decided to get this tv for me.
I had our local cable company hook everything up and I must say, when watching the NASCAR race from it was like they were driving thru my great room.
Love this tv. Best for your buck.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 19, 2009

Overall happy with it

Pros: price size
Cons: buzzing noise, white broken line sometimes appears
"I bought this tv over a year ago and it was almost perfect at first. Good picture and sound quality. Like others, I found the remote menu options not as easy as they could be, but not as bad as some other electronics I've owned. It's still a great tv and I'm glad I purchased it, but It has a buzzing noise even when the volume is turned all the way down. It's not as noticeable with the cable volume turned up but it's always there. Within months, I noticed a broken white line appears at the top of the picture sometimes. I recently added HD cable so the overall picture quality is MUCH better. This was my first LCD TV so I had nothing to compare it to, but today I bought a new one (different brand and size) for the bedroom. So we'll see..."
Review 16 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Schaumburg, IL
Date:February 18, 2009

Very Pleased!

Pros: picture quality, price
Cons: if you are not getting hd subscription you need, a strong signal from your cable/satelite provider.
Model Number: VO42LFHDTV
"Ordered t.v. 2/13, and received 2/18 - even though costco.com says 7 - 10 days delivery! Very easy to set up - thrilled with the picture! The comfort of the extra year extended warranty by Costco is worth it's weight in gold! Awesome addition to my living room. Highly recommended! Can't beat the price vs the quality to any other television, after extensive research/education on the HD televisions!"
Review 17 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edison, NJ
Date:February 17, 2009

Great TV

Model Number: VO42LFHDTV10A
"I had purchased a 32 inch for my son to take to college and I was amazed at the quality of the picture. Then I received a $100.00 off coupon from Costco for the 42 inch. I bought it and I have no regrets. It was completely assembled when I took it out of the box. I connected HDMI cable from the cable box to the TV and pushed the HDMI button on the remote. That was all I had to do. The remote is user friendly and menu is easy to use. The price is great, the picture is fantastic and Costco extends the warranty for an additional year. I also read a comment from another review that stated that there was a line that ran across the top of the screen when not in HD. I also encountered the same thing and decided to explore the menu screen. Go into tools, find the V position and move the screen up and it is gone forever. Problem solved."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasco, WA State
Date:February 16, 2009

Great sound Beautiful picture, at first!

"When we first got this tv and set it up just after Christmas, I thought, wow, what were the people who gave bad reviews on picture quality and sound talking about? I thought it to be great!! But then after a few weeks maybe almost a month, the green on the screen came. I relooked at the reviews and sure enough I did see some complaints about the green... guess I ignored them the first time around. But aside from that the sound is great and when the green isn't showing up the picture is beautiful. Thanks to Costcos great policies, we are returning it for another and giving it another try! (yes, another Vizio, because that's how much we like it other than that one problem. And we know other people that have Vizios alot longer than us and no problems)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Very good value

Pros: colors
Cons: remote is a joke, sound
"I agree with the previous reviews who criticize the remote and the sound. However, if you don't use the remote, and you have your set wired to a stereo, then it doesn't matter.
I immediately noticed the difference in colors from my last 1080p set."
Review 20 for Vizio 42" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:February 16, 2009

Just Perfect!

Pros: lots of connections, amazing picture, easy to set up, works flauless, price, fast refresh rate, fast to change channels, astc qam and ntsc, pip, 42"
Cons: doest have a picture size mode on remote control.
Model Number: VO42LF
"I'm a professional graphic designer, and image quality really matters to me.
I was looking for a TV that I could hook up to my computer to watch blu ray and online series on Hulu and Ninjavideo.net.
I got this new model Vizio TV a couple weeks ago and I have it connected to my PC, to an Upconverting DVD Player from Philips and to a cheap $12 Digital antenna.
The image is just PERFECT!!!
I've been watching 1080p blu ray and it's unbeleavable. The contrast actually is 5000:1, not 1000:1 like the description states.
The regular 480i and DVD pictures are also very good.
It also changes channels very fast compared to others I tested and the sound quality is very good too.
I highly recomend this TV over any Sony or Panasonic with similar caracteristics (60 Hz).
You can't go wrong with this state-of-the-art TV!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>