Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven features the convenience of Total Touch® touchpad controls, consistent shade control, and an Exact Heat™ sensor to maintain precise oven temperature. And its large enough to fit a 12" pizza!   Features: Color: Black with stainless steel accents   Capacity: 0.6 cu. ft.; fits 12" pizza   Total Touch® touchpad controls   Exact Heat™ sensor maintains precise oven temperature   Consistent shade control cycle after cycle   Preheat ready signal   Bagel, reheat & defrost buttons   Clock & oven timer   Automatic shutoff after 4 hours   Stainless steel front panels with brushed chrome commercial style handle   Easy clean interior   UL Listed   Dimensions: 17.4"w x 16"L x 9.4"H   Weight: 22.8 lbs   3-year limited warranty   Made in China. For further product information please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190. Model: CTO-390PC
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
(out of 89 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
81 of 89(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:November 15, 2009

Best Value in Convection Broiler/ Toaster Ovens

Pros: generous size, good temperature control, good toasting capabilities, simple to use, easy to clean
Cons: outside can get hot, care needed when opening door
Model Number: Model CTO-390PC
"We have owned this oven for about 2 months and have found it to be one of the best values around. Our family has given the oven a good workout for cooking steaks, roasts, casseroles, pizza, hot dogs, breakfast sausages, toasted sandwiches, baking brownies, toasting bagels, etc. We have been very pleased with the results.
We found that the temperature controls, convection heating, and oven size allows you to cook many items that you would normally cook in a full size oven. Of course you must use cookware that can fit inside the oven. Whether using 1 or 6 slices of bread we get uniform toast every time. The one caution is that the outside of the oven does get hot and you must use care to open the door. Oven cleaning is simplified with a crumb tray that is accessible from the back. Although the oven lacks self-cleaning capabilities, an interior light, and a rack that automatically slides out when the door is opened, we think that those features are unnecessary.
So far we have been very pleased with this oven and would recommend it to others."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:November 28, 2010

Great convection toaster oven!

Pros: a great addition to your kitchen
Model Number: CTO-390PC
"I purchased this after a bad experience with an Oster convection toaster oven purchased from Costco. The Oster oven thermostat was so far off it burned my cornbread without even baking the inside.
I took the Oster back and purchased this Cuisinart instead. What a great decision that was!
Perfect cornbread, perfect roasted vegetables (first asparagus, then Brussels sprouts). It heated focaccia perfectly and I'm sure it will do whatever I need it to do.
The convection setting works very well - deduct 25 degrees F from your normal recipe temp and bake for 30% less time at first. Watch your food to make sure it's cooked the way you want, and increase the cooking time as necessary.
The Cuisinart instruction booklet says that cooking pans with low sides are best for the convection setting so the air can circulate freely around the food.
The pan that comes with this oven is 11-3/8" inches square (inside dimensions) and will hold a lot of food - all we'll need to cook at one time in this household of 2.
I've never used a convection oven before and I can see this will be a great time and energy savings!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:September 14, 2011

Very Happy With This Oven

Pros: good for city apartments, small, great price
"I specifically purchased this item BECAUSE of the complaints regarding folks burning themselves! It is an oven- it is hot! Be careful and you won't get burned! I am amazed at how great and quickly it cooks via the convention feature. I do not own a stove in my home, and this is what I use for any baking, broiling, toasting and such! I love that the item does not take a huge amount of space on my counter, but fits a 12 inch pizza easily. This oven is extremely versatile, and I look forward to trying my hand at making many exciting dinners with it. This oven is great for people that know that : it is an oven. It will get hot. Be careful not to burn yourself. Convection ovens DO get hot on the top and sides (meaning the outside of the oven as well).Absolutely no problems with this oven,the consumer needs to make sure they are being careful. Perfect price, and a great brand."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:July 25, 2009

In a Class By Itself

Model Number: CTO 390PC
"Tried five other top rated toaster ovens before this one. It's a keeper because it toasts, broils and bakes accurately. The Total Touch Pad Control System makes it a "no brainer." The Exact Heat System tailors everything perfectly to your liking. It's amazing. Solidly made and attractive for your counter top. This model in Black and Stainless (made exclusively for Costco) costs $80 less than the All Stainless model found in all other stores with the same internal features. For price, features & performance it is incomparable !"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:October 27, 2008

Very Good Countertop Appliance

Pros: pushbutton controls, clean appearance, roomy
Cons: crumb tray
"After 25 years, our old Panasonic toaster oven finally quit. Since we had such good luck with the first one, a new Panasonic toaster oven was our first choice - but unfortunately Panasonic no longer makes toaster ovens for sale in the US :-(
After checking out several brands, we bought the Cuisinart Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven at Costco. It's a little larger than what we were looking for, but thus far it works great. We've used the convection, regular bake, and the toaster features. The only thing I'm not thrilled with, is that the crumb tray has to be removed from the back of the oven instead of the front, for cleaning.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manhattan Beach, CA
Date:April 10, 2010

Great product at a great price!

Pros: great value for the price.
Cons: takes up a good amount of counter space.
"Whenever I buy an appliance like this that I will use a lot I torture myself by looking at practically everything before I buy. Not even so much for the money but because I know I'm going to keep it and use it for a long time and don't want the hassle of returning, looking again, etc. . So I did a lot of research before I bought this. And I have been very happy with this oven. I love the convection feature...and it is big enough inside for a pizza or a 8x10 pan of something. Controls are easy and clear and it is very elegant. It does take up a fair amount of counter space so you do need some room. And as far as some of the negative reviews here....like no inside light, gets hot, etc ....some of those are true but I didn't find that to be that big a deal. It's an oven...it's going to get hot! Know that and use a hot pad just like you would any oven."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverton, Or
Date:December 25, 2009

Best of the Best

Model Number: TOB 155
"I received this oven for Christmas 09. The first thing I baked were brownies. They came out perfect. The challange was having to cook a 4.5 Chicken. I'm a single man what do I know - and I am 70 years old. I used the reciepe in the booklet and stuck my digital thermometer in the thigh part. The book said it would take 1 hour to 1.5 hrs. 50 minutes later my alarm went off. I thought something was wrong. I used the convection bake. This was the moist's chicken I have ever baked and browned beautifully. It caught me off guard and my mashed potato's weren't even ready. Clean up was a breeze. To let others know digital thermometers do not do an accurate job unless stuck in a piece of meat. You need a mercury oven thermometer. This oven was only off by 5 degrees higher than my 375 set temp. It took little time to get it to that temperature.
I have owned ALL of them. Nothing can compare and at Costco it was on sale for $99.00. You can't beat the price.
Also...in reading ALL the materias; booklet and onsite, Cusinart tells you that all heating rods may not be lit at the same time or intensity as the precise temp control turns them on or off as required to maintain the proper temp. I made Potato bread Toast. That bread is very moist. After the first adjustment they came out wonderful. Thank you"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 15, 2009

My Favorite Purchase this Year

"I thought I already reviewed this, but I have to say that I am in love with this toaster. I got it about 4 months ago and it has proven to be the most used appliance in our household. It is so large that I rarely use my oven anymore lowering our utility bill as well as the heat in our kitchen. The toast even comes out better. Crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. I throw chicken breasts from the freezer into the oven, add a little water on the bottom, and they come out moist and tender. You would never believe they were frozen! I baked a 12 inch frozen pizza in 7 min. I'm telling you, you need this oven."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sherman oaks ca
Date:October 16, 2008

great helper

"everyone shall have this product in their kitchens. it has helped me out million times. it makes great bagels; great toast and you save money in your pocket and space in your kitchen. it does everything you need fast and easy. i love it"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torrance, California
Date:January 21, 2010

LOVE it!

Pros: easy various options for use built in timer., quiet sleek inexpensive at costco.
"Highly recommended. Great value. SERIOUSLY. You will find this same make and model for approx. $50 more! I enjoy the various features: bake, broil and toast. It is user friendly, meaning easy to use. It is easy to clean and get this it has a built in Timer! Great gift. I was afraid after this purchase it may be too big. Yet it isn't. It doesn't require much space and I can cook various size meals in this unit. Including baking a whole cake, roasted chicken and much more. A great gift for any occasion and for families or single use. I don't care to use the microwave and this is a great choice. My household enjoys it. If toasting bread try it on level # 4 to # 5. Great buy! And no one sells it cheaper than Costco! : )"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:November 13, 2008

Quicker and Easier Than I Imagined!

Pros: fast neat easy to use
Cons: crumb tray in back but makes front neater
"While I didn't want to learn any new cooking techniques, I wanted to try convection for speed and electricity conservation. I saw this one and saw it would fit a 12" pizza and had a defrost feature. It was so easy to learn!!! It can defrost and toast a bagel-just push the button! So easy to make cookies-from frig to mouth in 20 mnutes! It heats up fast-turn it on, get the food and pan, and it is ready to cook!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Linn, OR
Date:January 26, 2010

Runs Hot

"I absolutely love this oven. I have never been a "toaster oven" gal but this one won me over. Cooks everything I need beautifully. Perfect for everyday use for a small fam...no need to power up the big oven! And when a crowd does arrive, what a great second oven for appetizers! Be careful...it runs hot, so error on the low side for temperature."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:August 10, 2010

Older model better

Pros: nice look, toast and bakes quite well
Cons: bad handle design, baking pan warps, too deep, customer service needs to be retrained
Model Number: CTO-390PC
"The toaster oven has a very nice look to it compare to my older version (CTO-350PC). But this is the difference: This one is 4 inches deeper (11 inches verses 15) than my older one. Than add in the 1 inch tabs on the back you got a 16 inch deep machine. That is like having a microwave on your counter. It is good if you have the counter space but most things you bake/toast etc. are small things. It is not like I plan on baking a turkey in it. Now you got to love that fancy handle on it until you open it up after heating something up. As you pull the handle down the back of you fingers get seared on the hot medal strip right above it. My older model does not have that problem but the handle does not look as nice. Another problem was the baking pan would warp every time it heats up. I called their customer service department and was told to see if Costco will give me another pan. Really! The other option she gave me was to pay for shipping out a new one plus pay to ship the old one back to them. I only had the oven for 5 days are you kidding me Cuisinart. Not satisfy with that answer I call them back and got a different rep. He said that for the first 90 days shipping is free and that the first rep. was misinformed. He did say that the same thing could happen with the new pan. So I decided to return it for a full refund. My son was going to get my older toaster to take back to college but now he's not. Well it is time to go soak my burnt fingers."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:September 22, 2009

Crumbs in Door Hinge

Model Number: CTO-390PC
"For anyone having difficulty getting crumbs out fo the door hinge; try using some canned air."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:December 2, 2010

Love it!

Pros: saves time by cooking faster, doesnt take too much time to preheat., clear loud beeping.
Cons: crumb catcher scratches easily.
"My first convection oven...it burnt my rolls the first time, but I soon learned to reduce temp and cook time.Now am super glad I bought it. It saves a load of time, whether I'm baking, toasting or broiling anything, as compared to my gas oven. The trays and shelf go straight to d/w. Just make sure you don't leave anything on top of the oven, as you would on a microwave, while its on."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 22, 2009

Great Product with some flaws

Pros: cooks foods well
Cons: burned myself a few times., difficult to clean. needs a self cleaning coating
"I use this product as a replacement for my oven. It does an OK job as a toaster, but a real good job for making small meals- meatloaf and baked potatoes, etc. I did have to buy small pans so everything would fit in the oven. My criticism is that I find the oven impossible to clean. I have used it about 20 times, washing it after each use. Still the sides and top of the oven are "sticky" from cooking meats which might spatter (pork chops, etc). When I read the other reviews, I noticed not many of the other reviewers used the oven like I do."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:August 12, 2009

Cooks great, but cleanup is tough

Pros: accuracy speed
Cons: cleanup
Model Number: CTO-390PC
"I agree that this unit cooks perfectly.
Cleanup, however, is extremely difficult because crumbs get into the door hinge and are very difficult to get out.
The door is not removable, and the space if just small enough to let tiny crumb into, but not large enough to get a cleaning tool into."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:July 10, 2009

Love this little oven

Pros: quick, saves energy, cooks evenly
Cons: is very hot so i pull out from under cabinet
"This oven is wonderful. We rarely use our large oven now. We have used it to heat up frozen pizzas, bake cookies, brownies, and we have even cooked full-blown meals like salmon and halibut in it. Everything always turns out wonderful and I don't have to heat up my house in the summer months with my large oven. Great time and energy saver. I would highly recommend."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:September 3, 2009

The best easiest toaster oven ever

"I purchased this item to replace my previous toaster oven. I must say this is one of the easiest ovens to work and it cooks beautifully. The convection cooks evenly and thoroughly without burning. And you can make up to 6 pieces of toast or waffles at a time. It's wonderful!!!! It makes cooking for my family easy and quick without turning on the big oven."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Convection/Broiler Toaster Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg, VA
Date:September 24, 2009

Glad I finally made the purchase

Pros: heats up quickly, great job of toasting
Cons: the outside of the oven gets very hot.
"I had been searching for a while for a toaster oven. Both of my other ovens take so long to heat up just to bake a quick pizza. This is great size for a toaster oven that allows you to do more than just toast. If you are like me and like to use baking stones. Order the replacement stone for the Cuisinart Brick Oven model. It fits this oven perfect and does a great job on pizza crust!!"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>