Customer Reviews for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban

Added Value: 48 oz Multi-Allergen Formula w/Scotchgard Protection
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
(out of 36 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
26 of 36(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Review 1 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pine Mountain Club, Calif.
Date:April 10, 2009

3rd time is not a charm

Pros: when it works it does a great job., do yourself a favor read the instructions.
Cons: 3rd one i have owned that brushes stoped rotating.
Model Number: 9300-1
"This is the 3rd Proheat 2X I have owned. This one only 2 months old had the same problem as the others. After a few uses, the motor that turns the brushes stops turning and the brushes don't rotate. It is going back to Costco tomorrow, and probably every 2 months... that is about the life expectancy. I have read the other reviews and I would suggest to ALL that say it does not have suction to READ THE INSTRUCTIONS and swicth the rotating dial from tool to floor setting. The dripping problem is from not cleaning the jets after use. The Bissell company knows of this problem and in 3 updates to the product they have failed to fix it. It is a frequently asked question on their Customer Service site. The site has the completely wrong instructions for checking the belts on this model. It has the Proheat original (One row of brushes) instructions. If the brushes quit, don't go through the hassle, just return it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008

Better than the rental

Pros: cleans very well easy to use., well made
Cons: the water bladder is pretty small.
"This is a great machine! I held off buying one because I was so skeptical that a home carpet cleaner could work. But with 3 boys and 3 dogs, my carpets needed a more frequent deep cleaning that was really feasible. I didn't want to call a professional to come to my house every month! I tried renting a machine and that was a disaster! This machine does an excellent job of cleaning and sucking the water out of my carpets. They dried in one night and the carpets looked brand new. Even my husband was impressed. And it was really easy to use. You just have to empty and fill the water container fairly frequently (but then, if the water bladder was really large, the machine would probably weigh too much!)"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 17, 2009

Easy to use, household must!

Pros: easy to use, easty to clean
Model Number: 9300
"With a toddler and two dogs maintaining a clean, stain free carpet is something of challenge. I had been embarrassed by the tracked in dirt and stains we'd accumulated in a condo in just 6 months. I'd considered renting or contracting a carpet cleaner to do the work in our smallish 700 sqft place. Instead we came upon this Costco and for just a little more than what we would pay to contract a professional we were able to own this and do it ourselves. The results were outstanding... took out a ground in stain of spilled Mocha coffee and tracked in doggie dirt by the patio sliding door. I had no problem filling and unloading the water tank - and I have carpal tunnel in my right (dominant) hand and arm. It's lighweight enough to push easily and dispenses the formula in porportion to the appication you seek. EASY TO USE - we did read the instructions first of course, so I would recommend that just to make sure you don't use if incorrectly. It's a keeper!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, MT
Date:July 9, 2009

Tickled clean

Model Number: 286631
"I purchased this cleaner about a month ago and love it. I have rented steam cleaners in the past and have had backaches when finished, but not with this steam cleaner. I like the feature of just turning a dial if you decide to switch from the floor cleaner to tool setting for those little areas that are so close to the wall or corner that the floor brushes won't get. I love the feature of being able to choose when to switch from shampoo or plain water when you just want to rinse without having to change your water holding tank since you don't mix solution in like other cleaners. I find that if you take your time and go over the cleaned area with just suction and no spray, you can get rugs quite dry for faster finish.
I loan this machine to my daughter who has 3 young children and 2 very large dogs, and she was very impressed with the results also. Wish I hadn't waited so long to buy one of these!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:October 30, 2008

So Easy To Use

Pros: ease of use, easy to put together
"Great purchase. With 2 little boys and a dog - spills happen often. I kept renting carpet cleaners but not anymore. Couldn't be happier with the ease of use and especially the quality of cleaning. Able to store cleaning solution and water separately so you can use for smaller areas without having to mix up new solution each time. 5 Stars!"
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 5, 2009

Better Than I Expected Based On Previous Reviews

Pros: got up stains that weren't previously removed., easy to use.
Cons: uses too much cleaning solution., you have to guess when to empty dirty water.
Model Number: 9300-1
"Based on the reviews, I was skeptical about purchasing this product. I have owned a Bissell and a Hoover carpet cleaner in the past and Bissell is what was being offered by Costco. I figured if I was totally disappointed, I could return it for a refund. I have only used the machine once and I was pleased with the job that it did. But had issues with the amount of cleaning solution it took to clean the carpets (I will dilute with water the next time I use.) I like the new design for the water and 'dirty' water bucket. I hated the plug that you had to unscrew to empty out the dirty water on the older Bissell model. The older model used to make a high pitched noise when all the clean water was used. This model doesn't have this feature and it is hard to see over the front of the machine to see if water is being sucked up. For a tall person, this wouldn't be an issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OFallon, MO
Date:May 15, 2009

Definitely worth the money-- and more

Pros: water and solution last for more than one room, heat ensures stains actually come out, tools work on upholstery and stairs, dirty water does not leak out of bin, you select how much solution to use
"I have had my carpets cleaned professionally on a regular basis. I've paid up to $300-$400 a visit for the whole house (yes, ouch).
I'm highly allergic to well, everything. And on top of that, I have two kids, two dogs (yes, they're the hypo-allergenic type, but not the no-mess type), and a husband. We regularly have messes.
This is the second steam cleaner I've owned and by far-- cleans out the worst stains they make. And I'm very picky. We have light (almost white) carpets and everything shows up. (Wasn't our choice, what the builder put in, must have thought that no one would actually LIVE in it.)
Anyway, the initial investment was more than paid back after the first cleaning. The setup is very easy, the water in the tank surprisingly lasts a long time (for a room-- clean AND rinse), the cleaner also lasts quite a long time too.
What I like best is that the water is heated, the solution is separate, and this allows a customizable, good clean. Better yet, the clean continues because you can rinse it out-- no residue. The removable water unit keeps the water in until you get to the sink (helpful), but allows you to quickly release and get back to work. Best of all, the cleaning feels more like a quick sweep, not a heavy duty chore.
If you have carpet, and you have a person living in the area with carpet, this is a great buy."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA state
Date:July 22, 2009

Great results; excellent design

Model Number: 9300-1
"First of all, I hate cleaning carpets, but after spending $485 to have my carpets cleaned last year and being disappointed with the results, I decided to get this machine. I've had a Bissell in the past (the canister type that was dreadful to clean after using), and I was hoping this new design would be easier to use. It certainly was.
I spent the time to read the instructions fully, then started with my den carpet...the one that has the most wear and tear. We have yellow labs, and I vacuum regularly with my Dyson Animal, which picks up the hair and dirt great...but the carpets were a mess.
It took me a while to finish the first room because I was being diligent about getting the carpet as clean as I could. Of course, the machine leaves your carpet wet...it uses water;( I'm not sure why people have acted surprised about this). It took a few hours for the carpet to be completely dry, but I had planned on that.
I just now finished our main floor bedrooms and the living room, and it went much quicker since I was used to the machine. Overall, I was amazed at how much dog hair this machine got out of the carpet, since I had vacuumed immediately before starting the cleaning process. The dual row of brushes works well and truly gets out the dirt, pet hair, and gunk from the carpet fibers.
The water tank design is great--a huge improvement over having to lug two heavy tanks back and forth to the sink. Sure, you have to fill it often (about 3-4 times for a large room), but it's so easy to do.
Another advantage to this particular machine is that clean-up afterward is so easy. My old Bissell took me forever to clean all the hose, the attachments, and the tanks. This one takes about 10 minutes, max.
I am extremely pleased with this product and plan to take care of it, so it can take care of my carpet cleaning needs. It's already paid for itself."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norhtern Cal
Date:May 25, 2009

Very good machine

Pros: cheap and effective
Cons: needs water change frequently
"I have had two previous rug cleaners and this is the best so far. One reviewer who knocked it for requiring multiple refills in a short time is exactly right, especially if you use the "heavy dirt" setting.
This machine removed stains that a pro did not get out, granted I ran the machine over it twenty times.
Nonetheless, it was worth the price and not hard to work. Another reviewer said that it left dirty spots, I suspect they were "furballs" that the brushes comb out of the fibers and collect in a bundle. They were all over the place and I had a handful for each room. Again, no problem.
One tip, make sure your tap water is as hot as possible, but the instructions say not to add boiled water.
I think it is a great alternative to treat heavy wear areas until you get the time and desire for having pro come, which requires moving furniture and evacuating the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:cameron park, ca
Date:May 12, 2009

so far, so good

Pros: easy to useeasy to put together, lots of extra handtools, worked better than expected, carpet dries quickly afterwards, affordable
Cons: takes a long time to clean the parts afterwards, uses a lot of solution
"after reading the reviews, i was a little hesitant to buy this cleaner, but it works great! even my husband, who used to clean carpets professionally, said it worked great. its suctions well, and it got out an old 2x3 ft stain that wasnt even blotted up. i was actually very surprised. my carpet looks awesome.. ya sure you might have to go over a stubborn stain a few times, and go over it more than once with the suction. im not sure what people expect, because you have to put in a little work. if u operate the cleaner according to the directions, the cleaner does what it supposed to do. HOWEVER, if it does break down in a few months, i will come back and write another review. because it seems like a lot of people say it works great at first, then breaks down. i hope this doesnt happen to me. i think if you clean the machine properly after each use, it might last longer. because even though i did vaccuum beforehand, it still pulled up a lot of debris and hair. this item was cheaper and had more attachments and extras than the other home stores. also, would have given 5 stars but im waiting to see if it breaks down.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:November 10, 2008

Did we get a lemon?

Pros: easy to use
Cons: heavy
"This is the second one we've owned, our first worked great for about five years and then we broke it while moving. We immediately bought a replacement at Costco. It had been redesigned, but still had all the basic features. However, this one does not work nearly as well--the cleaning solution drips after it's turned off and the vacuum hardly suctions any water out of the carpet. I'm planning to call Bissell to find out if we've gotten a lemon, otherwise we'll probably take this back."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 21, 2008

A must have for any home

"I absolutely loved my Bissell ProHeat carpet cleaner. I had to rent a Rug Doctor recently because I left my Bissell at my parents house and I must say I MUCH preferred the Bissell to the commercial brand. It's easier to use, move around and it will clean as you push it forward instead of only being able to pull it backward like the rental. Not to mention the excellent idea of storing the cleaner and water separate so you can easily switch from soapy cleaning water to just water for the rinse cycle and waste no chemicals! The long hose feature was very useful as well. I was able to shampoo out two different cars and they looked and smelled fantastic afterward."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 1, 2008

Does an outstanding job!

Pros: deep cleaning
Cons: small bladder
"Picked this up because my boyfriend is allergic to my kitties and I need to minimize dander. I was very pleased with the removable water tank and how quickly it heats up. The bladder is small and you need to change it pretty often, on the other hand, the waste water is pretty dirty by the time the bladder empties and you'd need to change it anyway."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 12, 2009
Pros: dryaire
Model Number: 9300-1
"I used my cleaner for the first time this weekend and really like how easy it is to use the Bissell. I especially like the features the Costco model has at a great price. I hope my machine doesn't turn out to be a lemon like others' who reviewed.
I've used a different model before, though, and it was easier to see the liquid being dispensed/vacuumed up--you have to look "over the top" on this model. The other model also had an indicator to let you know if the clean water/formula ran out--this one doesn't seem to have an indicator."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 23, 2009

what a disappointment

Pros: lots of hose attachments
Cons: cleanup afterwords is difficult
Model Number: 9300-M
"I bought this a couple of years ago thinking it would better and more convenient than a rental. It's never worked properly. As the vacuum is pushed back and forth across the carpet it drips tons of dirty spots. I've taken it apart (what a pain!) and completely cleaned it out but it still drips. Don't bother trying to go over the area again to suck them up, it just drips more with each stroke and the suction isn't strong enough to get most of the cleaning solution out of your carpet, so the carpets get dirty again very quickly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pocatello, ID
Date:March 26, 2009

Awesome cleaner!

"I am very pleased with my purchase of this carpet cleaner, I have borrowed cleaners, and rented them as well, and haven't had a great experience with either. This cleaner is so easy to use, and actually not too hard to clean. The trick is to clean out any particals that might be in it when you refill the water and cleaner. I think the belly is the perfect size, because it isn't very heavy when full, and you don't have several different belly's to move if you need to empty the dirty water, or refill the cleaning water, because they are in the same are. I do think that the cleaning dispenser could be a little bigger, because I had to refill that everytime I emptied/refilled the belly. The unit itself isnt too heavy, and I can carry it up and down stairs easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 31, 2009

cleans well, but the clean up....

Pros: cleans well
Cons: small tank, difficult cleanup
"Works well, cleans as well as a rental cleaner. That being said, the cleanup afterward is a nightmare. Bring your tool belt, because you'll have to undo about a dozen screws to clean out the brushes. The tank in tank design is neat, but dirt gets caught under the clean water bladder and makes it difficult to rinse out. This design also makes the water tank small, good for about a 10' by 10' room. The hand held power brush is worthless, as it only rotates if you are not using the suction for vacuuming the water. I'd give it more stars, but the engineer who designed this thing was more interested in it looking like an upright vacuum than being easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 2, 2009

Not worth the money!

"After getting tired of having to borrow our mother's cleaner all the time, we went to Costco and bought this cleaner. Hers is over 10 years old and works better than this one!! The suction does not work well and leaves the carpet wet even with the heaters that blow air on the side. But the biggest problem is that the hand tools quit spraying water. After having this for 1 day I had to call Bissell about the problem. They told me to take it to a repair shop!!! IT WAS ONE DAY OLD! I returned it to Costco and now have the same problem with this one. Save your money and time! Dont buy this product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2009

Did what it should

Pros: cleans well
Cons: water resevoir a little small
Model Number: 9300-1
"Sceptical at first based on previous reviews, but had to buy because of leaky puppy. Found if you read the manual and follow the directions it works. Used a lot of cleaner at first, then realized had it set to Heavy Traffic. It picked up stains that regular carpet spot cleaners wouldn't and one that professional cleaner didn't. Did not need to take apart to clean like mentioned in other reviews, if you have spray nozzle on sink you can rinse out pretty easily. Also glad this was at Costco for $60-$100 cheaper than in other home stores. Would be nice if it also came with hard floor attachment, but that is cheap to buy. Would also be nice if had second water resevoir included so helper could be filling and emptying so would not have to stop while cleaning to do so, lasted for a small/medium room. Even with that, it was easy to empty and refill."
Review 20 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Turbo w/ DryAire and Microban
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:STATEN ISLAND NY
Date:February 20, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

Pros: color
Cons: poorly designed, inefficient, heavy
Model Number: BISSELL 9300-1 CLEANER
"PURCHASED WITHOUT BENEFIT OF REVIEWS IN AUGUST, 2008. WORKED SOMETIMES DISPENSING DETERGENT; SUCTION INEFFICIENT; WEIGHT OF MACHINE DIFFICULT TO PUSH AROUND; AND UTILITY HOSE WAS USELESS. I INTEND TO RETURN IT TO COSTCO, AS BISSEL TOLD ME TO CHECK VARIOUS PARTS WHICH I DID AND IT STILL DOES NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>