Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver

SmartTouch Contour Technology
Average Customer Rating:
2.846 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
7 of 13(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Havana, Fl (near Tallahassee)
Date:February 13, 2009

Norelco Shaver's are the best

Pros: great shave!, quick charge., easy to clean!, many shaves on a single charge
Cons: not made for replacing battery
Model Number: 8175XL
"This is my second Norelco Shaver. My 6865 XL died this year after about 10 years. I had tried other brands, as had my 92 year old Father. This review is actually for the essentially same 8175XL, that Costco offered on discount after Christmas. I was always happy with my 6865 unless I went a couple of days without shaving and it would not pick up all facial hair on those occasions. I am pleased to say the 8175 passed this test, so it is an actual improvement over the earlier model. It is quiet and provides me with a perfectly clean shave every time. My only criticism of Norelco is that the battery is not easily replaceable. My battery died long before the motor on my old one and I just used it plugged in all the time. You can find instructions for doing so on the web if you have a soldering station. I would like Norelco have a program to refurbish and recycle their razors and donate them to mental hospitals or prisons."
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2009

This is not your fathers shaver.

"I bought this shaver because of a rebate. I needed to have an on the run ability to shave. Without the usual lather and razor routine. I was willing to try it. The last time I had an electric shaver was 15 years ago and it didn't really deliver what it promised. So far, after two weeks of ownership, I have been pleasantly surprised. It gives a close enough shave. It doesn't leave my skin battered, raw or itchy as with previous shavers. I would recommend this shaver without hesitation. After a week, I even threw away the box it came in, having no intention of returning it."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:December 10, 2009

Poor quality

Pros: couldn't find one
Cons: very poor quality and not expected to last long., disappointed, flimsy plastic head support
Model Number: Speed XL
"I purchased this shaver believing it was at least as good as the previous model from Costco a few years ago. It was not! When I opened up the package, I found it to be very light, meaning the batteries were of low quality and low mA and would not last. The included instruction manual barely touched on this shaver and was written for the more expensive one. I called tech support to get some clarifications on the initial charge and his explanations were not covered in the manual, but were very important for battery life. This shaver is of poor quality and the offer of 2 heads tells me the heads do not last as they recommend they be disposed of after only one year. I am not going buy Norelco shavers again since their quality has steadily fallen over the years. I have been a Norelco user for over 20 years, but no more."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:boston, ma
Date:September 29, 2009

i'm not happy

Pros: great up to one year
Cons: not reliable
Model Number: speed-XL
"when i purchased this razor i found it to be light weight and a close shaver. worked great but after one year a light comes on so you can buy new heads at $56.00. my old shaver lasted five years with the same heads. now the shaver can't hold a charge. at times i can't shut it off until the batt dies."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:May 16, 2010

Norelco is the next General Motors

Pros: quiet
Cons: razor burn
"They went from producing the best electric razors to an unacceptable product. This razor burns your face. Even the top of the line model has less features than my old Norelco that lasted 7 years. I do not work for a competitor of Norelco and am sorry such great company is going downhill so fast, at least from a customer satisfaction perspective."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 10, 2009

Good, but beware

Pros: performs well
Cons: may have quality issues.
Model Number: 8175
"I've been using Norelco shavers since I began shaving, many many years ago. They have always performed amazingly well. I bought this one last Christmas and it just died in time for this Christmas. Maybe it's just unusual, all my other Norelcos lasted for several years. In fact, my last Norelco 6865 is still working fine so I will probably just go back to that one. I don't know if something has recently changed with Norelco quality but since I have been a loyal Norelco guy I will still give it 3 stars."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Date:August 21, 2009

Cheap/fragile Plastic parts

Model Number: 8270xl
"When you remove the three circular heads to clean, the parts are arranged by the cheap plastic fittings, which are very fragile. Just remove the heads to clean one time and you will be surprised.
The shaver looks great from outside but beware....."
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 2, 2009

Great product

Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Model Number: Speed XL Shaver
"Quiet and Very efficient razor. I can not see why anyone would pay more because you could not get a better shave. Costco buyers know what to get, and they did a great job adding this to their line..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:April 10, 2009

Great Shave/Features

Pros: great shave
Cons: isn't an ipod too
Model Number: 8270
"Excellent product. Great shave for an electric razor and useful, easy-to-use features.
It's not a waxing, but it's awfully good."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 21, 2010

Norelco no more

Pros: none
Cons: garbage products
"I have always been a loyal brand shopper. However over the years I have seen the quality of Norelco products diminish. The last one I bought did not even last me a whole year before the battery went dead. They do not make them like they used to and they will lose loyal customers. Norelco NO MORE"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009

Great way to save money!

Pros: saves a lot of money, great for travel, gets the job done, shaves over facial moles w/o cutting them
Cons: takes a little more time
Model Number: Norelco 8270XL
"Times are tight, and I was sick of paying $38 every month on disposable razors. Between not having to buy razors and shaving cream, I figure I am saving about $400 per year!
That's a car payment.
I also travel a lot for work, and it is great for that. Has a travel mode, and has enough power for five days without recharging. It also means I don't have to pack shaving cream or razors!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 7, 2010

Lousy Product

Pros: quiet, easy to clean
Cons: everything else
Model Number: Norelco 8245 speed XL
"After using Norelco products for years, I decided to retire the old shaver and upgrade to the new and improved model. Ordered this 8245 from Costco.com, charged it up and looked forward to the new generation of shaving! What a let-down. My old $45 Norelco did a better job. I used the speed XL for 4 months and finally returned it to Costco for a refund. I am now back using my old model."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Speed XL Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Morristown, NJ
Date:September 5, 2009

Great for shaving my head

Model Number: 8270XL
"I bought this for shaving both my head and face. Working great for my head/neck, getting used to it for my face."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.