Customer Reviews for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum

Sealed HEPA System, Power Paw Turbo, 10 Bags, On/Off Brush Roll
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
36 of 50(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 27, 2009
Pros: cleans carpet well
Cons: way too heavy and hard to push
"I bought this because of the mostly positive reviews, but have been disappointed from the beginning. While it cleans carpets fairly well, it's so heavy and hard to push that my kids (ages 11 and 14) have a very hard time using it, and I have a hard time as well. Plus, after having it for less than a year it just won't even turn on any more. I'm sure it's not worth it to have it fixed."
Review 2 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita CA
Date:December 14, 2009

Like vacumming with a TANK!!!

Cons: heavy, difficult to turn
"Purchased this after reading all the good reviews. So dissapointed. It is WAY TOO HEAVY and awkward. If I pushed it in a "long" path of 10 feet, it "took" off on its own power, however I usually vacuum in the "back-and-forth" method, which is impossible with this monster! Will be returning item.
This is a Man Vac!
"
Review 3 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2009

this is a good vacuum but it keeps breaking!

Model Number: eureka 4870mzx
"I love this vacuum when it works!! I have replaced 3 in the past three years. One a year. I am returning the 3rd one today I bought it in March. I wish they would last longer."
Review 4 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ashburn VA
Date:November 24, 2009

This is the best....

"I used to have a cleaning business and have used many types of vacuum cleaners. This Eureka is great. Best feature of all, is the ease of using the hose and attachments when needed. No major reassembly--it's all there at the flip of a switch. And after emptying a couple of bagless cleaners--I would always opt for the bag. Yes, the foot switch is stubborn and the casing isn't top of the line, but I've had this vacuum for 5 years--and it's still running strong. A great price for an excellent vacuum cleaner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 17, 2009

Great vacuum but....

"I have been using this vacuum for nearly 4 years....BUT after a year of use I have to return each one (total of 4 vacuums I have been through) because the nossle on the hose chips and breaks (and I am so careful with it), and the hose rips near the nossle, and the hose won't stay in place while vacuuming. I guess my only complaint is the hose. Actually on the second one I owned the belt snapped after using it 5 times. It actually sucks everything up and it makes my carpets look really clean. I would recommend this to others, but I wish they would redesign the hose and how it sits on the vacuum. If you are looking for a vacuum that does a great job, and you are willing to replace it every year then this is the vacuum for you. Otherwise, you should go with somethign else."
Review 6 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Date:November 10, 2009

Great Vacuum!

"I, too, have had a number of vacuums. I was worried about purchasing this Eureka due to the reviews that stated that it was heavy. I have had numerous spine surgeries, yet this vacuum does not bother my back. It cleans great; it cleans better than more expensive vacuums. At this point, I do not see any down side that it is made of plastic. I do agree the cord it a little short, but given the price, this is a fair trade-off. I highly recommend this vacuum, especially at this price."
Review 7 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2009

Best Vacuum Ever Owned but died after...

"I have tried at least 6 vacuums from Costco and the best I've gotten is the Eureka Boss. It was not heavy and did not hurt my back. Light weight and did the job. But after almost 1 year to date of owning the vacuum the motor died. No reason. Just died. Costco said there is a two year warrenty so I would purchase this vacuum again."
Review 8 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:October 18, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: good suction
Cons: difficult to maneuver, cheap construction
Model Number: Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
"I've been searching for a good bagged vacuum and came across the many positive reviews for this vacuum cleaner. I found it to be VERY difficult to turn and it was close to impossible to use the foot pedal to lower it. The construction is also very cheap."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Folsom CA
Date:October 16, 2009

below average vacuum cleaner

Pros: cheap
Cons: heavy, cheap plastic, brush control is inconvinient
Model Number: 4870 mZX
"This model rated "best buy" , but only best is the price. I guess you get what you paid for. It is heavy, the plastic is cheap, power cord is short and flexible hose is not staying inplace while it is not in use. The suction power is decent but this is the only good thing, besides the price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:crown point, IN
Date:October 16, 2009

best vacuum, good performance

Pros: great vacuum nice color and good price
Cons: i dont think there is anything bad about it
Model Number: 4870mzx
"in past three years we owned two vacuum but did not do good job, but then according to consumer report, we bought this model and it works great. our 20 year old carpet looks brand new, it sucks so much dirt from the bottom of the carpet too, it is little heavy but once you start vacuuming it goes by itself, we have two birds in the house and shed so much feathers, but with this vacuum it does the job, we recommend this product to everyone who is looking for best product for the lower price."
Review 11 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

Great Suction, Great Value

"There's no need to spend $300-$500 on a vacuum. This one has better suction than my mom and dad's Dyson, and comes with all the great features. All the tools you would ever need, HEPA filtration, and you don't have to deal with the mess that comes with a bagless.
We had issues finding a vacuum with the right carpet height adjustment for our carpet; the choices were either too short or too long. The Eureka has seven height adjustment options including bare floor. It does a beautiful job on our carpet; they look like new again! It is also very gentle on our wood floors. You can turn the beater bar off when doing bare floors and while using the tools.
A concern of mine was that it would be too heavy and that it isn't self-propelled. It doesn't seem too heavy to me, and even though it is not self-propelled, it feels like it wants to move forward by itself on the carpet.
The only flaw I can find is that the cord seems a little shorter than on our old Windtunnel.
Overall, we're very happy with our purchase -- great vacuum at an outstanding price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Novi, MI
Date:September 24, 2009

reliable unlike hoover

Pros: keeps running like it should
Cons: tool suction could be better
"I bought this after 2 hoovers in a row started to have trouble. based on consumer reports this is a best buy for value although not the number 1 vaccum."
Review 13 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 13, 2009

Great vacuum, strong suction

Pros: strong suction, easy to assemble, cleans great
Cons: may be heavy for some, loud
Model Number: 4870 MZX-2
"This is a great vacuum. It has the strongest suction of any vacuum I have ever owned! Works great for picking up dog hair. Easy to assemble with only 3 screws. This vacuum is heavy, and some people may find it difficult to use...girlfriend called it a "man vac"."
Review 14 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missoula, MT
Date:September 3, 2009

Wow- Great Suction!

"My carpets look new again. I am very pleased. Better than Dyson and 1/3 of the price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Date:August 29, 2009

Eureka! Indeed!

Pros: a real cleaning machine!
Cons: absolutely nothing!
Model Number: 4870MZX
"Wow! A vacuum that actually works! Easy to put together (took about 10 minutes), on-board tools (especially the PowerPaw) fit compactly against the machine. Suction really does clean/refresh the carpet - fluffs it back to new condition. It's a substantial machine, but to get this kind of cleaning, don't see how you could get any lighter weight - although it is lighter than our old Bagless Dirt Devil Vision. I found it's sort of self-propelled which makes vacuuming faster and easier on the back. It's also at least 50% quieter than our old bagless (my dogs are relieved with this feature, literally) and 100% better cleaning than our old bagless. I'm particularly happy with having a bagged vacuum once again...the bagless created more 'allergens' in cleaning the canister than it ever removed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2009

WAY too heavy

"I consider myself a fairly strong person. This vacuum is WAY to heavy to lug around and awkward because of its size. Won't even fit under my dining table without tipping backwards. Wish I could return it."
Review 17 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:July 18, 2009

Makes Carpet Soft to Touch!

"This is a very good vacuum. It really gets in there and cleans carpets and rugs deeply. The carpets and rugs seem to fluff and become soft to walk on...it's a pleasure! The vacuum almost looks like it restores carpet to their former glory; the color brightens and looks practically new again. This vacuum gets everything up the first time around. The only con is that it is a heavy vacuum and can give you a workout; also, one attachment keeps popping out of place. Other than that, this vacuum is an excellent buy!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MIDWEST
Date:July 8, 2009

BEST VACUUM I'VE EVER OWNED! GREAT FOR PETS!

Pros: powerful vacuum
Cons: tools don't stay in place, hose or wand could be longer
Model Number: 4870MZX
"IT REALLY VACUUMS, REALLY. I HAVE A LONG HAIRED CAT AND A DOG. THIS VACUUMS UP ALL THE HAIR, SPILLED FOOD, SPILLED LITTER, DOG FOOT STUFF FROM OUTSIDE.
I DON'T CARE IF IT IS LOUD, DOESN'T SEEM SO TO ME, BUT IF IT WAS, I WOULD NOT CARE.
IT VACUUMS UP THINGS THAT WOULD CLOG OR SLOW OTHER VACUUMS.
I AM AFRAID THAT COSTCO WON'T CARRY THEM ALWAYS AND AM THINKING OF GETTING ANOTHER FOR UPSTAIRS."
Review 19 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 20, 2009

Best bagged vacuum

Pros: great value for money., heavy built.
Cons: doesn't have cleaning brush for fan blinds., bit noisy., bit heavy especially for ladies.
"Own this for more than 2-3 months now. I bought bagless vacuum first but it was so messy to clean. This one is perfect. Does very nice of cleaning. Accessories are perfect to reach the places you want to clean."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:May 22, 2009

GREAT Vacuum!

Pros: price, suction, results
Cons: foot pedal
Model Number: 4870 MZX
"We have tried many vacuums and the Eureka 4870 is by far the best. It lives up to the best buy rating. I am amazed how it makes our carpets look like new after we vacuum. I also think it does a good job on bare floors also. I have 2 bigs dogs, and the vacuum does a great job with the hair. I will say the foot pedal to release the vac from the upright position, is a little hard, but not hard enough to make me get rid of the vac. No problems with any height adjustments or anything else. the pros far outweigh the cons. I would recommend this vac to anyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>