Customer Reviews for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum

Sealed HEPA System, Power Paw Turbo, 10 Bags, On/Off Brush Roll
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
36 of 50(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 2, 2009

3 Years Excellent Performance

Pros: quiet, reliable, convenient, big bags
Cons: manual beater brush on/off
Model Number: Eureka 4870
"We have had this model for 3 years with no problems AT ALL! We have never changed a belt, never had a clog and never had anything break. It may be a little heavier than some other cheaper models but with the beater bar set correctly, it definitely helps pull it forward and the large rear wheels are great. It is quieter than all others we have used.
What most do not know about this model is that the dirt bypasses the motor fan so if you happen to suck up a rock (a tiny piece of cement ruined our previous Hoover) or other bad item, it goes directly into the bag and can't hurt the motor.
If you manually turn off the beater brush, it works very well on wood, tile or bare floors. The hose is high quality and comes from the bottom so stretching it doesn't tip the unit over easily. The accessory storage is nicely designed for quick access and a quick turn of the high-mounted floor/hose knob is very convenient. The beater bar is automatically raised off the carpet when in the upright locked position - great when using the tools. Bags are BIG.
We are very happy with it and have bought this model for family who also love it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:January 22, 2009

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: powerful consistent suction, easy to use and maneuver, great price
"This is the best vacuum I've owned. The cons of it being heavy or hard to maneuver?, that's from the suction on the pull back, it practically drives itself on the push forward. My two stepdaughters; 10 and 12 handle it with ease. If you're having problems maneuvering this vacuum, try sit to be fit on the senior channel and then you should be able to use this vacuum without complaining
We have a yellow lab that sheds heavy, this vacuum has the coolest attachments to handle the problem, again, the suction is the best I've seen, I love this product and have no regrets.
One major point of interest, our bagless would fill up the bottom of the the canister, as the dog hair would accumulate, the suction would decrease making you have to continually empty the canister before it was half way full. With this bagged unit, it fills in from the top so the suction is consistent and stays strong until the bag is filled.
If you want a vacuum that works great, get over the small stuff and get this unit.
Handle release seems difficult at first but just has a quick disconnect mechanism, you don't have to step real hard on the release as you think you might."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

Great Suction, Great Value

"There's no need to spend $300-$500 on a vacuum. This one has better suction than my mom and dad's Dyson, and comes with all the great features. All the tools you would ever need, HEPA filtration, and you don't have to deal with the mess that comes with a bagless.
We had issues finding a vacuum with the right carpet height adjustment for our carpet; the choices were either too short or too long. The Eureka has seven height adjustment options including bare floor. It does a beautiful job on our carpet; they look like new again! It is also very gentle on our wood floors. You can turn the beater bar off when doing bare floors and while using the tools.
A concern of mine was that it would be too heavy and that it isn't self-propelled. It doesn't seem too heavy to me, and even though it is not self-propelled, it feels like it wants to move forward by itself on the carpet.
The only flaw I can find is that the cord seems a little shorter than on our old Windtunnel.
Overall, we're very happy with our purchase -- great vacuum at an outstanding price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 23, 2008

I love this vacuum!

Pros: superb carpet cleaning, awesome for pet hair
Cons: a little bit heavy
Model Number: Eureka Boss Smart Vac 4870
"I received this vacuum as a gift after it became known that I was planning to purchase this particular model from Costco based on Consumer Report Best Buy recommendations. Bottom line: this vacuum is exceptional...and just plain awesome.
For major pet hair cleaning and general dust, no other vacuum can touch this. The dust bags and filters do an excellent job of containing dust particles until required replacement, which is good for those who suffer with allergy sensitivities. The various attachments work well and this vacuum has a long cord. For its effectiveness and for the price, this Eureka vacuum cannot be beat."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Date:February 1, 2009

Calling All Dog Owners

"I have a new puppy that sheds like it's her job. My old vacuum recently died in the fight against dog hair. This vacuum totally rocks my socks off. If you have a pet that sheds, you need this machine. It's not nearly as heavy as some of these reviews made it out to be and you would never guess I have a shedding beast living in my house when you look at my carpets.
I used to have a bag-less vacuum, but it was impossible to keep clean. Pet hair + static made a huge mess. I like having a bag and these bags seem to keep all dirt/hair contained.
Don't hesitate with this purchase."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago suburbs
Date:November 2, 2008

So far a great decision

"We purchased the Eureka 4870MZX Boss at Costco about 2 months ago after quite a bit of research. Consumer Reports said it had the best suction power for the price, and we have a dog and 2 cats so that is important. The vac does not disappoint. It really grabs the carpet and does a great job on dirt and hair. The power paw attachment is also very effective on the stairs. We are very pleased."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:October 27, 2008

GREAT Vacuum Cleaner

Pros: bags are easy to change., great suction! really picks up the dirt, the hepa filter leaves the air clean!, it is relatively quiet., bags really contain the dust
Cons: it is a bit heavy., it can be a little difficult to manuver.
"This is the beat vacuum cleaner I have ever owned. It uses bags instead of those dust spreading collection cups. It is a bit heavy, but I have never found a good vacuum cleaner that wasn't. A really great buy!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:May 21, 2009

Really Loud

Pros: vacuums well, nice red color
Cons: very noisy, difficult to recline, hard to push, accessories don't attach easily for keepsake
Model Number: Eureka 4870MZX
"The product vacuums well, however I have several issues with the design. First, it is extremely loud when the carpet brush is running regardless of brush height. Also, the lower left hand button used to recline the vacuum from the upright position is very difficult to push. You need to have shoes on and push with a lot of force. The vacuum is very hard to maneuver and vacuuming becomes tiresome. Finally, one of the accessories never fit in the designated holding position for keepsake. Thus, it needs to reside in a drawer. I do not recommend this vacuum."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Date:August 29, 2009

Eureka! Indeed!

Pros: a real cleaning machine!
Cons: absolutely nothing!
Model Number: 4870MZX
"Wow! A vacuum that actually works! Easy to put together (took about 10 minutes), on-board tools (especially the PowerPaw) fit compactly against the machine. Suction really does clean/refresh the carpet - fluffs it back to new condition. It's a substantial machine, but to get this kind of cleaning, don't see how you could get any lighter weight - although it is lighter than our old Bagless Dirt Devil Vision. I found it's sort of self-propelled which makes vacuuming faster and easier on the back. It's also at least 50% quieter than our old bagless (my dogs are relieved with this feature, literally) and 100% better cleaning than our old bagless. I'm particularly happy with having a bagged vacuum once again...the bagless created more 'allergens' in cleaning the canister than it ever removed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:April 20, 2009

Great Vacuum, Good Price

Pros: great suction, excellent air filter, stylish design, handle is easy to grip and pull, many carpet height adjustments, useful attachments - have used all of them
"I purchased another vacuum that was twice the price before purchasing this one and it did not do the great job this vacuum does.
While I have not tried it on hard floors (I use a swiffer), it works amazingly on carpet and rugs. We have a pet and therefore a lot of shedding. It does a great job picking up pet hair and other stuff. Makes carpet look new again.
The bag last a lot longer than any other vacuum I've owned. The filter does a great job too. Really like how you just turn the knob to access your attachment hose and that is also very powerful - great on stairs and car mats.
Been using it the past 4 months, no problems. Highly recommend!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:May 22, 2009

GREAT Vacuum!

Pros: price, suction, results
Cons: foot pedal
Model Number: 4870 MZX
"We have tried many vacuums and the Eureka 4870 is by far the best. It lives up to the best buy rating. I am amazed how it makes our carpets look like new after we vacuum. I also think it does a good job on bare floors also. I have 2 bigs dogs, and the vacuum does a great job with the hair. I will say the foot pedal to release the vac from the upright position, is a little hard, but not hard enough to make me get rid of the vac. No problems with any height adjustments or anything else. the pros far outweigh the cons. I would recommend this vac to anyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 28, 2008

Bad design, worse quality

Pros: good suction
Cons: poorly designed, cheaply made, heavy, hard to maneuver
"Usually I stick to not saying anything at all when a product is bad but in this case seeing the Consumers Digest Best Buy endorsement I felt I had to warn other purchasers of what they are getting. This product is made very cheaply. The plastic is thin, the vaccuum is bulky and the cord comes out very low on the vaccuum so you are either constantly stepping on it or bending all the way to the floor to pick it up. The attachment hose does not stay in its track on the vaccuum and the attachments have a tendency to fall off. The only positive I comment I can make is that this vaccuum really sucks. (It has a powerful motor.) I would avoid this product based off of my experience and other user reviews as well."
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:July 18, 2009

Makes Carpet Soft to Touch!

"This is a very good vacuum. It really gets in there and cleans carpets and rugs deeply. The carpets and rugs seem to fluff and become soft to walk on...it's a pleasure! The vacuum almost looks like it restores carpet to their former glory; the color brightens and looks practically new again. This vacuum gets everything up the first time around. The only con is that it is a heavy vacuum and can give you a workout; also, one attachment keeps popping out of place. Other than that, this vacuum is an excellent buy!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:February 14, 2009

Worst vacuum I've ever owned

Cons: poor craftmanship
"Darn thing is heavy!! The hose is 2" too long & is CONSTANTLY falling off the holder. The cord is down so low on the base that you have to pick it up all the time and wrap it around your hand so you don't trip on it. The thing is very poorly designed.
I should have taken it right back, but it got such good Consumer Report scores I thought it would get better. Shame on me. Don't make the same mistake!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Bend Kansas
Date:November 20, 2008

Best vac. for the money

"I have a cleaning business and this vac. has the best performance and quality than any nasty canister vac. I have tried. The attatchments are handy, great suction and easy to change bags. I will use these as long as they stay affordable. When it is turned on you can hear the suction. Thanks for making a great and affordable vacuum."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2009

Good vacuum, but design could be better

Pros: good job on carpets
Cons: foot release difficult to use, hose comes off holder sometimes
Model Number: 4870MZX
"We purchased this vacuum online, but are returning it to Costco. This vacuum does do a good job on carpets, but the job on bare floors was marginal. Two levers on this vacuum are difficult to use. The foot release to unlock the vacuum from an upright position and the lever to move the vacuum from carpet to bare floors. Your foot has to be on the release pedal just so to get the vacuum to release from an upright position. Impossible to do in bare feet since the pedal is very stiff. Also, there is a hook to snap the cord into on the top of the handle during use to keep it out of the way, but it then makes it cumbersome to pull the hose attachment out for use since you have to maneuver it around the cord. Other reviewers are right that this vacuum has some weight to it, but it is probably comparable to other bagged uprights. We just decided that we didn't want to live with these flaws for the life of this vacuum."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:June 20, 2009

Best bagged vacuum

Pros: great value for money., heavy built.
Cons: doesn't have cleaning brush for fan blinds., bit noisy., bit heavy especially for ladies.
"Own this for more than 2-3 months now. I bought bagless vacuum first but it was so messy to clean. This one is perfect. Does very nice of cleaning. Accessories are perfect to reach the places you want to clean."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:October 30, 2008

GREAT PRICE, GREAT POWER, GOOD LOOKS

Pros: great suck, tool storage
Cons: no color choices
"I tried another vacuum for around 250 that was top rated by a leading consumer magazine... it lost a lot of suck in just the first two weeks. The "dirt sensor" never worked, and then there was the issue of the high frequency shrill buzz it made. I took it back and decided on the Smart Vac. It was my second choice. I should have just gotten it first. It is no less quality construction than the 250 vacuum. It has more suction, actually can pick things off bare floor unlike the other. I like how the tools fit on the vacuum so I don't have to go find them. I am completely happy with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:April 20, 2009

Best vac ever owned

Pros: good suction, easy to use, great color
Cons: power paw is useless if i am using correctly
Model Number: 4870MZX
"I bought the Eureka Model 4870MZ from Costco.com because it is the same color as my PT Cruiser. I've been using it almost everyday since I got it to be sure it was a keeper. And it is! Incredible suction. I can really see the difference in color of carpet. I am having problem with the Power Paw with riser visor.Seems to be useless as the brush stops rotating when any pressure is applied."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eureka 4870MZX Boss® SmartVac Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lafayette,CA
Date:December 7, 2008

Carpet Only

Pros: good on carpet
Cons: poor on wood floors
Model Number: 4870
"If you have hardwood floors this vac. is useless, It will blow more dirt away than it picks up. The air discharge is in the front. Good on carpets only."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>