Customer Reviews for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer

7 Amp Solar Charge Controller, 200 Watt Inverter, PVC Mounting Frame, Easy Installation
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
(out of 6 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 6(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 6, 2010

Powers My Amateur Radio Station

Pros: light weight
"I bought the 4 panel array over a year ago, along with a couple of Kirkland deep cycle batteries. My amateur radio station includes 2 100 watt HF transceivers and three 50 watt VHF/UHF transceivers that all require 12 volts. I can turn on all the radios all afternoon in receive mode and there are no problems. With a typical duty cycle (the amount of time you transmit versus receive) I have never run low, even in winter.
I have not used the inverter since DC is all I need.
The systems has survived the admittedly mild San Diego climate, including temperature over 100 in our area, some gusty winds, and winter rains.
For my purposes it is a good value solution.
To install it on a pitched roof I bought 1 1/2 inch conduit clamps as used in electrical installations. The wires from the panel are not the robust so getting some sort of wirewrap is a good cautionary measure."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2010

good for the money

"This product is good overall. Their were a couple exeptions though but I knew what I was doing when hooking this up.
1. The inverter is a real low quality. Went out within the first week of owning it.
2. The wires that attached to the batteries were real low quality that they just melted. Way to thin and the metal bent (Low quality)
3. The screws holding the thing together also rusted right away. Low qualitty.
Basically after upgrading these items to heavier duty I have not had any problems sense. The system works great. Just figure that you will probably have to put another $100 in upgrades"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:September 4, 2010

As good as a generator and much quieter!

Pros: very complete kit, easy to use
Cons: transporting them - we put them on the bed
"We took 2of the panels with us for a 3 week camping trip on the Baja. They kept the battery charged in our pickupcamper - so we could use our water pump, lights, and stereo.
Would probably need all 4 panels for a bigger RV. The screws are rusting a little but won't be a big deal to swap out. We've since used the panels for camping in Idaho and they work well in partial shade, although we reposition them as the sun moves thru the trees.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 25, 2010

Unreliable. Don't buy these.

Cons: unreliable
"Don't buy these. Unreliable. Of the total of seven panels I have tried, including warranty replacements, four have failed within months. It also took 4 months for them to send me the replacements, after they made me ship them to them in Quebec, Canada at my expense."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:February 24, 2011

Off grid since april 2010

Model Number: sunforce 60 watt
"we have been off grid since april 2010 it is now Feb 2011 aand have used these and a generator for power, i dont use he gen when there is sun the pannels and battery bank do the job"
Review 6 for Sunforce 60 Watt Solar Panel Back Up Power Kit with 1.8 Watt Solar Battery Maintainer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:December 17, 2008

Great Item

"Easy to assemble. Works in low light. Power increases as sun light increases. Better than expected."
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.