Customer Reviews for PetSTEP Pet Ramp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

PetSTEP Pet Ramp

Assorted Colors Available
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 29(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Review 1 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:October 5, 2009

Great Sturdy Big Dog Ramp

Pros: sturdy, great for big dogs, stows nicely
"We bought this ramp for our ageing 130 pound rottweiler, Guinness, to get in and our of our SUV. It worked wonderfully for him. It is sturdy, no bending or swaying and packed nicely into the car on trips. It is heavy, but it has to be in order to hold the weight it needs to. You do need to be careful of the hinges because they can pinch a finger if you are not careful. We knew this from others reviews and shared with my mother in-law, but she did still get pinched once. We really like how it folds in half and stows away nicely under the seat or along the side of the back of our SUV. We would highly recommend this ramp to others!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverton, NJ
Date:November 19, 2008

So Glad We Got This! It's PERFECT!

Pros: easily supports our 70 lb dog, instructions were very helpful
"Our 10 year old German Shepherd was diagnosed with cancer recently. We bought this to ease her access into & out of the SUV for daily treatments. Instructions are included which made her very comfortable with the ramp, even prior to her first use in the SUV. She's had it for a week now and is an old hand at it! The rubberized treads give the dog confidence that she won't slide. Like everyone says, you've got to pay attention when opening it because it would be easy to pinch or break your fingers. It folds in half and stands perfectly on the floor of the back seat of our SUV. It has well-suited our needs and we're very happy with our purchase."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:January 16, 2009

So glad we purchased this!

Pros: non-slip tred
"Our eight year old chocolate lab has had both rear knees replaced (TPLO surgeries). Jumping in our F-150 that sits so high off the ground was getting near impossible, and we did not want to risk her hurting her knees again anyway. We purchased this ramp, and it is WONDERFUL! The non-skid tred on it is great for our girl, and she learned to love and appreciate it almost immediately! It's a back-saver for my husband!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:February 20, 2010

works great!

Pros: very sturdy, easy to use, dog acts secure on surface after initial training
Cons: bulky to store in car
"Purchased this online somewhere else :( (thought it was a good deal until I found it here after the fact for $25 less, oops) I have an older Lab that has difficulty jumping into my small SUV. Was not fun lifting her in and out of the car. I took the time to do the suggested training first and it made a HUGE difference in the ease of getting her to accept this ramp. She is a shy rescue dog and now goes up and down like a champ! I had a ramp that was a telescoping one and the surface was somewhat slippery, not wide enough and no outer lip to it, dogs were timid to use it, so I gave it away! This one has a nice grippy rubber-like surface but not like sandpaper so won't take off the skin on their pads. You DO have to be careful when folding and unfolding the ramp to not pinch your fingers but there is a clear "warning" sticker on it. It can be a bit bulky to stash in the car, but overall was a GREAT purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2009

2 Thumbs Up

"We use fully extended on vehicle and folded in half for the side rail on our bed. Definitely getting our money's worth. Our three dogs weight range is 75-155lbs."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:March 31, 2010

Love it! Great price, great product.

Pros: sturdy, easy for dogs to use, great price
"This ramp is sturdy enough for the largest of dogs. We had no problem at all getting our dogs to use it, they feel safe with the texture of the ramp when climbing up and down. People complain about the weight of the ramp... but it's nothing compared to trying to pick up a 100 lbs of wriggling dog. I've been using it so long that I'm used to picking it up the same way every time so I don't pinch my fingers in it. After I get them in the SUV, I use it as a barrier in the vehicle to separate our dogs that don't get along very well. I have never felt the need to use the spring thingy to keep it closed, I prop it up against the wall in the garage when I'm not using it. I have had several people pull over to ask me where I got the ramp. I've never seen it in any store for a price this good. This ramp will really help dogs that can't jump into a vehicle, and save their shoulders when getting out of the vehicle. Not to mention saving their owner's back!"
Review 7 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:October 20, 2008

Excellent Dog Ramp!

Pros: non-slip surface, sturdy will not bend, folds easily
Cons: latch tip broke off
"We purchased this ramp from Costco over 3 years ago and it has had heavy use from our 100 lb Golden Retriever. Well made and has an excellent non-slip surface. Although not as light-weight as a few other designs, it is still manageable and does not bend in the middle as some lesser designs will do.
However, the molded hook at the entry of the ramp that holds the spring used to latch it in the folded position broke off about after one year of use. This piece hits the ground when opening and needs to be stronger. But were so happy with all other aspects of this ramp that it's a minor issue.
Highly recommended!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:April 28, 2009

Works like a charm

"We bought this for our Catahoula, the back seat of our F350 is too high for him to jump in. I was straining my back by picking up his back legs while he climbed in with his front legs. The ramp works great. Tucker was a little leary the first time he tried it, but I followed the simple training instructions that came with the ramp. Now he just trots up the ramp and steps into the back seat. It's easy and safe for him and me both. The ramp appears to be well made, it's easy to clean, and stores easily in the truck bed. It is very sturdy for large dogs, but not too heavy to handle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:August 14, 2009

Reliable pet ramp

"This ramp is not slippery and my dog (70# Malamute mix) has taken to it fairly well. She has a tendency to try to use her nails when going up and even then she doesn't slip.
Downsides - the ramp is heavy. i usually open it on the ground then drag the end up to the back of my SUV. I am reasonably strong & don't have an issue with lifting it.
The biggest downside to pet ramps in general is that once you're going somewhere, where do you put the pet ramp, especially if the car is full? We use it less than I'd like because of this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:June 24, 2009

Best Quality Ramp I Have Ever Found

Pros: extremely sturdy
Cons: watch your fingers when folding or moving
"This ramp is the best. In my shop we use the ramp all day long. It's so sturdy dogs feel totally comfortable using it. The rubber surface and treads prevents slipping unlike those covered in carpet. And it is easily cleaned and disinfected without affecting the finish. I have had mine for 3 years it is used daily and looks just as good as when I bought it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 27, 2008

Teach old dog new trick

Pros: stable and wide
"Great product. Have to be careful not to pinch fingers when folding up, but there's a large hole to use that prevents finger injury. Not too heavy for an old lady to use, except when trying to put it in the bag by myself. My 14 yr. old blind Border Collie was easily trained to use the ramp and now wants to go everywhere with me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tiburon, Ca.
Date:October 17, 2008

The best friend for my best friend!

"My German shepherd loves it for getting in and out of my F150 and my bass boat (we got the floats from their website later). It’s very light, easy to open and close, doesn’t hold any odors, and is real easy to clean off any dirt or mud. I also use it for my Yamaha dirt bike. Works great! I highly recommend it!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

Worth the money

"This ramp takes the stress of getting my aging Labarador retriever in and out of my SUV. She walked up it on the 1st try and I don't have to worry about trying to lift her into the car & hurting my back. It's durable, manageable and has optional legs so it can be made into a table."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:February 23, 2009

Convenient dog ramp

Pros: works well and dog uses.
Cons: plastic sides appear brittle and can break
"Item works well. Had no problem getting our dog to use going up and down. Arrived with a piece of plastic broken on the exposed folded end which is not seen during use."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Missouri
Date:May 29, 2009

I recommended it to our dogs' vet!

Pros: lightweight sturdy and stable.
Cons: careful with the fingers when folding!
"After researching pet ramps and reading other Costco members' reviews here online, I ordered the gray one. Our dogs used it nearly immediately. Since the ramp supports 500 lbs., we will be able to use it for other things too. My favorite use will undoubtedly be for the dog wash grooming station we also bought online from Costco. When our mobile vet came yesterday because one of our dogs has a respiratory virus, I felt this ramp was so good that I recommended it to him! He was happy to hear about it too!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:October 12, 2009

Nice ramp

"This is a good deal for the price.
I purchased it for my 5 month old pup (who needs hip surgery) and he learned it in about 5 minutes.
My older lab is using it too now.
It is a little heavy at 18.5lbs, but much easier to lift than a 50lb and growing dog.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:March 18, 2010

Good Battering Ram

Pros: works
Cons: 10 pounds too heavy, watch your fingers, mickey mouse spring-tie, did i say this thing is heavy?
"I don't know for the life of me why this thing has got to be so heavy. There are materials such as aluminum and other design options they could have used to keep the weight under control. This is totally brute-force method to arrive at strength.
It's about 10 pounds heavier than it ought to be, has a jaw like a crocodile to pinch your hand when you fold it. Oh, by the way, the spring-tie to keep it closed is really mickey mouse. I will buy a beer for any one who hasn't popped it after 10 uses.
Unfortunately, I don't have time to do major research on available options and try each one of them. So I am keeping it -- for now.
I thought Costco would do the selection for me and make the best available. If this is the best, all I have to say is I am sorely disappointed. Not sure whether at Costco, or at this contraption."
Review 18 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 1, 2009

A Godsend for Traveling Dogs

Pros: heavy duty/strong for large breeds, skid strips help prevent dog slipping, easy to clean, easy to store in a jeep, the dog loves it
"I ordered this after my Bern. Mountain dog had surgery and it has been a life saver! Without this ramp I would never have been able to get her to doctor's appointments, swim therapy, etc. She used steps before the surgery but I believe she now prefers this method. It is easier on everyone -- including the dog. People have actually stopped me in parking lots to ask me where I ordered the ramp - it is THAT GOOD!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:May 26, 2009

Works Great for Large Dogs

Pros: handles large dogs, ribbed flooring
Cons: slightly narrow
"We purchased this to replace a dog ramp product from another vendor - the other product was difficult to set up and broke after several weeks of use. This unit is much easier to store and set up for use, since it simply unfolds. Our dogs (BullMastiff @ 165lbs and English Mastiff @ 175lbs) seem comfortable with the ribbed walkway. Overall, excellent product and handles large dogs easily!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lake Tapps,Washington
Date:July 12, 2009

Good idea, but not the best

Pros: solid construction
Cons: heavy and awkward
"It is strong and well built, but overly heavy making it awkward to use easily, and if you are not careful, can get your hand pinched. There is a lighter weight version I have replaced it with."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>