Customer Reviews for PetSTEP Pet Ramp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

PetSTEP Pet Ramp

Assorted Colors Available
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 29(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Review 1 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:April 5, 2010

Great Product

"I've had this ramp for about a year for my now 11 year old, 65 lbs lab mix who has hip issues. It took her a few tries to learn how to use it, but it's the only way I let her in the SUV or out of it for that matter. I now use it mainly for her to get on and off my bed, so I'll be purchasing another one for the SUV. As the other reviews say - it needs to be a little heavier to be able to support a heavy dog. I've never had a problem with pinching my fingers - you learn how to use it. I would recommend this to anyone who loves their dog - no matter their size or weight."
Review 2 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:March 31, 2010

Love it! Great price, great product.

Pros: sturdy, easy for dogs to use, great price
"This ramp is sturdy enough for the largest of dogs. We had no problem at all getting our dogs to use it, they feel safe with the texture of the ramp when climbing up and down. People complain about the weight of the ramp... but it's nothing compared to trying to pick up a 100 lbs of wriggling dog. I've been using it so long that I'm used to picking it up the same way every time so I don't pinch my fingers in it. After I get them in the SUV, I use it as a barrier in the vehicle to separate our dogs that don't get along very well. I have never felt the need to use the spring thingy to keep it closed, I prop it up against the wall in the garage when I'm not using it. I have had several people pull over to ask me where I got the ramp. I've never seen it in any store for a price this good. This ramp will really help dogs that can't jump into a vehicle, and save their shoulders when getting out of the vehicle. Not to mention saving their owner's back!"
Review 3 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:March 18, 2010

Good Battering Ram

Pros: works
Cons: 10 pounds too heavy, watch your fingers, mickey mouse spring-tie, did i say this thing is heavy?
"I don't know for the life of me why this thing has got to be so heavy. There are materials such as aluminum and other design options they could have used to keep the weight under control. This is totally brute-force method to arrive at strength.
It's about 10 pounds heavier than it ought to be, has a jaw like a crocodile to pinch your hand when you fold it. Oh, by the way, the spring-tie to keep it closed is really mickey mouse. I will buy a beer for any one who hasn't popped it after 10 uses.
Unfortunately, I don't have time to do major research on available options and try each one of them. So I am keeping it -- for now.
I thought Costco would do the selection for me and make the best available. If this is the best, all I have to say is I am sorely disappointed. Not sure whether at Costco, or at this contraption."
Review 4 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lanai City, HI
Date:March 9, 2010

Works Great

"I have a large Malamute who is now 11 and couldn't jump into the back of my Jeep Wrangler. She went up the ramp the first time and uses it without any problems.
Be sure to note the size of the ramp and the weight before purchasing to be sure you can fit it in your vehicle and that you can carry it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:February 20, 2010

works great!

Pros: very sturdy, easy to use, dog acts secure on surface after initial training
Cons: bulky to store in car
"Purchased this online somewhere else :( (thought it was a good deal until I found it here after the fact for $25 less, oops) I have an older Lab that has difficulty jumping into my small SUV. Was not fun lifting her in and out of the car. I took the time to do the suggested training first and it made a HUGE difference in the ease of getting her to accept this ramp. She is a shy rescue dog and now goes up and down like a champ! I had a ramp that was a telescoping one and the surface was somewhat slippery, not wide enough and no outer lip to it, dogs were timid to use it, so I gave it away! This one has a nice grippy rubber-like surface but not like sandpaper so won't take off the skin on their pads. You DO have to be careful when folding and unfolding the ramp to not pinch your fingers but there is a clear "warning" sticker on it. It can be a bit bulky to stash in the car, but overall was a GREAT purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon Coast
Date:February 2, 2010

Cheap, Cheap, Cheap...

Pros: the dog uses it fine
Cons: junk
"I received this Petster Pet Ramp yesterday. It worked as described and my dog got used to it quickly. However, there is a small spring that fastens around a hook within the ramp that is used to keep the ramp folded closed when it's not in use...the !%#& thing broke the second time I used it. It's about the size of a spring that is in a fountain pen so it is programmed to break. I took out the makita drill and drilled a hole and inserted a bungee and it works fine. I hate products where the manufacturer cuts corners and failure is inevitable. I would return it but I need it so I will grumble every time I close it up...My suggestion ...LOOK FOR ANOTHER MANUFACTURER ! This one is cheap junk."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2010

Great for older dogs

"I have a 13 year old,100 lb golden retriever who is losing his sight. The sturdiness of this product, along with the non-slip rubberized surface, gave my dog the peace of mind he needed to get in and out of my SUV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 1, 2009

A Godsend for Traveling Dogs

Pros: heavy duty/strong for large breeds, skid strips help prevent dog slipping, easy to clean, easy to store in a jeep, the dog loves it
"I ordered this after my Bern. Mountain dog had surgery and it has been a life saver! Without this ramp I would never have been able to get her to doctor's appointments, swim therapy, etc. She used steps before the surgery but I believe she now prefers this method. It is easier on everyone -- including the dog. People have actually stopped me in parking lots to ask me where I ordered the ramp - it is THAT GOOD!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:ct
Date:November 14, 2009

Pet Ramp

"The pet ramp supports my large german shepherd to load into our SUV, but the ramp is heavy and you will pinch your fingers if you are not careful.
I owned a telescopic ramp prior to this one and it was lighter and much easier to use.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:October 12, 2009

Nice ramp

"This is a good deal for the price.
I purchased it for my 5 month old pup (who needs hip surgery) and he learned it in about 5 minutes.
My older lab is using it too now.
It is a little heavy at 18.5lbs, but much easier to lift than a 50lb and growing dog.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:October 5, 2009

Great Sturdy Big Dog Ramp

Pros: sturdy, great for big dogs, stows nicely
"We bought this ramp for our ageing 130 pound rottweiler, Guinness, to get in and our of our SUV. It worked wonderfully for him. It is sturdy, no bending or swaying and packed nicely into the car on trips. It is heavy, but it has to be in order to hold the weight it needs to. You do need to be careful of the hinges because they can pinch a finger if you are not careful. We knew this from others reviews and shared with my mother in-law, but she did still get pinched once. We really like how it folds in half and stows away nicely under the seat or along the side of the back of our SUV. We would highly recommend this ramp to others!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:September 29, 2009

Good For Small or Medium Size Dogs

Pros: extremely easy to set up; very portable
"We have two 20-25 lb older dogs. This works great. They have difficulty going up and down steps. This ramp gives them mobility and confidence going in and out of the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:August 14, 2009

Reliable pet ramp

"This ramp is not slippery and my dog (70# Malamute mix) has taken to it fairly well. She has a tendency to try to use her nails when going up and even then she doesn't slip.
Downsides - the ramp is heavy. i usually open it on the ground then drag the end up to the back of my SUV. I am reasonably strong & don't have an issue with lifting it.
The biggest downside to pet ramps in general is that once you're going somewhere, where do you put the pet ramp, especially if the car is full? We use it less than I'd like because of this."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lake Tapps,Washington
Date:July 12, 2009

Good idea, but not the best

Pros: solid construction
Cons: heavy and awkward
"It is strong and well built, but overly heavy making it awkward to use easily, and if you are not careful, can get your hand pinched. There is a lighter weight version I have replaced it with."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 9, 2009

Good choice

Cons: none
"Our dog is 14 years old and needs help getting into the X-Terra. I wish I had bought this ramp earlier. Very happy with it. Works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nevada mountains
Date:June 25, 2009

Excellent idea, now I have 2 for 1

Pros: great idea!
Cons: made of plastic
"I purchased a set of ATV ramps to get my snow thrower and pressure washer into the back of my truck. Now I purchased some of the indoor outdoor carpet at Costco and with a couple velcro straps and the carpet fastened they serve as dog walks! They get used all the time now but are much heavier and you also need to watch your fingers. Both my young Golden retriever and older Bordie collie love me!"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:June 24, 2009

Best Quality Ramp I Have Ever Found

Pros: extremely sturdy
Cons: watch your fingers when folding or moving
"This ramp is the best. In my shop we use the ramp all day long. It's so sturdy dogs feel totally comfortable using it. The rubber surface and treads prevents slipping unlike those covered in carpet. And it is easily cleaned and disinfected without affecting the finish. I have had mine for 3 years it is used daily and looks just as good as when I bought it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:June 7, 2009

Our 125 lb Malamute loves it

Pros: good traction and sturdy
Cons: as mentioned before watch your fingers.
"After reading reviews, I purchased the ramp. Owned it now about 3 months. Our 125 lb Malamute loves it and gets excited when the ramp comes out-road trip! Good traction and sturdy. Now I can take the dog by myself. I use it to load him into the back of our 4x4 F150. As mentioned before watch your fingers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Missouri
Date:May 29, 2009

I recommended it to our dogs' vet!

Pros: lightweight sturdy and stable.
Cons: careful with the fingers when folding!
"After researching pet ramps and reading other Costco members' reviews here online, I ordered the gray one. Our dogs used it nearly immediately. Since the ramp supports 500 lbs., we will be able to use it for other things too. My favorite use will undoubtedly be for the dog wash grooming station we also bought online from Costco. When our mobile vet came yesterday because one of our dogs has a respiratory virus, I felt this ramp was so good that I recommended it to him! He was happy to hear about it too!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PetSTEP Pet Ramp
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:May 26, 2009

Works Great for Large Dogs

Pros: handles large dogs, ribbed flooring
Cons: slightly narrow
"We purchased this to replace a dog ramp product from another vendor - the other product was difficult to set up and broke after several weeks of use. This unit is much easier to store and set up for use, since it simply unfolds. Our dogs (BullMastiff @ 165lbs and English Mastiff @ 175lbs) seem comfortable with the ribbed walkway. Overall, excellent product and handles large dogs easily!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>