Customer Reviews for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym

Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
(out of 98 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
6
79 of 98(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Review 1 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 15, 2009

Assembly Redux

Pros: very solid when assembled, assembled in 30 minutes, all tools necessary were included
Cons: assembly instructions are hard to follow, screws were hard to drive through carpet covering
"The cats love it!
The instruction clarity leaves a lot to be desired. Having the online photo handy during assembly was a huge help. Here are some other tips:
1) In step 2 the holes that a closer together are on the right.
2) Screws used in step 2 are item J.
3) In step 3 the lower bed G and the right-hand side of the platform D are held on with screw K.
4) When inserting screw L into post C, insert the shorter threaded end. The screws will tighten fully when the posts E are threaded in place. Also the holes and threads in post C may be slightly misaligned. Pliers may need to be used on the unthreaded portion of the screw to drive them into place.
5) Some considerable force may be necessary to force screws L through the carpet in platform D & F as well as beds G & I.
6) The lower bed G is slightly directional. If it is not rotated just right, it will interfere with post C.
7) Bed I is the one with the plaything attached."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:May 11, 2009

Happy cats at a decent price

Pros: quality for the price, cats are loving it
Cons: use the updated directions - the old ones lag
Model Number: 320695
"Received my tree (quickly) and finally put it together this weekend. Didn't take too long. There were two sets of directions included, and one of them is a lot more detailed and helpful then the other, so It looks like they updated the instructions and put them in the opening flaps of the box. Comparing the two, the detailed directions make a big big difference - you'll know immediately which one to follow.
Once the bolts are tightened up the tree was sturdy for my two medium sized cats - their jumping on and off felt safe. The platforms are plywood, which is a distinct improvement over the particleboard I've had in past trees. The carpet is nice, so I'm not sure what the other reviewers were expecting.
The cats of course have already claimed their own perches and are napping happily.
Overall, one of the better trees I've had and the price is better then I was expecting."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central New Jersey
Date:August 10, 2010

Disappointed, But Not Returning...

Pros: price, shipped quickly, made of real plywood, carpet is good, cats like it
Cons: missing hardware, base did not have all holes drilled, staples needed to be pounded in, unstable
"I'm disappointed in the product, but I've decided against returning it. It's constructed from real wood, not particle board. The carpet is of reasonable quality but I needed to pound in some of the staples. Most of the holes in the base were missing so I had to locate and drill them myself. When assembled it's still a bit unstable. Good enough on a wood floor but maybe not on a heavily carpeted floor. The manufacturer must have fielded stability complaints because an addendum to the instructions mentions an additional support. The support was included (and needed!) but the two bolts supplied for it did not actually fit the support. I'll need to find appropriate sized bolts at the local hardware store. All bolts are of inferior quality; they'll strip if overtightened and the stability issue makes you want to overtighten things. Be careful, especially if you use real tools instead of the little hex wrench they include! Overall, this is priced below similar stuff at the local pet stores. The wood and carpeting are good but the hardware is not. Assembly instructions are not the best."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:May 4, 2011

Not sure what the fuss is about

"To be honest, I was somewhat hesitant to buy this because so many people called it unstable. But our cat is only 5 pounds, plus the price was right, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger.
After I first put this together, it did seem a bit unstable and it leaned forward somewhat. But I reassembled it, making sure that everything was screwed tight and that really made a difference. Also, for the 3rd post (the extra post) on the second tier, I added a couple washers because I noticed it was slightly shorter than the other two posts, thereby causing it to tilt forward. That did the trick...it looks great and most importantly, our cat loves it. In fact she was climbing all over it while I was putting it together. This has now become her favorite spot in the house."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:July 6, 2011

Found a better one in local warehouse

Pros: pride of assembling it yourself, less expensive than pet store cat trees
Cons: still wobbly even after firm hand tightening, two tone carpet not living room quality, shorter bed walls
"Took maybe an hour to set up. Instructions are good, though not enough to call them idiot-proof, and don't even mention the third, front support post on the second level that has been added to stabilize the tree. The bed-type areas are a half inch shy in depth from another tree we are keeping. We do not like the exposed grommets/screws that hold the thing together. They are easily noticeable in the middle of the carpeted areas. What helped the most was having downloaded/saved the photo from Costco's web site. I referred to the picture of the tree several times as I was assembling it to make sure mine looked as identical as possible. Using the instructions alone, I likely would have made a few mistakes. Once assembled, and tightened very securely, the tree leans forward ever so slightly, and is not as stable as pre-assembled store-bought trees. For large cats and multiple cats, I can see where it might not stay upright. To our surprise, a local Costco carried well-made tall and short cat trees the same week we received this one from UPS. We bought the tall one from the warehouse to compare to the one we'd ordered. We are keeping that one, which is solid and stable with nicer carpet, plus $20 cheaper, and returning this one."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Braunfels, TX
Date:December 12, 2010

Pretty darn good

Model Number: 320695
"I bought this for my 2 boys a few months ago and they're both not small cats! My biggest is a Ragdoll which is the 2nd biggest cat breed. In short he's huge! He loves this tower even more than his 6 ft tower (no he's not spoiled) bc of it's small upper sleeping nook as I think of it. He curls up in this little bed with just a paw sticking off. I put it together myself and it was fairly easy, probably wouldn've been easier if I had any construction skills! He reaces up it and it wobbles but I'm really bad at putting things together! Not so interested in the other levels. My other boy doesn't care either way but as bonus my mom has a puppt who like the lower bed. I like it's size and the color scheme is very nice. I actually was bout to look at this one bc my boys like the one I have and saw I already have it! Obviously I like it a lot as I was ready to buy it again! Cats should enjoy just throw some catnip on it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

Not a challenge to assemble

Pros: fast shipping, easy to assemble, great quality
"Maybe I received version 2.0, but I didn't have any trouble putting together the cat gym. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. It's really beautiful, too. The colors are neutral so it matches my furniture perfectly. (it looks exactly like the picture online.)It's a great value for such a nice piece."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Escondido, CA
Date:May 29, 2009

This is a great deal. Take advantage of it.

Pros: inexpensive, not hard to assemble like some people say, got here lightning quick
"First great thing was the quick delivery. I ordered it Tuesday night and it arrived Thursday. That's pretty amazing if you ask me.
Now, I *do* have a boyfriend who assembled it for me (I bought the Starbucks, he did the work), but he found it to be quite easy to assemble.
We sprinkled catnip in it, which probably wasn't necessary, and our two kitties were ready to play on it. If you have a mega heavy cat, the top "story" might wobble a little when he is on it. But then again, you shouldn't have a mega fat cat. So put him on a diet.
This review was meant to say that I love the value of this cat tree and I would 100% recommend it to a friend."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:October 26, 2008

Good idea badly executed

"This cat tree is the first online tree in several years, so I was thrilled to order it. Unfortunately, it came in many do-it-yourself assembly pieces, none of which fit together easily. The cat "beds" are really only large enough for a small rabbit, but my cat does use the larger, second tier platform. Costco should work with another supplier to get a more substantial, carpeted, workable cat tree."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Haymarket, VA
Date:November 28, 2008

Absolutely Fun for Kittens

"My two newly adopted kittens absolutely love this cat tree. They love to curl up in the top bed on the cat tree and scratch the carpet posts. The top and lower beds are the smaller beds on this cat tree, but they are big enought to fit my two 4 lbs kittens. It took me a while to get the cat tree assembled because I’m somewhat DIY challenged. However, I didn’t find the assembly painful as some did. The tree is heavy and sturdy. I was surprised that it held up after my vertically challenged eight years old stood on the lower bed trying to get to the kittens in the top bed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:June 25, 2010

only for tiny kitties

"I put a lot of thought into this purchase and read all the reviews - still a bust. It is unsteady on carpet (where it needs to be in our house) but OK on hardwood. The bottom wood was all warped so it doesn't lay totally flat. We have three cats and only ONE can fit in the lower AND top baskets. The middle one is window height, so everyone likes that perch. There is no climbing around or scratching on this, compared to other 'toys' in the house. I would not recommend it to any except those looking for a first 'toy' for a very small and rambuncious cat."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:April 9, 2011

Better than what we have seen in the stores.

Pros: price, size
Cons: instructions could be clearer with modification
Model Number: QZ8210
"It's a stable piece of furniture that won't topple over if a cat is on the top bed. It does wobble a little when our cats climb up and down, which is expected and our other cat condo's do the same. Both round beds are slightly larger than other furniture that we have seen.
It may not be big enough for very large cats, but our female Ragdoll does like to curl up and fit in the space given. Each platform is spaced apart enough to allow access up and down with ease. The larger two platforms are big enough to hold our two cats, whilst they decide who is to move.
Both our Ragdolls enjoy playing on it. It is a nice height and size that fits well in the room. The carpet is securely attached to all the pieces. The height between platforms gives a lot of room to play.
When the box arrived we found the instructions in amongst the pieces. There has been a modification to the construction that adds an extra pole (for stability) between the two larger platforms that is only mentioned in the bottom right hand corner of the first page of the instructions that can be easily missed. It was only when we came to flatten the box that we found slipped into the flap of the box an updated instruction sheet that included the modification. Which would have made things easier the first time around. The holes that have been drilled for the new pole were slightly misaligned and there was a slight angle to the pole when bolted in place, but it does make the upper platform a lot more ridged.
Letting the cats play on it for a day, all the bolts were checked and nipped up after it was given time to settle.
Looking at other cat furniture that was available at local pets stores, we couldn't find anything that was suitable. This was a lot cheaper than all the others that we had looked and and the quality of it was a lot better than any that we had seen. We are all happy with the purchase."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rancho Mirage, CA
Date:November 16, 2008

Very Poor Product

Pros: shipping was fast
"Has many pieces with poor instructions. The pieces don't fit together well so the final structure looks as if it is leaning. The sizes of the shelves are much too small. Only the middle one is adequate for my 9.4 pound cat! The carpeting that is used is so thin and harsh that I've had to cover the one useable shelf (the middle one) with somethng thicker and softer. The color is mostly dreary brown with some medium beige.
Not a good product. Wish I'd kept my money.
Not up to Costco's general standards.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:December 12, 2008

Cats love it

"Packaged well and arrived in excellent shape. The only negative is the rotten instructions, but the jungle gym was assembled in about 15 minutes. The neutral color works well in 99% of homes and is study enough to take a running jump from a 16 pound cat without toppling over. All four cats were perched on it last night."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stevenson Ranch, CA
Date:October 20, 2009

Great product at a great price

Pros: good quality, neutral colors, quick and easy assembly, good value
Cons: directions could be better
"Have two new kittens. One has warmed up to it and is sleeping in the top tier as I write this. He also loves all the scratching posts. The other cat is a little larger and more skittish, so the jury is still out on him.
Arrived quickly in good shape and with no parts missing. Like others have suggested, it may be helpful to print a copy of the assembled product off Costo's website as the diagrams that come with it can be a little difficult to make out. A photo makes it easier to identify the scratching posts from those with carpet.
My best advice is that you REALLY tighten everything down. That means the bolts as well as screwing on the uprights. The only modification I made was moving the upright for the top tier from the right side to the left. It seemed to make things more stable. As the base flexes a little, it may also help if one added some rubber feet; like 5, with one in the middle. This should also help stablize things. Regardless, most people will have this against a wall as opposed to standing in the middle of a room so stability may not be much of an issue.
Also, I've seen some pretty lame toys attached to kitty condos sold elsewhere. These are top notch. Not string, but heavy elastic cord with heavy carpeted things for the cats to swat at. Beaded chains would've been even better, but you can't really complain given the price and the rest of the features."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 23, 2010

T'were the days before Christmas...

Pros: evokes poetry!, simple enough to assemble, be sure to tighten everything really well
"T’were the days before Christmas as inside of me chimed the clear voice of reason - “I can’t get a tree!”
I imagined green boughs hung with trinkets galore… for a minute, then swatted and strewn on the floor.
The kittens were cuddled all snug on the bed, till the next round of wrestling, mere moments ahead.
Their energy level is huge, though they’re small. They spend much of playtime on laps through the halls.
They leap and they tumble, and race through their courses, with the sound and the fury of a herd of wild horses.
They stalk their big brother, long suffering Buster, who offers what patience he’s able to muster
as they scare him away from his pillow or treat, barge too close for his comfort, and ambush his feet.
Each room’s filled with towering objects to master,even I, while asleep, get attacked ~ what disaster. No table’s off limits, no drapery untouch’d. They are black/gray tornados; I love them so much!
That having been said, it was way clear to me that I needed an alternate plan to a tree.
As I found a solution, on laptop I hopped, and with search engine whirring, I browsed and I shopped. In a mere span of days, on the porch came a clatter and I sprang to the door to check into the matter.
I grabbed the large parcel, becoming inspired, till I read on the tag Some Assembly Required. Bookay climbed up my back, using claws, and I yelped. As Lilybear joined us, she mewled “we can help!”
And helpful they were, from the first slit of tape. As I checked off the contents, no item escaped from their curious eyes, noses, claws and the rest, till each platform and riser and rope had been blessed.
Their devotion to duty inspiring to see, they dove in and they worked till the box was empty. Then turned their attention to me so they might ensure that assembly was flowing just right.
“Now base plate! Now columns! Now round sleeping basket! Build the next level please, we are begging, we ask it!”
O’er the height of the chairs, as it rose up the wall, the two climbed and they sparred and they dashed through it all.
When the last bolt was tightened, I stood back with glee to witness the kittens enjoying their ‘tree’.
The scope of their romp proved the sturdy-test met, and I thought to myself what impossible pet wouldn’t love to climb up, and to scratch and to bat at those dangling toys, and to loll on those mats.
Their brother surveyed, from safe distance, these elves. And I laugh’d when I saw it in spite of myself,
as he joined in the fun, claiming high spot for him. I rejoiced that my strategy wasn’t mere whim.
Instead of the stress of defending a tree,
I was building a bond ‘tween my family of three.
Then the frolicking lessened, the energy went, and the kittens each found a soft spot… they were spent! But I heard through the purrs, as I turned down the lights, Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, New York
Date:December 17, 2009

excellent value - I'm buying 2 more.

Pros: sturdy plywood with a finished look, platforms & nests are carpet covered unerneath
"this scratching post is far sturdier than one that I purchased online from a Vet supply catalogue and costs about half as much. such a deal !!! the base is plywood, not particle-board . The wood grain stands out because the surface was lightly stained or coated with a tinted shellac or varnish. The underside of the platforms and nests are carpeted so they look well finished. I bought 2 of these. The first assembly wasn't totally smooth but the 2nd time I sailed through in no time. I have some heavy duty cats and they are always looking for nesting spots. I put one of the kitty climbers in my bedroom and the other one is at the foyer windows, next to the old climber from the Vet catalogue. I'm going to buy another one for the living room and have one shipped to my son for his cats."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mammoth Lakes, CA
Date:June 4, 2009

Ok product for the price

Pros: durable easy to clean carpeting
Cons: bolts too short makes tree wobbly, horrible instructions
"As mentioned in other reviews instructions were poor but was very easy to assemble. Tree was very wobbly after assembly. I recommend replacing bolts it came with with one's that are 6-8 inches in length. It is a lot less wobbly now. Very top bed still leans when a cat is in it, but they haven't fallen out yet and they're 18 pounds each. Even though it is a somewhat lower quallity of carpet it is very durable and cleans easily. My cats love the rope around the poles for scratching."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, CA
Date:December 31, 2008

Great Buy

Pros: great price and very sturdy
Cons: directions could have been better
Model Number: 320695
"I wasn't sure about this because there was a negative buyer who put the product down. He was way off on his review. The cat tree is excellent. The instructions aren't that great and the company could fix them in about 5 minutes so I don't know why they don't. Even with less than perfect instructions, it's very easy to put together. My cat (male Tabby) weighs about 9 lbs and I wasn't sure if he would fit in the top but he got right in and curled up in it. Cats like tight spaces. The product is very sturdy, my two year old son even climbed up on it with out it leaning. I checked a couple of stores and some other web sites and I would have had to spend twice as much for a similar product. As usual, Costco is the best and has great products."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Majestic Pet™ 55" Kitty Cat Jungle Gym
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:November 2, 2010

Kitties and cats are very happy

Pros: cats love it
Cons: wobbly
"I can't really complain. A friend put this together for me in about 1 1/2 hours. We had to pull up the original picture on the website to actually finish assembling.
The cats (2) and kittens (2) love it. The only complaint is that the top tower is wobbly. Otherwise, they love it and the top does not bother them, just me as I am concerned that it will come off. The rest seems really stable. Big cats seem to want it all to themselves and I have to put them in a seperate room so that the babies (6 months) can enjoy it. Maybe I should have ordered two.
I would recommend it to anyone it as a great attraction and the cats
all use it to scratch. Only problem is that it is wobbly but maybe, I can do something to correct that. A great buy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>