Customer Reviews for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset

Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 of 8(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Review 1 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 9, 2008

Poor Quality Hardware

Model Number: Jawbone
"Although the sound technology is very good, the product itself has significant quality issues. While this device has lots of visual and technology appeal, it is not practical for everyday use. Within just a few weeks of being purchased, the housing itself cracked. It then fell from my ear onto the floor and broke into pieces. I purchased a replacement, which also broke after falling from my ear in a parking lot. My third purchase also broke while in my pocket under normal wear conditions. The casing which encloses the internal components is very fragile and will not withstand normal wear and use. In addition, I found the charging connection to be very temperamental on all of the units I purchased, working intermittently at best. The human factors engineers need to spend some time making significant improvements to the quality and durability of the hardware design, the fit of the unit (making sure it holds securely to the ear and face), and improving the charging station. After several disappointments and several hundred dollars invested in the hope that the product would work, I finally switched to the Motorola Bluetooth unit and have not had any issues so far."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:November 11, 2008

AWESOME

Pros: noise assassin
"I wear this on my ear and dont even notice after I found the perfect fit. You have to use the different custom ear loops and ear buds to find the custom fit but after you find it you wont regret it. I have played guitar hero while on the phone with the jawbone and no one can hear it in the background so if you want someone to hear the background noise this is not for you. They will only hear your voice with noice assassin activated. You can deactivate the noise assassin for all the background noise if you want to."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:October 29, 2008

Excellent Headset

Pros: noise cancelling software is the best out there, construction seems durable despite its lightwieght, long battery life
Cons: incoming sound quality could be better., should be easier to customize fit
"Aliph has done a beautiful job making this headset. All previous headsets I have tried, including my last one a Motorola H700, I was unable to use on the freeway because of my car's noisy cab. With the Jawbone the noises of my car are muted to a distant buzz and consequently I haven't had a complaint since.
There are a few cons mentioned by others that I will agree with. First, it is difficult to find a comfortable fit despite the several attachments, though once I found a fit that worked for me I found that I'll often forget that it is there. Also, sound quality isn't the best I've heard, but then it isn't the worst either. I found the volume of the headset more than adequate even in noisy areas.
Despite its drawbacks, I still think its the best headset I've used.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:October 27, 2008

A Good Buy

Pros: better charging connection
Cons: disconnects every now and then.
"I used to own the old one and this newer model is much smaller, lighter and better headset. Although my wife complains that the headset disconnects every now and then on her Blackberry Pearl, but she feels it's still a good product. I did check for compatibility prior to buying for my Treo 755 and Blackberry Pearl, but I still get disconnection every now and then (I guess it's the same with all other Bluetooth wireless)."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Huron, MI
Date:October 27, 2008

What were they thinking???

Pros: sleek design
Cons: difficult to fit, small and chincy, poor sound quality, sleek design
"I've had the first version of the Jawbone for over a year. Sound quality is good, construction is ok, and the fit has never been great, but manageable with tweaking the earpiece. I could not get this new version of the Jawbone to fit correctly at all, no matter what combination of loops or earpieces I tried. It would be falling out of your ear and when you would try to re-seat it in your ear you would end up hanging up on your caller. The device is so small, everytime you touch it you're activating a button. The device is too small for the way their buttons work, the first version was much better. Also, the construction is far cheaper than the original, it's very delicate and cheap feeling. The sound quality compared to the first version of the Jawbone is lousy too. You can't get the volume loud enough to hear anyone if there is any background noise around you. I returned the Jawbone II back to Costco two days after it arrived. In my opinion they went backwards with this model instead of forward."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ & NYC
Date:October 27, 2008

Nothing Special

"The Jawbone II was ok but nothing special. In fact, it was not superior to anything that I tried. They claim the unit MUST touch your jaw to work as designed. No matter how it was worn, the results were disappointing. My son wears his in NYC. I can hear wind and traffic nosie among other annoying background sounds. The devices are getting better but we are not there yet. I returned mine to Costco which is one of the few places you can do this. Otherwise, you're stuck with a high priced item that fails in its manufacturer's claims."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 26, 2008

Simply AMAZING, you can't go wrong

Pros: ultra light, crystal clear (both end of conversation), comfortable, look like the coolest kid on the block, best engineered headset
Cons: none
"I first bought the SoundID headset and quickly returned it for the JAWBONE II.
What great engineering went into this headset. It looks great and works even better.
Since I have sensitive skin, I was apprehensive of buying the Jawbone II at first because in order for the Noise Assassin (noise cancelling feature) to work correctly the silicon piece on the inside of the headset has to touch your cheek, thus the name Jawbone. It senses when and how you talk than eliminates all other noises. You will be amazed how well this works. The little silicon sensor is made out of a material that is so soft I can't even feel it against my cheek. Actually had to look in the mirror to make sure it was touching.
Not only does it look good, work excellent but it is SO comfortable. You can wear this all day because its light weight and very gently touches your ear.
2 multifunction buttons are hidden under the surface and take only a very light touch to use. The engineers really did a great job on how easy and logically these buttons function. Jawbone II also comes with a great tiny charger that is magnetic and sucks the headset into place. The tiny charger is appreciated since it keeps my desk neat.
One last thing is the battery life is great. You can go a week without charging (with average talk time).
This is the last bluetooth headset you will ever need."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jawbone II Bluetooth Hands-Free Headset
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angles
Date:October 24, 2008

Jawbone company won't honor their guarantee

"When it works it is great. The Jawbone's Noise Assassin feature is their claim to fame and their justification for the higher price. Mine worked for two days and they refuse to do anything about it under the guarantee. They say it is a fit problem although it worked for two days and fit was no problem. This is a problem with the Jawbone Company and not Costco."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.