Customer Reviews for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater

Adjustable Thermostat, 2 Heat Mode Settings, Flat Panel and Ultra Lightweight Design
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
20 of 24(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:November 7, 2008

Saves us money on our heating bill!

Pros: truly silent, great thermostat feature
Cons: does get hot -- keep kids away
"We haven't turned on our furnace this winter and are using space heaters instead. I've never used a micathermic heater before, but it is great for our living room and entryway. It heats quickly and evenly. It heats the space we're in, and we're not paying to run our furnace to heat the entire house. It does get hot to the touch, so you need to keep children and combustibles away, as with any space heater. It truly is silent, and doesn't "gurgle" like the oil filled electric radiator heaters -- but it does cool quickly after shut off and will not continue to radiate heat. The thermostat feature is fantastic and makes it efficient to run. We saved $50.00 on our heat bill (gas & electric combined) over last year's October bill, and anticipate saving about $100.00 a month through the coming winter by using space heaters instead of our inefficient household furnace."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern Connecticut
Date:October 29, 2008

You will love it!

"We purchased this Bionaire Heater a few weeks ago. I don't like to turn on our furnace until after Halloween, but the recent cold spell in Connecticut has left us cold...so on went the Bionaire -- off stayed the furnace! It kept our living room in our raised ranch toasty warm! We didn't realize what a great job it was doing until we walked down the hall to the bedrooms and saw how cold the house really was. Slim design allows us to store against the wall when not in use, pull away from wall when we turn it on. Silent operation, no "electric heater" smell. You won't regret this purchase -- you will love it!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 18, 2008

Smart Buy

Pros: silent operation
"I have the heater in the most central location of my small (1400 ft.) house. We used the big furnace, for a fast warm-up, once this morning. Since then, the Bionaire heater has kept the living room, dining area, and kitchen nice and toasty. I'm in Northern Calif. Right now, it's 60 outside but my house is 72. Nice unit."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver CO
Date:October 25, 2008

Best Heater on the Market

Pros: the perfect standalone heater
"Bought this last winter, different design, including remote, but, LOVE it! It's absolutely silent, heats quickly, evenly and is not hot to the touch. My only wish would be that Bionaire would make the same product in a smaller size that I could use in my very cold bathroom."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 2, 2008

Terrific Choice

Pros: for a basic space heater as good as it gets.
Cons: no built in timer.
"Silent as advertised.
Heats up very quickly -- far more quickly than the oil filled radiator it replaced.
Heat output is just fine: Electric heaters of a given wattage output the same amount of heat, so for a 1500 watt heater it is really about how quickly it heats, how much noise it makes (fan, no fan), output settings, thermostat, etc.
(A different 1500 watt heater will not produce more (or less) heat than this product. So if you need more heat, you need a more powerful heater.)
That said, this is more than ample to take the chill off a relatively cold room. The thermostat is just a simple dial, but it works just fine.
The form factor (size, shape) is nice: ability to get close to wall and be out of way is great.
Strong recommendation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:November 2, 2008

Not good for large rooms.

Pros: thin, light
Cons: no projected heat
"I have a fairly large room (approx 15x20) and this heater just doesn't really help. It raises the room temp about 1 degree per 1 hour.
I replaced it with the vornado heater. very nice! Raises the room temp about 1 degree per 15 mins.
If your room was smaller it may be OK. The unit does put out heat but only if you are near the unit.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oxford, MS
Date:November 16, 2008

Quite, efficient heater

Pros: runs quietly
Cons: not good for large rooms
"This heater runs quietly and efficiently heats rooms that aren't too large. It allows you to heat your house locally instead of heating the entire house."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:November 3, 2008

Suprisingly Excellent

"I got my Bionaire Silent Heater this weekend - good name for it - it is surprisingly silent. My last heater had the orange "heat" glow and you practically had to sit on top of it to feel the heat!! This Bionaire heater really kept the whole room comfortably warm without even realizing it as you don't really "feel" the heat blowing from anywhere, but before you know it the whole room is at a nice comfortable temp. Great choice!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wayne, PA
Date:October 27, 2008

Warm and cozy without drying out the air

Pros: it warms the whole room in a short time
Cons: larger than most spaceheaters but works better
"Set up my Bionaire Micathermic radiator a few days ago. It takes the dampness and chill off without drying out the air. Other heaters start me choking, this one does not. Does a large area quietly. I hardly have the thermostat up now and am sure that it will work just as well in winter when I need to turn it up. Haven't used any gas heat yet and it's almost November."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:November 24, 2008

Could not even heat a 10x10 room

"Bought this last week. and current outside temp is 30F and we use it as secondary space heater.
Pros: Quite in operation
Cons: Could not heat room of 10x10 in one hour even after keeping the thermostat at maximum. This room is on 1st floor.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 22, 2008

Works Great!

Pros: warms enclosed rooms effectively, quiet because it radiates the heat
Cons: a little big for my little room
"Use this in a small bedroom (10x10) with two drafty windows and external walls and the room is nice and toasty. This bedroom is typically 10-15 degrees colder than the rest of the house. Now it's the warmest. The Bionaire radiates (not blows) the heat so it's helpful to keep the door shut. I also use it only on the 1000 watt setting to spare power. It warms the room up just fine so there's no need to kick it up to 1500 watts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:January 15, 2009

Great Product

Model Number: Bionare
"This product has really improved my life. I want to be WARM, really warm, down to my bones. I have 4 of these in my house and have not turned on my heat pump this winter. I have one of these in my large room (about 20x40). I use the gas logs first thing in the morning to warm it up. This heater then keeps it toasty all day. On really cold days I have put two of them on in the opposite sides of the room. You have to make sure that they are on separate circuits or two of them will overload the breaker. I REALLY am glad someone developed this product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 27, 2009
Pros: slim sleek design
Cons: expensive to run
"The heater seemed to work quite well, but when I got my electric bill I was SHOCKED. It had quadrupled and I believe I would have been better off running my furnance full time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008

Not enough heat

Pros: silent
Cons: not enough heat
"It's nice because it's quiet but it doesn't produce enough heat to keep me warm in my 19 x 12 room. I'm returning it and trying something stronger"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:west hollywood, ca
Date:November 30, 2008

quiet and compact but not enough heat

Pros: easy assembly, quiet and easy to operate
Cons: not enough heat, for small enclosed areas only
"quiet operation and compact design. easy to assemble and easy to use. but this heater is only suitable for small enclosed rooms."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:February 22, 2009

Finally, I'm not freezing anymore!

Pros: quiet!!!, easy to set up, lightweight, good size
Cons: takes a while to heat up my studio apartment, higher power bill
Model Number: BH3699
"I have a small studio by the beach that has zero insulation.. well, feels that way, anyway. I was tired of freezing my way through our quick winters in Los Angeles, so I invested in this heater.
I have a routine that I follow now:
As SOON as I get home from work, I flip it on to high and at the max temp. If it's really cold in here, I'll direct it to where I'm sitting and sit within five or so feet of it. That way, I'll be temporarily warm. It does take a good hour or so, though, to heat up enough of the studio so that I can venture away from the heater.
When it's time for bed, since I use 2 warm covers, I am able to use the lower setting. I still keep the heater near the bed, facing me. When I walk around the other side of the heater, brrrrrr. It definitely only heats in that one direction.
On the days when my apt isn't so freezing, I feel confident in the low setting just to provide a bit of warmth.
The MAIN selling point for me was the word "Silent" in it's name. For the most part, it is totally quiet. I'm such a light sleeper.. my friends joke that I will wake up if my neighbor blinks.. it's true. This heater is so quiet. I love love love it.
You will hear the noise of it clicking on and clicking off, but even I got used to that, and I don't notice it anymore. If I'm using it on the low setting while I'm sleeping and it's at the min. temp., I do hear the occasional popping noise. I'm not sure what that it, but it's so rare. And amazingly, even I, the lightest sleeper in the world, have gotten used to that while I sleep.
It's really lightweight, easy to move around and it has simple controls. The silver area does get super hot to the touch, so be careful around kids/pets. Move it by the black areas or the handy handle in the back.
One last thing to note: my power bill has increased. It's normally around $12/month, now $50/month. But for the couple of months of winter in L.A., I'll pay the difference for the warmth."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:October 23, 2008

Save $$ on gas bill

Pros: heats up quickly
Cons: can't set a temp, no timer
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:March 17, 2009

Very good and quite fan

Pros: very quite, sleek, light weight
"I bought this fan for my mom's room. The fan has been used intermittently for the past one month. My mom just loves the way it heats up the room (on low) and also the fact that it hardly makes any sound. Looks very sleek and light weight. I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing that I noticed was, one day, as soon as we turned the heater on , the fuse blew out in that room, but after adjusting the fuse ,everything worked fine. We did not have too many things on in that room at that time, not sure why the heater would contribute to the fuse tripping. Other than that...a great product."
Review 19 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:January 21, 2009

Great heater with Stylish Look & Performance

Pros: large heater surface area, indicator lights for power and heater/thermostat
Cons: needs an off-timer
Model Number: BH
"Great fast room heater and if you want personal heat fast, then stand infront. The radiative feature heats your leg (without feeling burn) while the upper body feels the rising convection heat.
Works quietly, looks great with separate Power-to-unit and Heater/thermostat-on indicator lights. Heats without the orange heater element glow means most energy converted to heat (not to visible light). Kinda like 21st century cooking food with Microwave versus you see flames with your gass stove/fire place. Gets hotter faster, to the point.
Would be good for OEM to add off-timer."
Review 20 for Bionaire Silent Micathermic Panel Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2009

expensive

"I don't know what you people are talking about. I used this and it worked well but my energy bill DOUBLED!!! I am returning it so I am not tempted to use it anymore!"
1 2 next>>