Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology

Added Value: Oval Marinator Canister, Heat Seal Roll and 12 Pre-Made Quart Size Heat Seal Bags
Average Customer Rating:
3.226 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 83
(out of 84 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
27
48 of 84(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newberg, OR
Date:June 4, 2010

FoodSaver Model V3825

Pros: works as designed., preserved my fresh food longer., easy to use read the manual., costco's return policy.
Cons: nothing. use it as it is designed to be used.
Model Number: V3825
"Before I purchased this I read the reviews. I was concerned about the amount of negative reports, but it appeared that you either loved this product or you hated it. As far as the bag useage it does take more bag to seal it, but if you're objective is to preserve more of your fresh foods the trade off is worth it. Also the product gives you alternate ways to vacuum pack including mason jars, which are easy to get and Foodsaver doesn't get revenue off of them, so the statement they are just trying to sell more of their bags is obsurd. Here's the opinion I ended up with after I purchased it: If you use it as the manufacturer designed it to be used you will love it. If you can't reconcile the bag useage, forget it. If you run across a problem get the flippin' manual out. One time it wouldn't turn on as another reviewer had mentioned. I remembered reading something about that, got the manual out, realized there was liquid in the drip tray. Remedied the problem and I was back on my way."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Almaden - San Jose, Ca.
Date:September 9, 2009

The Worst Model Foodsaver ever,

Model Number: V3235 f
"I retruned this foodsaver to Costco! Thanks Costco for treating your customers so well!!!!!
I've owned several Food savers until they wore out. The last 2 were the Prof II series. I bought the V3825 as it was advertised as the latest and greatest. Of all the Food savers I've own, this is the worst. Uses an inch extra at the seals, it does not seal other plastic bags like potato chip bags etc. It is difficult to reseal Foodsaver bags. Had I bought V3235 first, I would have never bought additional models!
I wished I had read the reviews and skipped this model. When a new model is released, it is suppose go forward in quality not backward like this model. I've spoke with Support at Foodsaver and they told me that the people who previously owned other models did not like this one and those who never owned one in the past were happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 18, 2008

Works great if you have a bit of patience

Pros: functional, aesthetically pleasing, good value, saves money by lessening the amount of wasted food
Cons: wastes supplies, not wall mountable, noisy
"My wife and I purchased the FoodSaver Vacuum Sealing System (Model # V3800) about 1-1/2 weeks ago from our local Costco.
So far it works as advertised with a couple of caveats:
- The system wastes about 2+ inches per pre-made bag or about 4+ inches per hand made bag (using the roll). This is due to the sealing process that leaves an extra 2+ inches outside of the seal which is just wasted plastic bag. When you create your own bag from the roll, that means you are wasting 2+ inches on both ends (for the 4+ inches I mentioned). This is either a very poor design decision or an attempt by FoodSaver to "help" you use up your bags quicker. Any attempt to counter this led to the bag not being sealed.
- No mounting hardware or options. This is just a personal irritant but with counter space at a premium it would have been nice if they designed the FoodSaver so that you could mount it to the wall if you are so inclined; the new upright design is a big improvement but wall mounting would eliminate the problem all together.
- Very noisy. This machine makes a lot of noise which is fine under most circumstances but I still found it surprising.
Other than those 3 issues, we've found that it works as advertised so far and does a great job at it."
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:August 9, 2009

It's better... but different

Pros: vacuum capacity., sealing strip., cleanable
Cons: it takes 2 steps to "make" a bag., noisey... but more powerful too.
Model Number: V3825
"This is my 4th Foodsaver. The previous 3 were easy to use but all "died" because of sealing strip issues. My last one was a "Professional II" model which cost serious money. Imagine my angst when I called to arrange a repair to the sealing strip and was told that "it's not repairable".
My previous units were made by Tilla, and were very easy to use. I thought they were great. This unit is made by Sunbeam, and it's different. It requires more "participation" on the part of the user... but I think it's a better unit. After a few days of fighting the learning curve I have found that it has a superior sealing strip. It seals better, It has a more powerful vacuum capability and it's "smarter" than the other units I have owned.
Folks that don't like change will have a problem with this machine. I suspect that folks that never owned the Tilla versions will love it... as I do."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, Virginia
Date:May 12, 2010

Go For It

Pros: save tons of money. no more food spoilage.
Cons: forget the bags and just use the rolls.
Model Number: all
"I've been a Foodsaver fan for over ten years. They are a must if you shop Costo.
I've noticed that in almost all the reviews here people are on their 3rd or 4th machine because they 'wear out' after a few years. It is the foam sealer that wears out. No matter which model you have, a new foam belt is available from the manufacturer for $3.00. This one part should be replaced every couple years and then you won't have to keep replacing the entire machine.
I bought one of the new 'upright' machines for my daughter and she uses it everytime she comes home from Costco to sub-divide her bulk items.
This is also great for sealing collectables like comic books, etc. Keeps them air tight.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Depoe Bay, Oregon
Date:March 8, 2011

The Old FoodSaver Model Was Way Better !

Pros: costco will take it back
"This is our second FoodSaver. We loved the old one that sat flat on the counter but after 2 years it gave out and would not evacuate the air properly. We purchased this new one because we loved the results the older model gave us despite the SHORT LIFESPAN. The new Stand-up model is awful. The "Smart Seal" technology is not smart, it detects the bag about 1 out of 3 tries. It is very difficult to get the edge of the bag into the slot for evac and sealing. The biggest problem is that it OVERHEATS and quits working after about 12 sealing cycles. Once this happens you have to stop and let it cool down, then start again, however you will only get 3 or 4 cycles before it stops again. I believe it stops because the evac motor gets too hot and it shuts down. I cannot believe COSTCO ( who I love) sells this item...Junk in my opinion."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 22, 2010

Real money saver

Pros: love the canisters and containers for left overs., also great for packaging up things for camping.
Cons: quite a bit of extra bag is needed for the sealing
Model Number: V3825
"I got his for my wife for Mother's Day 2009. It has paid for itself many times over. We have gotten several of the canisters and containers. They work great at keeping foods fresh, like after you open a bag of chips. Put the rest in a canister and vacuum it up - no more throwing half the bag away because they went stale. We also buy large cuts of meat, cut it ourselves and seal it up. Example - you can get a whole tenderloin at Costco for $7.65 a lb., it cuts up to about 15 steaks (depending on how thick you like them). I'm sure you know how much it would cost to go into your local grocery store and buy a couple filet mignons for that special candlelight dinner :-) The containers are great for left-overs - food stay good much longer when vacuum sealed. We went clam digging, cleaned them and sealed them up and froze them. What a treat to pull out of the freezer and have fried razor clams, or make a batch of homemade clam chowder. YUM!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brick, NJ
Date:March 16, 2009

Wowser!

Pros: portion control!, waste not...want not!
Model Number: V3800
"My Dad has an older model and I often enjoy helping him cut up huge pork loins or salmons into portions and sealing them. I decided that I just couldnt live without one and set off to my local Costco. I had a little trouble at first because the newer model I purchased had been simplified to the point that I kept trying to make it more difficult to use than it actually is. Soon I realized that the whole process now consists of pushing the button one time per item. I mean how hard is it to stick the bag in the slot and watch the machine do its job?
My freezer is so neat and organized and I never have waste. When I defrost something it doesn't leak all over the fridge and my frozen foods always look so appetizing. I love this product!!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:February 16, 2010

Deja vu

Pros: very nice new design & additional features., retractable suction hose.
Cons: machines don't last more than a few months., too tall & wide for easy use in a small kitchen.
Model Number: V3825
"The only reason I gave one star is that I can't give a zero. The ONLY improvement in this particular machine over my three previous ones (they were the preceding model) is the re-design. This design IS much better - the controls are simple, easy to see, and well-laid out; and the ability to store a roll of bags inside the machine and to cut the edges straighter with the built-in cutting blade is great. But I also have not gotten through even one roll of bags before the controls just suddenly stop working. I've been vacuum-packing foods for 20+ yrs., and have never experienced such consistently poor quality in what should be a "high-end" product. The bags are NOT re-usable, despite the company's claim that they are, and they DO puncture too easily. I didn't purchase my previous machine @ Costco, and both replacements under the 1-yr. warranty were re-furb's; the company refused to send me a new one, TWICE. I don't know how this company stays in business. I'm very glad that Costco will take this back, but I wish they could find a more reliable manufacturer. How about a KIRKLAND Vacuum Sealer??"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Howell, MI
Date:November 2, 2008

Better than previous model

"We bought this model to replace the previous model we purchased over 2 years ago. Even thought the old model was working just fine, we liked the "less" counter space feature. We are very happy with this one too. You can leave it plugged in since it has an on/off switch. It did take a bit of practice to get the hang of getting the bag in correctly to get the machine to vacuum and seal or just seal. At first we thought more bag was being wasted to seal the "bottom" of the bag. But the "top" seal is less waste than the old model, so it comes out the same. Unlike the old model, you can cut the next bag while sealing the previous one. The retractable canister hose is a great feature since we always have several canisters in use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Canada
Date:May 7, 2010

unexpected costs

"I have been using their vacuum sealers for 20 years. Now for the first time they have one that will not seal the bags you bought your goodies in. You can not re-seal a bag of potato chips, cheese, frozen goods, in Costco type of quantities, or anything else, you must use a bag from the manufacturer, and make no mistake, they are expensive. My last sealer was fine for sealing other bags, but unfortunatley the sealing edge was always lifting away, and although Costco did take it back, I wished I had simply crazy glued it into place and kept the old one, not as nice looking, but cheaper by 1/2 to operate."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009

Worth the learning curve

Pros: never waste food again
Cons: noisy
Model Number: V3825
"I've had foodsavers for 3 years; this is the best design to date. The counter space saver is good. Love the retractable cord and new canister designs, which work much better than the older setup. And the on/off button, which means you don't have to unplug it.
Yes, it takes a while to get the bags sealing properly, but once you learn how to jiggle them it works reliably and quickly. It IS noisy, for several seconds - sounds like it's getting ready for liftoff.
I use the canisters for croutons, coffee beans, crackers, and cookies etc. Excellent for all.
I hope this lasts, but the Costco return policy is the reason I bought it. Trying to work with the foodsaver company directly is a real pain."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Leandro, CA
Date:July 19, 2009

Light Years Ahead

Model Number: Foodsaver 3825
"I purchased a Foodsaver 1050 from Costco about 7 years ago, and while it gave good service for a few years, for the past year or two the sealing wire has failed to work properly. I got tired of having to reseal packages repeatedly, and then only to find air had leaked back into the bags in the freezer.
So I got the 3825 unit at the local Costco, and so far it's been a vast improvement. The biggest improvement is that now the sealing is done by a flat band, that's about 3/16" wide, rather than a thin wire. This seems to help ensure proper sealing. I resealed stuff that I had previously sealed with the 1050, and which had leaked air in the freezer and the 3825 worked great.
I don't quite understand some of the negative reviews. I think if one reads and follows the instructions, unless the unit is defective, it should work great. Also I actually measured the amount of material used to seal a bag. The complaints claimed that it wastes 2"on each seal. Well, I measured it and it's really 1-1/4"for each seal. Bags I had sealed with the 1050 model needed about 7/8" of bag per seal. So yeah, it uses 3/8" more bag per seal, that I can certainly live with since it works so much better.
The bag cutter is a big plus, as well as the servo motor driven "jaws", and the removable moisture trays, the built in canister hose, the bag opener, the gentle/pulse/marinate functions.
Someone complained that it should be wall mountable. Well, if they'd read the instructions they'd have seen that since the unit needs to be opened where the top portion tilts backward, this wall mounting would be impossible.
Overall I'm very happy with this purchase. And it's just in time to start processing the fruits and veggies from the garden. The old 1050 unit may be fixable; I'll probably wind up donating it to charity. The 3825 is light years ahead of it."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 7, 2010

What's the Problem?

Pros: hands-free operation, thick sealing strip, vertical design saves space, marinate function
Cons: no canisters, minor bag waste
Model Number: V3825
"I don't understand why people have such negative reactions to this FoodSaver. I had one of the earlier models for many years and this model is a huge improvement.
First, bag "waste" is not that big of a deal. If an extra inch of waste is a deal-breaker for you then by all means continue to use whatever food storage system you currently use and forget about this one. Otherwise, don't worry about it. Buy your bags/rolls from Costco and be happy about saving money that way.
Second, "my bag wont seal properly" people must be doing something wrong. Read the instructions, it is fairly straight forward. I have never had a problem with this machine failing to seal. The sealing strip is thicker on this machine than on previous models and seals the bags with ease. Maybe people have problems because they are not inserting the bags properly; I don't know, I follow the instructions and it works every time.
Third, buy this from Costco and if it breaks on you, return it for a refund. This is a consumer product and there are bound to be some that just don't work. It happens with everything. Isn't the return policy one of the reasons we buy from Costco?
In all, I am very happy with this FoodSaver. It is a HUGE improvement over the old clam-shell style. I love the marinate feature - fully marinated chicken breasts in 10 minutes! I love how this is completely hands-free; insert the bag and it "grips" the inserted end and vacuums then seals while you are free to do something else with your hands. Take it from me, a long time FoodSaver user, this is a great model with great features.
I gave it four stars only because I would like to have had at least one canister in this set. The machine, however, is a 5 star machine."
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 27, 2008

Worst Costco Purchase Ever

Pros: it shuts off ok.
Cons: wastes costly bag material, doesn't always seal., takes up a lot of counter space.
"I cannot stress strongly enough what a poor purchase this item has been for me. It replaced an old Sears vacuum sealer which didn't waste nearly as much of the bag material as the FoodSaver does. The "SmartSeal" sensor technology doesn't always sense the fact that a bag is in place, and often goes thru the motions of sealing but doesn't actually do anything. Stay away from this product!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:April 12, 2011

not so smart

Pros: vacuum and seal great
Cons: seal opening amount of material used poor design
"My old foodsaver quit working after 5 great years. Replaced with new upright model and hate it. They have the vacuum system down, but the opening where you place the bags is too small so only new bag material works, but still a hastle. Also, it seals about 3/4 inch too much material wasting money and plastic!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:May 27, 2010

Excellent Machine, be aware of roll problems

Model Number: Model V3825
"This is my first purchase of a FoodSaver, my mom has on older model and loves it. After I set this one up, I vacuum-sealed many items that were at risk of flour beetles, pantry moths, etc. I used up the entire compliment of pre-made bags that came with the machine. I made bags out of the 11" wide roll that came with the machine, and it didn't miss a beat. I then began using the pre-made bags in one of the Combo-packs (with pre-made bags and additional rolls), also from Costco. Through all this I had no problems.
I then began using the smaller 8" roll to make bags, and ran into an increasing problem. The machine would fail to create a good vacuum, and draw the air out of the bag to any useful level. The failure was more consistent than the successes. After repeated frustration, I began testing with a hand-made 8" bag, getting it smaller and smaller, but the machine refused to evacuate the air fully. I finally returned it for an exchange thinking that it was faulty in some way, yes, I wished to still have the FoodSaver.
We brought home the second FoodSaver, I used the PulseVac feature to seal my next item in an 8" bag I had made from the 8" wide roll, and it worked great. The next item, in the same type of bag, failed. Almost all attempts afterwards with the shrinking bag sizes failed. My husband really analyzed and beat up all aspects of why the thing worked, failed, how the bag was placed, tested lengths of bag end for clamping needs, tested the vacuum with the marinating container (no problems with vacuum there) etc.
We discovered what appears to be the problem.
The gauge of plastic used for the smaller 8" roll is smaller (thinner) than the plastic used for the wider 11" rolls and the pre-made bags. When I made a bag of the 11" roll, and then began the process, it immediately evacuated all the air quickly and efficiently. When I set up a bag of the same 11" material on the PulseVac setting, it worked flawlessly. It would appear that the stiffer 11" material is more effective for the vacuuming process, so perhaps the 8" rolls are best-suited for very delicate items, and essentially making a pillowy, air-tight, water-tight container for such items.
The number of reviewers mentioning they had problems with the machine sealing may actually been having problems with it creating a good vacuum, as I was. I have had no problems with it actually sealing.
Since then I have proceeded to use up the next complement of pre-made bags, and made my 11" bags, and had no problems with the FoodSaver establishing a vacuum and sealing the product inside. I have also found that with a fair amount of finagling, I can get the 8" home-made bags to vacuum well, especially when using the PulseVac feature.
So, all in all, this is a wonderful machine, and I am extremely happy to have purchased it and have made quite a bit of use of its capabilities, especially the PulseVac feature."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, Texas
Date:May 25, 2011

Glad I bought it!

Pros: works great! love the marinade option.
Cons: can only seal a few bags before a short cool down.
Model Number: V3825
"After reading so many negative reviews, I was hesitant to buy this product, but because Costco has such a good return policy I decided to risk it. I am so glad I did! I can now buy in bulk and store or freeze knowing the lifespan is increased. I used the marinator first and was so impressed, it almost made the purchase worth it before I had even tried it on storing food. A tip: I tried to seal steaks using the minimum size bag so as not to waste bags and you need to use a larger bag for the vacuum to remove all of the air. Select a bag size so that there is room around all sides of the meat to allow the vacuum to work completely."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of Atlanta
Date:March 26, 2011

best design yet

Model Number: V3825
"we have one that is 25 to 30 years old, still works but is anemic. probably needs a new gasket. Second one was a 2 part modular one for a boat/RV That also still works fine. i.e. these are durable.
But this one is absoluetly the best... everythings right there and sits on the counter with a small foot print.
Each of these designs have their own quirks, all mentioned in the manuals. Like this one likes the curve from the rolled bags to be downward to engage the clamp that holds the bag. I agree that the old style bags are a bit trickier to vacumn but they do work. Just keep trying. I'm using them up first.
love the new bags. Love the ratched on board vacumn tube as I use this feature far more than the bags. I use mason jars and bunches of containers aqcuired over the years.
Only thing I didn't not like is the marinating container... the doomed lid means it won't stack. The older marinating design stacked poorly but could still stack. A better stackable design for the marinaide container is needed.
Also got two sets of the deli container from another source and they stack well and good for short term vacumn... like deli meats, cheese or turkey bacon where you would be into it daily until meats is gone. Would like it if Costco would also carry other Food Saver items and accessories... I'd probably buy them all!
Vacumn packing saves so much money. It's great for longer term storage using mason jars.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 29, 2010

Terrible Performance

Pros: the marinating attachment works well.
Cons: no / insufficient vacuum, poor design, expensive and does not perform
Model Number: V3825
"I had an original Foodsaver (from late night TV back in the 80's) that lasted 21 years, providing consistently excellent vacuum and seals in heavy household use. When it finally wore out and could not be fixed, I bought the V3825.
What a disaster. It will not pull a proper vacuum in bags, regardless of how bags are fed to it. The seal line is over an inch from the bag edge, leading to wasted bag material. I have tried to make it work for a year now to no avail.
I will replace this with a chamber type vacuum sealer and never buy another Foodsaver product again."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>