Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology

Added Value: Oval Marinator Canister, Heat Seal Roll and 12 Pre-Made Quart Size Heat Seal Bags
Average Customer Rating:
3.226 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 83
(out of 84 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
27
48 of 84(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle. WA
Date:September 23, 2011

Best Vacuum Sealer Ever

Pros: strong suction
Cons: i wish i had purchased it two years ago
"This replaces a vacuum packer that I had for many years that wasn't working so well any more. I love the strength of the suction on my new machine and how it works on canning jars. I've had it for only one week but love it. I took the advice of another reviewer and read the instructions and followed them completely. It was a piece of cake. The true test will be after I have owned it for six months. I will check back in then."
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 15, 2011

try and try again and you'll succeed

Pros: excelent when it finally works, easy to marinate in canister
Cons: a retractable and longer electrical cord is needed, many fail attempts
Model Number: v3880
"It is simple to operate, the automatic detection of the bag makes it convenient and starts to extract the air soon after... If you are lucky. it takes several times. I tried inserting the bag from one side then the to the other. but did not succeed. the machine starts but no air its sucked out, then it wants to seal the bag to complete the process without taking the air out. My overall rating of two stars is because It is a great machine when it works and when using canisters to marinate. In conclusion, good design but maybe they can do a longer electrical cord and retractable."
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OR
Date:September 11, 2011

Bad experience

"The unit looks great but does not work well. Time consuming and frustrating. I returned the unit and plan on purchasing one of the large industrial devices."
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:August 16, 2011

Not as described

Model Number: 3800
"Bought in-store and it is not as described online - no marinating container, not as many bags,etc..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

Waste of money and time

Pros: looks good
Cons: has difficulty getting a seal, time-consuming
Model Number: V3825
"We just replaced our old, reliable Foodsaver when it finally gave out after years of faithful service. We bought this new sleek model and expected at least the same reliability as the old model.
What a waste. It can't seem to get a good seal. We have to change bags, constantly wipe everything down, and cancel the vacuuming operation. It takes two or three times the amount of effort to seal our bags as it used to. So disappointed"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:August 2, 2011

Great Product

Pros: saves money, less food waste, easy to use
"This is a great product! It has saved us tons of money and is especially good for Costco shoppers. Meat sealed stays absolutely fresh, cheese doesn't get moldly, leftovers stay fresh, too! It isn't hard to use, just follow the clear directions. The bags and rolls are available at Costco at a good price. I hardly use ziplocks any more."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolinia gardener
Date:July 22, 2011

Good product!

"I was hesitant to buy this after reading some of the negative reviews, but the wife just HAD to have it. Once we received it and read the manual, we tried it and had no trouble at all. It works exactly as advertised. I have not experienced any problems with it whatsoever.
I agree with some of the other reviewers that if you READ THE MANUAL and follow the steps in the manual you will find the Foodsaver to be very useful.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:July 3, 2011

Not a great product

Cons: drip tray too smal, doesn't create seal consistently enough, wastes a lot of roll bag on every item
Model Number: V3525
"The best part of this item is the ability to marinate in ten minutes. I bought this sealer thinking I would never use another zip-lock again, but like other reviewers have said, it's designed to waste at least 2" of roll bags with every sealed item. Needless to say, this is a huge waste and adds up quickly. With about a 75% seal rate, it's not very good at sealing bags and finally, the drip tray holds about a 1/10th of an ounce of liquid. So if you're sealing anything with any kind of moisture (think about it, you're sealing food most of the time and it ALL has moisture) you have to stop every couple of bags, disassemble the unit, clean it, dry it, then resume. Makes sealing batches very time consuming. I'm not impressed. If I could find the manual, I would return it. Do not buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nederland, CO
Date:May 26, 2011

Great machine!

Pros: almost hands free!
Model Number: V3825
"I bought this to replace a much older model and boy, have they improved them! If you love your freezer like I love mine - I highly recommend this vacuum sealer."
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, Texas
Date:May 25, 2011

Glad I bought it!

Pros: works great! love the marinade option.
Cons: can only seal a few bags before a short cool down.
Model Number: V3825
"After reading so many negative reviews, I was hesitant to buy this product, but because Costco has such a good return policy I decided to risk it. I am so glad I did! I can now buy in bulk and store or freeze knowing the lifespan is increased. I used the marinator first and was so impressed, it almost made the purchase worth it before I had even tried it on storing food. A tip: I tried to seal steaks using the minimum size bag so as not to waste bags and you need to use a larger bag for the vacuum to remove all of the air. Select a bag size so that there is room around all sides of the meat to allow the vacuum to work completely."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wickenburg, AZ
Date:May 10, 2011

Food saver

Model Number: V3825
"It takes little care inserting the bag into the slot properly, but does a great job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:chicopee,mass
Date:May 4, 2011

disappointed

Pros: none
Cons: oversized waste bags hard to seal
Model Number: V3825
"I had to replace my old food saver after years of good service with this new model and found it to be bulky and hard to fit in my storage area's. it also has a cord storage area in the bottom of the unit but the cord keeps trying to unwind, the slot to seal the bag is tight and hard to get the bags in. You also waste a lot of the bag because it leaves a inch of overhang on both ends of the bag when sealing."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011

necessary for Costco shoppers

"I like to purchase large quantities at Costco but can not use the perishables up fast enough. By using the foodsaver I can divide up items, some for the freezer and some for the shelf and store them safely until used."
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 1, 2011

Wish I bought one sooner!

Model Number: V3825
"I just got my foodsaver and completed over 10 lbs of ground beef, bread products, and other meat. I can't wait to try the marinate container it came with. Love it!! So easy to use. My dad has the old version and is going to go buy this one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 19, 2011

Absolutely love it!

Pros: should be left on the counter all the time.
Cons: get serious there are no cons!
Model Number: V3825
"I love this product. It is so easy to use. The only buttons you push is to turn it on and to seal the bottom of the bag. The machine does everything else! I have used it to seal meats and to seal dry goods. It works great for everything. I do have one regret....that I didn't get one sooner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:April 12, 2011

not so smart

Pros: vacuum and seal great
Cons: seal opening amount of material used poor design
"My old foodsaver quit working after 5 great years. Replaced with new upright model and hate it. They have the vacuum system down, but the opening where you place the bags is too small so only new bag material works, but still a hastle. Also, it seals about 3/4 inch too much material wasting money and plastic!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of Atlanta
Date:March 26, 2011

best design yet

Model Number: V3825
"we have one that is 25 to 30 years old, still works but is anemic. probably needs a new gasket. Second one was a 2 part modular one for a boat/RV That also still works fine. i.e. these are durable.
But this one is absoluetly the best... everythings right there and sits on the counter with a small foot print.
Each of these designs have their own quirks, all mentioned in the manuals. Like this one likes the curve from the rolled bags to be downward to engage the clamp that holds the bag. I agree that the old style bags are a bit trickier to vacumn but they do work. Just keep trying. I'm using them up first.
love the new bags. Love the ratched on board vacumn tube as I use this feature far more than the bags. I use mason jars and bunches of containers aqcuired over the years.
Only thing I didn't not like is the marinating container... the doomed lid means it won't stack. The older marinating design stacked poorly but could still stack. A better stackable design for the marinaide container is needed.
Also got two sets of the deli container from another source and they stack well and good for short term vacumn... like deli meats, cheese or turkey bacon where you would be into it daily until meats is gone. Would like it if Costco would also carry other Food Saver items and accessories... I'd probably buy them all!
Vacumn packing saves so much money. It's great for longer term storage using mason jars.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:March 23, 2011

Love It!

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: V3825
"This machine works great. Read the instructions. My daughter also got one, she Loves it to. We both use ours all the time, it also seals other packages that I have opened, I just make sure they are of a sturdy Material."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:March 15, 2011

I wish my old Foodsaver broke sooner

"This thing rocks, and, because of the virtually hands free operation, my wife can even use it! If you get one, and it doesn't work, you must be doing something wrong!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Sealing System w/SmartSeal™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Depoe Bay, Oregon
Date:March 8, 2011

The Old FoodSaver Model Was Way Better !

Pros: costco will take it back
"This is our second FoodSaver. We loved the old one that sat flat on the counter but after 2 years it gave out and would not evacuate the air properly. We purchased this new one because we loved the results the older model gave us despite the SHORT LIFESPAN. The new Stand-up model is awful. The "Smart Seal" technology is not smart, it detects the bag about 1 out of 3 tries. It is very difficult to get the edge of the bag into the slot for evac and sealing. The biggest problem is that it OVERHEATS and quits working after about 12 sealing cycles. Once this happens you have to stop and let it cool down, then start again, however you will only get 3 or 4 cycles before it stops again. I believe it stops because the evac motor gets too hot and it shuts down. I cannot believe COSTCO ( who I love) sells this item...Junk in my opinion."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>