Customer Reviews for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series

Resolution: 1920 x 1200 Contrast: 1000:1 Brightness: 300 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
7 of 15(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Review 1 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 3, 2008

Great screen for watching movies and computer use

Pros: color is bright and vivid esp in hd, remote control is highly responsive, 10000:1 contrast, 1920x1200 resolution looks great on pc, built in dolby speakers are good for smaller rooms, 2 hdmi ports and dvi and vga
Cons: vertical viewing angle could be better, no vesa mount, power button's touch sensor is a pain to "press"
"I've owned this screen about 8 months now. The screen is very high quality. Others have said that the plastic feels cheap...well I say that it's plastic...what did you expect for it to feel like aluminum or wood? It's actually a smooth-touch finish that is really easy to clean or dust. Besides, it's not like you bought the HDTV to touch it all the time...no, you bought it to view your stuff and switch the input with your remote from Cable/Satellite to Movies (BlueRay or DVD) to your Computer to your Xbox 360 via HDMI, right? Well, that's where this screen shines: It's very easy to setup and if you're able to use a computer, you should be able to navigate the controls and setup your color and sound profiles and input selections.
Plus it has an DTV tuner built-in, so I was able to watch local channels using my old antenna while I waited for my cable to be installed. The screen is great for small rooms; contrast is good, blacks are dark and crisp (depending on the source).
The remote control can be under some blankets, pointing the wrong direction, and it still controls the TV...no more having to point directly at the receiver.
HD sports (football especially) look amazingly crisp and bright.
XBox 360 and computer games are fast to display the image; there is no ghosting or skips. All fast action is fluid and easy to view.
Overall I feel like the screen is well worth it...even though it's dropped in price like $80 since I bought it...but that's only about $10/month...which ain't bad for such a great monitor.
"
Review 2 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Torrance California
Date:December 2, 2008

Great Idea, Poor Execution

Pros: osd adjustents can be performed with the remote, switching between modes is easy
Cons: horrible viewing angles., can't be used for anything color critical, stand needs to be more adjustable, buttons on the side are difficult to use, not an ideal resolution for hd content., i don't like the power button.
"Costco has the best deal on this monitor and you can't beat their service. First monitor was DOA and I got to experience how great Costco's return policy is. A real A+ experience.
The t240hd is a poor performer for a monitor and a TV. The biggest issue is the color and brightness shifts unless you are sitting directly in front of the screen and are about six feet away. If the screen had better viewing angles I probably would have kept it.
I ended up buying a HP LP2475w and I'm vey happy with it."
Review 3 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:November 30, 2008

SAMSUNG AS A COMPUTER MONITOR

"Using this as a computer monitor. Sound is great, Color is great, plastic base and construction seem to be cheap, the ports on the back panel or too close together. The off button is annyoing to use- I have to swipe my finger across the entire lit area to turn the monitor off. Collects a TREMENDOUS amount of dust. Still trying to decide if I am going to return it--am very ambivalent about this unit"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 24, 2008

very nice with a couple of caveats

Pros: a very nice set
Cons: brightness and vertical viewing angle
"A very nice picture on standard cable and particularly on hd. Actually picks up cbs and abc high def and kesq wx (weather) on local cable without set top box. Works well as a monitor if you need one that size. The remote is excellent, particularly in that you can change between 5 different picture sizes (16/9; 4x3; wide, etc.) just by pushing the "picture size" button. Other sets require access to a menu, then scrolling, then maybe another sub-menu to get to the size change option.
2 caveats:
- Brightness is more than adequate as a monitor but only average as a tv.
- As noted in another review, you need to have the middle of the screen at eye level to get the optimal picture. If you look down or up at the screen, the brightness changes somewhat as does the sharpness of color rendition. Neither is dramatic but the difference is noticeable.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Hills, CA.
Date:November 23, 2008

Amazing

Pros: everything.
Cons: wish i had more money to buy a bigger samsung tv
"The picture quality is absolutely amazing. I first bought the Samsung T220HD model and was also amazed with the picture quality but since this was on sale for 50 bucks more than the T220HD I decided to go with this instead. The difference between the Samsung T220HD and Samsung T240HD is that the T240HD is pure 1080p and has a bigger screen size. Other than that both products are awsome. My Xbox 360 games, dashboard, pictures etc. via HDMI connection look so real that it's hard to imagine that the picture quality could get better than this.. So yes, this is a must have for all who just want a small TV/Monitor. Last but not least, I trust Samsung because they make the best LCD TV's and Monitors around. I know that I could of bought something bigger for the price that I payed for this TV but honestly I probably wouldn't have been as satisfied because I wouldn't have gotten the picture quality and sleek design that i get with this Samsung TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Norwalk, CT
Date:November 22, 2008

Poor Sound

Pros: good picture
Cons: sound is deal breaker
"The LCD is good and looks good as a tv or a computer monitor. However the sound is terrible. I have heard shower radios with better speakers... If you are just going to use for video and not audio it is acceptable but as a tv or if you ever might use the built in speakers it fails... back to the store with you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Charleston, S.C.
Date:November 19, 2008

TV Quality Sub Par for a Samsung

Pros: overall build quality
Cons: cable tv reception
"I purchased this item to use as a TV in a bedroom. I did not purchase it to use as a computer monitor, therefore my comments are directed at the TV portion. The TV was hooked up to cable. The reception on the 4 HD channels were great, however, the non-HD digital channel reception was awful. The instruction sheet mentioned that you can expect low quality images when used as a TV. They were correct. Returned to store."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:ST LOUIS MO
Date:November 10, 2008

BAD SOUND

"PICTURE IS FINE HOWEVER I CAN NOT SAY THE SAME ABOUT THE VOLUME THIS SET HAS TO GO BACK"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suburban Washington, DC
Date:November 10, 2008

Samsung & Verizon FIOS

Cons: curved top bezel blocks cupboard door.
"This 1080P set has an excellent picture if you turn off the energy saving feature which dims the florescent light source. Maximum current draw is about 54 watts. Use the Warm 2/Movie setting and tweak brightness and contrast. The set comes very close to our 56" LED Samsung which is connected to FIOS. To get around power on problems with Verizon FIOS we are forced to start the bigger Samsung in antenna mode wait a couple of minutes then select HDMI STB (FIOS). After that smooth sailing all evening."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 10, 2008

Great TV

"I purchased this TV for our camping trailer. It was easy to hook up and the color is great. I noticed that some of the consumers gave this a lower rating because it is not wall mountable. I never even noticed that it wasn't because my intent was to place on a shelf. That being said, it's a great TV for the price with an excellent picture. I hope it stays that way, and if it doesn't, let's hope I find out within 90 days..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phx, AZ
Date:October 27, 2008

Samsung 24" good but not great

"We bought and returned two of these units because:
1. These units are not pre-drilled for wall mounting.
2. Despite very fine specifications, we found that we could not get the color adjusted properly even after hours of fussing with the manuals and the controls. We finally discovered the problem. Our units were place on tall dressers in two bedrooms. When viewed from below, for example from a sitting or reclining position we were looking up at the sets and that resulted in a fairly severe loss of color. When we stood up and looked at screens from that height the color was considerably better but still not fantastic. Because the set can not be tilted forward on the included stand and can not be mounted on a wall unit, there was no way to get the image to be satisfactory from a prone or sitting position.
"
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa
Date:October 27, 2008

Great replacement for dual monitors

"I replaced 2 monitors with this one, the screen is easier to view 2 documents at a time. Can also easily switch between different computers."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Very Disappointed

Pros: excellent price
Cons: not wall mountable
"Was very excited to find every thing I was looking for in this TV: full 1080P, perfect screen size for the kitchen, excellent price. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered it is not wall mountable. Nowhere on the box or in Costco’s advertising does it mention this significant shortcoming. It's going back to the store without ever enjoying it. Can’t understand Samsung’s shortsightedness."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 24" LCD HDTV Monitor Touch of Color Series
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Not for Verizon FIOS

"This TV worked perfectly with Comcast but when we switched to Verizon FIOS recently it malfunctioned. There seems to be a known issue with the HDMI input from FIOS HDDVR to this TV. In our case, the signal was blocked after a few days... no idea how that happens. The Verizon tech didn't even ask for the model number but immediately said they knew it was a problem when I told them it was manufactured by Samsung. A software engineer with no connection to Verizon mentioned something about cumulative memory leak possibly being the culprit (what?).
In any event, we could only receive a signal with this TV by disconnecting the HDMI and connecting the much inferior component cables. With Comcast connected via HDMI the picture and performance was fine."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.