Customer Reviews for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer

16,000 Total BTU's, with Cool Touch Handles
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 14(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Review 1 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:October 24, 2008

Great Purchase

"Great taste without the cost or cleanup of oil. Have cooked turkeys, chicken, prime rib.
Highly recommend
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2008

If there's no oil, it's not a fryer.

"This is a broiler - just like the one in your convection oven. The downside is that this one is only usable with objects that resemble the shape of poultry."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:November 30, 2008

Loved it

"This was a great product. used a 11lb turkey and cooked it 100 minutes and it was wonderful and juicy!
Can't wait to try it at Christmas with a large turkey.
Clean up was easy!"
Review 4 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2009

very happy

"I noticed some reviewers were disappointed because of the cooker only cooking turkey. I have cooked several items including Prime Rib. If you have problems standing something up try skewers you would normally use for shish kabobs, it works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 10, 2009

OK

"This is a great oven...BUT..in the cold of the north (MICH) it does not heat up to the needed temperature. It will take at least twice the cooking time under 40 degrees. It just can't heat the air quick enough. Otherwise, in nice weather, it is AWESOME!!"
Review 6 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Hartford, CT
Date:December 6, 2008

AWESOME!!

Pros: fast even cooking
Cons: mesh lid- not sure how it would work in rain
"We purchased this for thanksgiving, but plan to use it often. We did a test run with a 14 lb brined turkey. It came out amazing- juicy with delicious crispy skin (like a rotessierie chicken)- Thanksgiving day did not disappoint with a 23 lb bird. We've also cooked a 14 lb prime rib to perfection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2008

Turkey Came out great

Pros: no oil, no mess, can cook more foods than a deep fryer
Cons: cook time compared to a deep fryer
"I bought this thinking it would cook just as fast as my deep fryer. Which is not the case, it takes about 8 min a pound. Good thing I did a few tests before Thanksgiving. I would have given this 5 stars but its total neglect to list any cooking times for turkey is very annoying. But My turkeys have come out very good so far"
Review 8 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009

SIMPLE AND CLEAN

"We also did the test run with a 14 lb. turkey before thanksgiving.The turkey did take longer to cook but seem to use less propane.You need to remember it takes time to heat the oil in other fryer's before you put in the turkey.So keeping that in mind,it was about 35 to 45 min.longer to cook.I can tell you the clean-up was a lot faster!"
Review 9 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wayzata, MN
Date:November 28, 2008

Wonderful Addition to my Cooking

"We love the Big Easy. In fact, we have a smaller one at our cabin and are buying one from Costco that will hold a larger turkey or other meat item because we entertain lots of people at the cabin and are bringing the smaller one home. It is great not having your oven tied up and not having to keep checking on things. Every turkey we have done comes out perfect - crispy skin, moist juicy meat!"
Review 10 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morris,IL
Date:January 12, 2009

OMG This thing is Awesome

"I have cooked two turkey's, a roast, 3 chickens and 2 slabs of ribs. I love this thing. I have done some experiments with my Big Easy and have noticed things cook much better and evenly when not subjected to the wind or really cold weather. I am now cooking everything inside my garage. It's great, it doesn't even smoke up the garage, no wind and it's warmer inside. This allows my cooking time to be less. Most thing take about 10 minutes per pound. I have no bad things to say."
Review 11 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, Alabama
Date:January 3, 2009

Clean cooking bug give us a clue!

Pros: clean oil-free safer, decent construction, worth the longer cooking time
Cons: need more help on cooking for first time use, 16 lb. turkey takes 2 hours 30 minutes
Model Number: 08101472
"Great assembly instructions, nice packaging, but not even a clue when it comes to cooking. The temperature thing works good only if you rotate you bird from top to bottom. We put in as described, breast up and then could not get the breast meat past 140 degrees when on full. However, the meat on bottom of Turkey was over 180 degrees. Helpful tip is to turn your bird for even cooking. This is not the same as hot oil in terms of cooking time...Two to three times longer cooking time."
Review 12 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oxnard, CA
Date:November 20, 2009

Need Engineering Degree

Cons: poor insturctions
Model Number: 08101472
"The latest version (as of Nov 17, 2009) comes with a different configuration. The "legs' are two sets welded together. The assembly holes do no line up until you realize you have to forcibly bend them. Unfortunately the instructions do not mention this. I am an engineer and it took me over 1/2 hour to figure out the way to line up the holes with the legs. Poor instructions. The recipe book is also very limited. HINT: go to CharBroil's website and download a number of good recipes with hints."
Review 13 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:bakersfield, calif
Date:November 1, 2008

we did something wrong?

Pros: no oil to catch fire
Cons: not cooked in a timely manner
"we purchased the turkey fryer to use while we camp. we did a test run here at the house with a 13 lb. turkey. We were a few minutes late on the 165 degrees and so we pulled it out at 170. (1hr 15 min. at this point) We took it inside to carve and it was not done. We put it back into the fryer for another 45 minutes since it was so raw....pulled it out, started to carve only to find it still was only 1/2 done. We don't know what we did wrong since the temp. was in the right spot but we are going to return it. We have used the oil kind before and were ok with them but the oil free sounded great. Didn't work for us. Hope someone else has better luck."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Char-Broil® Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 29, 2008

Cooking Uneven

Pros: parts that are done are great, very quick cooking time
Cons: cooks uneven
"We got this for Thanksgiving hoping to replicate the fired turkey experience and keep the heat out of the kitchen.
We tried a test run 1 week before T-Giving and then tried again on T-Giving. The test run was with a 12 pound turkey. After 2 hours of cooking one side was done and the other side was raw. We rotated the bird and put it back for another 25 minutes. This time the breasts were done but the wings and legs were not.
The 24 pound T-giving turkey was cooked for 3 1/2 hours up to 185. The skin was perfect and the breasts were juicy. The leg meat appeared done, but juices around that area still were very red. We also noticed that the skin in-between the leg and bird was also raw.
We ended up eating the breast and putting the remaining bird in the over for another 40 minutes.
Definitely be careful with this item as on two occasions it did not cook evenly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.