Customer Reviews for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable

Compatible w/ DVD+R/RW, DVD-R/RW, BD-R/RE, BD-ROM and JPEG
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Review 1 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:cali
Date:October 31, 2008

Finally the unit to buy

Pros: cost, hdmi cable, updatable
Cons: a model like this should have come sooner
"I've been waiting for the right model and price point and this is it. Ignore Jeff''s review because the BX1 is the new model. It is Costco's equivelant to the Sony S-350 except it includes the HDMI cable and a backlit remote.
Listen everybody knows what a dvd player does and all you want is a Blu-Ray player to do what it's supposed to. This is the perfect mainstream unit that 90% of the public should buy. It is updatable (Samsung are you listening) for the 2.0 standard the reviewers were telling you to wait for. If you own a Sony LCD the Blu Ray remote can operate some of the functions so those who already use too many remotes will appreciate it. For you enthusiasts you'll have to check the details to see is this has what you need for the audio options. I use an old 5.1 system so it's fine for me."
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:December 21, 2008

This Unit Does It All And Priced Right

Pros: does everything for you, feature rich at that price, remote simple to use
Cons: there are no cons
Model Number: BDP-BX1
"I had The Sony model just before this one and you could say it was slow loading and cumbersome to upgrade firmware. When they released this model that ALL went away. This unit hooked to the Internet and a Gigabyte or two of memory and you'll be very happy with the performance vs. cost. I've seen it written here its slow loading. Don't believe that for a second. If it's hooked to a Sony Bravia TV like mine it's close to instant on. You CAN'T go wrong with this Blu-ray Player. I have an 8 Gigabyte chip in mine and it has never come close to filling it to capacity. DO plan on getting a memory chip right away, it’s used more often than you realize and you’ll notice the difference in the unit operation right away. I think my 8 Gigabyte chip was around $60 delivered but you’ll have to shop the net to get that price. Last piece of advice: Make sure it’s a SONY memory chip!!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:November 5, 2008

Excellent Player! Great Value

Pros: great price, small in size
"This player is perfect. My guess is that the complaint about the slow loadind could be solved with a simple firmware upgrade easiler done by connecting the player to the internet via the built in ethernet jack. This player supports HDMI 1.3, BD Live (memory is stored on a USB Memory stick not supplied), Composite Video out, Component Video Out, S-Video out, Digital Optical Audio, out and Digital Coaxial Audo out."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 29, 2008

Careful with Audio Decoding

"If this is similar to the Sony 350, my understanding is that they will NOT decode the latest audio formats of Dolby True HD digital plus and DTS-HD Master Audio. One of these might be able to be added by an internet update, but the other is not. The player will pass the signals as a bitstream, but to use them your receiver must be able to decode them and "older" receivers like mine (about 18 months old) can not do this. If it decodes the signal it will pass it as a PCM signal. Check the specs to be sure it will decode what you want. If you don't get the latest formats you will still get good audio, but you should be aware of the limitations.
Also, the specs don't mention BD Live Bonus view which gets extra information on some discs via the internet and may provide some interactivity. I have not used this yet with my player."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:October 16, 2008

Sony BDP-BX1

Pros: beautiful high-def picture and upscaling of dvd
Cons: still slow start-up compared to dvd player, if you love dvd-audio keep old player connected.
"Price is right to dive in now.....if you have a 1080P plasma, it doesn't get any better....be sure to connect via HDMI to take full advantage of this player features. Component outputs will work beautifully, but, you'll miss out on the full benefits of the upscaling for regular DVDs. Enjoy!!!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:January 28, 2009
Pros: works consistently, fast, simple to use, good looking
Cons: lacks 7.1 analog audio outputs
Model Number: BDP-BX1
"I got this unit at Christmas and then right after Christmas, Costco had the Panasonic DMP-BD35 on sale for the same price. I saw reviews about the Sony being slow, so I purchased the Panasonic too and compared the speed doing typical operations. The Sony was faster on all accounts. The Panasonic could read photos straight of an SD card, whereas the Sony only used the memory stick for BDLive. I was ok with not reading photos straight off memory so I took the Panasonic unit back for refund. The Sony has better menus and the Panasonic has a better remote. The Panasonic case looks and feels cheap. Set the digital audio out to Dolby on the Sony to get 5.1 on older recievers, otherwise PCM will get you only stereo."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange Co., CA
Date:November 13, 2008

Good player

Pros: very easy to use and setup.
Cons: not compatible with netflix.
"A very nice player. For me the not being compatible with Netflix is a bummer.
Will be replacing it with something that is compatible.
"
18 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2008

Good value for blu ray

"I perivously had the S301 and experiance very long load times. This unit loads within 20 seconds. Additionaly, for DVD's this unit remembers were you left off. The picture quality is great and DVD's better then on basic player (upconveting)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:October 24, 2008

Good Picture, But SLOW & Awkward

Pros: good picture
Cons: slow & awkward to use, wait for an updated model
"The video & audio quality of the BDP-BX1 Model Blu-Ray player will not disappoint a discriminating consumer ... BUT ... This is an OLDER unit (since updated by SONY) -- This model is exceptionally SLOW to load, SLOW to respond to commands and awkward to use. WAIT for a newer model!"
16 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edison,NJ
Date:October 18, 2008

Prrobably the best

Pros: sleek design excellent output
Cons: none that i know off
"I think this is the best Bluray player produced by sony..It has a very sleek design and also a very user friendly remote..Its very robust and it even plays scratched dvds with great precision..I previously tried its models bdps-300 and bdps-301 but i was not satisfied....but this one its a great find..I think this is the least price you can expect on a blu ray player for this quality..."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 12, 2008

One of the best!

"This Blu-ray DVD player is awesome. The picture and sound quality are excellent and it is not slow at all.
I highly recommend it to anyone.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA state
Date:February 12, 2009

Excellent blu-ray player

Cons: lack of analog audio ouputs for advanced dts/dd
Model Number: BPD-BX1
"I had this player up and running within minutes of opening the box, connected to an audio/video receiver via HDMI and a media computer via ethernet, which reduces the number of cables I've dealt with in the past--definitely a plus and one which I'll not do without for future media sources! The menu set-up for display and audio are a breeze, though it does take getting used to and as usual these days, the remote is necessary as one cannot change settings without it. A great feature of the remote itself is that it's backlit--so convenient in a darkened room and I wish all remotes had this feature. The buttons, however, are small but not as bad as previous Sony remotes.
As far as performance goes, blu-ray is as good as it gets and this player easily shows off the potential of the format and your HD display. It also allows lossless audio if your receiver is capable of decoding DTS master and Dolby True HD bitstream. Only the 7.1 analog audio ouputs for the above are lacking in this player, but standard Dolby Digital and DTS through the digital outputs are more than capable of excercising all but the most expensive home theater setups. In any case this player is future ready, and plays back regular DVD's quite well so the upconversion to high definition is better than average, I would say.
Lastly, the BD-Live features are fun, though the rear access to the USB port is somewhat inconvenient--actually quite inconvenient if this player is placed inside a cabinet. However, as this is not used for viewing photos, just accessing and storing BD-Live features one can simply leave the rear memory device in place since you can erase its contents through the menu as needed.
All in all I'm quite happy with this purchase. It's a cutting edge blu-ray player at an entry-level price, easy to set up but has advanced features which makes the user actually refer to the manual and familiarize himself/herself with this "toy," a sophisticated one at that!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:enumclaw wa.
Date:December 16, 2008

sony blue ray

Pros: remote
Cons: slow loading
Model Number: bx 1
"player is a good value but agian the loading is slow but picture and sound is great and the price is right shoped all around and costco seemed to have the lowest price"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ HDMI Cable
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South
Date:October 21, 2008

Best Player to Date

"Small and great picture.
Huge improvement over last years model.
Only thing I do not like is the bad rewind."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.