Customer Reviews for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U

Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
3 of 9(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Review 1 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Date:March 18, 2010

Good value for price

Pros: inexpensive, easy to install/set-up, pc connection
Cons: pc software bluescreens during real time updates, poor customer service., bought second unit because anemometer died on 1st
Model Number: WS 2316
"I bought two of the predecessor models of this from Costco. (WS-2316) I had it on my deck railing for a year running wireless. I liked it enough I put the rain gauge on my roof, the temp sensor under the eaves, the anemometer on the top of plastic conduit attached to my chimney, and hard wired it so I wouldn't have to change the battery and could attach to a PC. Its been on the roof for three years and has worked flawlessly."
Review 2 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 21, 2009

Model 3103

Model Number: Model 3103
"Disappointed. After initial setup this unit, combined with weak service support, took me 3 frustrating months to get it working properly. I used "new" batteries which seemed to work fine but Tech Support said they were too near the end of their shelf life for the unit to work properly. Wish the unit could have indicated that and saved me aggravation. Sent many emails and made six calls for support. Only two were eventually, not promptly, returned."
Review 3 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:boston burbs, ma
Date:January 26, 2009

stopped working after 6 weeks

Cons: does not work
"was fabulous while it lasted, but started to have too many problems after 6 weeks. wireless sensors did not connect anymore. replaced batteries, tried the adapter, moved everything around to less than 15 feet distance, nothing worked. got tired wasting my time on this unit and returned it for refund."
Review 4 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:January 15, 2009

Stay away from La Crosse

Model Number: WS-2308
"I've purchased 2 of these units over the past 3 years. The first time, it was the outdoor components that failed, primarily the wind gauge. The bearings seized and the company was not at all helpful in providing a solution to repair or replace them. In the unit I own now, the indoor wireless receiver failed, and looking back it was never right from the beginning...beeping randomly in the middle of the night, flashing display in the middle of the night, followed by complete blank screen and eventual total failure. Expect to use your unit for 6 months, then expect it to fail. I will not waste my time contacting LaCrosse, I will just purchase another brand next time."
Review 5 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:January 13, 2009

Solid, Reliable Weather Station

Pros: full-featured, solid and reliable, reasonable cost, transmit to internet
Cons: software not the best (but see comments)
Model Number: WS-2316
"While certainly not professional quality, I have had my Weather Station running 24/7 for the past 6 months with uninterrupted service. The unit has allowed me to transmit data through my computer to the internet for all to see. Yes, the software could be better, but a freeware program (WUHU) is available and their support is outstanding to get your data on Weather Underground, CWOP, and even NOAA - for free!
The Station is ideal for hobbyists who want wind direction, wind speed, wind gusts, rain totals, rainfall rate, indoor/outdoor temps and humidity, dewpoint, windchill, pressure, etc. - all reported continuously via wired (fast) or wireless (slower) transmission. Historical data can be saved and exported.
For an entry level full-featured weather station enduring rain, freezing rain, snow, sleet, and wind storms, I have found the product to be solid and reliable at a reasonable cost."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008

poor quality

"the La Crosse failed after a few weeks, I returned and exchanged it at costco. The replacement also failed after approx 6 months, I could have returned it again but, I decided to simply toss it and not buy this brand in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 6, 2008

OK for the price

Pros: cheap, serial data port
Cons: wind gauge is poor, wireless extremely limited, unshielded phone connectors
"This isn't be best weather station you can buy but it is about the cheapest that has serial data interface. Part of the problem is the use of untwisted phone cable for connections (can be improved with Cat 5) or unreliable wireless transmission. The wind gauge will fail above 50mph.
However if you want an inexpensive personal weather station for wunderground or the european equivalent, this is your cheapest option.
Not sure which is more unreliable, heavyweather or windows, but if you insist on using this combination, just assume you will need to restart once per day.
There are Mac and Linux software alternatives which are much more reliable.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for La Crosse Professional Weather Station WS-2316U
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:November 3, 2008

Poor Software and Support

Pros: choice of wired or wireless base station display, peak reading extremes viewable
Cons: no direct ethernet connectivity wired or wireless, display readability difficult if wall mounted, no display reading parade option
"Heavy Weather 2 BETA is the latest software available for this model and the ws-2308 sold by Costco last year. Buggy, limited is the best I can say.
Poor Customer service is the next thing I will say.
The Graphing program only scales graphs by UTC.
Novembers Time Zone change uncovered another flaw in Timezone implementation, Overlapping data set for the hour of "fall Back" resulting in a saw tooth graph for that time period.
The Data Export function only does "Tab Separated Variables", not the more common CSV used by many spreadsheets.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.