Customer Reviews for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080p ClearFrame 120Hz Anti-Blur Super Narrow Bezel
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 of 35(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:October 28, 2008

Excellent value for 40" Thin Bezel

Pros: great picture
Cons: want more customization ability
"For a 40" 120mhz thin bezel at this price its a nobrainer - just get it. My space for this set is limited and I had a choice between a Bravia Z which costs about 1000 more or the Toshiba. Locally the Toshiba was about 1800 until this deal came along at Costco. Extra year warranty is great bonus. Had issues with shipping damage but it was quickly rectified. Minimal and I mean minimal backlight bleed in a totally dark room. This is really an issue with ALL LCDs and some may have more than others but its a fact of life with all LCD's. No issues with clouding or uneveness in the picture. Backlights are overly bright for a totally dark room and you can't really drop them too low or you loose picture brightness. Set the backlight and brightness low enough so the upper bars match the black levels for the picture which is pretty darn good. Picture is outstanding and color levels can customized. Would have liked more HDMI ports and a VGA port that can run the full 1080P but that can be achieved with an adapter to HDMI. Sound is fine for a mid/small sized room. Clarity in HD is fantastic with no ghosting/artifacts and there is no motion blur. Standard SD channels are good but what all sets are pretty much the same.
The only negative is the inability to totally customize all the venue settings (sports, movies, etc.) You can only customize one for each input though the menu system. Not really a negative for most just being a little picky.
Build quality is excellent which is evident in the weight of the unit. Plastic quality is excellent. The pricey Sony Bravia Z weighs less and the plastics are inferior.
Overall at this price its a fantastic deal, Costco's return policy is excellent and shipping is very quick. Just a tip with the shipping - be there when the set is delivered and help the driver if you don't want your set damaged as they tend to manhandle things of this size and weight.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenwood, AR
Date:December 18, 2008

No need to wait anymore

Model Number: 40xf550u
"My wife finally gave me permission to buy a new tv so I did a lot of research. I wanted to fit as much tv as possible into our built-in entertainment center so I really only had about 4choices. This tv was by far the best of the bunch for the money.
I won't go into technical details as much so as not to repeat what others have said. The picture is fantastic out of the box but can be tweaked to improve it even more. The sound is definitely not high-end but these tvs were designed to be part of an entertainment system, not necessarily a stand-alone product. If you want great sound you will need a sound system to go with it. It does run a little hotter than I expected. It has plenty of inputs for whatever you might want to connect to it.
Unboxing and assembly were very easy. Metal is actually used for the support base and it is very heavy so I don't worry about the tv tipping over at all.
I joined Costco to buy this tv (even though there is not a store within several hours of my home) because the price for this tv beat the next closest price by $350 even after paying the membership fee and shipping. An added benefit is the doubling of the manufacturers warranty. The only disappointment for me was the shipping took longer than expected. I expected the shipment to come from Atlanta and would have taken 2 days but I guess that warehouse was out of stock and my tv came in from Ontario so it took 5 days enroute. It would have been nice for Costco to tell me that in advance.
Overall, I am very pleased and glad I waited this long to buy an HDTV. The 120 hertz refresh rate does make a big difference in picture quality. Don't hesitate to pull the trigger on this tv."
Review 3 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:October 20, 2008

Good TV but.....

"I already owned the Regza 52" via costco.com and it is GREAT, so I thought the 40" should be at least as good however the is one problem: TV is connected to an HDTV cable box using the component cables (G,B, R) & I have the audio out of the TV connected to an AVR and the problem is that on changing the channel the is a "pop" noise being generated from the TV and outputted to the AVR which, when the volume is up, sounds very loud and is very annoying. You can even turn the volume ALL the way down on the TV and change the channel and you can still hear the "popping" noise from the TV. I have NO popping noise problem with the 52" toshiba Regza... NONE!
At first I thought it was a problem was the TV and so of course I ordered another one and BAM!! I am having the same probem. Luckily I bought the TV from Costco.com and so there is no problems with the return. Hopefully I will either get used to the annoying sound or something better will become available before my 90days (to return the 2nd TV) is up.
I must say however. COSTCO is the ONLY place to buy electronics or anything else for that matter."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Asheboro, NC
Date:October 31, 2008

Superior Product-Good Pricing

"With thanks to George Bush for the stimulus check I have finally purchased an HDTV after much research. I looked at several options before deciding on Toshiba. I have spent considerable time watching the different online merchants yo-yo pricing on HDTV products and am amazed that there is such a broad range on the exact same TV. Costco has the best deal I have seen and was the final deal maker because of that! Now, for info about the TV- ease of setup if you will take time to read the manual is good. The picture quality outstanding and reception with just a simple rabbit ear antenna is good. I have no problem with the sound of the factory speakers installed by Toshiba. I subscribe to Netflix and have been very impressed with the Regza while watching movies! This is the best television for the dollar investment I have seen, and I visited most of the electronics stores in my area, Overall, Toshiba is probably underrated compared to Samsung and Sony. However, having seen several brands side by side I was impressed enough to buy the 40 XF 550U. Excellent HDTV!!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:November 12, 2008

Key tips to great picture

"Awesome TV, you are not going to find a better one for price. i had a bit of trouble getting picture to "pop" hd style so after tweaking for a while I realized that if sharpness is too high it will distort picture too much and ruin hd picture. So try turning the sharpness down to about 20 (where i leave it) then bring up if need be. another place to be careful is your choice of "video" or "film" setting-it will alter the picture. This is THE warmest hdtv I have ever seen with proper tweaking you can get old films like original star wars to look like a projection screen (movie theatre). The key is to adjust picture setting to "film" and the temperature to "medium" or "warm" depending on taste. turn off or down the noise reduction and the like before turn sharpness way down, it will make a difference and not show defects of media as much. This TV is better than my dad's and his cost 5 times as much and not nearly as warm and "real" looking . Great job Toshiba and thanks costco."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:November 8, 2008

2nd TV is AWESOME!

"I, like one other reviewer, received a T.V. that was dead on arrival. The Costco conceirge service guided us through a few techniques, but the T.V. still did not have a set-up screen, a picture, or sound even though it definitely had power. The conceirge offered to send a technician to my home, but I decided to call the regular Costco customer service line to make arrangements for a return and to reorder a new T.V.
Costco arranged for U.P.S. to come to my house and pick-up the dead T.V. rather than having me haul an 80 lb package to our nearest Costco store 50 miles away. At the same time, they manually placed another order.
Let me just say, this T.V. is absolutely GORGEOUS and well worth the hassle!! I definitely wanted a thin bezel, and you won't find a price like this anywhere. I've been looking at thin bezel's since I moved into my new house in May, and it was well worth the wait!
I still give this product 5 stars even though the first T.V. was a dud!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:October 24, 2008

Great Deal!

Pros: great packaging-easy to open and throw away, great picture and viewing options, 3 hdmi inputs, easy to set-up w/assistance of costco concierge, 40" tv in 36 3/4"!!, costco's easy return policy & extra year warranty
Cons: average sound quality
"I bought this on costco.com when it was advertised to be on sale for $200 off. For whatever reason, once the sale started, it was actually $400 off! A nice bonus. A difference of about $800+ off the price sold by other retailers. The narrow bezel allowed me to get a 40" that would otherwise not have fit in my cabinet. UPS delivery was extremely fast. Though, I was shocked to see that UPS left the TV on my front porch in plain view, with the box clearly advertising the contents.UPS did not even verify if I was home before dropping it on the porch and driving off. Better be sure you are home on the scheduled delivery day, unless you don't mind it sitting out in plain view of anyone wanting a free, new TV!
About the only thing I would want to be better is the sound. But, it's easy enough to connect to a regular stereo system, surround sound system etc. For the price, the sound quality is really the only thing to quibble about.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Chester, PA
Date:October 27, 2008

Fabulous TV!

Pros: great picture
Cons: none i can name
"This has proven to be a great TV. The HD picture is gorgeous; the SD picture, while not quite as good as my old CRT, is acceptable (though SD is NOT why you buy this TV). I have no complaints about it at all -- and for the price you can't beat it. I'm using it with FiOS as my TV source via HDMI (switched through a home theater receiver), so I've never listened to the sound system in the TV itself. I've also got the TV connected to a Blu Ray player through the same HDMI connection/receiver. Really rich colors; deep blacks. No jitters or judders during fast motion. And details? Wow!
This TV has none of the light bleeds or flashlighting that plague other sets. No clouding that I can perceive, either. So, I'm quite happy.
Costco delivered this quickly and with no trouble. Some people have complained that the boxes arrive beat up, but that was not a problem in this instance. In short, go for it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hartford CT
Date:November 22, 2008

Great TV / Great Price

"Got it in 3 days. UPS delivered it to to the front door (very strange it required no signature). Packaging is not the best. The TV itself is a top notch, A1 product for the price. Thin Bezel optimizes looks and size. Excellent high resolution picture from cable box; outstanding from Blu-Ray player (Sony Blu-Ray Player from Costco). You must spend some time initially playing around with the video settings to get it just right. Once you do, you'll know it: images will pop out at you. Unfortunately Sound is better when hooked up to outside source. TV Sound on its own is adequate at best (the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5).
Got to love how Costco stands behind its products and the extra warranty time.
I'll be set for a while now. My next TV purchase will be a Laser set once the prices come down to earth and finds its way to Costco.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Snohomish, WA
Date:December 16, 2008

Extremely Nice TV

Pros: easy to setup, great menu, nice picture, smaller footprint
Cons: sound quality
"I pulled this out of the box last night and was blown away by the quality of the product. I know it seems small, but even the hardware to attach the stand was top notch. This is my first HDTV so I was a bit daunted by the setup at first. This soon subsided once I hit the menu button and clearly labeled, easy to understand, categories came up and I had the tv running in less than 15 minutes. I didn't even know we had so many channels with basic cable.
I wish someone out there had a post of what the best setting are to tune the tv. I also wish I could figure out how to remove the old non-HD local channels from the line up so I dont have to browse through them. The sound from the television could be a bit better. Nice job Toshiba."
Review 11 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:October 21, 2008

Nice TV, Great Price

Pros: narrow bezel good for tight spaces, really great price for a 120 hertz tv
Cons: weak sound unit, not quite as nice as samsung
"I had this TV for about a month now and have no serious complaints. Compared to the newest Samsung LCDs, this one falls a bit short in the looks and display department. Those slight shortcomes are more than made up by the narrow bezel and the $500 savings.
The only real weakness for this unit, for me at least, is the weak sound unit. There's a huge qualitative difference between running the sound through the TV and running it through my rather modest Klipsch iFi unit. However, I haven't experienced other problems with it.
Finally, I highly recommend buying through Costco online. The box shipped perfectly and arrived within a week. The security of the 90 day return policy is also a great benefit.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2008

awesome tv

"We had ditched the T.V. for the past year and decided to get one when we saw this great deal. The thin bezel helped fit into our cabinet where are old 36" thin tube had filled up the entire space. Picture is awesome! For the price and the fact that you are getting the full 1080p and 120 hz it can't be beat. Menus are a little clunky to get through especially if you want to customize alot of things and you better have a AV receiver for sound cause the one built in frankly stinks unless you are only watching news and even then that's questionable. Overall great purchase that can't be beat on quality, size or picture."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2008

Buy. This. TV.

Pros: size price display ease of use
"Been literally waiting years for the right unit to come along. A friend who does high end home theater installs kept telling me to wait, wait, nope, not that one. When this unit came out he finally said "Ok, you can buy now."
This is an elegant unit that delivers a great picture. The specs are understated because of some of the parts are used in other, pricier tvs with a worse picture, and it performs better than the specs will lead you to believe.Do an online search for reviews and you'll find some great threads to tell you about setting it up and fine tuning it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 7, 2008

Great Buy!

Pros: everything about it!
Cons: label on lcd screen.
"Arrived earlier than projected and unscathed. I love everything about it. Great size for a condo living room. Sound is better than my old Sony and fills the room without extra speakers. Color & clarity incredible. Easy set-up, even for this novice. One concern: there was a label running down one side of the screen that left some sticky residue on the screen. Anyone else experience this and what is the best way to remove it without damaging the LCD screen?"
Review 15 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:November 7, 2008

Wonderful buy You won't go wrong

Pros: works like a charm
Cons: none yet
"This is our second HDTV. The first was a Sharp Aquos 46" that we also bought at Costco. We were considering a Sharp 37" for our bedroom when I caught sight of this Toshiba. It is the same width as the Sharp but has a 40" screen (because of the narrow bezel). It also has a quicker response (120 mhz), and adjusts automatically to the set volume on both changing channels AND commercials.
We love it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Florida
Date:November 11, 2008

Great competitive value

"Had this set for a week as a bedroom unit. The picture quality compares favorably with my Sony 52 inch 120hz W model. Well pleased so far. The initial set up procedure is not quite as intuitive as the Sony but once completed to your satisfaction you're pretty much out of there from then on. Audio seems good enuf. No problems with transport from the Atlanta area to central Florida via UPS."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Herriman, UT
Date:November 14, 2008

What an experience!

"This is my first HDTV and after I did much research, I must say that this is an awesome TV. The picture is great, sound appears fine, and the functionality of it is terrific. I love how narrow the bezel is so that it can fit into my armoire as well as most 37" tvs but with a larger screen. Definitely consider this one. I'm ready to get the 52" for my entertainment room."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:October 18, 2008

I love this Tv!

"I traded up to this set from a lesser model Toshiba 40" LCD. The difference is night and day! It is easy to see why this is Toshiba's Flagship television(Regza). Picture is several times better, adjustability to fine tune is exceptional. The HD display is fantastic, and it blows aways the lesser models on standard definition too. You won't be sorry with this purchase!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:west palm beach fl
Date:November 10, 2008

Great TV

Pros: fast delivery great color, narrow bezel 120hz, great price
Cons: none
"This is our second toshiba regza, we bought a 52" three month's ago at costco and was very happy with the proformance, so when the 40" went on sale we ordered it, very happy, we had a problem with the sticky tape lable on the screen, I put a fresh piece of tape over the sticky adhesive, and quickly pulled it off with the tape, until the sticky adhesive, came off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for $999.99 after $400 OFF Toshiba Regza 40" 120 Hz 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenmore, WA
Date:October 22, 2008

Excellent TV

Pros: regza link is very nice, very stable and clear picture
Cons: menus could be better, see-through menus would be good, no clock (as i've seen on other tvs)
"This TV has an excellent picture and rich color. It has some very nice features. My Onkyo AV receiver turns on automatically when I turn the TV on. That's cool!
UPS delivery is terrible! They shattered the screen of the first TV I ordered. Then the TV was out of stock.
I ordered 2 the second time just to make sure I got one that worked... then returned the other.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>