Customer Reviews for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator

PUR® Water Filtration System ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 11(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Review 1 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach area Ca.
Date:February 19, 2009

What a HUNK...

Pros: love the doors easy access, some trays pull out all are adjustable, freezer double basket, quiet operation
Cons: ice maker is huge takes up a lot of space in top, yes it's big really big.
Model Number: GI5FVAXV / 11303749
"Wow... is this a BIG fridge... Love the french doors. However, the ice maker takes up a huge space in the upper normal refrigerator area. It actually has less room than my old 22 cubic foot up top. But... Wow is there a lot of room in the freezer. Totally makes up for it.
This unit just got into my home by the skin of my teeth. Check the dimensions, and then double check your doors and entry hall or entry to your kitchen area including the area where you want it to stand. You will need a extra inch or so for ventilation. The installation guys were great. They had to lift this monster over a shelf to get it into my kitchen. Yikes.
The shelf's are nice, and I did not know they were pull outs. Nice. The soda can wire tray holder is useless and the two bottom vegetable trays are cheep and sticky. They don't roll out and in very well. I may do a service call on them. They may need some lubrication or adjustment. I love the BLACK as it fits my decor. My old one was a white monster. Ha... The ice maker is really nice and very fast. Love the controls on the out side door. One lever for water and ice, but you have to select with a button which one you want. At night, the bright blue LED are so bright, you can't see what the button is for. I wish the button symbols were back lighted. During the day, no problem. I think anyone will enjoy this unit for years to come. I hope I do. My last one lasted 9 years before it needed a new pump."
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 11, 2010

So disappointed

Pros: none
Cons: you name it
Model Number: GI5FVAXVL01
"This Whirlpool Gold frig has an odd configuration & no crushed ice feature. The produce in the drawers freeze constantly, as does the milk, salad dressing and other items in the door. When I called the factory about this, they said I had the freezer too full and to be sure that the vents inside the freezer were not covered. Did that, still freezes in the frig. The ice maker is in the way of any organization and storage of refrigerated goods. I kept thinking it was me, so I changed the temp, the drawer humidity, re-arranged the shelves, etc. but no luck. This is a lemon. It stays cold, but ruins food, and has less storage than my old 20 CuFt side by side with no crushed ice! Decent size freezer but you can't use it without ruining groceries in the frig. Good price & delivery. Can't fault Costco. But I will buy a GE next time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:June 22, 2009

Happy to Find White

Pros: efficiency
Cons: no crushed ice
Model Number: GI5FVAXQO1
"I'm not a fan of stainless steel, so I was happy to find this French-door fridge in white. It is very efficient and I love the versatility of the shelving. The lighting is really good and the water filter is easily accessible. I wasn't sure about the roll-out freezer, but I am growing to appreciate it more every day.
My only complaint is that the ice dispenser does not offer crushed ice."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pasco, Wa
Date:July 19, 2009

ok purchase

Pros: lots of room
Cons: features needs to be improve, ice drops really hard
Model Number: WP GI5FVAXVB F/D BLK 24.9
"well the first time i got this item i had two issues with it. first there was a crack in the upper interior wall next to the ice maker. then the ice maker was not working properly two months after i bought it. the good thing about it is that i called costco and told them about it they offered to replace the item. i took the offer and when i got the second one delivered the delivery guy was really slow on setting things up. the new item had black oily stains where the ice maker was located, inside of the ice maker there was bits of plastic in it. it seems like they nevered cleaned the item when they finished making it. its been two days since i recieved the repacement item and it seems to be working ok."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:March 28, 2009

Wonderful Icebox!

Pros: attractive, quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: G15FVAXVQOD
"I love my new refrigerator! It's quiet, attractive, and holds refrigerator magnets. The stainless steel models do not, and they show fingerprints. Lots of room inside, and the french doors are a great feature. It does an expansion creak once in awhile, not often."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:May 30, 2010

Would not do again

"Nice fridge, but the service from the company is so bad, I would never buy one again. I had to have a shelf replaced because the labels were peeling off, and they said they would cover it, but when the tec arrived, they denied payment.
I had the sink replaced, and they brushed against the door, and have to replace it. Having to deal with the worst phone Q in the world is whirlpool, and they sent out a stripped down door for 400 dollars.
Well, you get the picture. Brushed aluminum here is a pain, dealing with whirlpool is a pain you dont want to have to learn about.
My advice, buy from another vender, just not GE.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Colorado
Date:December 26, 2010

Like it better every day

Pros: freezer drawers are accessible.
Cons: no crushed ice.
"I like our refrigerator more now than I did earlier, first the lights went out and the ice maker quit working. That was fixed with no problem but the next huge issue was when it stopped working while my husband and I were in Europe. Our daughter was watching the house and thought one of the cats had died. It was the refrigerator, and everything in it was spoiled beyond use. The smell was unbelievable. After much waiting on the phone and my having a royal fit we did get a repairman in who repaired it in 20 minutes...some box on the back had stopped working. However, the loss of the meat and frozen vegetables, etc., was considerable.
It is now working beautifully and I am actually starting to like it and how it is configured. At first, it was so much smaller than my Amana that I disliked it, but I have finally figured the whole thing out and it works well, now.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 1, 2009

small freezer

"This refrigerator replaced a 22 ft top freezer model. There is less door shelf space because of the icemaker. The freezer holds only about 2/3 the stuff from the old fridge even though I don't need room for ice trays and the freezer is rated to be the same size."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 18, 2010

no matt finish on front

"I love this product so far. But I was led to believe it had the black matt finish on the front, which it does not. The matt finish is on the sides and top--where it is not needed to hide fingerprints, etc., which I find strange."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gold Canyon AZ
Date:October 18, 2010

Ice all over the floor

"When using a glass to fill with Ice it comes out so fast it ends up all over the floor. We have to use a bowl to correct the problem. Other than that it seems to be a good product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool 25.0 CuFt French Door Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 30, 2010

great product

"love the look and functionality of this refrigerator. Clean and sleek looking. big amount of space everywhere inside. Little bit loud."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.