Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum

Includes: Pet Hair Tool & 12 Additional Vacuum Bags
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
12
11 of 24(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:austin, tx
Date:July 16, 2009

Great vacuum!

Pros: easy, self-propel feature is great!
Cons: heavy when carrying up stairs
Model Number: WindTunnel Bagged, Self-Propelled
"I spent a couple of week researching vacuums online, asking friends, and subscribed to Consumer Reports to find the best vacuum for the price. This vacuum was rated #1 by Consumer Reports.
I got this vacuum b/c it supposedly does well on hard floors and handles well. We have Berber and tile throughout the entire house.
I just opened it up and put it together (very, very easy one step) and gave it a try. Works very well! The stainless look is very cool and the self-propelled feature is awesome!! It feels like I barely have to push it.
The unit is somewhat heavy, but not terrible. I can see how lugging it upstairs could get cumbersome if you are a person who has lifting limitations. When it's "on",however, the vacuum feels very lightweight when using the self-propelled feature.
This vacuum is replacing a 10 year old middle of the line Hoover which didn't break, but the attachments no longer suction.
I thought about getting the Dyson at Costco, or a different bagless vacuum, but I really don't like the idea of cleaning and emptying the bagless vacuums. I queried two friends who own a Windtunnel, and both were very pleased; one friend owned a Windtunnel and a Dyson, and she preferred this one due due to the annoyance of cleaning and emptying a bagless vacuum and having to get up close and personal w/ so much dirt. I had plenty of friends recommend Dysons, but in the end, I preferred to save money and get this one. I don't love cleaning, and I highly doubt spending two or three times as much will get me excited about cleaning.
So, for the money, this vacuum seems a great one. I guess time will tell, though, since other reviewers seem to mention some troubles with belts and burning smells."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 11, 2009

Very Disappointed

"This vacuum worked fine for the first 6 months. Then it stopped picking up dog hair and had a terrible burning smell. After a few trips to the vacuum repair shop, with no improvement, we are giving it to Good Will. Wish I would have kept the receipt and taken it back. I would not recommend this vacuum!"
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:June 30, 2009

poor choice

Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel Self Propelled
"I bought the self propelled because consumer reports had a good rating. I would not recommend it as the self propelled broke after six months."
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:June 18, 2009

Hard to push and burning rubber

Pros: sucks well
Cons: self propel broke
Model Number: UH50005B
"Got this vacuum about 6 months ago. Loved the sleek stainless steel look. We have two long-haired dogs, and it sucks very well, leaving the areas cleaned looking really clean. However, the self propel feature quit working last weekend, and the house has the stench of burning rubber. After reading all the reviews, this is going back to Costco. Even if I have it fixed, something else will go wrong! Bummer. I usually need a new vacuum every 5-7 years, and this one didn't even make it out of warranty!"
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 13, 2009

Will never purchase a hoover again

Pros: good suction
Cons: too heavy, unreliable
"This is my second Hoover purchase. Initially, I thought it was good deal when my old vaccum stopped working.
Within 4 months of purchase the rollers stopped moving and the vacuum started smoking. I will never buy a Hoover again.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cary, NC
Date:May 1, 2009

Too big and too heavy

Pros: powerful
Cons: too much noise, too heavy, too big
"I have had good experience with Hoover in the past and decided to buy another Hoover. But I am not happy with this one at all...It's too big and too heavy to carry to around and to the second floor. On top of that it makes too much noise. I am a returning it this week. They should have come up with a better version. I cannot use it because it's too big so when we tried it out my husband used it..."
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 16, 2009

Replacement vacuum just quit

Pros: worked great when it ran.
Cons: 2nd one has quit. we only have one room carpeted., light use-should not have quit on us.
"We wanted a self-propelled vacuum cleaner. Several months ago we bought this Hoover self-propelled vacuum. It did a great job at first, but then the height adjustment kept resetting itself to the lowest setting and the beater bar began to malfunction. It became impossible to push, even for my husband.
We returned the vacuum to Costco (thinking it was just an isolated problem with that particular vacuum) We repurchased the exact same model. This one is about 3 months old. Yesterday, the new one started doing the same things that the old one did. We were going to get it repaired under warrantee (it does a good job WHEN it works) After reading the other reviews, we will just return it and get a different brand of vacuum. If all of these other people have had problems, too, then what is our chance of actually getting one that will be reliable?
I wish I had read the reviews before we bought the first one. It is a shame Costco gets stuck with so many of these being returned.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:April 13, 2009

Mediocre device, at best

Pros: relatively inexpensive
Cons: clunky heavy not "ergonomically friendly", awkward to use poor design and construction
Model Number: I forget the exact number, because at the moment the vacuum in in the repair shop!
"Poor design overall. Very heavy- my wife dislikes it for that reason alone. On/off switch broke within the first week. I took the handle apart, fiddled with the switch mechanism, and it worked again- once. So I used the plug as the "on-off switch" until I put a heavy duty switch on the power cord itself.
Belts wear rapidly and are awkward to replace. Be careful not to get anything caught while doing floors or carpet because the belt will likely burn, necessitating replacement. A stray piece of yarn or the edge of a lightweight area rug can be a problem.
The self-propelled mechanism failed within the first year. The indicator lights sometimes will stay red no matter how many times you make a pass on the same area. The "answer" is to disconnect the vacuum hose and let it run for a minute or two, just sucking air.
No more Hoovers for this family!"
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:April 11, 2009

What a WASTE

Cons: really heavy
"This vacuum has had problems since the begining -- everything breaks on it: the switch, the belt, the self propellor. I hadn't even had it a year when everything started breaking. PLUS, it weighs so much that it's difficult to get up and down the stairs. I wish I hadn't ever seen this vacuum and wasted my money on it. Now I have to buy another one -- and it won't be a Hoover!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:April 10, 2009

not worth the money

Pros: great suction when working
Cons: inferior construction and design
Model Number: Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Edition Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
"I am bringing back my second one today. Both had trouble right out of the box. Rotating brush works intermittently. Belts slip so they begin to burn up. On the second the power drive has also failed.. Either I was unlucky and got stuck twice or the current production of these is inferior. I got to admit it had great suction."
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2009

Awesome

Pros: price power self-propelled
Cons: none so far
"Fanatastic! I bought it in-store. I spent 3 months reviewing Hoover, Dyson, and Oreck. I bought my first "Hoover Power Drive" 24 years ago and still use it upstairs. With that in mind, and with Costco's return policy, if it wasn't what I expected I could return it. It is less than half the price of the nearest option I considered, and a 4th of the price of the most expensive. I have white carpet, I am a neat freak with a bad back. I needed extreme power with either light weight, or a self propelled feature. I haven't had it long, but at this point, WOW! This vacuum is very impressive. It glides effortlessly, and cleans evenly with one pass."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2009

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!

"I recieved this vacuum for a wedding present nearly 18 months ago, for around the first 5 times of use it was ok but then forget it. It would not pick up on wood or tile and seeing as we have 3 cats and 2 dogs at the time disaster. The self propelled button broke almost immediately so it was much harder to push around. The filters cannot be washed out and reused so thats extra money to replace those. Now the carpet height adjustment has broken and its almost impossible to vacuum without killing yourself!!!!! Personally if someone was giving them away for free I would keep walking. Definately invest your money with a dyson which is what I wanted all along they come with a 5 year warranty and I have never ever had a problem with them before. Sometimes you really do get what you pay for."
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Pedro, CA
Date:March 4, 2009

Too bad it broke

Pros: works great if not broken
Cons: its brush stopped rotating completely
"I had it for 5 months and was pretty happy with its performance until the brush started stop rotating with burning smell. The brush finally stopping rotating altogether and the whole house ended up with a burning smell. I took it back to Costco and got my refund, but since I bought it using a coupon, I could not buy it back without paying more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sun City, AZ
Date:March 3, 2009

on/off switch

Model Number: u6476900
"We bought Hoover’s self-propelled Wind Tunnel 05/06 at COSTCO. By12/06 it would not turn on. Under warranty it was fixed for only 2 months. I have taken the handle apart several times to get it working for a couple of months but now it is completely dead. The beater brush makes a loud noise and works intermittently. It also marks up the base boards. I am very disappointed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Inland Empire
Date:February 28, 2009

On-Off switch problems

"About 2 years ago, I bought a WindTunnel from Costco. After 9 months or so, the On - Off switch stopped working. I could not turn the vacuum off. I had to unplug it to turn it off. I returned it with no problem and bought another one online. It's been approx. one year now, and the new one is doing the exact same thing. I wonder if anyone else experienced similar problems. Other than that, it works great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:February 24, 2009

Wonderful Product

Pros: easy to use, fool proof, long cord, motorized hand tool, 2 year supply of bags included, $50 cheaper at costco
Cons: heavy if you need to haul it up and down stairs
Model Number: Hoover Wind Tunnel Anniversary Edition
"Consumer Reports rated this product #1 recently and they got it right. I just bought this vacuum today and love it already. I think the biggest difference I have noticed is that it pulls the carpet fibers up; my carpet actually feels softer after I used it. And it is wonderful on pet hair. I was some what hesitant to get it since Consumer Reports stated other vacuums are better at pet hair and I have a white carpet and a black cat that sheds (a lot). But, this vacuum is great at picking up the hair!
I have already recommended it to a friend of mine. She has 2 young kids that could use it since it is self-propelled and the light tells you when the carpet is clean. Now they will have no excuses for not doing a great job.
The self-propelled is almost a little too easy and can get away from you if you are not careful; but it would be great for anyone not physically able to vacuum. I was using only my ring finger and my thumb for a while."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 1, 2009

Best vacuum for under $500

Pros: price and performance, hard surface cleaning, wide cleaning area and fits under cabinets
Cons: occasional maintenance and belt repair
Model Number: Hoover Windtunnel Self Propelled, bagged
"Actually, 4.5 stars and on the very edge of being 5 stars. If I could add two features from the Dyson DC 17 it would be perfect. The Dyson could borrow about 20 features from the Hoover. One of the pros is also a con. The vacuum is very mechanical. This makes the majority of repairs very do-it-yourself friendly, but also because of the mechanical nature of the plastic and rubber parts, it tends to need preventative maintenance every 6 months to a year--depending on usage. If you own a screw driver, you can handle the repairs. I have owned 3 of these over the past 12-15 years. While this sounds like a lot, one is still running and I bought the third to replace a $500 Dyson (DC 17 Absolute) paper-weight. While the Dyson, when it was brand new was great on the carpet, at a year old it only has about half the suction it did new (and it’s in the shop). If you have a lot of hard/smooth surfaces (ie wood, tile, etc) the Hoover blows the Dyson away on hard surface pick up. The Hoover is wider (larger cleaning area) and thinner (hence, it fits under most cabinet overhangs—which Dyson doesn’t) The down side is you have to manually adjust the Hoover to the hard surface; the Dyson height automatically adjusts and the brush turns off at the push of a button. If you don’t mind the extra 10 seconds to adjust the Hoover, the cleaning on hard surfaces is far superior vs. Dyson DC 17. I didn't realized how much I liked the light on the Hoover, until I used the Dyson that didn't have a light. I’m very hard on vacuums, I vacuum about 3500 square feet (2500 carpet and 1000 hardwood) 2-3 times a week (thanks to 5 children, 10 and under). The Hoover seems to have destroyed the Dyson on reliability and overall performance. Not to mention, good luck doing any repairs on the Dyson-it has to go to the shop for almost everything because the parts are impossible to find. I have only been able to find the alleged “lifetime filter” (which is useless after a year) online for $20. For $20 a year, I have been able to buy replacement belts and parts to keep one Hoover running for 8 years. Not to mention, the easy availability of Hoover Windtunnel parts. I’ll also take the ease of Hoover bags over the messy Dyson canister any day. From what I’ve read, as a whole, over the long term traditionally bagged out perform bagless. For the price at Costco, if I had it to do over, I’d buy two of these and still have money to go out to a nice dinner, over buying 1 Dyson. Dyson, very impressive on carpet for first 6 months. Hoover, over the long haul, and for the price, hands down winner. I haven’t looked in a couple of years, but last I recall Hoover (Windtunnel bagged) out ranked the Dyson in Consumer Reports."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wappingers Falls, NY
Date:December 16, 2008

Almost perfect bagged vacuum

Pros: 3 year warranty
Cons: stretching hose fully will tilt the vacuum
Model Number: UH50005B
"Since I was tired of sneezing every time I emptied the container of my bagless vacuum, I was looking for a bagged vacuum. This is a great bagged vacuum to own. It has strong suction, love its pet hair tool brush, reasonably prices HEPA bag when you buy them in bulk, and 3 year warranty is definitely a plus. My only complain is the hose, I wish it was designed better so that stretching it fully won’t tilt the vacuum."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rio Rancho NM
Date:December 16, 2008

For the money

Model Number: Wind Tunnel
"For what youre investing, at this price range this is a good deal,works well and with buying it a Costco youre covered if it starts to act up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Anniversary Ed. Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:November 4, 2008

Great for Pet Hair Vacuum

Pros: pet hair tool
"This vacuum is GREAT for pet hair. It picks the hair right up and the hand tool removes the hair off the sofa very quickly.
Next best feature is having the brush stop while using the hose. You have no fear of carpet damage while using the hose for a long period of time.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>