Customer Reviews for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 6,500:1
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 89
(out of 92 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
11
71 of 92(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010

Poor Features, With bad customer services

Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"The Guide function on the display model was OK, but when I got my new TV home I found out they had modified the firmware and now the Guide function was crippled! I sent and e-mail to customer support asking if there was going to be a firmware upgrade and was told no, but we have the best customer service and the #1 ranked LCD.
Well I don't think so to either of these comments. The programming of the firmware is sub par. The Mute icon stays on the screen forever, this is very dumb. Good Luck, I am going to dump this thing and get us a Samsung!
"
Review 2 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:January 2, 2010

Plan on buying one every year or so is all....

Model Number: GV47LFHDTV10A
"1st TV last seven months before "black screen of death" - they never told me problem, just replaced under full warranty. I'm feeling pretty good at this point. Replacement TV lasted 14 months with same exact "black screen of death" that happened on 1st TV. Now out of warranty (OK fair enough) and they offer minimal troubleshooting and the advice of "you should have purchased extended warranty. I will work on TV and replace boards or whatever, but they won't even help me with "troubleshooting" beyond "unplug and plug back in now turn on." What boards do I need to replace? I will do the work! Nothing. Nadda.. Zippo .Zilch. My advice....figure cost of extended warranty for as long as available into purchase price when comparing with other TVs...you will need and use it as there is a reason they are cheapest in market"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Enumclaw WA
Date:December 18, 2009

Great TV

"I've had this for almost exactly one year, and I love it. The sound is surprisingly good, and picture quality is excellent!"
Review 4 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 8, 2009

Not a good purchase

Model Number: GB42L
"after my second Vizio purchase in 2 yrs the main board when out on both sets. Vizio fixed it the first time then 4 months after warrenty expired it went out again Vizio just said sorry but there's nothing we can do, you should have bought the extended warrenty; well guess what I did but it expired 4 mnths before the TV went out. I can't believe that Costco is still selling Vizio. Spend a little more to get a brand name that will last more than 2 yrs 4 months; its a piece of trash now that will use up space in our land fills. Happy to report I bought a brand name with loyalty to it's customers, Sony. The $200 I saved on my original purchase cost me more than I saved!!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

Spend a little extra on a time-tested brand

Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"This will be a great tv purchase for those that need a tv to work for a year or so. Our main board went out after 6 months and Vizio fixed it under the warranty. When one month after the 1 year warranty rolled around and the main board went out AGAIN, Vizio refused to help although it was the original problem that was again surfacing. A friend cautioned us about Vizio as they saw us wheeling our cart out of Costco the day we bought the tv...we should have listened. We should have spent the few extra hundred and bought the Sony. Now we know and all we can do is caution anyone else we know not to make our mistake! Why is Costco continuing to carry this sub par product?"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenlawn, LI, NY
Date:November 28, 2009

Extremely Satisfied

Pros: excellent picture and sound great features
Cons: menues could be better
Model Number: VIZIO SV470XVT1A
"Purchased 1st one in February 09 for $999,which was a great deal worth every $ - purchased 2nd one in July for $899. Costco has the best price for this Visio 47 XVT. and doubles the warranty for an extra year. Can't go wrong with this tv"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:October 7, 2009

This is the Sweet Spot: Quality and Price

Pros: sharp bright picture, good sound not tinny.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"I've owned this TV for just over 6 months now, and can now say it has exceeded my expectations. If it gives as long a lifespan as the old style CRT-TV's I've owned in the past, then I will remember this as being one of the best electronic purchases of any kind I've ever made.
Of course, part of my satisfaction is that this is also my first HD TV set. However, I shopped around and read many reviews. I came to the conclusion that this was the best value out there. Now from my personal experience the reviews and comparisons have turned out to be accurate.
The quality of the picture solely depends on the source it is fed. The higher the resolution, the better the picture. At the lowest resolution, it's picture is about the same as a CRT. But, feed it anything higher and you'll be pleased, especially if the program or movie is in 16:9 size. If the resolution is the highest resolution, 1080i or p, then prepare to be stunned!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bay, SF Bay Area, Ca.
Date:October 4, 2009

Great LCD, Great price

Pros: price
Cons: runs a lil warm
Model Number: 47" 1080p LCD
"So far so good, I've waited a year to review this TV and it's performed flawlessly so far. What more could i ask for, just to last a lot longer! In the mean time i have purchased one for my Father and my Stepson awhile back and all is good with theirs too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2009

Great TV

"I was in search for a new TV and was very skeptical about Vizio.....but watching college football at my buddies house the other day on his 55" Vizio, I was stunned and so i went out and bought the 47" and man do i love it. Great picture and sound for a really really good price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:August 27, 2009

Great LCD TV

Pros: low cost 120hz
Model Number: SV470XVT
"Very good audio quality and Clear Picture at a low cost for 120hz LCD 47""
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colo
Date:August 26, 2009

Failed after 3 weeks

Model Number: SV470XVT
"This TV has great features and a terrific picture but reliability is an issue. Mine failed after 3 weeks. The black pixels all turned red so it went back to Costco. After reading reviews about this product, I took a chance. Fortunately, Costco has a great return policy."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MORENO VALLEY CA.
Date:July 30, 2009

Not a good purchase VIZIO SV470XVTIA

Model Number: SV470XVTIA
"We bought a Vizio TV June 2009. 47 inches , within two weeks noticed the color green bleeding all over the picture. Called Vizio they diagnosed the problem, mother board needed change, we could get in home repair or choose to wait for another set. We returned the TV to Costco and will not purchase another Vizio. Poor quality remote and TV."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:July 18, 2009

Decent features, Questionable Build Quality

Pros: feature set, price
Cons: poor build quality, mundane styling
"I purchased this TV about 3 months ago to replace an older, smaller LCD. I was attracted to the 120hz refresh rate, the dejudder processing, and the price (which dropped shortly after I purchased it). The TV offers decent connectivity, with 4 HDMI inputs--although the placement of the inputs is a little odd; 2 of the four inputs are on the side rather than the back. This TV also offers picture-in-picture. Not too shabby.
VIZIO generally positions itself as an entry-level brand, even when it offers more cutting-edge features, and this model received a "best buy" review from a reputable technology website. I would continue to agree with that website's assessment but for the series of build-quality issues I encountered, which have prompted me to return the television.
First, not too long after setting up the TV, I noticed an intermittent buzzing sound emanating from the back of the TV. I suspect this buzzing resulted from poorly mounted/lesser quality LCD bulbs.
Second, just recently, I noticed that the bezel and screen had become---detached. Put simply, I could push the screen in about 1/4" because, for some reason, whatever adhered the bezel to the screen ceased to be adhesive. I suspect that the glue VIZIO uses to secure the bezel does not hold up well to extended periods of heat.
These issues may very well be idiosyncratic to this particularly unit, and I had considered returning the bum unit I got and swapping it for a new one, given that it was under warranty and Costco continues to sell this model. However, these two build-quality issues have shaken my overall faith in VIZIO as a brand. For me, it is worth it to pay a slight premium for equal (or even lesser) features for better build quality and reliability.
For some, the opportunity to own a TV with these features at this price is too good to pass up. I gave it a shot and was disappointed."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:July 14, 2009

Don't purchase!!!

"We've owned this tv for just over two years now and it suddenly does not work. The tv turns on, but the screen is just black and we cannot get a picture. Then you have to unplug the tv from the wall to turn it off. Of course this happened just after the two year warranty is up and Costco will not do anything about it. I bought it for $1600 at the time and thought that it should last more than two years!"
9 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas
Date:July 8, 2009

Very Pleased, Especially for the price

Pros: quality of picture is very good
Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"Took this set out of the box, plugged it in, and haven't had any problems in the 3 months we've owned it. I use Uverse for its tv signal and a surround sound system. We are pleased with the quality of the picture in HD mode as well as standard mode. I seldom use the onboard sound system of the TV, but its quality is acceptable also. Its remote is a bare bones unit, does what it says it will do. I don't think you can beat it for the price!!!"
Review 16 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 5, 2009

Vizio is solid but not this model

Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"I have heard many good things about Vizios and have owned one for over a year. This was the second Vizio that I bought and after two weeks red pixels appeared in all dark spots on the screen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:June 17, 2009

Very Solid HDTV!

Pros: price!!, picture adjustment opt, 3 speakers 30w
Cons: 400w energy eater, vertical input panel
Model Number: SV470XVT
"We have a 22 inch Vizio in the bedroom and were very pleased with it so I was leaning toward another Vizio purchase. Comparing it to other models, I could not bring myself to pay an extra $300-$700 for the same specs for a slightly better (very slightly) picture.
Just set it up last night and it was extremely easy right out of the box. The picture is real good and the sound is awesome.
"
Review 18 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Westlake Village, Ca
Date:June 16, 2009

Mixed Review

Pros: sharp picture especially with hd inputs, good sound system, lots of hdmi inputs (although 2 are on the side)
Cons: bad remote, see my review for other issues
Model Number: Vizio XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
"I bought this TV in Jan 2009.
I was initially happy with the TV, but then I began to notice that when watching some standard DVD's, the picture was very jerky. The fix for this seems to have been turning off the "smooth picture" function.
After using the TV for 5 months, I began to notice some green colored snow in low contrast (dark) scenes. This got worse and worse.
I called Vizio, and they sent out a technician who was able to repair this problem.
Just waiting to see if it re occurs.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan, Video Post Production 28 years.
Date:June 15, 2009

Pretty decent panel.lots of bang for the buck

Pros: good picture for the price with lots of options, price is hundreds cheaper than any other brand, confindence buying from costco
Cons: intermittant problem after 45 days., back hookup panel is terrible, the remote is weak
Model Number: VIZIO XVT 47" 1080p 120 LCD HDTV
"I wanted a plasma but after checking this set out I bought it. The price was right, the picture was pretty good. 1080i looks very good.The blacks were pretty good with a little adjustment. Lots of control and options over the picture, Smooth motion,individual rgb adjustments ,noise reduction ,etc.Too bad that all the blacks turned green and blocky after about 45 days.. I reset to factory settings and it didn't fix it.. I unplugged it and let it set overnight and it still didn't work..It just fixed itself when I was changing channels .It has happened twice in the past 3 days....I will be taking it back and probably get the same set. It would be worth a second try.. The back hookup panel faces up.. too hard to see what you are doing... all other brands the hookups face the back making it easier to see what you are doing. The remote has to be pointed directly at the set to actually do something. This set is worth you consideration."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:June 13, 2009

Not a bad TV if you get a working one

Pros: came with stand assembled already, hd channels looked great out of the box., had 30 w of speakers instead of 20 w, stand is very stable, nice remote control, nicely packaged box, good instruction booklet, 4 x hdmi (includes an hdmi 1.3 cable), great price, 120 hz default tuning was good
Cons: regular channels did not look watchable, about 10 lbs more than some other tvs, 400 w power usage
Model Number: SV470XVT
"I may just have gotten a defective unit but here is my experience.
I bought this TV at costco but ended up returning it in 10 days because of a problem with three vertical white lines appearing on the screen evenly spaced out. When this happened the background turned black and I couldn't switch between Inputs at all.
Called the concierge service and they asked me to pull the plug out and then plug it back in. That fixed the issue and the picture came back. However, it happened two more times the next day. So I took it back and bought a Sharp instead. Hopefully I have better luck with that brand.
So I guess if you got a unit that was without defect then this is a fairly nice TV for the price. I may just have been a statistical exception."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>