Customer Reviews for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 6,500:1
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
(out of 53 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
10
33 of 53(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hanover Park, IL
Date:November 1, 2008

Could be better

"I read consumer reports and found this TV the best for price and features. It is loaded with features such as adjusting the picture in many ways, multiple inputs etc. However after I used for about three weeks, I noticed a couple of problems which bothered me. One is a high pitched wining noise, the one that comes when a camera flash charges. It bothers ears and probably brain too. I called the service who advised to unplug it, wait for a few minutes and plugin back. It worked fine for a few hours and then the noise started coming back. The other problem I observed is with picture. For some antenna channels, I see the picture freezing momentarily and then rolls it faster to catch up. It happens once every three to five seconds. I tried same channels with a separate tuner and the picture shows normal. There may be some problem with built-in tuner that came with the TV. May be it is just the one I got having these problems. I am thinking of returning this TV and try other brands."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:October 7, 2009

This is the Sweet Spot: Quality and Price

Pros: sharp bright picture, good sound not tinny.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"I've owned this TV for just over 6 months now, and can now say it has exceeded my expectations. If it gives as long a lifespan as the old style CRT-TV's I've owned in the past, then I will remember this as being one of the best electronic purchases of any kind I've ever made.
Of course, part of my satisfaction is that this is also my first HD TV set. However, I shopped around and read many reviews. I came to the conclusion that this was the best value out there. Now from my personal experience the reviews and comparisons have turned out to be accurate.
The quality of the picture solely depends on the source it is fed. The higher the resolution, the better the picture. At the lowest resolution, it's picture is about the same as a CRT. But, feed it anything higher and you'll be pleased, especially if the program or movie is in 16:9 size. If the resolution is the highest resolution, 1080i or p, then prepare to be stunned!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Date:December 12, 2008

Great LCD TV

Pros: great tv and great price
Model Number: Vizio XVT 1080p 120Hz LCD TV
"I've had this tv for about six months. It is amazing! Easy to set up and the picture has perfect clarity and beautiful colors. I hung it on wall and is easy to lift because it is light. I get so many compliments on this tv. I now only wish I had more HD channels!
I did have a problem with the smooth motion feature - would make the picture "skip" or "glitch" anytime the camera in the shot moved quickly (like in action scenes). For months it was my only minor complaint.
I read every tech forum - and could find no answers to fix it. I checked wiring and cable strength, but couldn't get rid of the skipping. I eneded up solving it myself. Go into the tv menu setup -- and turn the feature off. After that - whallah! - perfect everything! No more skipping! You don't need it on. If you have the problem, that'll fix it.
Good luck. Buy it. You'll be happy!"
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:queens, ny
Date:December 7, 2008

Not sure if I can recommend

Pros: ready to show great pic out of box, great pip/pop feature
Cons: too many items to adjust, small buttons on bottom of remote, issue with vertical line at top of screen, 400 watt usage
Model Number: SV420XVTV1A
"Purchased at Local Costco and within 2 days I had red splotches on any areas including the side bars that had black colors. Vizio said it could be the LCD screen or component board. Since within 90 days would replace the unit or fix the board after tech comes out. Not sure what to do but all should be aware that after 90 days Vizio only provides a re-conditioned unit and not a new unit if not repairable.
The unit has great features (pip, pop, great color right out of the box). I just seem to have gotten a dud but not sure if I will replace with another Vizio or go with a better name brand. Long wait time for Vizio technical support bjut once I got someone they were fairly knowledgeable. Many settings to adjust on this TV maybe too much for average consumers but in their defense the TV did come ready to show a great picture though the backlight needed to be toned done and the color level as well.
"
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 12, 2008

Excellent LCD regardless of the price

Pros: excellent picture quality, great sound
Cons: side connections are too close to the bezel, manual isn't complete (minor problem)
Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"Originally I wasn't to pleased with the sound of this TV. It sounded great overall but voices seemed quiet compared to all other noises and no amount of configuration seemed to change this. Due to this problem I purchased the Toshiba 46XF55OU (which has excellent reviews) and set them up side by side. This is when I realized just how good the Vizio really is! The picture was much clearer on the Vizio and didn't show any of the grainy or pixelated frames that showed on the Toshiba. Next I compared the sound and wow what a difference! The Vizio sounded so much better and a much deeper sound to it. The difference between the Vizio and the Toshiba is like listening to mono vs stereo. Since then I've realized that I just need to turn up the volume a little more on the Vizio to accurately hear voices. Another comparison was the menu's between the two systems. The Vizio's menu is very polished and easy to view whereas the Toshiba looked like it was just thrown together. I've seen a few reviews mention either a horizontal or vertical line which was bothersome.This is related to the signal you are receiving however this can easily be adjusted from "H/V Position" within the setup menu. I did run into an issue setting up PIP which required me to call Vizio although they were very knowledgeable and walked me through the process. I mentioned that this information was missing from the manual which they admitted was rushed and missing some important data in order to get the TV's shipped in time for the holiday's. Overall this is a superb LCD and I'm more than happy with my purchase."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan, Video Post Production 28 years.
Date:June 15, 2009

Pretty decent panel.lots of bang for the buck

Pros: good picture for the price with lots of options, price is hundreds cheaper than any other brand, confindence buying from costco
Cons: intermittant problem after 45 days., back hookup panel is terrible, the remote is weak
Model Number: VIZIO XVT 47" 1080p 120 LCD HDTV
"I wanted a plasma but after checking this set out I bought it. The price was right, the picture was pretty good. 1080i looks very good.The blacks were pretty good with a little adjustment. Lots of control and options over the picture, Smooth motion,individual rgb adjustments ,noise reduction ,etc.Too bad that all the blacks turned green and blocky after about 45 days.. I reset to factory settings and it didn't fix it.. I unplugged it and let it set overnight and it still didn't work..It just fixed itself when I was changing channels .It has happened twice in the past 3 days....I will be taking it back and probably get the same set. It would be worth a second try.. The back hookup panel faces up.. too hard to see what you are doing... all other brands the hookups face the back making it easier to see what you are doing. The remote has to be pointed directly at the set to actually do something. This set is worth you consideration."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:July 18, 2009

Decent features, Questionable Build Quality

Pros: feature set, price
Cons: poor build quality, mundane styling
"I purchased this TV about 3 months ago to replace an older, smaller LCD. I was attracted to the 120hz refresh rate, the dejudder processing, and the price (which dropped shortly after I purchased it). The TV offers decent connectivity, with 4 HDMI inputs--although the placement of the inputs is a little odd; 2 of the four inputs are on the side rather than the back. This TV also offers picture-in-picture. Not too shabby.
VIZIO generally positions itself as an entry-level brand, even when it offers more cutting-edge features, and this model received a "best buy" review from a reputable technology website. I would continue to agree with that website's assessment but for the series of build-quality issues I encountered, which have prompted me to return the television.
First, not too long after setting up the TV, I noticed an intermittent buzzing sound emanating from the back of the TV. I suspect this buzzing resulted from poorly mounted/lesser quality LCD bulbs.
Second, just recently, I noticed that the bezel and screen had become---detached. Put simply, I could push the screen in about 1/4" because, for some reason, whatever adhered the bezel to the screen ceased to be adhesive. I suspect that the glue VIZIO uses to secure the bezel does not hold up well to extended periods of heat.
These issues may very well be idiosyncratic to this particularly unit, and I had considered returning the bum unit I got and swapping it for a new one, given that it was under warranty and Costco continues to sell this model. However, these two build-quality issues have shaken my overall faith in VIZIO as a brand. For me, it is worth it to pay a slight premium for equal (or even lesser) features for better build quality and reliability.
For some, the opportunity to own a TV with these features at this price is too good to pass up. I gave it a shot and was disappointed."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

Spend a little extra on a time-tested brand

Model Number: SV470XVT1A
"This will be a great tv purchase for those that need a tv to work for a year or so. Our main board went out after 6 months and Vizio fixed it under the warranty. When one month after the 1 year warranty rolled around and the main board went out AGAIN, Vizio refused to help although it was the original problem that was again surfacing. A friend cautioned us about Vizio as they saw us wheeling our cart out of Costco the day we bought the tv...we should have listened. We should have spent the few extra hundred and bought the Sony. Now we know and all we can do is caution anyone else we know not to make our mistake! Why is Costco continuing to carry this sub par product?"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:February 10, 2009

Wise buy.

Pros: price color and resolution
Cons: black contrast buttons on remote
Model Number: SV470XVT
"I bought this tv begining of the year and very satisfied with it. Picture resolution very good. Color is better than samsung.
120hz motion works like any other tv. Black is not the greatest but cant complain. HDMI ports located on the side so easy to connect. Blue ray on this tv is unbelievable. Easy to install. Remote is OK because it has small buttons but can live wit it. Great buy for the price. I have done reasearch on Samsung TOC, Sony and Sharp before I made a decision to buy this tv . You will definitely save compared to brand names for the same features because the basic components in the tv are manufactured by the same vendors.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:December 1, 2008

great tv at good price

"Some of the people on here have been complaining about motion blur and the picture lagging and having to "catch up" with this TV. I think that you really have to pay attention to the source. For example, I did notice the picture lagging on one HD channel that was mostly for movies. But then I went over to a sports channel and watched football and there were no problems at all. Some of the HD channels seem to produce a higher quality signal than others. The TV can only produce a picture as good as the signal it is getting. I think that this "catching up" thing is a problem with the TV station and not the TV.
I also played my ps3 on this TV and it looks amazing. For first person shooter games you feel like you're really in the fight.
This is a great TV and I am glad that I bought my first Vizio and did not decide to go with a more expensive brand."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Troy, MI
Date:October 27, 2008

Excellent TV for the money

"I bought the 47 Inch vizio HCTV right after it came out about 2 years ago. I love it. Great picture, no issues or problems. Sound is ok by itself, but a home theatre setup will really add to the experience. To get the full 1080P HD experience at this pricepoint is a very strong value. Dont be afraid...buy it , you'll like it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:October 27, 2008

Now... we have TWO Vizios

"Four years ago, we had never even heard of Vizio. We trusted Costco so we bought
a 34" Vizio. We have been so pleased that we decided to move the 34" set into the den and we now have a 47" Vizio in our living room! This is like having a football game played right in our own home! Very happy with Vizio AND very
happy with Costco!
"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Buena Park, CA
Date:October 27, 2008

Severe Motion blur

"I have the Dish TV High Definition package in my home. I also have 3 other model Vizio's in different sizes that work very well and have amazing pictures. This particular model had the worst picture I have ever seen on a HD TV. It had severe motion blur, ghosting and pixelation. I purchased this model because of the 120mhz refresh rate and the 4 Hdmi ports. After 3 days of ajustments and calls to Vizio and Costco I took it back and got the Samsung and am very happy!"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bay, SF Bay Area, Ca.
Date:October 4, 2009

Great LCD, Great price

Pros: price
Cons: runs a lil warm
Model Number: 47" 1080p LCD
"So far so good, I've waited a year to review this TV and it's performed flawlessly so far. What more could i ask for, just to last a lot longer! In the mean time i have purchased one for my Father and my Stepson awhile back and all is good with theirs too."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Md
Date:October 26, 2008

Great buy

Pros: american hd company
Cons: price went down after purchase
"Has many adjustments to customize picture. This will prevent any blur. Use the tech people at Vizio they are great and they aren't in some far away call center. Easy to understand.
The purchase from Costco online was flawless. Sharp clear picture couldn't be happier with my purchase. The speakers are better than most other HD tv's I've looked at. However I am going to upgrade to the wireless surround system that Vizio has coming out soon.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Antonio
Date:October 21, 2008

Still Has Motion Blur

Pros: price for the size
Cons: motion blur
"This TV is great if you DO NOT watch a lot of sports or fast action movies. It still has the motion blur even at the 120Hz because of its screen size. If you get a TV smaller than 37" you will see hardly or even notice motion blur. I would recommend a Plasma TV or wait till they come out with the 240Hz or higher for LCDs. Best of luck shopping for your TV."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:January 2, 2010

Plan on buying one every year or so is all....

Model Number: GV47LFHDTV10A
"1st TV last seven months before "black screen of death" - they never told me problem, just replaced under full warranty. I'm feeling pretty good at this point. Replacement TV lasted 14 months with same exact "black screen of death" that happened on 1st TV. Now out of warranty (OK fair enough) and they offer minimal troubleshooting and the advice of "you should have purchased extended warranty. I will work on TV and replace boards or whatever, but they won't even help me with "troubleshooting" beyond "unplug and plug back in now turn on." What boards do I need to replace? I will do the work! Nothing. Nadda.. Zippo .Zilch. My advice....figure cost of extended warranty for as long as available into purchase price when comparing with other TVs...you will need and use it as there is a reason they are cheapest in market"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Allen, VA
Date:October 23, 2008

Great Value

"We just purchased this TV this past Saturday. So far we are very happy. When comparing to the other TV's beside it in the store, we felt like this one had the best picture and the least amount of glare. And you cant beat the price. So far, we are very happy. My husband plays X-box on it alot and is completely satisfied."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colo
Date:August 26, 2009

Failed after 3 weeks

Model Number: SV470XVT
"This TV has great features and a terrific picture but reliability is an issue. Mine failed after 3 weeks. The black pixels all turned red so it went back to Costco. After reading reviews about this product, I took a chance. Fortunately, Costco has a great return policy."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO XVT Series 47" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 8, 2009

Not a good purchase

Model Number: GB42L
"after my second Vizio purchase in 2 yrs the main board when out on both sets. Vizio fixed it the first time then 4 months after warrenty expired it went out again Vizio just said sorry but there's nothing we can do, you should have bought the extended warrenty; well guess what I did but it expired 4 mnths before the TV went out. I can't believe that Costco is still selling Vizio. Spend a little more to get a brand name that will last more than 2 yrs 4 months; its a piece of trash now that will use up space in our land fills. Happy to report I bought a brand name with loyalty to it's customers, Sony. The $200 I saved on my original purchase cost me more than I saved!!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>