Customer Reviews for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam

Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam

The Ara is Sleep Sciences pillow top, pure visco memory foam mattress. It is the closest thing to sleeping on a cloud.  Experience the ultimate in a luxuriously soft, supportive sleep environment. The 13" Ara boasts 6 5/8 inches of premium memory foam that envelops you in an unparalleled feeling of weightless sleep that is supported by our patented Wedge Edge Support System and our proprietary Air Channel Base. It is covered in a super soft, bamboo blend sleep surface fabric that is cool to the touch, with elegant micro-suede side panels for a luxurious look and feel.  This is the mattress which visco memory foam purists come back to again and again.   13" pillow top mattress fits the dimensions of your bed   Bedframe not included   Sleep Science Comfort scale; Plush top with support layer   Meets the requirements of 16 CFR Part 1633 - Federal flammability (open flame) standards   Limited Warranty: 20 years   Cover is bamboo fabric consisting of three layers. This fabric is 300g/m2, the percentage of bamboo is 40%, nylon is 40%, polyester is 20% Cover top layer: 100% bamboo fabric   Middle layer: 100% nylon   Bottom layer: 100% polyester Micro-suede cover sides are 100% polyester   Mattress core top layer: 3 inches 5 lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Second layer: 3 5/8 inches 5 lb visco foam, 11-13 IFD   Third layer: 1/2 inch air barrier   Fourth Layer: The Wedge Patented Edge Support System   Base layer: 6 Air Channel Base, dual density, dual IFD, relief cut urethane core   Cover is removable and washable   Visco Memory foam conforms to your body to relieve pressure points and improve circulation   This mattress should rest upon a solid surface for best results   Hypo allergenic and dust mite resistant   First time visco memory foam sleepers, please allow 30-60 days to adjust to sleeping on a visco elastic memory foam mattress Visco memory foam is temperature reactive, therefore the mattress will react uniquely to each individual's body temperature   Mattress is rolled and compressed for ease of delivery. There will be a slight foam odor when first opened. It will dissipate within 24-48 hours.   Mattress Limited Warranty: 20 years against manufacturer defects   King Mattress dimensions: 76" W x 80" D x 13" H; Weight: 138 lbs If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 800-723-0316 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco. Model: CST-13EK
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 of 31(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Review 1 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:February 18, 2013

A Comfortable Night's Sleep

Model Number: 334640
"My wife and I enjoy this memory foam mattress. It has releaved the aches and pains caused by our old mattress."
Review 2 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:tx
Date:August 8, 2012

aaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!*

Pros: *see above
"* see above
returned costco split king adjustable latex foam because it was not comforatable.replaced with king size ara.
aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
"
Review 3 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sun City, AZ
Date:December 3, 2011

Excellent

"My husband and I absolutely love this mattress. I haven't slept this good in years. Delivery and setup were wonderful. A great mattress; I would highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

Wonderful mattress

"Love this mattress. Costcos delivery was easy and quick, and the mattress is delightful. It feels just as nice as the high end expensive memory foam mattress brand but at a small fraction of the price!"
Review 5 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:February 20, 2012

Husband loves it!

Cons: we waited over a month for delivery
Model Number: 13" Ara King size foam mattress
"I brought this for my husband for Christmas. Our old mattress was to soft for us. This mattress is firm and too high for me but he loves it. I almost need a stool to get on it. But I'm happy he loves it! I'm getting use to it."
Review 6 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 9, 2012

Disappointing Mattress

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: sagging mattress
"This mattress was great for the first few weeks. It then began to lose much of it's firmness and now has permanent grooves where we sleep with a hump in the middle. A disappointing first foray into memory foam mattresses.
The upside? Costco's AMAZING return policy."
Review 7 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lee's Summit, Mo
Date:December 17, 2011

Quality mattress

"...but very firm! It's a lot more firm than me and my wife were expecting. If you like firm, then this is the mattress for you! It was delivered promptly and setup in 2 hrs. - and it seems like a high quality mattress. We are considering returning to find something less firm."
Review 8 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:August 23, 2012

Sleeping so much better

Pros: value, comfort
"We got this bed after doing many comparisons etc. Still skeptic because we spent so much on our last bed and were never very happy with it. We had the initial "smell" for an hour or two after delivery but nothing after-except really nice sleep! Aches and pains have been nearly eliminated."
Review 9 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

Outstanding Product

Pros: low cost, fast to sleep
Model Number: Item# 334701
"I was really really worried about this mattress being hot. I can honestly say that it is no hotter than a spring mattress. This is a surprisingly strange but very pleasant sleep experience. I am usually asleep within 15 minutes no matter how stressed or sore I might be. I’m a back sleeper, my wife a side sleeper and both of us love this mattress."
Review 10 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 21, 2013

Best purchase ever

Pros: pressure points are totally comfy
Cons: none :-)
"We bought this mattress 5 years ago.
We tried a waterbed, an air comfort mattress, and a brand name regular mattress
There is total comfort with pressure points and after my hip replacement I had total comfort.
My husband broke his back years ago, and he loves it.
It is so good to see Costco sells this mattress.
We highly recommend this king mattress!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, Wa
Date:March 23, 2013

I'm sure we will love it!

Pros: owner involved in product love that!!
Cons: delivery is super slow!
"Very cool the owner of the mattress company called me the next day after the purchase and said if we need anything to call him personally! Gave us his phone numbers! WOW who does that now days...We have not recieved our matteress yet though. I am sure it will be perfect though only gripe we have is shipping is super sloooooooooooooow!!! It is being delivered today a month later."
Review 12 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockland County, NY
Date:December 12, 2011

BEST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!

"My husband and tried several Tempur pedics which we all know are pricey. I looked on the Costco web site read several of the reviews and decided to purchase The Ara 13. We always owned the traditional mattress and went for the 100% Visco. Truthfully it took me 2-3months to adjust. I wouldn't trade it for the world. I'm very happy I was able to stick it out. My husband adjusted quickly. The mattress isn't comfortable when sitting on the edge. When you sit closer to the middle it's better."
Review 13 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:December 31, 2011

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Pros: white glove delivery and set up - awesome!
"After a lot of research on the various types of mattresses, we decided this mattress was what we were looking for and within our budget. Also, we knew Costco would stand behind it. This mattress has been heaven. No more sore, aching hips. No more back pain. Finally able to sleep through the night and wake up refreshed. The mattress does take some getting used to. I had no trouble adjusting. My husband still has trouble getting out of bed. We have had the mattress about 4 months now and I am sold on it!"
Review 14 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:June 6, 2012

++ Costco Return Policy

Model Number: ARA 14"
"This mattress was well made however I would not suggest it if you weigh around 200 or over lbs. I weigh 215 and the first few minutes I laid on it were great. Then I sank in and it felt like I was in a pit. It was very hard to move around while laying on this bed because I was in a hole. The 5lb density of the foam is unforgiving because it doesn't react quick enough. I think if you're smaller it might be a great mattress for you. Luckily for me Costco was awesome in the return. I ended up buying a Simmons World Class Plush and love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest NJ
Date:December 30, 2011

Most restful night sleep ever!

Pros: great sleep
Cons: need to remove your old mattress yourself
Model Number: ARA 13inch King
"The entire purchase experience has been top notch. The white glove delivery was as suggested in 2-3 weeks. Delivery was a breeze for me. The mattress came rolled up like a carpet about 4 inches thick. It fluffs out over a period of hours. It was amazing to see. After the first night my back was a little sore but now after 10 days, I can say I am getting the best sleep ever. Feels hard to the touch, and soft when you first get on it, but the support is wonderful. I have compared this to the name brand in quality and price and this is by far the winner. I love this mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:January 5, 2012

Hill in the middle after 9 months

"We're exchanging for the same mattress set after 9 months because the reviews are all good. Our experience so far has been disappointing. It took a month for the bed to become comfortable and the smell to go away. Month 2 we were sleeping in small indentations but by month 6 we were in trenches. There is a big comfy hump in the middle if you can get up on it in the middle of the night. The trenches are so deep you can see them even when the bed is made. My side is worse than my husbands, I'm 120 (140 now that I'm 9 months pregnant) and my husband is 250. Hopefully we just got a bad one and the next one will be better."
Review 17 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Strongsville, Ohio
Date:December 8, 2011

Excellent Purchase!

"My husband likes a hard mattress and I like soft. We went from a traditional mattress to the popular air filled for a lot of money and hated it. I bought this hoping that we could both be happy at night and we are! It is not super soft to the touch, but don't let that fool you. Give it a couple of days and you will be hooked. I don't wake up with sore hips or shoulders and my husband thinks it is firm enough for his back problem. Customer service was great. Within an hour of it being delivered I had a call from the warehouse to set up delivery the next day. Got it in the morning and was able to sleep on it that night. Great purchase, we are very happy."
Review 18 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs
Date:December 20, 2011

Great Mattress & Deep Restful Sleep!

Pros: everything
Cons: none
Model Number: 13ARA-EK KING MATTRESS
"After tons of research and looking at "the leading brand" at 3 to 4 X's more $ than the Ara we decided to order this memory foam mattress via Costco (Mfg. South Bay International, Sleep Science, model Ara King Size) about four weeks ago. It was delivered and installed last week. We have never slept better! We previously had a lesser quality memory foam. The old one was only 3.5 Lb. density. This is 5 Lb +. At 6'4" and 255 Lbs. it was way too soft. My wife is 5'2" and 110 Lbs. and she also is in awe of this new mattress. Both of us now restfully sleep through the night without tossing and turning and wake up rested and refreshed. Could not be more pleased! Great delivery experience, no damage, and no "off gassing"."
Review 19 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 15, 2012

Good bed, too soft for me after 6-8 months

"If you like a soft top with medium support this is the perfect bed for you... after month 6 or so. :)
I loved how I felt getting into the bed every night - after breaking period (2-3 months) the top layer allows you to slightly sink in but not like the Tempur models where you feel like you are in quicksand.
Why I returned it at 10 months... For the first 2-3 months the best was very firm... too firm. During months 3-6/7 the best was perfect... best sleep I've ever had. The problem is, it continued to get softer every month - being a side sleeper main, and infrequent stomach sleeper, my hips sank too much and I started getting very bad lower-back pain every morning. I only weight 180lbs at 5'9" so I'm not even that heavy."
Review 20 for Ara 13" King Memory Foam Mattress 100% Visco Foam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Tennessee
Date:February 10, 2012

Still Loving This Mattress

"It has now been about a year since we bought this mattress. We replaced a high-end mattress that had a noticeable sag in the middle of the bed. Our delivery experience was excellent. Our mattress was delivered, brought inside, installed and our old mattress was taken away. Perfect. We kept our box springs and used plywood to make a platform for the mattress.
This mattress was firm when we first used it and I have not noticed any deterioration in over a year of use. It is the best mattress we have ever had. I prefer a firm and my husband prefers a softer but we both find this mattress meets our individual needs. Even though he often comes to bed later, I am not disturbed when he gets into the bed. I have recommended this product to relatives and friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>