Customer Reviews for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed

Lifetimes line of outdoor sheds combine quality materials with innovative design, offering a storage solution that maximizes storage potential, combined with superior value and the ability to withstand nature's day-to-day abuse. Double-wall, steel-reinforced construction and steel roof trusses make the sheds structurally sound, so they won't buckle during storms, or dent during everyday use. Weather-sealed seams help keep out water, and wood-grain molding, a simulated shingled roof and natural color scheme create an aesthetically pleasing addition to the yard or garden. Our sheds are made of polyethylene, a plastic that won't degenerate, leading to costly maintenance. Since they are made without wood, termites aren't attracted to Lifetime sheds, and screened vents allow for airflow while keeping out rodents that could otherwise destroy belongings. UV-protection, along with stain and mildew-resistance, make the sheds easy to maintain, while a sturdy floor and generous 6 feet 8 inches of headroom promote versatility. Without having to crouch down to enter or move around, the space can be used to stack boxes, park a riding lawn-mower, or even made into a garden planting room. Features: Sturdy, steel-reinforced construction   Steel-reinforced, dent-resistant, double-wall, high-density plastic panels   High-arched, steel-reinforced doors: 48 W x 64 H door opening with full-length galvanized steel hinge pins   68 of head-room and spacious walk-around interior   Steel trusses provide additional roof strength   One(1) shatter proof window opens half-way for increased ventilation   Four (4) high-impact plastic skylights allow natural light to illuminate interior   UV-protected to prevent fading and cracking   High-density plastic floor included   Attractive appearance and design   Low maintenance   Expandable up to 15' deep with extension kits (model 6422)   10-year warranty   Corner Shelf Kit:   9.5" Radius Shelf   Includes Hardware to install   Product comes in 3 - 2-pk   90" Shelf Kit Polyethylene Steel Reinforced Shelf   2 Metal Shelf Brackets   Easily Attaches to back of Shed's metal support channels   2-pk Peg Strips Two - 16" molded strips attach directly to wall, door, or work/storage surface   Includes 10 Assorted Peg Hooks to keep tools handy   Attachment screws included Model: 60018
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
1
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Review 1 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:May 14, 2010

Well engineered product

Pros: easy assembly, fast shipping. rec'd 7 days after ship notificatio
Model Number: 60018 Brighton Lifetime 8' x 10' Storage Shed
"Because the location I picked for the shed wasn't level, the hardest and most time consuming part of this project was building a suitable foundation. Assembly, by comparison, was relatively simple and even though the instructions indicated it is a 2 person job, I did it by myself in about 14 hours. A second person helping would have speeded up some parts of the assembly but I viewed the extra ladder climbing, etc. as much needed exorcise. The instructions left a little to be desired but all in all, not too bad; I've seen much worse. The caution in the instructions about using a power screwdriver is well advised. Most screws tightened quite tight but even using a basic hand screwdriver I encountered a number of screws that tried to strip out before getting fully tight. As though the plastic was thinner in some areas.
I wish the walls were more rigid but the roof makes up for it and mostly the building is pretty solid. Overall, I'd have to say I'm quite satisfied with the finished product.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:June 17, 2009

Quality

Model Number: 60018
"I think that in general, this shed is very well made. I was able to put together the entire assembly in one day by myself, although it probably would have been faster with two people. In general, the pieces were easy to fit together and were sturdy. The kit included supports in many places which should help with durability. The extras are also nice (peg strip, multiple shelves and light) although (like other reviewers) I found only one light was included, not two.
The instructions were clear on most parts with only a few exceptions. There were two places (that I can remember) where you could flip pieces in two different ways, and the instructions were not specific enough. On section 6.1 and 7.1 where you attach the door end channel, make sure you can see the gap in the door so you can insert the bolts. Also when assembling the gable in step 8, the gable support square tube has a hole in the center - this is where the deadbolt latch will go when pushed up. Make sure the hole is above the left door, not the right door. Hope that helps.
The floor did get dented when I was assembling the shed (I stood on a chair to put up the roof and this dented the floor). However, today when I went back in, the dents were gone."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 27, 2011

Excellent shed

Pros: sturdy for plastic, very good instructions
Cons: doors could be more secure, they should include composite shims not wood, some parts have no extras.
"This shed is much sturdier than the keter they have in my local Costco. I can't emphasize enough the importance of a level base. I did the perimeter in concrete block, and filled the inside with 4 inches of 3/8 Delaware stone. That was a lot easier than mixing the 70 bags of cement it would take for a concrete pad. The instructions are well done, but you have to pay careful attention. I built the gables, doors, and roof trusses inside the night before. This made the actual construction much faster, as all the parts were ready to go. Overall, I spent about 4 hours on the shed pad, 2 hours assembling the gables, roof trusses and door assemblies, and 4 hours actually putting the shed together. Most of time is spent on the roof. Definitely get a rubber mallet if you don't have one. It will come in handy. Overall nice quality, and a nice look. Lastly, one of my roof truss bolts sheared off in the cap nut, which required a trip to the home store, as there were no extras. Other than that, I had no issues."
Review 4 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:January 18, 2011

Overall good shed that meets the requirement

Pros: easy to assemble, light weight, adds the needed space, great height, wide front doors for at least a 48" mower, ample amount of light inside during day
Cons: some screws easily strip, definitly needs a base added
"Easy for two people to assemble. Light weight, directions easy to follow, parts all organized into individual bags.
Built the wooden frame as recommended under it. That worked out perfectly with a little ramp.
Some the issues I ran into were. One of the plastic pieces (roof section) was not molded completely so one part of it did not have the screw hole. Didn't really matter. Hopefully one screw want make a difference. Some of the screws easily stripped through the holes when tightening, even with a hand held screw driver. Most screws worked perfectly. Wish it had two windows instead of one. It comes with two push on and off lights with four batteries for each. One light was damaged but still works if pushed on enough times to get it to work. I think these type of lights cost under $10 so not really worried. The doors could easily be broken into. But that could be said about many things. So a lock on this shed keeps honest people out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2009

Well Manufactured

"I was very impressed with the quality of the parts, packaging, and instructuions. As mentioned in the instructions, you definitely need a flat surface. I created a 2x4 and plywood platform. Everything fit very well and didn't have to force/bend parts together as sometimes happens in these types of kits.
It took about 6 hours of one person plus 4 hours of another to install. Requires two people for many installation steps.
Had to make one quick call to company for question and it was answered easily.
Looks nice when done. Neighbors gave compliments rather than complaints."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:December 3, 2009

Great shed

Pros: well constructed with good reinforcements
Cons: nothing
"Received quick delivery in two heavy boxes. Instructions were well written and easy to understand. Where I had problems, I read the instructions again, which answered my questions. The instructions also included advice on how much snow should be allowed to accumulate before removal is necessary. Packages of hardware were nicely set up, but package part numbers should correspond somehow to the instruction manual. The shed is solid in construction and so far has held up under several light snowstorms. I did receive two lights and did not find any missing parts. I assembled the unit myself over 3 leisurely days, including the foundation, without any problems. The second person would have been nice to save some time, but one person can handle the installation. I am looking forward to many years of use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boulder County, CO
Date:July 30, 2009

Very Sturdy, Easy to Assemble

Pros: sturdy, excellent instructions
Cons: may not match your existing buildings
"LIFETIME makes extremely durable stuff. You'll be surprised how strong and solid this shed is. The instructions were excellent and the parts were amazingly well organized into separate bags with intelligent labels. My wife and I put ours together in just 3-4 hours. While putting on the roof, I did ask a friend to come over to help. This shed has been up since Jan here in Colorado and has withstood extreme wind, snow and rain storms."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:October 26, 2011

Very Satisfied Customer

Pros: great looking, easy assembly, excellent value, american made, well engineered, lots of accessories
Cons: 2 cartons were a bit hard to manage
Model Number: 60018
"Ordered the shed on 10/14. It was delivered on time (10/21) by a very helpful ABF driver. I finished assembling the shed yesterday and it was very easy to put together. The instruction manual was clear and all the parts and hardware were clearly identified. I had to spend the better part of a day preparing and leveling the installation site and once that was done the assembly was quick and enjoyable.
All the parts fit very well and are well made. The shed looks very nice and matches our patio home very nicely. This is a great American-made product. It is a great value and it comes with a window that opens half-way, skylights, a 90" shelf, 6 small corner shelves, and 2 battery-powered "tap on" lights that have adjustable "off" timers.
I am a retired maintenance mechanic and I can honestly say that this shed was one of the easiest things I've ever assembled. If you are sure to level your site and read and follow the instructions you will have fun putting one together."
Review 9 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:January 3, 2011

Easy to assemble, very functional

Pros: low maintenance, easy to assemble, included shelves very useful
Cons: only 1 window in the 8'x10' model, doors & latch easy to pry
"Great shed that is sturdy, needs zero maintenance and is modern in appearance. The latches are thin and the door can be eaily pried partially open - dont put valuables inside you dont feel comfortable leaving out in the open. The inside remained totally dry during the most recent heavy rain and gusting winds. If I may digress with my setup: I had the concrete slab poured and ordered the shed the same night. 5 days later the concrete was hard/level and the shed arrived. It came in 2 rectangular boxes. Ive built a few of these before so I knew to start with the corners horizontally on the ground, connecting the floor by pounding with a rubber mallet. Connecting the 4 corners is the hardest step. The rest was easy with a power screw driver/drill. I needed a small ladder for the roof parts. It all took 4 hours by myself. Another hour to drill a small hole for electrical wire, and toss the trash. I secured 2 LED tube lights to the trusses, because the included touch lights are a joke and the sunlights are small."
Review 10 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 2, 2009

Overall Quite Impressed

Pros: easy to assy, attractive, rain proof
Cons: all attachments are to plasic on the inside.
"Took a while to ship from Costco, but very happy once received. Went up fairly easy, seems sturdy and looks nice. The instructions were clear and the engineering is solid. No water on the inside after our first rain."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spolkane WA
Date:August 28, 2009

Excellent value

"Sturdy and well engineered. Parts well packaged in logical order. Seems like it will last a long time. As others have stated you must have a level solid surface for everything to fit properly. I would add you may have problems if plastic parts are left out in the sun prior to installation. I tried to assemble on a day when the temp was over 90 deg and the plastic parts were softened to the point the screws wouldn't set but ripped through the part. Waiting for cooler weather or cooling plastic parts with the garden hose would be in order."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:May 31, 2009

Impressive

Pros: assembly easy as lego, seems quite sturdy
Cons: "sky lights" - translucent not clear
"Ordered from Costco, the packages (2) came in just 4-5 days. Nicely packaged, parts clearly identified. Took time to lay out a proper -- and level -- foundation, which is critical. We essentially built an 8x10 deck platform, using p.t. 2x6's and plywood (which we treated. Instructions were quite clear (have no idea what problems others had). My wife and I completed the project in a comfortable 3 days, but it could be done easily in 2. Everything fit properly, including the doors, when done! This was sort of like a Lego project -- actually quite fun. And it does take 2 people to handle a couple of the steps."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 3, 2011

All depends on the foundation!

Pros: no painting!
Cons: requires either a wood platform or concrete = $$
Model Number: 8x10 model
"First: Make certain to either have a slab poured or build a wood platform. I built a wood platform about a foot off the ground. Works like a charm!
Second: Do this on a very warm day as the plastic parts flex better AND DON'T UNPACK IT AND LEAVE IT LAYING AROUND! It will warp in any temperature unless left in the box or placed flat.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ocean City, MD
Date:December 12, 2011

Excellent Product

Pros: clear instructions, parts fit together very well no misalignments
Cons: doors a little challenging
"I am very satisfied with this product, both its quality and its ease of assembly. I'm not sure why so many reviewers had troubles with the instructions and/or parts list. A buddy and I were able to get this shed completely assembled in about 6 hours on a Saturday afternoon (I had already built my deck before this, so the 6 hours was for only the shed). But it was a nice project, and we didn't come across any maddening problems, such as pieces not fitting together or instructions not being clear. The parts bags were labelled clearly and always matched the designations in the instructions--they may have improved this recently in response to the negative comments from a couple years ago. If I had to pick a negative, it would be that the assembly of the doors onto the shed was quite challenging, even with two people. But don't let that discourage you from buying this excellent product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2009

Good quality; difficult assembly

"I put this together last weekend. It generally went together well, but the instructions were weak or confusing in places. The floor is very flimsy, so it has to be on a solid surface. Even building a plywood base over 2x4s, my floor still flexes when I walk on it. But the building itself seems fine."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:February 9, 2011

Good value

Pros: looks good, easy to install, seams durable
Cons: no anchors, walls dont bolt to floor, installation instructions
Model Number: model# 6422 Item# 336656
"Once installed we are very happy with the shed. The walls simply click into the floor panels. I don't think this is enough for wind. So I had to buy metal strips to anchor the walls to the wood foundation.
After reading though the instructions, I realized there are two parts to installation. (i) small parts (ii) the floor walls and roof. So I assembled all items, that can be done in the confort of your home (small parts) - such as the door hinges, handles, lock assemblies and Trusses (2 hours). You do not have to follow the order-of-steps per the manual. The next day, I setup the floor panels, walls and simple had to fix the finised doors and trusses and then the roof (4 hours)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 23, 2010

Great buy for the money

"My husband and grown son installed this shed in less than 4 hours. We've had it about 6 months now. It has withstood storms with strong winds and heavy rain.The size is perfect for our lawn equipment. I also have to praise the delivery service which was prompt and courteous (Old Dominion). The fact that once it was installed, there was "no more work" (like painting, roofing,etc.) really appealed to us. This was the perfect solution to replace our rotted, old, wooden shed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Longview, WA
Date:May 11, 2010

A great product but use downloaded instructions

"The shed is exactly what is described in the product description. Once site was prepared my wife and I completed the shed in one very-long day (8 hours). The instructions that came with shed differ from the instructions which can be download from this website. Parts identification works best with instructions included but the order of assembly steps work best with the downloaded instruction book. Differences in the order of some of the steps make little difference, but we would have had difficulty placing the roof-caps on the structure if we had followed the instruction that came with the shed. Also, the measurements of the foundation are more accurate in the downloaded book. If we had used the measurements in the provided instructions the foundation would have been too large for the shed. Fortunately, we used the downloaded booklet to prepare our site before shed arrived. Needless to say, the difference in measurements caused some panic when we noted the difference, but the measurements we used proved to be right. Overall it is a well-designed shed and showed no sign of leaking in our first major rainstorm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:May 29, 2012

Brighton 8x10 Shed-Not So Bright

Pros: good printed instructions
Cons: poor construction of right door and floor
Model Number: N-60018
"Purchased this item in April 2012. Delivery of the shed went well. Assembly instructions were very well written with quality pictures. Took about 7 hours for 2 people to put together. Floor of the shed is not very good. Standing on a ladder (200 lbs person) caused dimples in the floor from the ladder feet. Floor does not fasten together very well either. Some of the panels were missing the pre-drilled holes, causing issues when trying to line up the holes of the pieces with the corresponding pieces. It was difficult to put the wall panels into the floor. Suggest using soap or WD-40 type spray to make it easier on you. Now the major problem-the right door was warped. It left about a 1 inch gap at the top of the door, while the bottom fit perfectly. Called the Lifetime customer service line and was told that the warping of the right door is an issue with recent models of this shed. A new door was Fed-Ex'd to us within 7 days. The new door was also warped, worse than the first one. Called the customer service line again and was offered to send a 3rd door. Not sure I want to do that, as taking apart the shed and putting it back together again is starting to cause integrity problems with some of the pieces (the screws go directly into the plastic, and repeated removal and installation of the screws into the same holes are making them very loose, to the point that 7 of them can now be removed with my fingers). I'm headed back to Costco to see what can be done. It's crazy to have a complete new shed-I've got over 10 hours now invested in putting the thing together-it should be properly constructed from the beginning."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northeast
Date:June 18, 2011

Overall, Good Shed

Model Number: 60018
"I am an "office type" man so anyone thinking this is too much of a project, it is not…well, read on.
This is what I did:
I ordered the shed.
While I waited for the shed to arrive, I went ahead and removed every other screw from the old shed (partial disassembly). Had major snow damage to metal shed.
After the shed arrived, I checked the weather forecast.
As others have stated, I recommend labeling all the parts in plain English.
Inside my house, I assembled the 3 trusses, Section 3.1-3.5 (pages 26-29).
Assembled the left door, Section 5.1-5.5 (pages 36-38).
Assembled the right door, Section 6.1-6.5 (pages 40-42).
If I had to do this over again, I would skip the handle latch assembly, Section 6.6 through 6.8 (pages 42-43).
Next I assembled the rear and entry gable Section 7.1-7.8 (pages 45-48).
Removed the old shed.
Got the foundation level. Absolutely a must!
Went to YouTube.com, typed in
How to build a Lifetime shed
and watched it. It is not the exact same shed as Model 60018 but similar.
Started assembling the shed with my wife and continued on from there, Section 2.1 (page 21).
While putting this together, I used a drill to screw everything in snug and after it was all complete, I hand tightened everything.
In the end, it came out ok with some pushing and pulling. Would I do this again? Nope, I would hire two people to take the Lord's name in vain instead of me. I would do what I mentioned above, assemble the floors and walls and hire two people to install the doors and roof.
I would have given this 5 stars if the instructions were better. Good luck and celebrate only after you complete it :-) .
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>