Customer Reviews for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed

Lifetimes line of outdoor sheds combine quality materials with innovative design, offering a storage solution that maximizes storage potential, combined with superior value and the ability to withstand nature's day-to-day abuse. Double-wall, steel-reinforced construction and steel roof trusses make the sheds structurally sound, so they won't buckle during storms, or dent during everyday use. Weather-sealed seams help keep out water, and wood-grain molding, a simulated shingled roof and natural color scheme create an aesthetically pleasing addition to the yard or garden. Our sheds are made of polyethylene, a plastic that won't degenerate, leading to costly maintenance. Since they are made without wood, termites aren't attracted to Lifetime sheds, and screened vents allow for airflow while keeping out rodents that could otherwise destroy belongings. UV-protection, along with stain and mildew-resistance, make the sheds easy to maintain, while a sturdy floor and generous 6 feet 8 inches of headroom promote versatility. Without having to crouch down to enter or move around, the space can be used to stack boxes, park a riding lawn-mower, or even made into a garden planting room. Features: Sturdy, steel-reinforced construction   Steel-reinforced, dent-resistant, double-wall, high-density plastic panels   High-arched, steel-reinforced doors: 48 W x 64 H door opening with full-length galvanized steel hinge pins   68 of head-room and spacious walk-around interior   Steel trusses provide additional roof strength   One(1) shatter proof window opens half-way for increased ventilation   Four (4) high-impact plastic skylights allow natural light to illuminate interior   UV-protected to prevent fading and cracking   High-density plastic floor included   Attractive appearance and design   Low maintenance   Expandable up to 15' deep with extension kits (model 6422)   10-year warranty   Corner Shelf Kit:   9.5" Radius Shelf   Includes Hardware to install   Product comes in 3 - 2-pk   90" Shelf Kit Polyethylene Steel Reinforced Shelf   2 Metal Shelf Brackets   Easily Attaches to back of Shed's metal support channels   2-pk Peg Strips Two - 16" molded strips attach directly to wall, door, or work/storage surface   Includes 10 Assorted Peg Hooks to keep tools handy   Attachment screws included Model: 60018
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
1
67 of 75(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Review 1 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:February 23, 2011

Worst Purchase Ever

Cons: cheaply made
"You can't anchor the floor to the ground so therefore if you live in an area where there is any wind at all, it will fall apart. It is very cheaply made."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:May 29, 2012

Brighton 8x10 Shed-Not So Bright

Pros: good printed instructions
Cons: poor construction of right door and floor
Model Number: N-60018
"Purchased this item in April 2012. Delivery of the shed went well. Assembly instructions were very well written with quality pictures. Took about 7 hours for 2 people to put together. Floor of the shed is not very good. Standing on a ladder (200 lbs person) caused dimples in the floor from the ladder feet. Floor does not fasten together very well either. Some of the panels were missing the pre-drilled holes, causing issues when trying to line up the holes of the pieces with the corresponding pieces. It was difficult to put the wall panels into the floor. Suggest using soap or WD-40 type spray to make it easier on you. Now the major problem-the right door was warped. It left about a 1 inch gap at the top of the door, while the bottom fit perfectly. Called the Lifetime customer service line and was told that the warping of the right door is an issue with recent models of this shed. A new door was Fed-Ex'd to us within 7 days. The new door was also warped, worse than the first one. Called the customer service line again and was offered to send a 3rd door. Not sure I want to do that, as taking apart the shed and putting it back together again is starting to cause integrity problems with some of the pieces (the screws go directly into the plastic, and repeated removal and installation of the screws into the same holes are making them very loose, to the point that 7 of them can now be removed with my fingers). I'm headed back to Costco to see what can be done. It's crazy to have a complete new shed-I've got over 10 hours now invested in putting the thing together-it should be properly constructed from the beginning."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:September 12, 2011

Should have stuck with my first choice

Cons: instructions part labels no room for error
"First, the shipping company ABF screwed up the delivery date. We arranged for delivery on 9/2 and the driver shows up on 8/26, one week early. Had to take off work because he was at my house waiting.
Second, the instructions and part numbers are terrible. I have so many left over screws that it makes me wonder if I have forgotten anything. Parts could be better lablelled.
Third, the need for it to be perfectly level. There's no room for error, which is very sad. If that's the case, they should offer their on platform for it to go on. As an option. I had everthing lined up (so I thought) all pieces went on until I was down to the very last roof panel, and it would not line up. I was off about an inch. Could not figure out why it was off...checked and recheck the floor, it was not perfectly level (because half way through, it rain for a solid three days), but it was not too far off either. Ended up having to buy roofing tape, because I was not taking this thing apart. I think also that the last roof panel could have been a little warped. But I had a deadline to meet, so no time to call them and have them ship another panel.
Forth, plastic walls are not strong enough to hold a lot of weight. So, be mindful of that when you start hanging items on the wall.
Fifth, it get's really hot in there.
Should have stuck with my first choice and bought a wooden shed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:April 12, 2009

Some good Some very bad

Pros: parts well organized
Cons: some poor materials.
"Parts large & small very well organized & divided in use order. Very Poor instructions in places. Worst part was taking an hour out to engineer one of the door posts & the cheap plastic pivot which wouldn't go together. Due to that, the doors are cock-eyed now & no real way to fix that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:November 28, 2012

Decent Buy

Pros: once properly installed is quite sturdy.
Cons: requires two people.
"Although I am a handy and strong man, I needed help for a few steps in the installation process. Creating the platform along will cost you over $70.00 in materials. For the price, you might be able to get a smaller shed installed and delivered.
The instructions are clear but you better read them and follow them step by step.
"
Review 6 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

Not for the weak.

Pros: looks good
Model Number: No 60018
"Some of the instructions were difficult to follow. The fit between base and sides is difficult at best. There seems to be a difference of thermal coefficients, i.e. when the base has been setting on the cold paver stones and when the day has heated up and causes the sides to expand, so they would not fit until I let it set until the next morning. Once the sides were fitted to the base the assembly went fairly well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston MA
Date:March 22, 2012

Directions are poor but a good product

Pros: price value, free delivery
Cons: assembly, missing parts, confusing instruction
"Directions to assemble the roof part and the beams were confusing. Costco advertises the unit with two battery operated lights. The unit was delivered without them. I had to call the manufacturer to get them delivered to my house.."
Review 8 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Haymarket, VA
Date:July 7, 2011

somewhat unstable

Pros: priced right compare to others, medium installation level
Cons: should be studier
"Bought and assembled for brother's new house. This shed is recommendable, but some problems in the future could be: thin and no-bug-proof floors, not-so-secure floor & wall joints, hard to keep rain out from the door area. 6 hours of assembly with my brother. It's lifetime, so shall keep the receipt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010

Weak Floor

"The floor of this shed is very weak. Make sure you have a very sturdy and flat base like cement or a plywood platform. Also, do not place anything like a shelf on the floor without wood under to dispearse the weight. The value is still there for the shed, I was just very very disappointed with the floor, especially compared to Rubbermaid sheds."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:April 30, 2010

Packaging and instructions are bad!!

Pros: good price. good sturdy plastic
Cons: very hard to assemble., the roof does not fit well.
"Let me just say, I'm a huge DIYer and have constructed everything from bedrooms to gazebos. This product is the hardest thing I've ever put together. The reason? Terrible packaging of parts and part labels along with bad instructions make this product a nightmare to assemble. The instructions give a part number, then you have to go to the front of the instruction book and find the bag number. The bags contain multiple parts from different areas of the shed. And the pictures are very unhelpful as they are pretty much zoomed out sketches. All in all, the engineer who did the instructions and packaging should be fired."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Wheaton, Il
Date:April 19, 2010

Just an adverage product

Pros: looks good
Cons: instructions were terrible
Model Number: 60018
"I own another vinyl shed, and the quality of the vinyl parts are sub par and cheap. The only metal is roof supports and a million metal screws. The instructions were not written well, used too many pictures to explain complicated instructions. It took 3 well experienced diy'ers 6 hours to install just the shed; and the right door is higher than the left door. Will not purchase Lifetime's products again."
Review 12 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Date:November 5, 2012

Lifetime Brighton 8' X 10" value purchase

Pros: cost effective, easy to assemble
Cons: screw into plastic not metal
"Past reviews stated the instructions were incomplete and hard to follow. Lifetime must have read the reviews because instructions were easy to understand and made assembly a breeze. It took my wife and I 4 hours to assemble, the roof section was a little challenging, a third person will make it very easy. My only issue is with the screws going into plastic and not metal. I would pay more if they would line the screw holes with metal. Luckily I only stripped one screw, so make sure your drill is set to a very low torque setting. Watching the videos that are posted on the Lifetime website and YouTube are also very helpful."
Review 13 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Date:October 20, 2012

Solid Purchase

Pros: ease of assembly
Cons: can not be done by yourself
Model Number: 336656
"Arrived quicker than I expected. Relatively easy to put together. You will need a friend to help put it together just like the instruction says. However, there are a lot of parts you can do individually."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonds, Wa.
Date:May 18, 2012

Brighton shed

Pros: price and ease of assembly
Cons: everything screws into plastic no hard points
Model Number: 8 x 10 Brighton shed
"It took me about 8 hours to put the shed together by my self. Although two people will make the job easier It was fairly easy if you think your moves out in advance.
The only thing that I think would be nice is there should be some hard points for attaching everything together. As it is all screws just fasten into plastic. Glad I don't live in a tornado zone.
"
Review 15 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 21, 2011

A good storage shed

"After much looking around we settled on this shed for our riding mower. After some confusion over the parts lists we got it together in a reasonable period of time - worked on it over a couple of days. It's an attractive shed, and no leaks during our recent heavy rains. The sides are a little flimsy. We're happy with our selection, except for the advertised 8 x 10 and not actually being that size! Sheds should be true to size and not include the overhand as a measurement. We'd buy it again!"
Review 16 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ripon California
Date:October 27, 2011

Great Shed

"Looks nice The foundation has to be level. or you will have trouble fitting the parts together. Would prefer glass window over the plastic they include. My husband had no problem putting it together by him self. He did say it would be much eaiser with two people. I would recommend it to any one."
Review 17 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northeast
Date:June 18, 2011

Overall, Good Shed

Model Number: 60018
"I am an "office type" man so anyone thinking this is too much of a project, it is not…well, read on.
This is what I did:
I ordered the shed.
While I waited for the shed to arrive, I went ahead and removed every other screw from the old shed (partial disassembly). Had major snow damage to metal shed.
After the shed arrived, I checked the weather forecast.
As others have stated, I recommend labeling all the parts in plain English.
Inside my house, I assembled the 3 trusses, Section 3.1-3.5 (pages 26-29).
Assembled the left door, Section 5.1-5.5 (pages 36-38).
Assembled the right door, Section 6.1-6.5 (pages 40-42).
If I had to do this over again, I would skip the handle latch assembly, Section 6.6 through 6.8 (pages 42-43).
Next I assembled the rear and entry gable Section 7.1-7.8 (pages 45-48).
Removed the old shed.
Got the foundation level. Absolutely a must!
Went to YouTube.com, typed in
How to build a Lifetime shed
and watched it. It is not the exact same shed as Model 60018 but similar.
Started assembling the shed with my wife and continued on from there, Section 2.1 (page 21).
While putting this together, I used a drill to screw everything in snug and after it was all complete, I hand tightened everything.
In the end, it came out ok with some pushing and pulling. Would I do this again? Nope, I would hire two people to take the Lord's name in vain instead of me. I would do what I mentioned above, assemble the floors and walls and hire two people to install the doors and roof.
I would have given this 5 stars if the instructions were better. Good luck and celebrate only after you complete it :-) .
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 5, 2011

Pretty good shed

Pros: nice looking good price and pretty durable shed
Cons: some sections of the instructions are not clear, the pictures weren't clear either in those cases.
Model Number: Brighton Lifetime 8' x 10' Storage Shed
"This is a nice looking and pretty durable shed. The installation is fairly easy even though there are some sections that weren't very clear in the instructions. It took me around 9-10 hours to install it completely. The only problem I got with my newly installed shed is the right door when closed only matched up with the left door from bottom to around the handle; above that it left a gap of around 1/2 inch. The instruction didn't show how to correct that. I tried to use the provided wood shim to prop up the back/front of the shed but none of them help. I have to live with that for now. It must be a slight problem in installation but there were no mentioning about it in the instruction manual."
Review 19 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Warren Mi.
Date:April 20, 2011

Good purchase. Should last forever.

Pros: easy to install
Model Number: 60018
"Recieved Lifetime Storage on Thur. Me a 80 yr old and two teenagers put it up in 4 hrs. friday the following day. Easy to follow directions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lifetime Brighton 8' x 10' Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:April 13, 2011

Good Product for the $

Pros: nothing to rust!, steep roof slant to shed snow
Cons: locking bolts a bit flimsy
Model Number: 6505
"Overall a very good shed. Arrived in 2 boxes undamaged and with all parts. I had looked up the manual online and read it over a couple of times to familiarize myself with the assembly sequence. This turned out to be very helpful when actually building the shed. After opening the boxes and laying out all the pieces and hardware, parts were easy to find as each section was assembled. A power drill set on low torque setting was used and saved alot of time (only 1 screw stripped out the plastic). Directions mostly OK, except for the sliding dead bolts on the left door which was lacking detail in the instructions, so it took a few extra minutes to figure it out.
Shed was very sturdy when finished and looks as though it will last a long time. My son and I built it in approx. 5 hours without rushing."
1 2 3 4 next>>