Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock

Includes Power Box
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
8 of 12(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Review 1 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 3, 2012

Digital Lock? Think twice before buy!

Pros: strong and not easy to open the safe, get it from costco still can return it....
Cons: need to improve customer service, quality?, not only one person in a whole company to fix
"I have this company safe for 2 yrs though Costco. Its heavy and strong material. In these couple months, every time I need to spend at least 20 mins to open the safe with the correct password. Now I need to get my staff from the safe one day earlier before I need. I have called the customer service for more than 10 times, their response was: the phone sound quality not so good, please call again (waiting time was 15 mins), checking/changing batteries,reset your password, the person is not here to solve your issue(ONLY ONE person can solve the issue in a whole company), Finally, get a free replacement pair with no shipping charge, but again I need to search that only one person to tell me how to install it back to my safe. (Or hire a locksmith on my own cost) I remembered I checked its company web site before I order this safe. It says it is the best replacement policy compared to others. "ZERO COST – Lifetime Replacement Policy"..don't let this statement foolish on you...It only happen when YOU SO LUCKY after a Burglary, Fire or Natural Flood disaster, BUT NOT INCLUDING THE SAFE DEFECTS itself. So, I am either keep spend time to search the person to fix it myself or hire locksmith to do it. My opinion is maybe traditional mechanics lock is more reliable than digital lock......"
Review 2 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth
Date:October 4, 2010

Product concerns

Cons: update the manual to agree with the unit
Model Number: EX20
"Bought the EX20 which is the safe 1 foot smaller. Solid exterior and door. The handles stay loose even after putting a little liquid soap on the threads and allowing it to dry did not help. The battery was very difficult to remove which is the next issue. tried to get in the safe and it was dead. placed a total of four batteries in and #3 gave it a little juice but then stopped. #4 we actually got tone from the keypad. The plastic holder does not securely hold the battery against the contacts. I used a piece of cardborad and tape to hold it and wait the 15 minutes for the lockout to reset. Unloaded my guns and returned the unit. Had it approximately six months. If they fix the lock it will be a great safe. Shelves while they appear sturdy are pressed board and will not support the weight of ammo. Delivery could have been smoother i.e. call in advance and show up when you say you will show up. Very nice and polite though. I had NO problem in my return to Costco. They were and have always been great."
Review 3 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico CA
Date:May 23, 2010

Great Safe "real money saver"

Pros: plug inside, great interior design
Cons: small lock down bolts
"I have had this safe for about 3 months now and it is great! Having electicity inside the safe is a great feature that is hard to get in a quality safe for this price. One thing I did have to do was upgrade the bolts that hold it down in place. Other than that great safe."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:January 11, 2010

Good value, but ...

"I got this on the Christmas special, buying by price not by features. The unit delivers what it promises in regards to sturdiness. But the finish is poor, clearly not anywhere near the quality of American made units. There were scratches on the corners despite undamaged outer packing, probably a common occurrence since they deliver with a small vial of extra paint. Freight service is always unpredictable, mine was poor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Taos, NM
Date:December 11, 2009

I should have gone bigger

Model Number: Cannon Safe C21E
"I'm disappointed in the size for the money. There were some other great values in larger safes.
You live and learn.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 31, 2009
Model Number: Cannon Safe C21E
"Good safe for the price. Plenty of room for my collection. One nit, throw the owners manual away and download the real one from Cannon."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2009

Questionable value, poor security

Pros: sold by costco, ul tested (rsc), commercial grade (group 1) electronic lock, pre-drilled to bolt to floor
Cons: too light - easily removed from residence, rsc rated - only good against 18" prybar, internal hinges:, can't open door more than 90 degrees, can't remove door for installation, can't remove door for separate warranty service
"For an RSC of this size, it has a nice appearance, but the low weight indicates a lack of steel - which is what provides the bulk of the security. This is fine for keeping kids out, or a smash&grab burglar, but anyone with some time or determination is getting in.
Ultimately, this is the level of protection I'm looking for from a "safe" of this style, but there's not enough features or overall quality to justify the cost. While the fireproofing material is rated for the purpose, the safe itself hasn't been tested, so the marketed claim is just that.. marketing.
It's too bad Costco doesn't offer full-size Sentry safes, which seem to be much better priced. The smaller size dedicated fire safe will remain my choice for documents, and a larger size RSC safe will likely join it for larger items, for which I'm not expecting more than novelty fire protection."
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:ARLINGTON, VA
Date:January 16, 2009

FACTORY PREPARATION INADEQUATE

Model Number: C21E CANNON SAFE
"con: 1-fire seals not fully encompassing door sealing area, The closed door moves 1/8 inch. These variances break down fire protection. Ship wt. 450lb-Actual weight_? Safe contained industrial dust or dirt/fine powder- I vacuumed.
Finish was marred by handtruck strap factory packed unit w/o edge guard.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern, CA
Date:January 4, 2009

Great X-mas Gift Dec.2008

Model Number: C21E
"Recieved from my children. Nice Safe and Great Warranty. The only thing I don't like is that Cannon does not show this model number on their web site or their catalog."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stafford VA
Date:December 26, 2008

Excellent value

Model Number: C21E
"This is an excellent value. The exterior finish is very attractive, the interior is well designed, the electronic lock is very convenient, the security is unquestionable, and the shipping charge is very reasonable. For the money, this safe is hard to beat."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:December 18, 2008

Great Christmas Present

"I split the cost of this safe with my mom and grandmother for my Christmas (2008) present. I put a lot of thought into this purchase and I decided that the electrical lock and the outlet inside is a great plus. I just received it today and it is just what was described and expected. I was happy that Cannon Safe is located close to my house so I only had to wait about a week and a half even though Costco.com warns a possible 4 to 6 week delivery. I look forward to my years of extra security with this safe."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cannon Safe C21E Fire & Security Vault with E-Lock
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 18, 2008

Best Safe For the Money

Pros: great price, 110v inside the safe, 6 digit code.
Cons: steel could be thicker, door could be more solid
Model Number: C21E
"Just got this yesterday. Great product.
The shipping company seems to have problems with communication, however their drivers are great. Even though it was only curb side delivery only the driver was kind enough to put on my back porch so that I could work on getting into my house without the entire neighborhood seeing my new safe.
Having the 6 digit code is much faster and easer than a code dial. I can get in and get what I need in less than 5 seconds.
The construction quality is good. Nicer than I have seen in this size and price range. The steel they used could have thicker and the door could feel a bit more solid but, you get what you pay for.
Having the power outlet inside is nice. I plan to install some lights so I can see what Im doing."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.