Customer Reviews for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920x1080p Dynamic Contrast: 29000:1 Pixel Plus 3 HD
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
40 of 45(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:February 27, 2009

Awsome TV!

Pros: awsome picture quality, very little blurring for an lcd, reduculous quality for the price, easy set up, free extended warranty with costco!
Cons: none i have found so far
Model Number: Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
"I have only had this TV about a week, but it is a great TV. I looked and compared for a long time before deciding to buy this one. You can't beat the performance for the price. This TV is better on paper than the Sony Bravia (only 2500:1 dynamic contrast and 8m/s response time). The picture is absolutely incredible. The fast response time gives this TV very little blur during fast panning like sports, ect. The remote does feel a little cheap compared to how good the TV is, but hey, it's just a remote. To those who complained about the picture resizing alot, change the picture format from automatic to whatever best fits what you are watching. If you have it on automatic, it will try to resize to give the best picture. I highly recommend this TV to anyone who wants top quality for a reasonable price."
Review 2 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:February 27, 2009

Phillips has the best TV at best price

Pros: 120hz at low price
"I bought the 47" last summer and was so amazed at the price I thought I was getting a bad deal until I turned it on. The 120hz is amazing and actually makes you feel like the picture is almost 3D. Other TV's with the same capability are just way overpriced and you can't tell the difference between the Samsung 120hz and the Sony 120hz but then again I'm not a video expert and therfore don't need to pay for expert "perks". I was so happy with this TV I went and bought the 52" version a couple months later for my larger bonus room and have had no issues except for the power cycle problem and that went away when I made sure there was adequate ventilation around the TV. The Power cycling is due to overheating and is a common safety shutoff for most large TV's...especially plasma and larger LCDs. Overall the sound quality is good and the picture is better, there are minimal adjustments that you can make but you can save them and are easy to change. This is the best TV $ for $ on the market and am now a fan of Phillips. Everyone who comes over asks what kind of TV this is and that the picture is way better than their LCD / Plasmas, when I tell them the price I paid they never believe me."
Review 3 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:February 18, 2009

Well worth consideration

Pros: ecellent value for money, lots of input ports, superb atsc tuner, adequate sound, costco extended warranty
Cons: flimsy packaging
Model Number: 42FPL7403D/F7
"There are probably fancier, more technically advanced televisions than the 42PFL7403D/F7 but I cannot see any reason for paying one cent more than the price of the Philips.
The television was delivered within two days. It survived the 5-state journey unscathed but I am not sure if it would have stood up to a longer trip. It was delivered to my doorway upside down and the moulded styrofoam corners which keep the screen centered in the box were fractured almost to the point of disintegration. The packaging is somehat flimsy and the care provided by UPS clearly leaves something to be desired. This is not a good combination. Any damage would not necessarily be obvious from external appearance so the chances are that you could accept delivery in good faith only to get an unpleasant surprise upon opening the carton.
The purpose of a television is to convert video signals from some source to a rapid sequence of images which simulate motion with no perceivable artifacts. Not only does Philips perform this task this extremely well but it can get its video signal input from a plethora of sources. I have a small UHF antenna feeding broadcast television signal into the coax connector and the ATSC tuner delivers glorious high-definition pictures from all the usual channels. I have not tried the QAM tuner because the cable is connected via a Sony DVR to one of the HDMI ports. Another HDMI input is driven by an Oppo DVD player and there is still room to hook up a Blu-Ray player.
As other reviewers have pointed out, it is worth spending some time adjusting the picture and sound to suit your tastes. I found the default video settings far to aggressive – the contrast too high, the colour too intense and the brightness too low. The “incredible surround” feature of the sound system made dialogue difficult to follow so I turned that off. It only took about 20 minutes of experimenting to get everything set up. The sound is adequate for my small living room. In a few months I'll be moving to a larger space and one day I may consider a more elaborate sound system but for now the inbuilt 30 watt speakers are sufficient, and much better than the 10 watt speakers on my previous television. My only complaint would be that there is no discernable stereo separation.
I cannot comment on the benefit of the 120 Hz video refresh capability of the 7403 because I have nothing that delivers a video signal at 24 frames per second, and even if I did, I have nothing against which to compare the Philips. One unrelated thing that I do notice, however, is the difference between broadcast high-definition channels and their cable equivalents. The broadcast signals are better because they are not compressed whereas the cable signals are. The differences are subtle but on this television I can see the crisper images on the broadcast signals – something I could not do with my previous LCD set.
This is definitely a five-star product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Rock, AR
Date:February 14, 2009

Gives NEW Meaning to Television!

Pros: 4 hdmi ports, pixel plus for clarity, great resolution, perfect pixel hd engine, computer port, software upgrade via usb, color / clarity
Cons: remote control is cheap looking, speakers are in the rear of the unit
Model Number: 42PFL7403D-F7
"Living in Arkansas, we don't have Costco, yet. However, I had read the ratings on this LCD Television and everyone recommended getting it from Costco due to the extended warranty Costco adds for no extra charge. I purchased it from Costco.com and in 3 days it was here! What a beautiful picture, even on Analog Television. This television cleans up old shows and movies and makes them look almost like HD. And the HD is absolutely breathtaking. Awesome Color, Clear Picture, Bright, Great Contrast, and I couldn't be happier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:February 7, 2009

Outstanding Product

Pros: colors are stunning!
"We bought the 42" version (from Costco) as a house warming gift for my son in 2007. The picture and sound quality are outstanding and several hundred dollars less than almost all of the competition.
Last summer my 35" Mitsubishi clonked out so I did not hesitate to replace it with the 47" Philips. I have since purchased a 5.1 surround sound system and connected it to my Phillips and the results are AWESOME. I would not hesitate to recommend Philip TV's. Everybody that see it is impressed with the quality and price. In addition, you can't beat the Costco coverage."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan's U.P.
Date:January 24, 2009

This set is really very nice

Pros: nice workmanship and elegant thin design
Cons: cheapness of remote does not fit elegance of tv
Model Number: 42PFL7403D/F7
"After seeing the reviews of this tv one can sense most of the buyers are glad they purchased it. It should also be pointed out that at least a couple of the negative reviews attributed to this fine model are really intended for a totally different cheaper Phillips model and this is averaging down the star rating.
First of all, Costco got this out and UPS delivered it a day early. It came well packaged but when it was out of the box It was clear that this unit is the best looking 42" flat screen on the market. I hooked up the cables according to the handy quick setup guide which was a snap. Powered up and it walked you through an excellent set up program
using the remote. If you don't happen to like the settings according to the program it does not take long to get used to adjusting it your way using the format and menu button from the remote.
When we plugged the unit in we found that the picture was excellent. Since we are getting a satellite feed and no HDTV
The unit certainly has all the bells and whistles including 1080 p & i , three needed HDMI ports in addition to 120 hz refresh rate. My only negative so far is the cheapness of the remote which actually works very well anyway plus even though the set puts out 30 watts which is more than most of the other 42" units it would be nice to plug in some surround speakers. Grab one before they are gone, you won't regret taking one home with an extra year added to the warranty by Costco
bigDan"
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT Go Utes!
Date:January 10, 2009

Great Buy for the bedroom

"For the price, this is a Great Buy! We have the TV on the wall with the Blue Ray player in the master bedroom and it is very nice. Easy set-up and nice picture and sound. I would recommend a surround sound system if you are using it in a room bigger than a bedroom."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:January 7, 2009

Great TV

Pros: easy, great picture
Cons: requires a strong signal
"This is a great TV. No complaints. Easy to install."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:central,USA
Date:December 29, 2008

nice tv for price vs. performance

Pros: plenty of inputs/outputs, price, good entry level tv compared w/ vizio aoc ..etc
Model Number: 42TA648BX
"I bought this tv a few weeks ago for our kids to use for their viewing. (XBOX 360/ WII, ..etc.) The XBOX 360 graphics when using HDMI are incredible.
Sound is good enough. FWIW, the headphone jack is a nice feature for use w/ wireless headphones. i.e. The kids can put on headphones and "voila!" peace and quiet.
HD channels are very crisp/clear. Standard def is pretty good also. (standard def really depends on signal strength from your cable provider.)
Overall I gave the tv a 5-star rating b/c of the low price and reasonable performance ratio. This is not a high-end Sharp or Sony so I am not considering that in the review. It is however several hundred dollars less that the high end."
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:chicago
Date:December 25, 2008

Great TV

"I've had the TV for over a year now and have not had any problems with it at all. I love it. Great picture and sound quality. Have not had any of the problems others mention."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:December 22, 2008

Decent TV

Model Number: 42TA648BX/F7
"Had this tv for a week now, picture is nice, sound quality good - displays digital signals best - the analog ones are a bit grainy. One problem we had was the remote on our cable box would not work when this tv was turned on! After much frustration and internet searching we found out that lcd's emit IR interference when you have the light detector or energy settings turned on. There are 2 solutions, 1 - turn off the settings on the tv, or 2 - put some paper over the IR reciever on the cable box. Anyhow - maybe this will save you from some problems.
Connections are great on this tv - 4 hdmi, usb, and the standard rc and cable hookups. Plugged it in and it worked great - no hassles. Costco is great too - extends the warrenty - they told us at the warehouse that they cant keep this model in stock - selling about 8 a week. Oh, and if you buy it now it has the latest firmware in it - so no hassles there."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:December 20, 2008

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Model Number: 42PLF7403D/F7
"If this is your first flat screen HD TV, it will be the Best TV you've ever owned in terms of picture quality. As you can see from some of the reviews, the Phillips brand is problematic, which is Bad, but all the problems I have had were addressed in the troubleshooting guide. The Ugly, not here!
Next year the price will be cheaper and the quality better, but Hey!, gotta enjoy life as you can!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, IA
Date:December 19, 2008

Awesome!

Model Number: 42PFL7430D-F7
"We've had this hooked up above our fireplace for about a week now and love it! Has a very nice picture."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:December 11, 2008

Worth the money and the deal!!

Pros: picture quality, value, free blueray player
Cons: having to update firmware
Model Number: 42pfl7403d/f7
"I was a little apprehensive at first about this TV due to some of the reviews. But this TV is awesome! Great picture, great sound. The bonus Blue-Ray player is fantastic as well. We bought Batman and Horton and they both looked amazing. All you really need is the Firmware upgrade from the Philips website on a thumbdrive and the TV is good to go. I would definitely buy this TV again!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:November 29, 2008

Nice TV!

"Just got the TV yesterday and it functions great. I don't notice any overheating or any of the other problems that people have been having. For those who were complaining that the TV readjusts the picture, just change the setting from automatic to what ever mode you like. No big deal.
It's the best looking TV on the market."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:not in philly, pa
Date:November 24, 2008

great picture detailed and good motion

"this is my first hd tv and i'm happy with it. i looked at probably 25 other sets and aside from the high end bravias and others this had great color and follows motion quite well. i sit about 9 feet from it and it is very clear and detailed"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 23, 2008

Excellent TV

Pros: easy firmware upgrade, aspect control us well designed not just stretch., so many useful inputs for many devices
Cons: does heat up a small room
"There were some issues out of the box that were fixed by a simple firmware upgrade. I really like the aspect control, not just stretching the screen to fit. So many useful inputs, we have our computer, blu-ray, HD DVR, game console, and media streamer with room for more."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boise, idaho
Date:November 15, 2008

bad tv

"purchased tv in may
started having problem with tv overheating in September
It is NOW november and am still trying to get it repaired.
repair people having trouble getting parts and followup support from philips
repair people have several of the same model in their shop with same issue
costco support great
phillips support not so good
"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:November 14, 2008

Nice picture, however it keeps turning on...

"We just purchased the 52" version of this TV about a week ago. It has a wonderful picture, however the TV turns back on after we turn it off. We have even tried turning the TV off from the side button (not the remote) and it still comes back on. We have to unplug it to keep it off. We called Philips support and they are sending a repair person out to take a look. Now that I've read the other reviews, I'm wondering if we should return it to the store. :("
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 8, 2008

Philips Not that great

Pros: natural motion technology, sound, appearance
Cons: shuts off for no reason, resizes while watching programming, lots of blur even when watching hd/blue ray
"I got this tv and had it for about a month. there was quite a bit of blurring which was odd considering the 120hz (i had the previous model (60 hz) and I did not have this problem. Also like other reviewers have stated, it shuts off sometimes for no reason and it re-sizes the picture when watching tv or playing PS3/Xbox for some reason... Besides the cool feature of making movies appear to be fillmed like real-time using the Natural Motion technology, this LCD was dissapointing and I don't reccomend it."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>